MountCarmel

From MasonicGenealogy
Jump to: navigation, search

MOUNT CARMEL LODGE

Location: Lynn

Chartered By: Isaiah Thomas

Charter Date: 06/10/1805 II-276

Precedence Date: 06/10/1805

Current Status: Active


NOTES

V-33: Mount Carmel Lodge divided its property, about $3000, among about 25 brethren. In 1845, when the charter was to be restored, most would not return the funds.

A banner presentation appears as part of the Newburyport Feast of St. John in June 1849.


PAST MASTERS

  • Amariah Childs, 1805-1807, 1813, 1816
  • Samuel Brimblecom, 1808-1810, 1817
  • Ezra Mudge, 1811, 1812, 1818, 1822, 1828
  • Moses Tapley, 1814, 1815
  • Benjamin Oliver, 1819, 1820
  • Robert Trevett, 1821
  • Josiah Newhall, 1823, 1824
  • William Chadwell, 1825, 1826
  • John Lummus, 1827
  • Joseph N. Saunderson, 1829, 1830, 1833-1835
  • DARK 1836-1844
  • Edmund Munroe, 1831, 1832, 1845-1847
  • Thomas Phillips, 1848-1851
  • Edward Carroll, 1852
  • Isaac Brown, 1853
  • Gilbert Hawkes, 1854, 1855
  • E. A. Ingalls, 1856, 1857
  • Henry Earl, Jr., 1858, 1859
  • William C. Maxwell, 1860-1862; SN
  • Benjamin H. Atkins, 1863, 1864
  • James A. Austin, 1865
  • David J. Newhall, 1866, 1867
  • Timothy Stevens, 1868, 1869
  • John Shaw, II, 1870, 1871
  • John W. Lamphier, 1872, 1873
  • Charles E. Chase, 1874, 1875
  • Charles C. Fry, 1876, 1877
  • Charles E. Parsons, 1878, 1879
  • Henry L. Drake, 1880-1882
  • Thomas E. Ward, 1883
  • William D. Pool, 1884
  • John C. Myers, 1885, 1886
  • Rufus E. Hilliard, 1887, 1888
  • Charles A. Alley, 1889, 1890
  • Spencer Drake, 1891
  • Josiah F. Kimball, 1892, 1893; SN
  • Walter M. Lamkin, 1894, 1895
  • Benjamin F. Arrington, 1896, 1897
  • Josiah P. Croscup, 1898, 1899
  • Charles J. Philbrook, 1900, 1901
  • Fred H. Nichols, 1902, 1903; SN
  • Albert R. Merrill, 1904, 1905
  • William M. Cowan, 1906
  • Joseph H. Stiles, 1907, 1908
  • Theodore A. Manchester, 1909, 1910
  • Clifton C. Dexter, 1911
  • Raymond T. Parke, 1912, 1913
  • William E. Dorman, 1914, 1915
  • Henry L. Wood, 1916
  • Walter H. Macomber, 1917
  • Walter H. Macomber, 1918
  • Harlan S. Cummings, 1919, 1920; Mem
  • Thomas E. P. Wilson, 1921
  • Charles H. Colby, 1922, 1923; Mem
  • Charles B. Bethune, 1924, 1925
  • Wilbur M. Coolidge, 1926, 1927
  • Walter E. Richardson, 1928, 1929
  • David W. Fogg, 1930, 1931
  • Edwin A. Damon, 1932, 1933
  • Everett R. Campbell, 1934
  • Francis Lord, 1935
  • James G. Smith, 1936, 1937
  • Earl R. Galeucia, 1938, 1939; N
  • Archie M. Simons, 1940, 1941; N
  • Lawrence H. St. Jean, 1942, 1943
  • Sheldon F. Goldthwait, 1944
  • Alfred L. Parsons, 1945
  • Carl F. Turner, 1946, 1947
  • John R. Turnbull, 1948
  • Lewis A. Collyer, 1949, 1950
  • Carl R. Perry, 1951, 1952
  • Alton I. Rouse, 1953, 1954
  • John E. Moulton, 1955, 1956
  • Hamlin P. Collyer, 1957, 1958
  • Joseph Smythe, 1959, 1960
  • Theodore E. Gouzoules, 1961, 1962
  • Robert W. Chisholm, 1963
  • Harold F. Collins, 1964
  • Donald H. Lee, 1965, 1966
  • Edwin C. Penny, 1967
  • Mason W. Dillaway, 1968
  • Earl D. Rafuse, 1969
  • Thomas Todd, Jr., 1970, 1987; N
  • Harry C. Eldridge, 1971
  • John C. Harriman, Jr., 1972
  • B. William Person, 1973
  • William R. Hayman, Jr., 1974, 1975
  • Robert J. Waugh, Jr., 1976; N
  • S. Raymond King, Jr., 1977, 1978, 1997, 1998; PDDGM
  • James Christ, Jr., 1979, 1980
  • Peter B. Dillaway, 1981, 1982
  • Charles A. Smith, 1983, 1984
  • John G. MacDougall, 1985, 1986
  • Mark A. Ginsberg, 1988
  • Thomas S. Bloom, 1989, 1990
  • Leo Spielberg, 1991
  • Wayne H. Livermore, 1992, 1993, 2004, 2005
  • George Girard, 1994
  • Robert J. Stilian, 1995, 1996
  • Dana A. Jones, 1999-2001, 2015, 2016
  • Lester A. Davis, 2002, 2003; PDDGM
  • Frederick J. Greco, 2006
  • James D. Belair, 2007
  • Michael N. Tenney, 2008
  • Adam H. Sherman, 2009, 2010
  • Stephen C. Turner, 2011, 2012, 2019
  • Shaun J. Flanagan, 2013, 2014
  • Hans J. Schwartz, 2017, 2018

REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS

ANNIVERSARIES

  • 1905 (Centenary)
  • 1955 (150th Anniversary)
  • 2005 (200th Anniversary)

VISITS BY GRAND MASTER

BY-LAW CHANGES

1875 1880 1882 1900 1902 1903 1904 1908 1910 1912 1936 1942 1949 1950 1973 2004 2007 2013

HISTORY

  • 1884 (Historical Sketch; from Liberal Freemason; see below)
  • 1905 (Centennial Address, 1934-169; see below)
  • 1955 (150th Anniversary History, 1955-156; see below)

HISTORICAL SKETCH, 1884

MOUNT CARMEL LODGE.
FROM ITS ORIGINAL RECORDS.

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. VIII, No. 8, November 1884, Page 225:

The history of Mount Carmel Lodge of Lynn, Massachusetts, is full of interest for Freemasons, and not at all devoid of it for the uninitiated.

It is now nearly three-fourths of a century since certain brethren living in or near Lynn, concluded to invoke the genius of Freemasonry in erecting a Lodge of their own, and their admirably kept records show how well they succeeded.

From 1805 to December 16th, 1834, the records cover three hundred and forty-nine closely written pages, ledger size, and [these recount many acts of brotherly love and friendship. Yielding to the fanaticism of Anti-Masonry, the Lodge ceased work on the latter date, not to resume it until the restoration of the Charter under date of June 11th, 1845, since which time it has maintained the high standard of its founders, and added dignity of character to the place wherein it is located, because of the excellence displayed in the life of its members.

Commencing with the beginning of the Lodge, we present the title page of the first book of records, and close our chapter with a synopsis of its first Code of By-Laws. Included in this is an address delivered by the Master almost at the very outset, from which we may learn how thoroughly the founders of the Lodge were equipped in mental and moral material for the work they had in hand.

THE
Origin, Progress,
Bye-Laws and Records of
Mount Carmel Lodge
of Free and Accepted
Masons,
IN THE
Town of Lynn,
County of Essex,
and
Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Let brotherly Love continue.— St. Paul.

Be sober, be vigilant; and above all things have fervent Charity', for Charity covereth a multitude of sins.— St. Peter.

He, who loveth his brother, abideth in the Light; but he, who hateth his brother, walketh in Darkness.— St. John.

— A. L. 5805.—

The following persons, viz., Amariah Childs, Ezra Collins, Thomas C. Thachcr, William Frothingham, Frederick Breed, William Ballard, Francis Moore, Jr., Aaron Breed, Aaron Learned, Samuel Brimblecom, Thomas Witt, Joseph Johnson, Jonas W. Gleason, Joshua Blanchard, David Crane, & Richard Johnson, being all master Masons, assembled together sometime about the first of June, 5805, & agreed to form themselves into a Lodge by the name of Mount Carmel Lodge, & after choosing Amariah Childs, Master, and William Ballard, Senior, & Francis Moore, Junior Wardens, they signed a petition to the Grand Lodge for a Charter, which was granted at the quarterly communication in June the same year. T. C. Thacher was chosen Secretary pro tem.

The officers were appointed a Committee to apply to the Trustees of Lynn Academy for permission to meet in the Hall.

F. Breed, T. Witt & Jona Breed were appointed a committee to collect money of the members sufficient, on loan, to purchase the Regalia & pay for the Charter. This Committee
obtained seventy-five Dollars of the different members, & the Master gave them a receipt for the same, and paid the money over to the Grand Secretary for the Charter.

The following is the Gd. Secy's Receipt for the money, viz., "Boston, August 1st, 5805, received of R. W. Amariah Childs, Master of Mount Carmel Lodge, Seventy-five Dollars in full for a Charter granted said Lodge by the Most Worshipfu1 Grand Lodge of Massachusetts." Signed "John Proctor, Gd. Sec'y."

At a meeting of the brethren, the committee for the purpose reported that they had obtained permission of the Trustees to hold their meetings in the Academy. At the same meeting it was voted that brothers Thatcher, Gardner & Ballard be a committee to prepare a code of Bye-Laws for the Lodge.

The committee to procure the Regalia for the Lodge were also directed to hire such sums'of money as shall be necessary for thj purpose & so procure the necessary Jewels for the Lodge. Adjourned.

At a meeting of Mount Carmel Lodge, July 3d, 5805 by adjournment.

The resignation of Brother William Ballard, as Senior Warden of this Lodge, was received and accepted.

The Lodge proceeded to choose the following officers, to continue in office to the close of the year, viz.:

  • Brother F. Moore, Senior Warden.
  • Brother A. Learned, Junior Warden.
  • Brother Aaron Lummus, Treasurer.
  • Brother James Gardner, Secretary.
  • Brother A. Breed, Senior Deacon.
  • Brother Samuel Brimblecom, Jun'r Deacon.

The Lodge was then opened in due form on the first step in Masonry.

Ezra Mudge, John Hawkes, Jr., and Joseph Watson were proposed for initiation into the secrets of Free Masonry.

July 10th, 5805.

The Lodge was then closed to stand closed to this night week at 7 o'clock, P. M. July 10th, 5805. The Lodge met by adjournment. After the Lodge was opened the Rt. Wfl. Master delivered the following address, viz.:

My Respected Brethren: —

The numerous & important duties, which devolve on me by the acceptance of your call to the chair of Mount Carmel Lodge fills me with painful appreliensions of a very imperfect discharge of them. I shall need & confidently expect your assistance & the patient exercise of your candor.

As you have placed me above my expectations or desire, it remains in a great measure with you, my brethren, to make the government of the Lodge easy and prosperous. Your punctual attendance will insure adequate knowledge in all the branches of Masonic labor, and your diligence in cultivating every moral virtue of the institution cannot fail to render it respectable & yourselves happy.

Your reputation for morality in language and in life would seem to render it agreeable to the rigid cultivation of those virtues, which our constitutions contain. But my present office as well as my conscience urges me to warn you & myself against a deviation, & to guard against profane language, that bane of all true pleasure & manly enjoyment. Let us bar our doors of entrance against the unprincipled & the idler. Such characters will not only mar our happiness, but will tarnish our reputation. I should be unfaithful to myself, to you & to society and to my God, were I to withhold, on this occasion, my most solemn declaration never to be accessory to the introduction of any person into this Lodge, who is destitute of qualifications. Our enjoyment will not depend on numbers, but qualities.

Charity, that darling of Heaven, stands foremost in the Catalogue of masonic excellence; but Charity cannot dwell with one of immorality. It is not my intention to enter into the principles and duties of our Craft.

I shall only add, that so far as we know our several duties & assignment, it will be expected that we be found in our places, receiving and communicating, according to the lightwe have, in one common cause.

May the Almighty Being, whose we are, & in whose service we have voluntarily & most solemnly entered, preserve us from unfaithfulness & defend us from innovations, & finally open to us the door of mercy & peace in the Heaven of Heavens. —

At this meeting were present

  • Rt. W. A. Childs, Master.
  • F. Moore, S. W.
  • S. Brimblecom, J. W.
  • A. Lummus, Treas.
  • J. Gardner, Sy.
  • A. Breed, S. D. ^
  • Th. Witt, J. D.

Brothers,

  • T. C. Thacher.
  • J. W. Gleason.
  • R. Johnson.
  • Jona. Breed.
  • D. Crane.

The Rt. W. Master appointed Brother David Crane, Tyler of this Lodge.

  • Voted, that the Committee for the purpose be directed to procure as soon as may be all the Regalia, which are or * be necessary for the Lodge.
  • Voted, that Brs. Thomas Witt and Jonathan Breed be Stewards.
  • Voted, that each member pay 12 1-2 cents to defray the expenses of this evening. & the like sum at all future stated meetings till further orders.

The Lodge was then closed and adjourned till next Thursday evening, 7 o'clock.

On July 16th, the Lodge met as per "adjournment" when eleven members and three visitors were present, one of the latter being Brother Benjamin Gleason, who instructed the Lodge in "the new Entered Apprentices' Lecture."

The record says, "The Lodge was then closed on the first and opened on the second step of Masonry, and closed on the second and opened on the third step, when Brother Gleason gave the Master's Lecture."

This instruction was not lost upon the brethren, who were animated with a strong desire to make themselves proficient in the manner of conferring the degrees. A vote was passed on July 30th that the officers of the Lodge attend Brother Gleason at Boston, on August 1st, agreeably to notice given by him to meet the representatives of Lodges. On August 21st a vote was passed recommending all who could to meet Brother Gleason at Salem on the following Monday, and on August 30th, that Brother occupied the chair and conferred the second and third degrees on Ezra Mudge.

The first candidate proposed for the degrees was Ezra Mudge; petitions were received from two others at the same meeting. This was on July 3d, 1805, but from some cause not phown in the records, the same three names were again presented thirteen days later, the name of Joseph Watson being first; of these, Ezra Mudge and Joseph Watson were elected August 7th, 1805, in the order named; the latter was present, Ind the first to be made a Mason in Mt. Carmel Lodge.

On the same date, Jonathan Breed was elected a member. At tbe meeting held August 21st, Ezra Mudge was made a Mason; two votes were passed, one fixing the fee for the degrees at eight dollars, the other requiring visitors to pay twenty-five cents on "future Lodge nights." At this meeting Ezra Mudge was initiated, on the 30th following, he was crafted and made a Master Mason, the first: to receive this honor in the Lodge. At this meeting a committee was appointed to wait on a Brother "and inform him that his conduct at a late Lodge night was not acceptable in two particulars."

Sept. 4th, 1805, three candidates were elected to receive the degrees, J. Gardner and Jo. Moulton, whose names appear for the first time were crafted, and six petitions for degrees were received.

October 3d, two candidates were initiated, Ezra Mudge was elected a member, four were elected to receive degrees, and one petition was rejected, making the second so disposed of to this date.

October 16th, James Newhall, 5th, and Capt. Jo. Mudge were initiated.

November 6th, 1805, one candidate was initiated, one petition for degrees was accepted and two were rejected; two candidates were crafted and two were made Master Masons. It is noticeable in the record of this meeting, that in closing the Lodge closed on the third degree and opened on the first, after which the Lodge was closed; the custom was to close downward to the first degree and then close the Lodge.

On the 13th of November, the Secretary was directed to notify all the "brethren on their tickets that the quarterages in future will be 75 cents."

At this meeting the Lodge adopted its first Code of By-Laws, consisting of Seven Articles, divided into Twenty-eight Sections. This Code fixed the place of meeting to be in Lynn, on the first Wednesday in every month, the annual meeting being in December when accounts must be adjusted, salaries established, officers elected and installed, and affairs in general attended to.

The hour of closing was to be at or before ten in the evening, refreshments to be furnished as agreed upon; visitors were to pay 25 cents each; a lecture was to be given every Lodge night; due respect was to be paid the Chair, votes were to be settled by a majority present, and no one should leave the Lodge without permission of the Master.

The Master, Wardens, Treasurer and Secretary were to be elected, other officers to be appointed: the Master as chairman of the standing committee, must report on the standing of the Lodge annually; the duties of the Treasurer and Secretary were defined, also that of the Stewards and Tyler.

The Membership of the Lodge was limited to fifty; a member absenting himself six successive times, if notified of the sixth, lost his right, — seafaring men paid one-half rates, and must pay annually, all others quarterly, and non-payment for four quarters worked forfeiture of right, except in case of poverty ; honorary members were accepted; those who remained members of the Lodge ten years had voice and vote on all concerns, and all could speak on subjects of a general nature concerning the Craft.

Candidates for the degrees were to qualify then as now; one black ball rejected, but three ballots could be taken; all business was to be kept secret; the first and second degree could be conferred on date of admission, and the third when necessary, but after examination by a Committee.

The Master and Wardens were the standing Committee, and under obligation to report annually: every member was to serve on committees, unless excused at time of appointment; the first named was chairman, whose call was to be obeyed under penajty of paying fifty cents; and a failure to report at next Lodge night subjected the committee to a like penalty.

Letters of recommendation could only be given by consent of the Lodge, for which fees were to be paid; the expense of a special meeting must be paid for by the person to be benefited; decent and clean clothes were to be worn; to disclose the private transactions of the Lodge was made a grave offence; members were forbidden to meet with clandestines pr to associate with them ; good behavior was enjoined under Penalty; all matters not provided for in the by-laws were to pe settled by the majority present; the by-laws were to be read every three months by the secretary in open Lodge, and no change could ever be made in these except at the annual meeting in December.

The closing clause reads thus; "In testimony of our consent to the adoption of the foregoing Code, we have hereunto subjoined our names."

To this Code seventy names were signed.

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. VIII, No. 10, January 1885, Page 289:

Having adopted a Code of By-Laws, the Lodge was now fairly started in the business of Freemasonry, and the year 1805 closed upon a well kept record, and a sufficient amount of work to give promise of future usefulness.

At the December meeting, eighteen members were in attendance, and four visitors. John Mudge received the degree of Entered Apprentice; Ephraim Sweetser, Samuel Hallowell, Ezra Hitchings and Joseph Watson were crafted; Capt. Amos Atwill, Samuel Mudge, Samuel Copp and Jacob Newhall, 3d, were proposed for the degrees, after which the Lodge was closed for one month.

On the first day of the year, 1806, the Lodge was opened on the "first step of Masonry," when Brothers James Gardner and Joseph Mudge were elected members, and the three gentlemen proposed in December were "accepted for initiation." "N. G. Pratt was then initiated"; closed on "the first and opened on the third step in Masonry," when "Ezra Hitchings and Samuel Hallowell were raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason," and both were proposed for membership; the Lodge was then closed until "the first Wednesday evening in February at six o'clock."

The business of the Lodge was carried on smoothly enough, and without any radical departure from the government of a well conducted Lodge in the present year of grace. On Feb. 20th, it was Voted, that Brother Frothingham be requested to deliver an address on the moral duties of Masonry next regular Lodge night; but from one cause or another, this was not done until May 7th following and then a vote of thanks was passed in appreciation of the effort.

At the regular meeting in April, measures were taken "to cause a door to be cut from the preparing room into the Hall," and this was speedily attended to.

On September 6th, 1806, the Standing Committee was directed to examine Brother Lummus' Hall and report next Lodge night. Resulting from this, the Lodge met at Lummus' Hall on October 22d following; and though the premises could be had for Thirty-six dollars a year, only four brothers voted in favor of taking it, in a total of nineteen present. The matter of a suitable place of meeting was not allowed to slumber very long, for on December 2d, 1807 a committee was appointed "to endeavor to procure" one.

Brother Lummus' Hall and a part of the Academy were examined; the latter was larger, more central and could be had for Twenty dollars a year, and the report was accepted.

A Committee was instructed to remove the furniture to the Academy and have the curtains at each window put in order, and there the lodge met for the first time on March 2d, 1808.

In this hall eleven meetings were held before any further action was taken; but on October 5th following, two brothers were added to the Standing Committee, a report was accepted, to the effect that Brother Johnson's Hall could be had for Fifty dollars a year. The Lodge met, as the record shows, "at the Hotel in Lynn"— first, on November 30th, 1808, and "at the new Hall of Brother Joseph Johnson," 1st February, 5809.

We are left to infer that the Lodge continued to hold its meetings here until November 16th, 1818, when an effort was made to procure a more suitable place, but the subject w indefinitely postponed in January, 1819, and a committee was appointed to procure additional furniture.

In looking over the records somewhat at random, the attendance at its meetings appears to be remarkably regular, not in numbers only, but of the same brethren. Of April 29th, 1807, there were present sixteen members, four of whom, Samuel Brimblecom, J. Gardner, S. Hallowell, and E. Hitchings were present in a total of twenty-eight, on November 16th, 1818; and those two numbers show about the average attendance of members for the decade.

Visitors were frequent at the meetings, and their names are borne upon the records. April 1st, 1807, it was "Voted, That R. W. Master be a committee to procure a seal," but no description or device is liven to tell us of its features.

The first official visitation made to the Lodge was on Nov. 3d, 1806, when a special meeting was held "by direction of R. W. Jona. Gage, D. D. G. Master."

A formal inspection of the business of the Lodge was made, and the Deputy "delivered a very appropriate address, — having refreshed he retired."

That the visit was a satisfactory one to the Lodge is shown by the passing of a vote of thanks, coupled with a request that a copy of the address be given them to be placed on the records of the Lodge.

The Deputy expressed his gratification at "the conduct and appearance of the Lodge, and wished our politeness to extend so far as to dispense with his non-compliance." Similar visitations were thereafter of annual recurrence, and furnished occasions for many expressions of satisfaction and approval.

At the meeting of March 4th, 1807, the Lodge expressed its opinion in regard to installation, in the following manner: Voted, That this Lodge apply to the Grand Lodge al their next quarterly communication, to be installed; and that such of the officers of this Lodge who shall attend the quarterly communicalion make the request accordingly, and that the place be in public."

This action was followed by other efficient measures to make the proposed event one ol peculiar interest in the history of the Lodge; so complete were all the arrangements and so well were they carried out, that after the lapse of more than three fourths of a century, with its accumulation of knowledge and experience, it is questionable whether a better programme could be prepared for a present similar purpose, and whether it could be better executed.

Committees were appointed to procure M the Old Meeting House for the accommodation of the Lodge at the Installation," and "the consent of the First Parish to use their Meeting House" was granted; to procure "a clergyman and an orator for Installation;" and Brother Frothingham reported "that they had invited Rev. Brother Eaton, of Boston, to deliver a sermon at the installation of this Lodge, and that he has accepted the invitation."

This was the Rev. Asa Eaton, D. D., rector of Christ's Church, in Boston, from July, 1805 to May, 1829, and Grand Chaplain of the Grand Lodge from 1805 to 1811, again in 1813-1814, and again in 1817-19, or twelve years in all.

Colonel Mansfield and Doctor Peabody were invited to arrange a suitable selection of vocal music for the occasion, and at nine o'clock on St. John's Day, June 24th, 1807, the Lodge was opened by R. W. Amariah Childs, Master; A. Breed, S. W.; E. Mudge, J. W. and thirty-two other members present.

The Lodge was opened on the "first step," two extra Stewards were appointed, and the record further shows that "the Lodge was visited by a large attendance of Brethren from the different neighboring Lodges."

The Grand Lodge had assembled at the house of "Brother Major Hitchings," messages were sent from there to the Lodge and returned. Brothers Joseph Johnson and Francis Moore had been appointed Marshals of the day, under whose direction, and escorted by a Committee of the Grand Lodge, they entered the Hall, made the proper examination, and in due time "a procession was formed by the Grand Marshal assisted by the Marshals of Mt. Carmel Lodge, and proceeded to the Old Parish Meeting House, in Lynn, attended by Band of Music."

The order of performance in the meeting House was

  • 1st. An ode, by a select choir of singers.
  • 2d. Prayer, by Rev. Brother Bentley, of Salem.
  • 3d. An Anthem.
  • 4th. Sermon, by Rev. Brother Eaton, of Boston.
  • 5th. Ceremony of Consecration, by Rev. Brother Eaton, Grand Chaplain.
  • 6th. Installation of the Officers.
  • 7th. Charge, by M. W. Grand Master Bigelow.
  • 8th. A Hymn.
  • 9th. Benediction, by Rev. Br. Frothingham, of Lynn.

The procession was again formed and returned to the Hotel for refreshments.

The M. W. Grand Master gave for Toasts:

  • 1st. Mount Carmel Lodge like its archetype in the Holy Land; may it ever flourish in immortal bloom.'
  • 2d. The town of Lynn; like its manufactures, may its respectability Last after the End shall be gone.'

" 3d. By Mount Carmel Lodge: The Grand Lodge of Massachusetts; like our Sea-coast, may it be iron-bound against all innovation.

After the M. W. G. Master retired, M. W. P. G. M., Isaiah Thomas, gave: Timothy Bigelow, G. M. of Massachusetts.

With this, the record, of the no doubt highly enjoyable occasion, closed.

On April 29th, 1807, Brother T. Atwell received the thanks of the Lodge "for the pair of very elegant Pitchers, which he this evening presented to us."

At the meeting, October 7th, 1807, it was "Voted to present Twenty Dollars, including what shall be collected this evening, to the late sufferers by fire; which sum, with what has already been subscribed by individual brothers, amounts to upwards of Sixty Dollars."

The Secretary was authorized to carry out the terms of the vote. Five years later, for the same reason, Brother Read, of Littleton, was assisted.

December 3d, 1806, the Standing Committee were instructed to report the Secretary's salary; and at the next meeting this was fixed at Ten Dollars a year, commencing at date of previous meeting, and for services prior to that there were granted eight dollars.

On the last above date, it was "Voted, that the Lodge continue to work in the ancient mode;" and Brother John Goodwin was requested, by vote, "to instruct this Lodge in the ancient mode of working." For this instruction, a vote of thanks was given to Brother Goodwin, in March, following.

It appears that a circular letter written by Brother Oliver, of St. John's Lodge, in Boston, invited attention to Brother "Benj. Gleason's mission as a Grand Lecturer," but this and a letter by Bro. F. Moore were left with the committee to "make reply to the same as they may think proper."

The exact nature of this correspondence is not shown in the records, but the subsequent vote of thanks to Brother Goodwin indicates the opinion of the Lodge.

The By-Laws received frequent attention, and occasional revision. First in significance in this respect, was a vote on December 2d, 1807, "to extend the number of members from Fifty to Seventy-five in future," and another, "to reduce the quarterages from Seventy-five to Fifty cents in the future."

Other amendments were made from time to time, until on January 11th, 1819, a new code of By-Laws was adopted, to which seventy-seven names are signed.

The services of Brother Amariah Childs to the Lodge, who was its first Master, and held the same office at later periods, were highly appreciated, and this found expression in various ways, commencing next after the preference shown in his election, by appointing Bro. Thomas Witt "to purchase a Jewel for our late worthy Master, A. Childs."

In July, 1808, the Lodge took active measure to collect quarterages in arrears, and to notify those who had forfeited their membership by absence from the meetings.

On October 5th, following, a vote was passed instructing brethren to address the chair on entering and leaving " in a reputable manner as becomes brethren."

Under date of November 30th, 1808, a letter was read from John Proctor, Grand Secretary, showing that "___, late member of Merrimack Lodge, at Haverhill, was expelled that Lodge."

The Annual elections of officers were usually conducted with much unanimity; it is noticeable, however, that brethren objected to serving as Master, and on such occasions the consent of Wor. Brother Childs to serve again, would give general satisfaction.

It may be again noted, that all business was transacted when the Lodge was open on the "first step."

September 27th, Joseph Johnson made complaint that Consider Orcutt had overcharged him for work done ; the business was sent to a committee, who made an excellent report, filled with good advice, from which it may be inferred that the brethren profited. At this meeting an assessment was laid upon the members, of two dollars and fifty cents each; in special cases quarterages were occasionally remitted, in whole or in part, as seemed more desirable.

In January, 1815, the fees for the degrees were fixed at $18.00 for the first, $4.00 for the second, and $3.00 for the third.

September 5th, 1810, a letter from Jordan Lodge was read, "inviting the brethren of this Lodge to attend the installation and consecration of said Jordan Lodge, on the 26th of the present month." December 5th, of this year, the night of meeting.was changed to "Monday evening on or preceding the full moon," and the regular meetings for July and August were dispensed with.

May 10th, 1813, the Lodge elected Br. John Burrill to become an Honorary Member, and this appears to be the first case of this kind. This brother made himself of use by giving the lectures in the several degrees, a practice much encouraged by Mount Carmel Lodge.

On this subject, frequent action was taken, in addition to that already noted; it was voted on September 26th, 1814, to '"adopt the modern mode of working and lecturing." September 22d, 1817, Mt. Hermon Lodge complained to the effect that Fitch Wade, of Maiden, within its jurisdiction, was receiving the degrees in Mount Carmel Lodge, whereupon the latter stayed proceedings until a satisfactory settlement was made.

The funeral of Br. Aaron Breed was attended in Masonic form, December 26th, 1817, thirty-two brethren being present.

On October 10th, 1818, similar honors were shown at the obsequies of Br. Parker Mudge,

A conference was held in the spring of 1818, on the advisability of celebrating St, John's Day, but alter much consideration the project was abandoned.

Some years prior to October 12th, 1818, a Captain Williams was drowned at Lynn Beach; an attempt by the Lodge was made to ascertain whether he was a Mason, but nothing satisfactory seems to have been gained.

The meetings of the Lodge at this period were well attended, much interest was taken in the work; one dollar a week was voted to Brother John Burrill for lecturing. Safe investment was sought for any surplus funds on hand ; the Records were ordered to be read before closing; the furniture of the Lodge was looked after, and a general attention to details prevailed, all of which contributed to the high standing of the Lodge, when it adopted its second code of By-laws.

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. VIII, No. 11, February 1885, Page 321:

The second code of By-Laws was adopted at the Annual Meeting, on December 7th, 181S, and prefixed to these is recorded the following Preamble:

In every association instituted for the purpose of promoting the moral and intellectual improvement of man it is highly proper and necessary that wholesome rules and regulations should be devised and adopted for the government of the several members who constitute the society.

The Masonic institution in a pre-eminent manner requires such salutary restraints. Venerable for its high antiquity and respectable for the humane and charitable principles, which it inculcates, every expedient should be carefully explored and promptly adopted, that may have a tendency to advance its interest and to preserve unsullied its fair reputation.

Masonry, like almost every other useful institution, has its enemies, and is more exposed to hostile attacks on account of that inviolable secrecy which has for ages concealed its mysteries from all but those who have been duly constituted members of the Fraternity.

To soften the asperity of our enemies and to lessen the prejudices of the ignorant and illiberal, nothing perhaps will have a more powerful tendency than orderly and well-governed meetings of our Lodge, together with that exemplary deportment of its several members, which should on all occasions be the constant characteristic of every good Mason.
Impressed with these considerations the Brethren of Mount Carmel Lodge do consent to and solemnly engage to abide by and enforce the following Code of By-Laws.

This code was comprised in five articles, of six, six, seven, three and nine sections, respectively. The first article fixed the time of meeting to be on Monday preceding the full moon in each and every month; at such hour and place as a majority of the members shall appoint; and shall close at or before ten o'clock, p.m., unless special business requires a later hour; the Master and Wardens may call special meetings of the Lodge. The annual meeting was to be in December, when the officers were to be elected and installed, and all fees and salaries not otherwise regulated were to be established. Visiting brethren were required to pay twenty-five cents for each visit after the first made by them. A lecture on the principles of Masonry was to be given by the Master or by his appointment as often as may be convenient. All votes not otherwise regulated were by majority. No person could leave the lodge without the Master's permission.

Article Two provided for electing the Master, Wardens, Treasurer, and Secretary, the other officers to be appointed by the Master. The Master and Wardens were to be the Standing Committee, to report annually on all Lodge interests, and their duties were described in form prevailing to-day. The duties of the Treasurer and Secretary are described. The Stewards were to furnish the Table when required, and prior to election at the Annual Meeting, they were to furnish "an inventory of all the Utensils and furniture belonging to the Lodge, and deliver the same to their successors." The Tyler was required "to deliver all summonses from the Secretary on the day of the meeting of the Lodge," to see that everything was clean and in good order for use when needed. His salary and that of the Secretary were fixed at the Annual Meeting.

Article Three limited the membership in the Lodge to seventy-five, declared that any member absenting himself for six regular meetings successively, "shall be considered as having withdrawn from the society;" at the sixth time he was to be specially notified, and if he failed to attend, "necessity" was the only acceptable excuse for this delinquency. Dues were to be settled quarterly; failure to settle for four quarters worked forfeiture of membership. Seafaring brethren were required to pay half quarterages and settle annually. Members who paid for ten years could be elected Honorary members by unanimous vote. Members of other Lodges could be elected Honorary by a similar vote. They were to be assigned a seat according to their rank and age. They were relieved from paying quarterages, but had neither voice nor vote in the establishment of quarterages, fees or contribution. Those who had previously been members for ten, had voice and vote on the disposition of the funds, and all Honoraries had the same privilege on all matters relating to the good of the craft.

Article Four regulates the admission of candidates and matters incidental thereto.

Article Five forbids giving letters of recommendation without the consent of the Lodge, and these when given were to be signed by the Master, Wardens and Secretary. The persons for whose benefit a letter was given was required to pay the established fee.

Special meetings, if held for the benefit of a particular per son, were to be paid for by him. Every person must be de cently and cleanly clothed at Lodge meetings. Disclosure of the private concerns of the Lodge to one not a member, was punished by public admonition, expulsion followed a second offence. Members were forbidden to attend clandestine makings, or to associate with any one so made. Respeetfor the Chair was enforced, and good behavior enjoined. Habitual intoxication invited expulsion. Misbehaviors in the Lodge room after the Lodge is closed was forbidden under penalty, first, of admonition, second, expulsion. Votes were to be determined by a majority of those present, except in balloting for candidates. The code was to be read once in three months in open Lodge, but it was not to affect any matter relating to fines, penalties, or forfeitures which may have arisen prior to its adoption, neither could any alterations be made in it except at an Annual meeting.

Up to this time the Lodge had adopted but two codes of By-Laws differing but little from each other; it is observable that after thirteen years of existence, the only instance in which the amount of fee is named in the By-Laws is that of twenty-five cents to be paid by visiting brothers, for any visit made to the Lodge after the first; in other cases, the term "pay the established fee" is used. The amount of the fee or fees seems to have been established by separate votes.

To these two codes seventy names are signed to the firsts and seventy-seven to the second.

We print the names signed to the first code, adopted November 13th, 1805 :—

  • Amh Childs
  • Aaron Breed
  • Samuel Brimblecom
  • Jonas W. Gleason
  • Thos. Witt
  • Ezra Mudge
  • Thom. C. Thacher
  • Fredk. Breed
  • Jonathan Breed
  • James Gardner
  • Richard Johnson
  • Samuel Hallowell
  • Ezra Hitchings, Junr.
  • David Crane
  • Joseph Watson
  • Aaron Lummus
  • Francis Moore, Jnr.
  • Joseph Johnson, Jr.
  • Fredk. Breed, Jr.
  • James Newhall, 5th
  • Ephraim Sweetser
  • Joseph Blanchard
  • Robert McCleary
  • Nathan G. Pratt
  • Robert Gilman
  • Oliver Fuller
  • Robert Rich
  • Joseph Mudge
  • John Mudge
  • Moses Tapley
  • William McKinstry
  • Kliphaez Curtis
  • Thomas Boyce
  • Abel Mackintire
  • Caleb Downing
  • Fred. Newhall
  • George Lummus
  • Enoch Curtice
  • Daniel L. Mudge
  • Sam1. Viall
  • Ezekiel H. Parker
  • John Lakeman
  • Thomas Rawdon
  • Jno. F. Gardner
  • Robert W. Trevett
  • John Lummus
  • Ellis Newhall
  • Theophilus Hallowell, Jr.
  • Josiah Newhall, Jr.
  • Theoph. Burrill, 2nd
  • Jonathan Richardson
  • Benja. Oliver
  • P. G. Robbins
  • Joseph Moulton
  • Jacob Newhall
  • Jabez Hitchings
  • Amos Tapley
  • Thomas Rhodes, Jr.
  • James Pool
  • James Willson
  • Z. Atwell, Jr.
  • Matthew Breed, Jr.
  • Benj. Mudge
  • Amos Atwill
  • Nathan Reed
  • Joseph Breed, 3d
  • John Burrill, Honorary Member
  • George Atwell
  • Reuben Washburn
  • Joseph Barry

On December 28th, 1825, the Lodge voted to have a hundred copies of the By-Laws printed ; one month later a vote was passed instructing the proposer of a candidate "to loan him his copy of the By-Laws that he may be acquainted with what he is to be governed by."

It appears that the office of Marshal was new to the Lodge in 1819, f»r on February 8th of that year a committee was appointed to ascertain and acquaint that officer with his duty.

Neither is it clear when a Chaplain was first appointed, but a jewel for that officer was not procured until May 23d, 1825, when it was ordered preliminary to participating in the laying of the Corner-stone of Bunker Hill Monument.

At this meeting the Lodge voted to "attend at the laying of the Corner-stone of the contemplated Monument in ancient form on the 17th of June next agreeably to a request from the Grand Master." The Lodge met at Wildes & Hosmers on Friday morning, June 17th, 1825, at half-past seven o'clock, and carried a banner procured for the occasion. It also paid the expenses of Brother John Burrill that he might attend.

Early in 1819 a report was accepted to procure additional furniture, "except procuring cushions for the seats at the right and left hand of the Master." More clothing was procured, and the old was ordered to be cleaned. In April, a report was acceptcd whereby a small "room with the Hall can be had for $2.75 for each regular Lodge night."

On the 16th day of April, 1821, the standing committee, or the Master and Wardens was, William Trevitt, Josiah Newell, and Joseph Barry. To these were added Ezra Hitchings d Ezra Mudge as a "Committee to provide some suitable venue for the Lodge to meet in for the future." This was Flowed by joining James Gardner, William Badger and William Chadwell with the first named committee to raise money by subscription to carry out the business contemplated.

Land, or property was bought from Nathan Newhall, from which $431 worth of land was sold and a Masonic Hall was built at a cost of $873.50, by George Blaisdell and Benjamin R. Sanburn, the lowest of five bidders. This hall was dedicated with Masonic ceremonies on Nov. 12th, 1821, when "a procession was formed at the Hotel and proceeded from thence to the Masonic Hall." To this dedication, all brother Masons in town were invited, also the Selectmen, Overseers of the Poor, and the several ministers in town. The Lodge met at 4 o'clock in the afternoon, and the ceremonies began at 6 o'clock. The Introductory Prayer was by Rev. Otis Rockwood; the Dedicatory Prayer by Rev. Bro. Timothy Merritt, and the Concluding Prayer by Rev. Bro. Phinehas Peek. The address by Worshipful Master William Trevett was regarded as "able and appropriate," and for this the Lodge gave him a Vote of Thanks.

The corner-stone of this hall was laid June 25th, 1821, by Mount Carmel Lodge, with full Masonic ceremonies, with additional services at the Methodist Meeting House, after which they returned in procession to the Masonic Hall and partook of a dinner provided for the occasion. Toasts were drank appropriate to the occasion, and the brethren "retired in Peace and Harmony."

The plate placed beneath the stone was inscribed on one side as follows: "This Corner-Stone Masons' Hall was laid in due form, June 25th, A. D. 1821, A. L 5821, the R. W. Jona. G. Johnson, D. D. G. M. of 2d District, assisted by the R. W. Master, Officers and Brethren of Lynn. Solo. Deo. Solus." On the other side of the plate was: "Mount Carmel Lodge, Charter granted A. L. 5805."

Brother Cheever Felch delivered the address, and the Lodge voted to request of him a copy for publication, first, on July 9th, 1821, and again on April ist, 1822. Every member was given a copy of this address, and the remainder was put on sale.

On January 15th, 1822, it was voted, "that a Board of Trustees be chosen to hold the property of Mount Carmel Lodge." This board was to consist of seven. Following this, a petition was prepared, a bill was drafted, and "An Act Incorporating the Trustees of Mount Carmel Lodge," was obtained from the Senate and House of Representatives.

This was approved by the Governor and signed by Alden Bradford, Secretary of the Commonwealth, February 9th, 1822, and the first meeting of the Trustees was called by J. Gardner, for March 4th, 1822.

A vote was passed, June 11th, 1821, ordering a circular letter to be sent to the Lodges in Salem, Danvers, Marblehead, Maiden and South Reading, requesting them to meet with Mount Carmel in the celebrating of St. John's Day which, on on this occasion, was done on June 25th, and included the laying of the corner-stone of the new Masonic Hall. In 1822, this celebration was with Philanthropic Lodge at Marblehead, and annually thereafter with the Lodges above alluded to, in their respective locations, as the turn of each came around.

On December 15th, 1823, the Lodge voted to have a public installation of its officers, and this was done on the 25th following. Every member was permitted to invite two persons and no more.

The Lodge was diligent in rehearsing the lectures, and attending to the work generally; Brother John Burrill was the instructor.

August 14th, 1826, it was voted to have a public lecture every Friday night at seven and a half o'clock. December 19th, 1831, a vote was passed to have a course of scientific
lectures in the hall, to be public as far as was desirable; on June 11th, 1832, a board of five managers was appointed to procure lecturers — the tickets were to be signed by the Secretary, and sold at fifty cents each.

In 1819, the Lodge appointed a committee to "wait on the D. D. G. M. Brother Andrew Nicholls, and inform him the Lodge was ready to receive any communication from him which he may please to offer." The Deputy is reported as having "delivered a very appropriate address for the good of Masonry." The official visitations by the D. D. G. M. were made with commendable regularity by other Deputies, among whom were Bros. Joseph G. Sprague and John Bartlett, until 1827, when the records begin to neglect to note the occasions. At the Annual Meeting in December, 1819, it was voted "that Mr. ____ be requested to withdraw his request to be initiated in the Lodge." In March, 1820, another candidate was allowed to withdraw a similar request, and a year later, the same was allowed to another.

In severing the ties of membership in the Lodge the word "withdrawal" was used, and the By-Laws required the request to be made in writing, but on January 3d, 1830, it was voted to dispense with this, "and the following brethren were discharged from membership agreeably to their request." Br. Jacob S. Johnson, Benj. H. Johnson, Thomas Phillips, Theopholis Burrill, Jos. M. Fuller, Timothy Munroe, Jr., and Lewis W. Ham. At this meeting, Br. S. Hallowell, who had kept the records since April 11th, 1811, was excused from again serving as Secretary, and was succeeded by Edward Carroll.

At the Annual meeting in December, 1825, the schedule of the property of the Lodge was as follows: —

Land and Hall, 11 Jewels, 12 Bands for do., Silver Square and Compasses, Silver Dirk, Flooring, 65 Sashes, 72 Aprons, 1 Banner, 2 Master's Mallets, Warden's Truncheons, Pillars, Working Tools, Ballot Box, 2 Trunks, 4 Rods, 2'Bibles, 1 Masonic Minstrel, 1 Book Constitutions, 1 Prayer Book, n Brass Candlesticks, 4 Reflectors, 5 Tin Candlesticks, 2 pair Snuffers and Tray, 2 Brushes, 2 Brooms, 2 Looking Glasses, 2 Chests, Tin Kettle, 1 Water Pail, 1 Lantern, 6 yards Crape, 1 Apron Chest, 1 Sword, 2 Stands, 2 Baskets, 1 Sugar Box, 9 Wax Candles, 16 Wine Glasses, 17 Tumblers, Wood and Bark, 6 Jugs, Large Pitchers, 2 Small Pitchers, 1 pair Bellows, 7 Seats, 2 Tables, 2 Tables Covered, 4 Decanters, 1 Bucket, 2 Sugar Bowls, 4 Spoons, 3 Plates, 4 Bottles, 2 Hair Brushes, Clothing, 3 pair Dogs, 3 pair Shovel and Tongs.

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. VIII, No. 12, March 1885, Page 353:

The schedule of property owned by the Lodge in 1825, shows that it was well equipped for the work of Conferring degrees, and very well furnished for social purposes; it does not appear in the records, however, that refreshment was provided at every meeting, though it can be inferred that the brethren were not insensible to the social virtues.

In this connection, a vote passed on February 12th, 1821, is worth noticing: "Voted, to dispense with our usual refreshment for the present."

It is more than possible that the frequent calls for assistance at about thisperiod may have influenced the brethren in passing the above vote, and this was expressed by a committee to whom was referred a case of charity, in the declaration "that Charity is the Mason's peculiar Virtue."

On November 1st, 1824, it was "Voted, to remit Br. Enoch Curtins' dues to the Lodge, his health being so impaired as to render him unable to do any labour for a considerable time past." At this meeting a committee was appointed to examine the accounts and report all cases to the Lodge, of brethren who might be unable to pay, in order that the dues charged against them might be remitted.

Two years later the Lodge needed money and vigorous measures were adopted to collect the dues; this was supplemented at later meetings by similar action, and enforcing the by-laws in this particular, but modified always by the possible fact of inability to pay. In such cases the Lodge was always charitable and forgiving.

On July 30th, 1819, the Lodge performed Masonic Burial Service at the grave of Br. Thomas Johnson, after service in the "Old Meeting House," by Elijah Heading; on February 6th, 1821, at the grave of Br. Jonathan Breed; on December 3d, following, resolutions of sympathy and condolence with the family of Br. Capt. Joseph Mudge, recently deceased. December 25th, 1822, service was performed at the burial of Br. James Beckford; on June 30th, 1823, at the grave of Br/. William Badger, but following service at the "Second Congregational Meeting House," by Brother Bartlett. The performance of similar duties gradually gave way before the growth of anti-Masonry.

The Lodge gave frequently and liberally, for the times, to subjects of Charity; sometimes by direct vote, at others, by the Standing Committee; but on December 14th, 1821, a Committee of Charity was established, to whom this work was delegated. A notable case was that of the widow of Moses Tapley, a Past Master of the Lodge. He moved to Ohio, where, after some years, he died. His widow, Rachel, with six children, but of limited mean?, was anxious to return to Lynn, and the Lodge helped her to get from Pittsburgh in the latter part of July, 1825, giving her forty dollars.

On January 20th, 1823, Unity Lodge, at Ipswich, requested aid for Bro. David Dodge, who had been burned out, but the needy poor in Mt. Carmel were preferred and helped at that meeting. June 7th, 1824, twenty dollars was sent to W. M. of Essex Lodge, for Bro. Isaac Knapp of Rowley, who had lost by fire. March 31st, 1828, the case of Bro. Daniel Amiable, a loser from the same cause, was left to a committee. Bro/. Jabez Hitchings had had sickness in his family, and the Lodge sent him ten dollars. One brother was helped frequently, usually by money, and once by cloth for an overcoat; occasionally a cord of wood was given where needed. Feb. 5th, 1827, Central Lodge, in China, Me., asked help for two gentlemen not described as brethren. The Committee concluded that the Lodge was too much pressed by its own affairs to respond.

In this connection, it maybe well to remind the reader that the Lodge had incurred considerable of a debt in building the Masonic Hall, and strenuous efforts had to be made at times to meet existing financial obligations.

In March, 1822, the report of a committee was adopted, whereby fees were fixed at one dollar a night for tyling: fifty cents for washing the floor of the hall; and one cent apiece for washing the aprons. Two years later it was found to be expedient to have a new Tyler. Brother David Crane, who had long been Tyler, was reported as old and infirm, but entitled to all tire privileges of the Lodge, without paying quarterages; in addition to this he was to be paid fifty cents, as assistant Tyler every Lodge night. Brother Jabez Hitchings was appointed Tyler, at one dollar and fifty cents for each meeting, if he distributed notices; if notices were not distributed, seventy-five cents should be the fee.

It was in contemplation at one time to carpet the floor of the hall, but as a matter of economy, it was decided on September 6th, 1824, to paint it.

The Lodge was sensitive in regard to the conduct of its members, and occasion was not wanted to manifest this. In November, 1822, a committee was appointed to inquire into the business and failure of a member, with the result of advising his withdrawal. The committee did not want " to state that any intentional design was formed by our unfortunate Brother, to defraud his brethren, but by neglect of duty he has injured many of them materially,'and on this account, we do think it will be for the harmony of the society that he decline meeting with us."

On February 19th, 1827, a committee was chosen "for the year, to settle all differences which may exist among the brethren." This committee consisted of Ezra Mudge, Samuel Brim-blecom and Ezra Hitchings.

In September following, a committee was chosen to confer with a brother on reports "relative to his immoral and unmasonic conduct." This ended in a withdrawal from membership by the brother complained of.

On the 28th day of February, 1820, William Badger was made a Master Mason, in Mt. Carmel Lodge; in September, following, he acted as Junior Deacon, pro tem.; at the election of officers, December 18th, 1820, he was appointed Senior Deacon, was re-appointed in 1821 on January 18th, 1822, he was appointed to get subscribers to "the petition for an Act of Incorporation;" in December, 1822, he was chosen Senior Warden, occupied the place for the last time on May 19th, 1823, and on June 30th, 1823, "the funeral ceremonies in Masonic form" were conducted by the Lodge over his remains. These were observed at the "Second Congregational Meeting House," where Brother Bartlett officiated, closing with "the usual ceremonies at the grave."

The committee for building the Masonic Hall, reported on December 3d, 1821, " That the amount of Cash expended and expenses to complete the Hall, is $1,325.98. Amount of Credit Cash received, $1,033.09; Balance, $292.89." December 23d, 1822, the Standing Committee reported the names of those from whom the Lodge had borrowed, showing also that the Lodge was about $300 better off than in 1821, and that the debt had been reduced to $762.63. On December 15th, 1828, the Annual Statement presented the debt as being $535.82, and this was the last full financial report spread upon the records prior to the surrender of the Charter. During the next six years, very little was entered in the records concerning the business of the Lodge ; when reports were made, they were generally accepted, but we are seldom told what was the nature of the report considered.

The spirit of anti-Masonry prevailed sorely against the prosperity of the Lodge; quarterages remained unpaid. The receipts for the year, reported December 19th, 1831, had fallen off to a total of $22.45, but the expenditures were only $13.78. and this was the last told about its finances; as long as it had life, however, it was true to its profession. On December 23d, 1833, the Treasurer was drawn upon for two cords of wood each to Miss Hitchings, Miss Badger and Miss Clark, and on December 16th, 1834, the same quantity was given to Brother Trevitt, Widow Hitchings and Widow Clark.

In the latter cases, Brother H. A. Breed was a committee to carry the order into effect. This veteran Freemason was born in Lynn, April 21st, 1798; he was initiated in Mt. Carmel Lodge, March 4th, received the second degree on the 12th, and the Master Mason's Degree, March 19th, 1822. St. Luke's Royal Arch Chapter was then in existence at Marblehead, and in 1824, Brother Breed received the degrees in Royal Arch Masonry in that Chapter, then presided over by Rev. John Bartlett, H. P., active in Freemasonry as well as in the ministry, and who was also District Deputy Grand Master of the then Second Masonic District of the M. W. Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.

Brother Breed connects the old with the new of Freemasonry in Lynn; he lived through the anti-Masonic period, witnessed the revival of Masonry, and saw "that the glory of the latter was greater than that of the former." When we last met him, only a few months since, we could well imagine the contrast presented to him between the Masonic Hall and fittings' where he was made a Mason, and the present elegant apartments in Lynn, wherein we were then assembled, and could almost hear the smile of satisfaction that played upon his countenance, break into the words, " Lord, let now thy servant depart in peace."

The fact has already beer, noticed that St. John the Baptist's Day was annually observed by five associated Lodges, and that the ceremonies were conducted in the town where the Lodge was located whose turn it might be to receive the visitors. The 24th day of June, 1826, was one of the most notable occasions reported.

A Committee of Arrangements had been appointed, whose duty it was in part, to notify the Lodges in the association, and to select an orator for the day.

On May 1st, the Lodge was opened on the first step in Masonry, "a communication from Br. Caleb Cushing was then read, as follows:

Newbury Port, April 30th, 1826.

Messrs. Wm. Chadwell, James Gardner & Robert W. Trevett.

Gentlemen.— It will afford me great pleasure to deliver an address at Lynn agreeably to your invitation, and no exertion shall be wanting on my part to meet your wishes and expectation. I pray you to accept the assurance of my sensibility to the honor you do me in asking my services for the interesting occasion and to believe me,

with sentiments of respect your friend & Brother,

C. Cushing.

When the interesting day arrived, the Lodge was opened on the "first step," "then passed to refreshment," when they proceeded to the Hotel, partook of a collation, then marched in procession to the "First Methodist Meeting House," where the usual ceremonies were performed, and "a very able, learned and eloquent address was delivered by Br. Caleb Cushing."

From the church the march was to the Town Hall where the brethren "partook of a sumptuous entertainment, and a number of appropriate toasts were drank on the occasion." It was "voted unanimously that the thanks of this Convention be presented to our Br. the Hon1. Caleb Cushing, for the able, learned and eloquent address this day delivered before the Convention, and request a copy for the press." "The presiding officers of the five associated Lodges" were made a committee to carry this into effect.

At this meeting it was "voted that Liberty Lodge be admitted into the association, agreeable to their request, and the next celebration be at Beverly," subject to the management of Liberty Lodge. The weather on this occasion was so rainy, the Lodge was closed at the Town Hall.

It seems that the Lodges in this association used to consult as to their mutual interests; costs and charges were carefully considered, and though Mt. Carmel Lodge might give David Crane a cord of wood, it did at the same meeting instruct its first three officers, on December 17, 1828, to confer with the other "Lodges of the association relative to having the annual fees of Subordinate Lodges to the Grand Lodge, reduced." Committees of the whole were not unfamiliar in the Lodge, — a notable instance was on March 15th, 1824, when the Lodge went into "committee of the whole to transact the business of the Corporation."

On June 23d, 1824, the Standing Committee was authorized to procure a trunk "for the purpose of keeping the Bands of the Jewels in, lately provided."

In the spring of 1825, the brethren hoped to have General La Fayette meet with them at the celebration of St. John's Day in June following. It was intended to have the several Lodges meet in Lynn, and on April 11th a committee was chosen to make arrangements. On May 2d the committee was requested "to invite General La Layette to meet with the Lodge at the approaching anniversary." No further mention is made of this in the records, but the facts indicate that "the laying of the Corner Stone" of Bunker Hill Monument, in ancient Masonic form on the 17th of June, supplanted any other or subsequent celebration by the Lodge during that year.

From May 13th to June 14th four separate dispensation, were obtained by the Lodge to shorten time in conferring degrees. The first of these, and the first also that appears in the records, reads as follows:

Dispensation is hereby granted to Mount Carmel Lodge in Lynn to confer the degrees of Entered Apprentice, Fellow Craft, & Master Mason upon John Hay, Matthew Clark, & Jacob J. Johnson, at such time as may suit the convenience of sd. Lodge.

John Bartlett, D. D. G. M., 2d M. Dist.

Marblehead, May 13th A. L. 5S25.
To Wm. Chadwell, R. W. M., Mt. Carmel Lodge.

Ou June 10th, 1825, we get a hint that vocal music was introduced during work, by a vote then passed, authorizing the Standing Committee to pay for the "Master Mason's Hymn, and those copies printed on pasteboard be retained in the Lodge for the use of the same."

At the same meeting a move was made toward procuring jewels for the several Past Masters, but at an "adjourned meeting" on June 13th it was concluded to be inexpedient.

The Sixth Article in the By-Laws required unanimous consent to admit an Honorary Member. On December 28th, 1825, this was altered so that two-thirds of the members present could admit to such honor.

Several matters of business came up during the fall of 1825. On September 27th, Br. Jabez Hitchings was appointed Collector of Quarterages. "A Water Spout" was put "in front of the Hall" and approved, on November 21st. A former committee was discharged on January 23d, 1826, and a new one appointed "to confer on the expediency of subscribing something for the pump in Market Square, and make their report this evening." Five dollars were given "out of the funds of the Lodge."

The expediency of paving in front of the Hall was agitated in 1824, but on July 5th, a committee reported it to be inexpedient, and this was concurred in.

September 10th, 1827, a report was accepted, showing that "the room below" had been let for "two dollars a month," and on October 29th, a committee was "authorized to let the room under the Hall for a School room" to "Br. Phippen if they should think proper."

On November 17th, 1828, a committee was appointed to wait on delinquent brethren, to consult with the Trustees respecting the rents of the Hall, and "to have the property insured by the Insurance Company in this Town."

During the year 1829, the Lodge held twelve regular monthly meetings. Five members only, were present in January and March; in the other months there were present, nine in February, sixteen in April, thirteen in May, twelve in June, ten in July, nine in August, six in September, ten in October, three in November and thirteen in December. There was no work done during the year, though a lecture was given occasionally, Br. Isaac Story addressed the Lodge on two occasions, "upon the principles of Masonry, in a very appropriate and impressive manner." Efforts were made to collect quarterages with rather poor success, and in December, Br. Ezra Mudge was chosen "to draft a memorial relative to the death of our late worthy Brother Ezra Hitchings."

At the meeting held February 1st, 1830, it was voted to dispense with the By-Laws requiring monthly meetings to be held; and to leave it with the Master to call the Lodge together when he may deem it proper. Under this rule ten regular and two special meetings were held during the year, the attendance was better and more energy was displayed. The name of one member was erased from the roll "as an expression of our just indignation at his unworthy conduct as a man and Mason." The quarterages were reduced one-half. Brother Isaac Gates, Esq., was requested to deliver a course of lectures, and the first of these was given August 30th on Astronomy. On September 27th the Lodge decided that it was unable to assist the Grand Lodge in "erecting the Temple," in Boston, now the United States Court House. The Lodge received a lecture from Bro. Henry A. Breed. April 5th, three brothers became members of the Lodge. The income for the year was $59.12, the expenses $49.92.

The attendance in 1831 continued to be about the same as in 1830; ten meetings were held during the year; the income was $22.45, expenses $13.78. Brothers John Lovejoy, Henry A. Breed and Joseph N. Sanderson were appointed a committee to procure subscribers to the Masonic Mirror, edited by Charles W. Moore; the Lodge voted in December to have a Course of "Scientific Lectures," due notice was taken of the death of Past District Deputy James Gardner, and at the last meeting, December 26th, three brethren were proposed for membership.

In January, 1832, the Trustees were directed to call a meeting, "in regard to a piece of land that Messrs. Chase and Huse wish to purchase." Ten meetings were held during the year; the least number present at any meeting was ten, the largest number, fifteen, the average attendance was thirteen three-tenths. The same brethren attended regularly, Bro. Henry A. Breed, still living, did not miss once.

The record of only one meeting is made in 1833, that being on December 23d, when seventeen members were present, other meetings were no doubt held, for at this one the records say, the proceedings of the last meeting were read. The Standing Committee reported, the officers for the ensuing year were elected, and the Lodge was closed subject to the call of the Master and Wardens.

On December 16th, 1S34, the annual meeting for that year was held, and the records of this is the only one that appears. The business was regularly transacted and the following votes were passed. "That the subject of surrendering the Charter be postponed till the next annual meeting." That "the dresses of M. C. Lodge be given to Brother Hilchings." That " Brother William Chadwell be a Committee to dispose of such small articles as are of no use to the Lodge." "To adjourn till our next annual meeting in December, unless called together on special business."

No other meeting of the Lodge is recorded until June 11th, 1845, when the Lodge commenced the new season of prosperity which has since continued.

When the Lodge closed in 1834, the brethren present are recorded as follows : Joseph N. Sanderson, W. M.; Jonathan Richardson, S. W.; Carey Libbey, J. W.; John Lovejoy, Treas.; Edw. Carroll, Secretary; Josiah Newhall, Samuel Brimblecom, Amos Mower, Henry A. Breed, William Chadwell, John Stimpson, Isaiah Wheeler, E. H. Parker, Isaiah Hacker, George Johnson, Samuel T. Huse.

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. IX, No. 1, April 1885, Page 3:

There is nothing in the Book of Records to show that the „odge was called together at anytime during the decade from 1835 to 1845, and whatever may have been, we are left very much to'conjecture as to its history during that period. That the question of reviving the Lodge was discussed by brethren who had not been unmindful of its former usefulness is apparent, and the result of their deliberations is shown in the opening record of the new era of its prosperity.

"The Charter of Mount Carmel Lodge having been restored to the petitioners, Brothers Edmond A. Monroe, John Phillips, Thomas Phillips, James Phillips, Theophilus Burrell, Jr., Richard S. Ham, Thomas Allcer, and Lewis W. Ham, on the eleventh day of June, one thousand eight hundred and forty-five," — "a meeting of-said petitions was called at Masonic Hall on Saturday, July 19th, 5845, and the following officers were unanimously agreed upon."

"It was further agreed that a meeting should be held on Wednesday, July 23d, 5845, for the purpose of installing the officers, as follows:

  • Bro. Edmond A. Monroe, M.
  • Bro. Thomas Phillips, S. W.
  • Bro. Theophilus Burrell, Jr., J. W.
  • Bro. John Phillips, Sec.
  • Bro. Alanson Burrell, Treas.
  • Bro. Timothy Munroe, S. D.
  • Bro. Richard S. Ham, J. D.
  • Bro. James Phillips, Lewis W. Ham, Stewards.
  • Bro. Thomas Alker, Marshal.
  • Bro. Thomas J. Stone, Tyler.

"The District D. Grand Master Samuel Bowden and P. D. G. Master, Rev. John Bartlett came and the Lodge was opened on the third degree in Masonry by our Rev. Brother Bartlett, when all of the above named officers elect were duly and impressively installed by Brother Bartlett, after which the Lodge was closed.

"The Brethren having refreshed themselves on an elegant and strictly temperance collation furnished by Brother T. Alker, retired."

It is evident that the occasion was one of much interest, and attracted active attention, as appears from the many visitors present.

These were Brothers Vincent Brown, William B. Oliver, Nichols and Parkman, of Boston. No doubt the two latter were Smith W. Nichols and William Parkman, who were, as also was Brother Oliver, members of St. Andrew's Lodge. Brothers Edward Carroll, John Viall, Isaiah Hacker, Amos Mower, Jonathan Richardson, Caleb Willey, Benjamin Oliver, Oliver Fuller, William Prescott, M. D., George Lummus, and Timothy Alley, 3d, all of Lynn, Brothers Increase Brown, Trifrye, Blaney, and Boardman of Marblehead; a total of thirty-two brethren in attendance. Some of these names were familiar ones before the anti-Masonic period, and others have been made so since—that of Brother Parkman — in association with the office of M. W. Grand Master.

The Lodge being started anew, much of the old-time vigor was manifested in its government, and five meetings were held during the next thirty-three days.

On July 28th, votes were passed, that the regular commu-nicamms should be held on Tuesday evenings, on or before the full of the moon; on August 13th this was changed to Monday. To invite "Brother Horace Barrus" to lecture before the Lodge, to commence on the following Tuesday, and to invite brethren in good standing in the Lodge to attend the lecture.

Brother Horace G. Barrows is the person here alluded to, and was well known to be a very good ritualist.

August 13th, the Master and Senior Warden were appointed "to inquire into the circumstances of the property belonging to Mount Carmel Lodge previous to 5845, and to ascertain what became of said property; also, to see what became of the Jewels and Regalia of said Lodge." This committee was "required to wait on the previous or former officers" "for the purpose of carrying the above resolutions into effect."

The committee was granted further time at subsequent meetings and finally disappeared without having made a report to appear in the records.

It may be inferred that some, perhaps all, of the property was recovered, but that age had rendered a portion useless. To remedy the defect, from whatever cause, a committee was appointed on October 5th, 1846, " to fill, up the deficiencies in regalia and jewels." This committee was afterwards discharged and another was appointed, "to procure jewels and make such other arrangements hvregard to regalia as in their wisdom they may think proper."

Whatever resulted from this was rudely interfered with by fire, between February 17th and March 24th, 1851. The record of the latter date shows that to have been the regular night of meeting, but "the room of meeting having been destroyed by fire, together with a considerable portion of the property of the Lodge, and being without a place of meeting," a few brethren met at the house of Thomas Phillips, W. M.

The next six meetings, April, May, June, September, October and November, were held in the same place; in the meantime negotiations had been pending, which, delayed by reason of the Lodge night of meeting, resulted in securing the Hall of the Sons of Temperance, where the Lodge assembled on the 16th day of December, 1851, but the record is not clear as to how long the Lodge remained there.

At tht meeting of June nth, 1849, Thomas Phillips, W. M., was appointed to "superintend the receiving a banner to be presented by the ladies of Lynn," and to make arrangements in regard to the celebration. A vote of thanks was passed a month later to the cho.ir of the First Universalist Society, for their valuable services on the occasion of the presentation." Whether this banner was among the property saved we are not told. On August 2d, 1852, Brother William A. Spinney gave the Lodge a "beautiful copy of the Holy Bible to replace the ancient volume destroyed at the burning of Liberty Hall." Two years later, Brother Thomas P. Fenby gave a "beautiful Sword." Brother William F. Buckly "presented a new stove for the Hall," and Bro.\ Jonathan Richardson gave a "mirror for the ante-room."

These donors all received special vote of thanks, as did the Committee to fit up the Hall, who reported finally on January 8, 1855, it was not until May 14th, however, of that year that the "Collars" were used.

It was decided on October 5th, 1845, that the former members of the Lodge could be admitted within one year, by unanimous vote and without fee. Many availed themselves of this privilege, and occasions were frequent when many visitors were present. One of these was when Dr. John Renton received the third degree; C. B. Rogers, Charles W. Moore and W. W. Wheildon were among the visitors, and the first-named by request performed the work. The first work done, after revival was on September 15th, 1845, when Bradford Williams received the first degree ; other candidates for the degrees presented themselves and an active interest in the correct rendering of the ritual was taken.

On January 15th, 1849, a communication from Grand Lodge was read, asking that a delegafl§ be appointed "to meet the permanent members of the Grand Lodge in convention at the Masonic Temple, in Boston, on the first Wednesday in February, next, for the purpose of comparing, considering, determining, and adopting a uniform system of work and Lectures for all the Lodges throughout this Commonwealth." Voted, to send Thomas Phillips, and to pay his expenses.

January 18th, 1847, the Lodge had a public installation of its officers, "the Hall was filled with Ladies and Gentlemen and the services were performed by the Grand Lodge Officers."

A similar ceremonv was performed February 5th, 1849, when Rev. Brother John Moore delivered an address, "which was listened to with profound attention and satisfaction by brethren, Ladies and Gentlemen present." Thanks were voted to Brother Moore, and to the ladies and gentlemen who "so eminently supported and executed the vocal and instrumental services of the evening. A copy of the address was requested for publication in the Masonic Magazine.

The Lodge made the conditions of membership easy, thereby hoping to recover the old members, subject to ballot, as speedily as possible. October 13th, 1845, quarterages were fixed at fifty cents, and membership fee at one dollar.

On October 20th, 1845, a committee was appointed to prepare a code of By-Laws. These, however, were not ordered to be printed until January 3d, 1848.

Efforts were promptly made to.look after the monetary affairs of the Lodge; the Committee of Charity was re-established December 8th, 1845; lectures in one or the other of the degrees were given, in the absence of work, and constant attention was paid to whatever might seem to be useful and helpful to the Lodge.

September 7th, 1846, the Lodge was closed "owing to excessive heat."

The first invitation to the celebration of St. John's Day, after revival, was received, one from Portsmouth, N. H., and one from Fitchburg, Mass., on May 18th, 1846, for June 24th, following. Neither was accepted, but the members were advised to attend, as convenience or inclination might dictate.

In 1847, the invitation was from Morning Star Lodge, Worcester; this was disposed of as in the preceding year.

The invitation to New Bedford, in 1848, was accepted, but this was somewhat modified on June 19th, when "a sufficient number" had not reported.

The invitations in 1849 were from Ancient Landmark Lodge, Portland, Me., and St. Mark's, Newburyport, Mass.; the latter was accepted.

In 1850, the invitation to Frarningham was accepted; in 1851, that of Essex Lodge, Salem, was accepted; in 1853 that to Worcester was accepted; in 1854, Middlesex Lodge, Framingham, gave another invitation, and this was accepted; in 1855, the invitation from Montgomery Lodge, Milford, Mass., was accepted.

The records do not show by any subsequent reports whether the Lodge really attended at any of these celebrations ; that it did is sustained only by the affirmative votes.

Under date of Lynnfield, July 22d, 1848, Asa T. Newhall, D. D. G. M. gave his Dispensation to confer the degrees in less than the regular time on Charles W. Babb, who expected to leave Lynn; a similar favor was granted for Gilbert Hawkes, August 8th, 1849, who expected to go "West," and again, on March 20th, 1854, for Charles E. Raddin's benefit.

Among the names of brethren endeared to the fraternity and to the public in Lynn, is that of Ephraim A. Ingalls, who was made a Mason, September 27th, a Fellow Craft in October, and a Master Mason, November 29th, 1847.

October 25th, 1847, "the subject of reducing the rent to the Female Rechabites was introduced and referred to a committee." January 3d, 1848, the hall was let "to the Daughters of Temperance for 12 dollars a year." An effort had been made to get the Odd Fellows' Hall, but this fell through, and on February 21st, 1848, a committee was appointed "to attend to regulating the Hall to the different associations who may occupy it." At the next meeting the hall was let to the Second Division of the Sons of Temperance for "26 dollars a year." A year later the Cadets of Temperance were admitted "at 4 dollars per quarter." The renting of the hall was finally, April 1st, 1850, left with the Standing Committee.

The death of members was duly noticed, as circumstances dictated, that of Bro. Isaiah Wheeler occurred February 13th, 1848, when he was fifty-five years old. The funeral ceremony was performed on the 17th, when Rev. Brother Baer of Philanthropic Lodge officiated. A vote of thanks was afterward given to Essex Lodge and to Philanthropic Lodge "for their very brotherly regards in attending the funeral of our deceased brother."

January 8th, 1850, affer a report, Bro. Benjamin Oliver was elected an Honorary Member. This brother was a frequent visitor to the Lodge and, apparently, had been of service to it.

On March 16th, 1855, Bro. E. A. Munroe handed in his resignation as Secretary. Brother H. C. Oliver acted as Secretary until December 29th, 1855, when Bro. Gilbert Hawkes retired as Worshipful Master and was elected Secretary.

The Secretary was directed to procure a new book of records, and the old one which had served the Lodge for half a century, was certified to accordingly, and closed.

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. IX, No. 2, May 1885, Page 33:

The course of Mount Carmel Lodge has been followed in the five chapters preceding this, for a period of fifty years, and much has been presented in its history that is worthy of emulation in these later times, when knowledge and understanding are thought to be more closely joined together, and the pursuit of wisdom is encouraged by more favorable circumstances.

It will be difficult to discover wherein the present conduct of Masonic affairs is superior to that of long ago, while the history of this Lodge shows so much that is good, and beyond which little, if any, real advance has been made.

In matters of charity, the Lodge was always a cheerful giver, a sound adviser, a judicious and prudent friend. The widow or children of deceased brethren were never turned empty away; but according to their needs, so were they helped, and so was the history being made that must continue to secure the admiration of later generations.

When an aged brother was found to need an outer garment, cloth was provided, and the coat was made, that age and decay might not impede the way to the lodge-room beyond the average and natural disabilities that come to all.

Neither was the Lodge indifferent to the moral and social well-being of its members. It provided in the By-Laws against habitual intoxication, and prohibited conduct "derogatory to the character of a Mason;" and, on more than one occasion, it considered the cause of personal differences be-lu i brethren, and settled disputes in business affairs that mij;t otherwise have been prolonged or carried into expensive litigation. Indeed, it may be asserted with safety, that Mt. Carmel Lodge was an influential factor in establishing god morals, promoting education, and in advancing the genera welfare of the community. The founders of the Lodge were men of character and influent, and were respected accordingly. The fiist Master was Amriah Childs, Esq., and among its earliest members were Col. John Burrill, Col. Frederick Breed, Dr. James Gardner, and others equally respected.

The centre of influence was then at West Lynn, and what has since been called Boston Street, was noted for the number of prominent persons who lived along it.

The records fail to describe the various halls or buildings wherein the Lodge has held meetings. An article in the Lynn Transcript, copied from the Lynn Bay State, of 1859, located the Lodge, first, in a hall over Mr. Philbrick's store, on Boston Street.

It appears that the brethren met and agreed to form a "about the first of June, A. L. 5805," and on the next page it is reported by a committee, "that they had obtained permission of the Trustees to hold their meetings in the Academy." This was prior to July 3d, 1805, the date of the second record of meeting. On the 4th of September, following, the Senior Grand Warden were authorized to "wait on the Trustees of Lynn Academy and request leave to meet in the Hall of the Academy, in future." This building was on South Common Street, between Vine and Commercial Streets.

October 22d, 1806, a special meeting was held in Lummus Hall, located at the corner of Tremont and ISIarket Streets, wh± had been offered for thirty-six dollars a year, but of the nineteen members present, only four voted in favor of taking it.

There is an uncertainty in regard to the place of meeting, not explained by the records; evidently, the Lodge had met lsewherc than in the Academy, for on January 6th, 1808, after a report had been made, a Committee was appointed "to remove the furniture belonging to Mount Carmel Lodge to the Academy, and to see that the curtains are put in order to each window."

The meetings of November 30th and December 7th, 1808, and that of January 4th, 1809, were held in the Lynn Hotel, on Market Square, West Lynn.

Action had been taken on October 5th, 1808, and a contract completed with Brother Joseph Johnson, whereby the Lodge should pay fifty dollars a year for his hall, he "to find fuel and small candles every regular Lodge night;" and under this the Lodge met at the new hall of Brother Joseph Johnson, February 1st, 1809. This hall was located near the present City Hall, at or about the corner of Essex and Market Streets.

On January 11th, 1813; the Lodge voted to meet at Thomas A. Breed's hall for the ensuing year, but how long it remained does not appear. At different times during the following six . years, the accommodations of the Lodge were discussed, and on January 11th, 1819, the subject of removal was indefinitely postponed.

The Lodge assembled in "their New Hall for the first time November 19th, 1821," but the dedication had taken place on November 12th, preceding. The procession was formed "at the Hotel and, proceeded thence to the Masonic Hall," where ithe usual ceremonies of dedication were performed.

This hall, a two-story sbuilding, was erected by Mount Carmel Lodge, at the corner of Market Square and Elm Street. In 1835, or about that time, it was removed to make room for a brick structure, lately belonging to J.G. Forman; to the present generation it may be familiar as having been occupied by Heald & Co., on Market Square, until a few years since, when was removed to Wyoming in Lynn, about two miles distant from its original site. At the time of this last removal a local newspaper called attention to it, and from that article the following quotation is made:

"The historic building was purchased by Proctor & Rhodes, and somewhat remodelled. In 1837 it took fire, and was partially consumed, and here a circumstance may be mentioned as showing the inconvenient and old-time methods employed by the fire department. The fire occurred at noon time, and one of the engines, which was but little bigger than a large-sized tub, was hauled into the building through a double doorway and a line of men formed to pass the buckets to supply the machine with water, for reservoirs and hydrants were things unheard of in those days. Fearful that the fire would extend to a building near by,, and from that to the Second Universalist Church, it was thought best at length by the chief of the department, the late Andrew Breed, to pull the burning building down. A huge hook was fastened to a corner timber and a line of men tugged at the rope, but with no avail; and it being seen that the fire had been somewhat subdued, the effort to raze the structure was relinquished, and the building was saved in such a condition that it could be repaired. It was then made larger and has since been remodelled."

The pump, referred to in a former chapter, to the support of which the Lodge contributed, was in Market Square, but inquiry leads to the conclusion that this source of water supply has been abandoned, and the well is now filled up.

When the present Masonic apartments in Lynn were formally completed, Wor. Bro. William D. Pool, Chairman of the Trustees in accepting the trust referred to the history of Freemasonry in Lynn, some of which exists only in the memory of the aged members of the fraternity, more especially of the period between 1834 and 1845. The following quotation from his remarks will conclude our reference to the places of meeting by the Lodge:

"Much could be said of the growth of the Masonic order in our city. I see a very few of the older brethren before me whose white locks admonish me will soon return to the dust, who during the dark anti-Masonic days held their meetings on Long Beach regularly each month, and from the beach changed their lodge-room to a rock on the hill where now stands Quartermaster Ingalls' house, near the High School House, and from thence to the old Sagamore Hall, where in the attic of that building twenty-five years ago a few of us would gather from month to month, and keep our order alive, preserving the charter of old Mount Carmel Lodge, and transmitting it unimpaired to our successors in office.

"The next removal was to the hall on Willow Street, from thence to the hall on Market Street, where the Reform Club now hold their meetings, then to the hall in Brother Wilson's Building on the opposite corner of the street, and now we meet here this evening in these beautiful apartments our surroundings speak for themselves, and too much credit cannot be given to those ladies who lent their aid and assistance in raising funds to help furnish our rooms."

During the fifty years' history of the Lodge, the Records contain but two full codes of By-Laws, the first adopted November 13th, 1805, the second on December 7th, 1818. By the former it was ordered that the Lodge should not consist of more than fifty members; this regulation was subsequently extended, and the By-Laws of 1818, fixed the number at seventy-five members.

To the first code, by which the Lodge was governed for fourteen years, seventy names are signed, and these have been printed; to the second code, extending over sixteen years, or to the close of 1834, seventy-seven names are signed, fifty-two of which are not in the first list, and these are here presented:

  • Jesse C. Atwill
  • Consider Orcutt
  • John Gilson
  • William Chadwell
  • Caleb Wiley
  • Joseph C. Payne
  • Joseph Breed, Jr.
  • William Badger
  • Thomas D. Pousland
  • Nathaniel Richardson
  • John B. Chase
  • John Lovejoy
  • Isaiah Wheeler
  • James Phillips, Jr.
  • Edward Carroll
  • Richard F. Ham
  • Edward A. Lummus
  • Thomas Phillips
  • Andrew W. Tufts
  • Henry Cobb
  • Simon Mudge
  • Samuel J. Ireson
  • John P. Winchester
  • Benj. H. Johnson
  • Carey Libbey
  • John Sweetser, Jr.
  • Timothy Munroe, Jr.
  • John Hay
  • Jacob P. Johnson
  • John Chick
  • Samuel T. Huse
  • Edmund Munroe
  • Legree Johnson
  • William F. Ingalls
  • Benjamin Johnson
  • Isaiah Hacker
  • Henry A. Breed
  • Robert Robinson
  • Charles Adams
  • Stephen Collins
  • Amos Mower
  • Alfred Adams
  • Joseph N. Saunderson
  • Alanson Burrill
  • William Ingalls
  • Stephen Whipple
  • Robert Robinson, Jr.
  • Abner Newhall
  • John Stimpson
  • William Luscomb
  • Mathew Clark
  • Cassius Clapp

When the Lodge revived in 1845, it appears that the brethren to whom the Charter was restored were the only ones who were regarded as members, and they at once provided for the re-admission of all former members, surviving, by unanimous ballot or consent.

The Lodge did a fair amount of work in these ten years, evidently not caring to press the business beyond a prudent regard for its moral welfare. A list of the names of candidates accepted to receive the degrees is here presented:

  • Bradford Williams
  • Augustus L. Curtin
  • James M. Usher
  • Dr. John Renton
  • William B. Manners
  • Ephraim A. Ingalls
  • Charles W. Babb
  • Gilbert Hawkes
  • Dr. William L. Harmon
  • Nathaniel Keith
  • Benjamin H. Atkins
  • Thomas P. Fenby
  • J. L. Thomas
  • Roland G. Usher
  • John L. Shorey
  • Charles E. Raddin
  • George L. Johnson
  • Lillebridge B. King
  • John W. King
  • Francis E. Andrews
  • Abner S. Moore
  • James W. Pond
  • William C. Maxwell
  • Francis Foster
  • Peter L. Cox
  • Rev. I. S. Cushman
  • Ebenezer Trask

From its former membership, and from other non-affiliated Masons, most of whom received the degrees in the Lodge, forty were admitted to be members; of this number, the following names have not been heretofore given:

  • Joseph Edwards, Jr.,
  • Isaac Brown
  • Rev. John Moore
  • S. S. Johnson
  • Joseph Shorey
  • James Brown, {Seaman.}
  • Moses R. Caldwell
  • Henry C. Oliver
  • Henry Earle
  • William F. Buckley
  • B. F. Morrison

At the Annual meeting, December 26th, 1855, the Lodge elected:

  • Ephraim A. Ingalls, W. M.
  • Henry Earle, Jr., S. W.
  • Charles E. Raddin, J. W.
  • Nathaniel Keith, Treas.
  • Gilbert Hawkes, Sec.

The Master, Senior Warden and Secretary were chosen a Committee on Charity; the officers were installed on the 29th, following. Under this latter date the following vote was passed, and with it the book closed, and this may be regarded as a fitting conclusion of sketches of the first fifty years of Mt. Carmel Lodge:

In accordance with the unanimous vote of the Lodge, this Book of Records having served Mt. Carmel Lodge a half century is now closed up and no further entries will be made
therein.

E. A. Ingalls, Master.
Gilbert Hawkes, Secretary.

The Masters of the Lodge in succession, from 1805 to 1855, have been Amariah Childs, Samuel Brimblecom, Ezra Mudge, Amariah Childs, Moses Tapley, Amariah Childs, Samuel Brimblecom, Ezra Mudge, Benjamin Oliver, Robert W. Trevitt, Ezra Mudge, Josiah Newhall, William Chadwell, John Lummus, Ezra Mudge, Joseph N. Saunderson, Edmund A. Munroe, Joseph N. Saunderson; after 1845, Edmund A. Munroe, Thomas Phillips, Edward Carroll, Isaac Brown, Gilbert Hawkes, Ephraim A. Ingalls.

The Secretaries during the same time were James Gardner, Benjamin Oliver, P. G. Robbins, Joseph C. Jayne, Samuel Hallowell, 19 years, Edward Carroll; after 1845, John Phillips, Bradford Williams, Isaiah Wheeler, Edward Carroll, all within two years; Edmund A. Munroe, 8 years, H. C. Oliver, succeeded by Gilbert Hawkes.

CENTENNIAL HISTORICAL ADDRESS, JUNE 1905

From Proceedings, Page 1905-81:

HISTORICAL ADDRESS BY THE RECORDING GRAND SECRETARY.

MOST WORSHIPFUL GRAND MASTER, WORSHIPFUL MASTER, BRETHREN AND FRIENDS: The Committee of Arrangements has wisely planned a new departure from the practice of Lodges heretofore in celebrating their Centennial Anniversaries. An important feature of the exercises on such occasions has been the Historical Address. While that portion of the services is always interesting to the members of the Lodge, various causes often delay and sometimes prevent the publication of the tale that is told. In order to avoid such disappointment in this case, some members of the Committee have been for a year past diligently and laboriously gathering the material for the history of the Lodge and the biographies of its most active members. The narrative has been embodied in an elegant volume now ready for delivery. To the speaker is assigned merely the duty of telling you something of the early history of the Grand Lodge which granted the charter of Mount Carmel Lodge and of the Brethren who were prominent in the Grand Body at and about that time.

BEGINNINGS OF SPECULATIVE MASONRY

Speculative Masonry, as now practised all over the world, is the outgrowth of operative Masonry. Until within about three hundred years no candidates were admitted to the Fraternity except those who were actively engaged in operative Masoniy. At some time between 1600 and 1650 they began to admit distinguished men without regard to profession or trade. Many Brethren were bitterly opposed to the innovation and it progressed very slowly.

In those days there was no Grand Lodge. The General Assembly, as it was called, was held once a year, which any Mason might attend. As the number of non-operative Brethren increased, the old forms and rules fell into disuse, and the practice of the Lodges became very irregular. To remedy this difficulty, in the year 1717 the four oldest Lodges in London met together and organized the first Grand Lodge, choosing as the first Grand Master the oldest Master in their number. Before the date last named the history of our Fraternity is very indefinite and full of doubts and difficulties, but from that time forward it is tolerably clear and easily traced.

Sixteen years later the Grand Master of England issued a deputation to Henry Price, of Boston, appointing him Provincial Grand Master of New England. By virtue of this authority Brother Price organized a Provincial Grand Lodge on July 30, 1733, and granted a warrant for the first Lodge in Boston, which he constituted on the thirtieth of the next month. In the following year Brother Price received "Orders from the Grand Lodge in England to Establish Masonry in all North America." On the fifteenth of February, 1749, Thomas Oxnard, Provincial Grand Master, one. of the successors of Henry Price, constituted the second Lodge in Boston. In 1783 these, two Lodges were united under the name of St. John's Lodge, now the oldest Lodge on this continent.

The three British Grand Lodges have always been accustomed to establish their own Lodges at pleasure.in any territory where no Grand Lodge exists; the three Provincial Grand Lodges often working side by side for years in perfect harmony. In accordance with this practice, the Grand Master of Scotland issued a deputation in 1769 to Joseph Warren, of blessed memory, "appointing him to be Grand Master of Masons in Boston, New England, and within one hundred miles of the same," which authority, on the third of March, 1772, was extended over " the Continent of North America." On the eighth of March, 1777, nearly two years after the death of General Warren, the Brethren of his Provincial Grand Lodge chose their own Grand Master, thus establishing the first independent Grand Lodge in this country.

Grave doubts were entertained as to the Masonic propriety of this proceeding. Many of the Brethren maintained that, according to Masonic law, the Grand Lodge and all the Lodges he had warranted died with the Grand Master, and that new authority must be obtained from the parent Body; while the patriot portion of the Fraternity argued that, inasmuch as the political relation of the two countries had been severed, it was proper that the Masonic connection should be terminated.

UNION OF 1792 AND AFTER

These doubts and difficulties were practically settled by the union on the fifth of March, 1792, of the two organizations — the Provincial Grand Lodge established by Henry Price, sometimes called the St. John's Grand Lodge, and the independent Grand Lodge known as the Massachusetts Grand Lodge. Nearly all the Lodges in the Commonwealth united in this happy movement, the last to give in its adhesion being the Lodge of St. Andrew, of Boston, which had received from the Grand Lodge of Scotland the charter under which it is still working, hearing date in 1756. In 1813 a similar union was effected in London between the rival factions which had existed there for some seventy-five years, known as "Ancients" and "Moderns."

The last of the Lodges, and especially St. Andrew's, came into our own union largely through the influence of Isaiah Thomas, the Grand Master who signed the charter of Mount Carmel Lodge. He was one of the most remarkable men of his time; in life and character strongly resembling Benjamin Franklin; of great energy and natural ability. Some of his biographers have represented that he never received any education at all. He used to say himself that six weeks' schooling was all he ever had, and poor at that. As in Franklin's, case, the printing office was almost his only school, and he his own schoolmaster. The story of his useful life has often been told, so far as the public reaped the benefit of it. The same sterling qualities were manifested in his Masonic service. We have so often and so recently rehearsed his praises that it scarcely seems necessary to repeat them now.

He served as.Grand Master in 1803, 1804 and 1805, and again in 1809. It was during the last-named year that he succeeded in inducing the last of the Lodges to come under the jurisdiction of the united Grand Lodge. Since the union of 1792 it has been the general custom for our Grand Masters, who are elected annually, to serve for three successive years. Only three have been elected afterwards for a second term : Isaiah Thomas, as already stated, Timothy Bigelow and John Abbot. To Timothy Bigelow belongs the distinction of having been the only Grand Master, since the union, who served two full terms, namely in 1806, 1807 and 1808, and again in 1811, 1812 and 1813. Between these two terms the office was filled by Isaiah Thomas in 1809, and by a scarcely less distinguished Revolutionary patriot, Josiah Bartlett, in 1810. John Abbot served in 1824, 1825 and 1826, and again in 1834. In 1825, on the fiftieth anniversary, he laid the corner-stone of the Bunker Hill Monument, assisted by General Lafayette, in the presence of two hundred soldiers of the Revolution, forty of them being surviving veterans of the battle. In 1834 it became the same Grand Master's sad duty to announce to his Brethren the death of the illustrious Marquis.

The strong character, the marked ability and consequent powerful influence of Isaiah Thomas are further attested by the fact that two of his apprentices succeeded him as Grand Master, Timothy Bigelow and Benjamin Russell. With the exception of a single year these three Brethren presided over the Grand Lodge from 1803 to 1816 inclusive. During the year 1810 the chair of Solomon was filled by Dr. Josiah Bartlett, a famous Revolutionary soldier, who had served as our Grand Master in 1798 and 1799, but then felt obliged to decline a third year's service on account of the pressure of professional duty, greatly to the regret of his Brethren.

TIMOTHY BIGELOW

Timothy Bigelow was one of the most distinguished lawyers of his time, the eldest son of a gallant officer of the Revolutionary War, of the same name. He was born in Worcester, April 30, 1767. As a boy he served for two }^ears in the printing office of Isaiah Thomas, and in 1779 in the quarters of the Continental Army posted to watch the British forces in Rhode Island. In such apparently unsuitable schools he managed to pick up enough of the rudiments to obtain admission in 1782, at the age of fifteen, to Harvard College, where he gained high rank in a distinguished class and was graduated in 1786. The pious bent of his mind may perhaps be inferred from the fact that on his Commencement Day he took part in a discussion of the question "Whether Religious Disputation Promotes the Interest of True Piety."

He at once entered upon the study of law, varying its monotony by a few weeks' service as a volunteer in the small force hastily enlisted for the suppression of Shay's Rebellion. On his admission to the Bar in 1789 he began the practice of his profession in Groton; where he is said to have sat in his office for six weeks without earning a fee, his patience being at length rewarded by a service for which the compensation was a pistareen, a small Spanish silver coin then in common circulation and worth about eighteen cents.

This day of small things was of short duration. Even then it was said of him : "His acquirements are great, his studiousness indefatigable, his fluency astonishing." Of course his business soon became widely extended. For years he was one of the leading counsel in Middlesex and Worcester Counties, and later became prominent at the Suffolk Bar. It is believed that in a practice of thirty-two years he tried more cases than' any lawyer we have ever had in the Commonwealth — the number being estimated at fifteen thousand.

For a long series of years he served either in the Senate or House of Representatives of the Commonwealth. In 1805 he was chosen Speaker of the House, an office which he filled for eleven years — eight of them in succession—a.longer service than is recorded of any other Speaker. It was in that office that he is said to have given a striking illustration of his remarkable memory. Although the House numbered more than three hundred members, it is related that within three days after they came together he could call them all by name — a feat requiring a recollection of faces as well as names. He presided over that branch of the Legislature with signal ability and popularity, although he entered warmly into the strenuous and exciting politics of the times as an opponent of the policy and measures of the General Government, particularly the embargo.

He married, Sept. 30, 1791, Lucy, the daughter of Hon. Oliver Prescott, an officer of the Revolutionary Army and for many years Judge of Probate for Middlesex County. They had a numerous family. In 1806, the first year of his Grand v Mastership, he removed to Medford and opened an office in Boston. He took great delight in horticulture and his grounds on the banks of the Mystic river were famous for their beauty. He died there, of typhus fever, May 18, 1821, at fifty-four years of age. His wife survived him thirty-one years, dying on the fifteenth of December, 1852, and retaining in a remarkable degree to an advanced age her youthful freshness and beauty.

Brother Bigelow was initiated in St. Paul Lodge, of Groton, in July, 1797, aud served as Worshipful Master in 1802, and perhaps longer; he was Senior Grand Warden in 1804 and 1805, but at the Quarterly Communication of the Grand Lodge held on the tenth of June in the latter year, when the charter of Mount Carmel Lodge was granted, he occupied the chair of the Deputy Grand Master.

The charter, however, does not bear his signature, Brother Joseph Laughton signing as Senior Grand Warden pro tem. In those days, so different from our own, in most matters, especially those Masonic, the motto was Festina lentehasten slowly. Probably the charter was not engrossed until several weeks after it was voted. In the meantime Brother Bigelow had set forth on what was considered a great journey. On the eighth day of July, 1805, in company with four other gentlemen, he started from Boston to-visit the Falls of Niagara, intending to return by way of Montreal and Lake Champlain, a trip of 1355 miles, occupying exactly six weeks. He kept a daily journal while on the journey, which was lost sight of for many years. In 1876 it was discovered among some old family papers and published by a grandson, who kindly furnished a copy for our Grand Lodge Library. During the summer of 1815 he kept a "Diary of a Visit to Newport, New York and Philadelphia," which was published in 1880. Probably the charter was prepared while Brother Bigelow was absent on the first-named journey, and signed by a predecessor as Senior Grand Warden.

BEGINNINGS OF MOUNT CARMEL LODGE

Grand Master Bigelow officiated in person at the important ceremony of the constitution of Mount Carmel Lodge on the twenty-fourth of June, 1807, two years after the charter was granted. The practice at. the present day is to have the ceremony performed within two or three weeks after the charter is voted, but one hundred years ago the practice in this respect seems to have been very irregular.: We have recently observed an instance reported in the Grand Lodge Records where the constitution of a Lodge took place more than seven years after its charter was granted. Probably these delays were largely owing to the lack of the necessary facilities for travelling and the consequent difficulty of assembling the considerable number of competent Grand Officers needed for the service. It seems hardly credible to us, but the carrying through of such a ceremony in that day, even in a locality no farther distant from headquarters than Lynn, was an achievement to be regarded with pride.

BENJAMIN RUSSELL

Another prominent actor on that occasion was the Grand Marshal, Benjamin Russell, who six years later succeeded Timothy Bigelow as Grand Master. He also was an apprentice of Isaiah Thomas, and like his master picked up most of his education in the printing office. He was born in Boston, Sept. 13, 1761, the son of John Russell and the nephew of Joseph Russell, long the Town Treasurer of Boston.

His connection with the memorable events of his time commenced at a very early age and continued through the whole of his long life. On the morning of the nineteenth of April, 1775, as he was wont to tell, the exercises of Master Carter's Town School in Scollay's buildings were disturbed by martial music. One of the boys was sent out to learn the occasion for the dreaded sounds. He soon returned with the information that the British troops had attacked the "Yankees" at Lexington and Concord, that several of each party had been killed, that reinforcements had been sent for and the "Regulars" were parading on Boston Common in great numbers. Master Carter at once declared "Boys, war has begun — the school is broken up." As Major Russell used to say: "This announcement was received with three cheers, and the boys, having gained their own freedom, sallied forth to see whether the men would gain theirs."

Some of the boys, and among them Ben Russell, followed the British troops through Roxbury to the college grounds in Cambridge, where they rested, while the soldiers marched on through Wrest Cambridge to Lexington. Towards sunset the boys had the pleasure of seeing, at some distance, the British in full retreat, followed by the "Yankees." The college buildings were converted into barracks, where the boys were given quarters and rations, serving as clerks to some of the patriot companies. This relation was continued about four months and during that period the boys saw something, and heard a great deal, of the battle of Bunker Hill and the burning of Charlestown.

One day in August, the father and uncle, having escaped from Boston, came suddenly upon the boy while engaged in commissary duty. The surprise of the encounter was rather enhanced by the attempt of the father to give the young soldier a good shaking as a reward for his four months in the line of independence, a proceeding which the soldiers would not permit. The father and son, however, at once repaired to the tent of "Old Put," an honorable discharge was granted, and the next day the pair proceeded to Worcester, where the boy was bound as an apprentice to Isaiah Thomas.

There he became associated, as a fellow apprentice, with Timothy Bigelow, and together they enjoyed the advantages of a school in which such minds could not fail to profit, a "school where the highest principles of liberty were taught." In 1780 Brother Thomas was drafted for service in the Revolutionary Army. Young Russell volunteered to go in his stead and served until the army was disbanded. Between these three men, Thomas, Bigelow and Russell, the most sincere, cordial and uninterrupted friendship prevailed through life.

An interesting anecdote is related of his experience while in the service. One day as he was passing a certain tent the curtain blew aside and he saw many comrades assembled there, among whom he observed an ordinary sergeant of one of the regiments on an elevated seat and covered, while uncovered sat General Washington among the multitude. Being accustomed to regard the Commander-in-Chief almost with reverence, as one of the greatest of human beings, he could not understand why one of the least should be more honored than the greatest. Upon enquiry he was informed that the assembly he had seen was a Lodge of Masons and that one of the tenets of the Craft was the equality of all men. So pleased was he with the idea that he declared he would seek to become a Freemason as soon as he returned home.

On his release from the army he resumed his trade and, following the example of his master, started a newspaper, which he christened the Columbian Centinel. The first number was issued on the twenty-fourth of March, 1784, and it was continued until his death, Jan. 4, 1845. Many comments were made on the spelling of the second word of the title. On the day of the first appearance of the paper, meeting an intimate friend on the street who told him the word was misspelled, that it should have been Sentinel, he replied, "Well, Cen. it is and Cen it shall be," and Cen. it was to the end of its existence. During the whole period it was the most popular and influential newspaper in New England, if not in the country. Its readers said it seemed to come everywhere like a familiar acquaintance. It told them just what they wanted to know. The editor kept about the streets — he saw and knew everybody — he gathered something from every current of conversation as it drifted by.

During the French Revolution the office of the editor was the resort of the principal refugees; they constantly sought his advice and his purse was generously at their service. The most celebrated among these visitors were Louis Philippe and Louis Napoleon, the former of whom always retained a lively sense of gratitude for Major Russell's kindness, and after coming to the throne urgently invited him and his family to come to Paris as the Royal guests.

During his long life Brother Russell had been familiar with some of the most remarkable events in the history of the world — the Revolutionary War, the French Revolution, the wars of Napoleon, the adoption of the Constitution of the United States, the introduction of steam for .transportation by land and water, and many other facilities, objects of wonder in his day but now in common everyday use. Many of the most famous men of two centuries he had seen and of not a few he was an intimate friend — Washington, Warren, LaFayette, Franklin, Jefferson, Webster, Clay, Calhoun and Choate. What a wonderful experience!

Brother Russell had an active part in bringing about the union of our two Grand Lodges in 1792. He served for many years as Marshal of the Grand Lodge, and the record of an occasional ceremony when he was absent shows how greatly his experience and skill were missed in the arrangement and conduct of the ceremony. Fortunately he was present at the constitution of Mount Carmel Lodge in 1807, and all went well. Seven years later he followed his friend Bigelow as Grand Master — then too all went well.

MOUNT CARMEL

Mount Carmel has always had good neighbors, among them are Philanthropic, of Marblehead, Essex, of Salem, and Jordan, of Danvers — now Peabody. For years Philanthropic was called the "Lodge at Marblehead" and the name by which it is now known does not appear to have been given until 1778, although it commenced work in 1760. An interesting fact in its history came to light a few years ago from a letter of the first Master written in the year last named. The writer gave the names of the Brethren who had been initiated during the first fortnight of the work of the Lodge. Among them was the name of John Pulling. He was probably the man who hung in the belfry of the Old North Church the lantern which was the signal for Paul Revere's famous ride to Lexington and Concord. The two men were intimate friends. It is not likely that such a delicate and dangerous duty would have been entrusted to any one not a Mason. Between 1760 and 1775 Paul Revere is recorded as a frequent visitor at Philanthropic Lodge and John Pulling at St. Andrew's Lodge. The other party who is sometimes claimed as Paul Revere's confidant in this matter was Robert Newman, who was made a Mason in Saint John's Lodge, of Boston, in 1783, the year of the peace — eight years after the lantern incident.

To Jordan Lodge belongs the credit of having communicated light to Rufus Choate. He served that Lodge as Junior Warden in 1825 and as Senior Warden in 1826 and 1827. In 1824 he commenced practice in Danvers, but soon removed to Salem. In 1841 he was elected to the U.S. Senate, to fill out the term of Daniel Webster, who had been appointed Secretary of State. In 1842 he was asked to accept a nomination as Grand Master. He replied that he would gladly serve the Fraternity in that capacity, but the pressure of professional duties would not permit. We must all regret that the name of that brilliant genius could not adorn our roll of Grand Masters.

The question is sometimes asked, Why did the founders of Mount Carmel Lodge select that name? It is often an interesting study to trace the thoughts.and motives of our Brethren in that matter. At and about the time of the Revolutionary War the names of Lodges were largely drawn from the politics of that day, such as Union, Columbian, Warren, United States, Federal, Hancock, Republican, Liberty, American Union and Freedom. Every State has its Washington Lodge and almost everyone its Lafayette Lodge, and some States have several of each. When St. Andrew's Lodge divided on the question of sustaining the independent Grand Lodge, Paul Revere withdrew with the minority and enrolled their Lodge as St. Andrew's, No. 1, under the new Grand Lodge. It was soon found inconvenient to have two Lodges called St. Andrew's in the same town and Revere changed the name of his to Rising States. This title so tickled the fancy of Gen. Mordecai Gist, afterwards Grand Master of South Carolina, that he used it in naming his sons, calling one. Rising and the other States.

Early in the last century there seemed to be an inclination to revert to the practice of earlier times by selecting names drawn from the Bible. The founders in the present case certainly made a wise choice. Mount Carmel is said to be one of the most striking features of the country of Palestine, the only great .promontory on the low coast, rising about one thousand feet above the level of the plain and extending some six or eight miles. Its name signifies The Garden of God, a title given to it because it abounded with every variety of tree, shrub and flower known in Palestine. Its fame was not confined to that country.

It was visited even in ancient times by famous men from various parts of the world, among others by our ancient friend and Brother the great Pythagoras; also by Vespasian, who went there to consult the oracle supposed to be located there, which, as Tacitus tells us, had neither image nor temple. To Bible readers it is most familiar from its connection with the lives of the great prophets of Israel, Elijah and Elisha. The fiery zeal of the one and the kindly tenderness of the other are inseparably connected in our minds with Mount Carmel. There Elijah brought back Israel to allegiance to Jehovah and there his prayers brought down vengeance and slaughter upon the prophets, of the false god. It was there that the Shunamite woman found Elisha when she sought his aid in restoring to life her son.

May we not reasonably suppose that the founders of Mount Carmel Lodge dreamed that it might, in time come to be like a beautiful mountain among the Lodges, a veritable garden of the Lord in this community, displaying in abundant measure the beauty of noble and manly lives and the sweet fragrance of generous and kindly deeds? If such w*ere the thoughts of the sponsors of the new Lodge, may we not fairly claim that their anticipations have been realized to some extent? Let us hope that their successors, both present and future, may "better the instruction."

150TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1955

From Proceedings, Page 1955-156:

By Worshipful Archie M. Simons.

We are privileged this evening to celebrate one hundred and fifty years in the life of a great Institution, Mount Carmel Lodge, A.F. & A.M.

As we read these pages may we pause occasionally and give thought to the contributions we of today are making to this Lodge and to our glorious Fraternity, for it will continue to be true that no man who is correctly informed about the past will be disposed to take a despondent view of the future.

"The heights by great men reached and kept
Were not attained by sudden flight,
But they, while their Brethren slept,
Were toiling upward in the night."

We pause here to extend warm and sincere fraternal greetings to the Brethren of Amicable Lodge, Cambridge, Worshipful Roger W. Jones, Master, who are also celebrating their one hundred and fiftieth anniversary, having been instituted on the same day, June 10, 1805, as our Lodge. May they ever continue to disseminate Light and Truth, and may they ever be a force for good in the community. The first entry in the records of Mount Carmel Lodge reads thus:

The following persons, viz: Amariah Childs, Ezra Collins, Thomas C. Thacher, William Frothingham, Frederick Breed, William Ballard, Francis Moore, Jr., Aaron Breed, Aaron Leonard, Samuel Brimblccom, Thomas Witt, Joseph Robinson, Jonas W. Gleason, Joshua Ballard, David Crane, and Richard Johnson, being all Master Masons, assembled together some time about the first of June, A.L. 5805, and agreed to form themselves into a Lodge, by the name of Mount Carmel Lodge, and after choosing Amariah Childs, Master, and William Ballard, Senior, and Francis Moore, Junior Wardens, they signed a petition to the Grand Lodge for a Charter, which was granted at the quarterly communication in June the same year.

Just why the name Mount Carmel was selected by the founders of the Lodge is problematical, as there is not the slightest hint in the records.

The first recorded date of a meeting is July 3, A.L. 5805, at which time Ezra Mudge, John Hawks and Joseph Watson were proposed as candidates for the degrees.

At the meeting on November 13, 1805, the first code of by-laws was adopted. An extract from these follows:

"The Lodge shall open at such hour after sunset, from time to time, as shall be appointed by the Master, and shall close at or before ten in the evening, unless urgent business requires the attention of the Lodge at a later hour."

The membership of the Lodge was limited to fifty. A member absenting himself for six successive meetings, if notified of the sixth, lost his right of membership. Seafaring men paid half rates annually. All others paid quarterages; and if any Brother was in arrears for four quarterages, he lost his membership, except in case of adversity. Twenty names were signed to these by-laws.

The first public installation of the officers of the Lodge took place June 24, 1807, in the Old Parish Meeting House on Lynn Common, under the direction of the officers of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, who graced the occasion by their presence. After the installation ceremonies, Most Worshipful Grand Master Bigelow delivered an appropriate charge.

On December 5, 1810, it was voted: "That the Lodge shall meet in future on the Monday evening on or preceding the full of the moon." On May 14, 1821, a committee was chosen to raise money, by subscription, for the purpose of building a Masonic Hall, the same committee to ascertain the cost of certain properties and expense of building.

June 11th of the same year the committee submitted the following report, which was accepted: "The committee appointed for building the Masonic Hall have received proposals from five different carpenters, and find the lowest sum named to be $873.50. Said proposals were made by George Blaisdell and Benjamin R. Sanborn, and we, your committee, have contracted with them at the price above named." This report was signed by Josiah Newhall, William Chadwell, Daniel L. Mudge, J. Gardner and Amos Tapley. The corner-stone of the new Masonic Building was laid June 25, 1821. November 12, 1821, the members met for the purpose of dedicating their new hall. A procession was formed at the hotel, and proceeded to Masonic Hall. Introductory prayer was offered by the Reverend Otis Rockwood, after which the hall was dedicated in ancient and ample form. The dedicatory prayer was offered by the Reverend Timothy Merritt, followed by an appropriate address by Right Worshipful Master Trevett.

At a meeting held on January 15, 1822, the Lodge chose seven Trustees — James Gardner, Amariah Childs, Samuel Brimblecom, Benjamin Oliver, Robert W. Trevett, Josiah Newhall and William F. Ingalls — to hold the property of the Lodge, and voted to petition the State Legislature for an act of incorporation. The Petition and Act was granted on February 9, 1822.

By the year 1832 the Anti-Masonic tempest had reached its full fury, and it was no longer popular to be known as a member of the Craft. During the year 1832 nine meetings were held. The records of the first eight were very uniform and monotonous: "The Lodge was opened on the third step in Masonry, then closed until our next regular meeting."

At the annual meeting, December 3, 1832, after electing officers for the ensuing year, it was voted: "That the Lodge, when adjourned, stand adjourned till the pleasure of the Right Worshipful Master and Wardens see proper to call them together."

The Lodge did not meet again until December 23, 1833, one year having elapsed since the last gathering. The members elected officers and adjourned, subject to the call of the Worshipful Master. Again a year elapsed before the Brethren met, this time on December 16, 1834. Officers were elected and various votes passed. Among the latter was one to the effect: "That the subject of surrendering the Charter be postponed till the next annual meeting."

This meeting proved to be the last one held until after the restoration of the Charter, as the next entry in the Record Book is dated 1845.

The so-called "Morgan disappearance," with the monstrous perversions which followed in the train of frenzied accusations, first focussed public attention on the Craft. From the New York county in which the movement had its birth in 1826, anti-Masonry spread to state after state. The elements that are ever ready to malign what they cannot control, to distrust what they are not privileged to enjoy, to belittle what they have been denied, and to attack what they conceive to be in such straits that no adequate resistance can be offered at once joined hands.

Mount Carmel Lodge, one of the special victims of combined bigotry, knavishness and misdirected zeal, was long and sorely pressed. Its members were vilified to a notorious degree, while the intolerance was, in general manifestation, nothing if not bitter. Enfeebled by defections, when moral courage was so thoroughly tested, the Lodge duly found itself compelled to succumb. A handful of Brethren were all that remained when, late in the year 1834, it was decided to yield to overwhelming odds. For ten years thereafter, until June 11, 1845, when work was resumed under the restored Charter, Mount Carmel Lodge was, to all intents and purposes, dead.

After the surrender of the Charter, it appears that the property of the Lodge was divided among the small number of members. Some of this was later restored to the Lodge. The member into whose hands the Square and Compasses fell evidently believed that they would never be reclaimed by the Lodge, because he had them melted and made into a pair of sugar tongs. Thus they served the purposes of both utility and ornament until the restoration of the Charter. Then the sugar tongs were again melted and shaped into their original form. As such, the Jewels are today in use, objects of special care, as they will be of renewed interest to the many Brethren to whom this recital of their disposition is presented for the first time.

During the years 1861-1864, there was issued to the Lodge what might be termed "blanket dispensations." These documents allowed the Lodge to confer the degrees upon certain candidates on occasions most convenient to the Lodge. In the large majority of cases, these candidates gave their occupation as "soldier in the United States Army." As some of these soldier candidates were not subsequently named in the records, to be balloted upon for membership, they must have joined the gallant host of those who sacrificed their lives that the Union might be preserved.

The foregoing are some of the highlights from the history of the first one hundred years of the Lodge. We now embark upon the second century of service to the Craft.

The officers who occupied the chairs as we embarked on our second century of service to the Craft were as follows:

  • Wor. Albert Rowe Merrill, Master
  • Bro. William M. Cowan, Senior Warden
  • Bro. J. Harry Stiles, Junior Warden
  • Wor. Rufus E. Hilliard, Treasurer
  • Bro. Benjamin F. Arrington, Secretary
  • Bro. Ebenezer Beckford, Chaplain
  • Bro. Charles Orrin Breed, Marshal
  • Bro. Theodore A. Manchester, Senior Deacon
  • Bro. Clifton C. Dexter, Junior Deacon
  • Bro. Frederic D. Merrill, Senior Steward
  • Bro. Raymond T. Parker, Junior Steward
  • Bro. William E. Dorman, Inside Sentinel
  • Bro. Samuel S. Shepard, Organist
  • Bro. Charles E. Irving, Tyler

Worshipful Raymond T. Parke, who served the Lodge as Master during the years 1912-1913, is the only member of this group living today, and is now our Senior Past Master.

The first communication following the one hundredth anniversary was called for Monday evening, July 10. Business of the evening: "To take action upon the Report of the Committee to provide suitable quarters for the Masonic Fraternity."

On Monday evening, October 30, 1905, the officers of the Lodge journeyed to Maiden where they were the guests of Converse Lodge. We quote an item from the notice of Converse Lodge for that evening: "Dinner will be served at 6:45 o'clock, and it would add to the dignity of the occasion if the brethren of Converse Lodge, who can make it convenient to do so at such an early hour, would appear in evening dress." One can but surmise the consternation which such a request would create were it to be made today.

Following the dinner the officers of Mount Carmel Lodge opened the Lodge on the Master Mason Degree at 7:45 o'clock. The first business following the opening was the reception of Right Worshipful Fred Hammond Nichols, District Deputy Grand Master, and a Past Master of Mount Carmel Lodge. During the work of the evening the officers of Mount Carmel conferred the second and third sections of the Master Mason Degree on the candidate of Converse Lodge.

For many years it was also the custom for the officers and members of the Lodge to exchange visits with our sister Lodge, Amicable, in Cambridge. It is to be regretted that this exchange of fraternal visits between Lodges was discontinued during the depression years following the crash of 1929.

On Monday, March 27, 1912, was held the first of a series of social events which for more than a decade were the high point in the social life of the Lodge and the community. This was the First Annual Pop Concert under the auspices of Mount Carmel Lodge at Casino Hall, Summer Street, Lynn.

These programs were arranged and managed with great care and skill for the entertainment and pleasure of all the members. The program began with a Promenade Concert from eight to ten o'clock, followed by dancing until midnight. Refreshments, consisting of all kinds of soft drinks and ices, were served on the main floor during the concert, and in the balcony during the entire evening. It is indeed regrettable that these occasions, along with many of the former customs of gracious living, have passed into the forgotten past.

These events were later succeeded by a series of Family Parties which proved to be quite popular for a few years prior to World War II.

THe membership of the Lodge as of August 31, 1905, was 426. During that year thirty-two were added by initiation, five had been removed by death and two by demits. We are happy to record that thirty-six of that number are still with us today. They are the men who have upheld the character, integrity and personality of our Lodge. They are the men who have maintained the "tenets of our profession pure and unimpaired" and have given to the present generation a rich and honorable heritage to preserve and maintain. They are our veteran members, and each is the proud possessor of the Veteran's Medal, presented by the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge. A list of those veteran members, with the dates of their initiation follows:

  • George Spencer Bliss, Dec. 8, 1890
  • Walter Henry Southwick, Oct. 26, 1891
  • Barzillai Ellis Wright, Nov. 14, 1892
  • John Marshall Nelson, Feb. 27, 1893
  • Arthur Franklin Cary, Apr. 10, 1893
  • William Boland Dibble, Sept. 10, 1894
  • Charles Smith Jameson, Nov. 25, 1895
  • Cyrenus Leonard Garritt, Feb. 23, 1897
  • Jesse Morgan Holder, Nov. 8, 1897
  • Herbert Otis Lewis, Nov. 14, 1898
  • Lewis Willard Tatro, Mar. 13, 1899
  • James Earl Hathaway, Mar. 13, 1899
  • Cleveland John Campbell, Apr. 14, 1899
  • John Frank Miller, Apr. 23, 1900
  • Arthur Wellington Pinkham, July 8, 1901
  • Carl Louis Hoffman, Mar. 10, 1902
  • Raymond Tasker Parke, Dec. 8, 1902
  • Harry Wilcox Merrill, Jan. 12, 1903
  • Arthur Jonathan Higgins, Feb. 23, 1903
  • Fred Munroe Collins, Mar. 11, 1903
  • Arthur Hall Stiles, July 13, 1903
  • Bert Parker Chick, July 13, 1903
  • William Allen Stone, Oct. 26, 1903

The membership of the Lodge as of August 31, 1905, was 426. During that year thirty-two were added by initiation, five had been removed by death and two by demits. We are happy to record that thirty-six of that number are still with us today. They are the men who have upheld the character, integrity and personality of our Lodge. They are the men who have maintained the "tenets of our profession pure and unimpaired" and have given to the present generation a rich and honorable heritage to preserve and maintain. They are our veteran members, and each is the proud possessor of the Veteran's Medal, presented by the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge. A list of these follows:

  • Charles Edwin Hood, Dec. 14, 1903
  • George Edwin Clapp, Mar. 14, 1904

  • Joshua Wendell Phillips Orne, Apr. 11, 1904
  • Frank Harold Jacobs, Apr. 11,1904
  • Ralph Henry Alton, Apr. 11, 1904
  • George Hoxie Stickney, Apr. 11,1904
  • Orris Burton Hazel, Feb. 27, 1905
  • Paul Munroe Keene, Feb. 27, 1905
  • Gerald Earl Turner, Feb. 27, 1905
  • Charles Bernard Bethune, Mar. 13, 1905
  • Frank Herbert Langworthy, Mar. 13, 1905
  • George William Conway, Mar. 21, 1905
  • Joseph Cree Wilson, Apr. 18, 1905

We honor and salute these Brothers, "Good men and true they must have been to come thus far on so noble and glorious an undertaking." May they enjoy happiness and contentment during the eventide of their life.

In the years following our hundredth anniversary, the membership increased rapidly, reaching an all-time high of 1123 for the years 1926 and 1928. Beginning with 1930 there was a gradual decline until the years 1942 and 1943, when the membership remained at 903 for those two years. Since that time the number on the roster has fluctuated somewhat, the Scythe of the Grim Reaper generally keeping pace with the number initiated. The membership reported on August 31, 1954, was 935.

The all-time high in the number admitted was 133 for the year ending August 31,1921, during the administration of Worshipful Thomas E. P. Wilson. The low point was for the years 1935 and 1936, when five were reported for each of those two years.

The 1055th regular communication of the Lodge, held on Monday evening, May 18, 1914, appears, in the light of future events, prophetic in its import, as that evening was designated as "Military Night." Three short months following this meeting the world was to be plunged into the cataclysm of World War I, into whose terrible vortex our own country was to be drawn in 1917.

The notice stated that the Worshipful Master was to be assisted in the Work of the evening by the following Brethren:

  • Right Worshipful Henry Gregory Jordan of the Lodge of St. Andrew.
  • Worshipful Charles H. King, Presiding Master of Philanthropic Lodge, Marblehead
  • Major Charles T. Cahill, Adjutant 2d Brigade, Past Master, Ancient York Lodge, Lowell
  • Colonel Frank A. Graves, Commanding 8th Inf., Philanthropic Lodge, Marblehead
  • Captain Frederick Gilberg Bauer, Hdqts., 8th Inf., Senior Warden, Eliot Lodge, Jamaica Plain
  • Lt. George A. Kyle, B Company, 8th Inf., Palestine Lodge, Everett
  • Lt. George H. Farwell, Hdqts., 8th Inf., St. John's Lodge, Boston
  • Capt. Thomas J. Cobey, D Company, 8th Inf., Golden Fleece Lodge, Lynn
  • Sgt. Thomas Livingston, B Company, 8th Inf., John Abbot Lodge, Somerville
  • Major Frank S. Elliott, 8th Inf., The Tyrian Lodge, Gloucester
  • Lt. Charles Guy Frost, formerly of I Company, 8th Inf., Mount Carmel Lodge

On Sunday, June 8, 1930, the 916th special communication of Mount Carmel Lodge was held for the purpose of commemorating the 125th anniversary of the Lodge.

The Lodge was opened at two o'clock in the afternoon, with the Worshipful Master, David Warren Fogg, presiding.

Following the opening of the Lodge, a procession was formed, consisting of the following Lodges:

  • Benjamin F. Arrington Lodge, Wor. Henry O. Silsbee, 2nd, Master
  • Bethlehem Lodge, Wor. George E. Hanson, Master
  • Damascus Lodge, Wor. Harry W. Davis, Master
  • William Sutton Lodge of Saugus, Wor. Kaler Perkins, Master
  • Golden Fleece Lodge, Wor. C. Harry Hannaford, Master
  • Mount Carmel Lodge, Wor. David Warren Fogg, Master

Members of Amicable Lodge of Cambridge and Wayfarers Lodge, Swampscott, joined with the members of Mount Carmel Lodge.

Led by a platoon of police, all members of the Craft, followed by Gove's Full Military Band, under escort of Olivet Commandery, No. 36, Knights Templar, the procession proceeded by way of Market Street, North Common Street, and South Common Street, to the First Congregational Church, corner of Vine and South Common Streets, to attend Divine Service. On arriving at the Church, the line was opened, and in Masonic form, the Lodges passed through the lines into the Church. By a strange coincidence, this was also an anniversary of the First Congregational Church, it being their 298th.

The address of welcome was given by the Worshipful Master, David Warren Fogg. Reverend Doctor Frederick W. Hamilton, Right Worshipful Grand Secretary, gave a very interesting address, comparing the present times with those at the beginning of the Nineteenth Century, when the Lodge was instituted. The sermon was delivered by Brother Reverend Edward Marsh, Chaplain of the Lodge.

The benediction was pronounced by Brother Reverend William Wallace Rose, D.D., minister of the First Universalist Church, Nahant Street.

At the close of the Service, the Brethren retired from the Church in form, the procession was re-formed and the Brethren returned to the Apartments, where the Lodge was closed in form. During the past fifty years, five members of the Lodge have served in the office of Secretary of the Lodge:

  • R. W. Benjamin F. Arrington, 1901-1907
  • R. W. Fred Hammond Nichols, 1908-1931
  • R. W. Everett Benjamin Stacey, 1932-1942
  • Wor. Archie Merrill Simons, 1943-1947
  • R. W. Earl Record Galeucia, 1947-1954

For this same period, there have been four Brethren who have served in the office of Treasurer:

  • Wor. Rufus E. Hilliard, 1891-1909
  • Bro. Leon E. Wilson, 1910
  • Bro. William J. Sanders, 1911-1923

and our present beloved veteran Treasurer, Brother David Dunbar, who has served from September 24, 1923, until the present, a total of thirty-one years and eight months.

On March 9, 1935, the Lodge presented Brother Dunbar with a Treasurer's Jewel, as a token of their esteem and appreciation of his service to the Lodge.

On December 6, 1928, the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge instituted the 29th Lodge of Instruction to serve the several Lodges in this area. The officers of Mount Carmel Lodge have been active supporters of this important phase of our Masonic activity since its inception here. Six of our Past Masters have served as Master of the 29th Lodge of Instruction:

  • R. W. Harland Scott Cummings, 1929
  • Wor. Thomas E. P. Wilson, 1930
  • Wor. Edwin Alfred Damon, 1934
  • Wor. James Gordon Smith, 1938
  • Wor. Archie Merrill Simons, 1944
  • Wor. Alton Irving Rouse , 1955

Through the years it has been the constant endeavor of the officers of the Lodge to keep the meetings on a high plane, entertaining and instructive to the members. Many fine degree teams have been invited to assist in the degree work, such as the East Lynn Post 291, American Legion, uniformed degree team, the Canopy Club, the Boston Police Square Club, the Hy XII Club of the General Electric Company, and many others.

Many fine speakers and entertainers have been presented, such as Brother Reverend William L. Stidger, D.D., Brother Reverend Andrew Richards, D.D., Brother Reverend William R. Leslie, D.D., Brother Captain Alexander Hunter, Alton Hall Blackington, and Brother Eddie Shore, formerly with the Boston Bruins, to mention but a few.

Perhaps no event was more popular than the famous Scots' Nichts, arranged and supervised by our Treasurer, Brother David Dunbar. Certainly the entrance of the Haggis "Wi' A' The Honours," "Properly prepared and vouched for," was a sight to thrill the heart of any Scots man, and many who were not Scots.

Following the dinner, consisting of a strictly Scotch menu, the Brethren would repair to the lodge-room for a short business meeting, to be followed by a program of Scotish entertainment.

Since our 100th anniversary, four Lodges have been added to the family of Lodges in Lynn: Damascus Lodge, instituted November 14, 1906; Bethlehem Lodge, instituted March 5, 1920; Benjamin F. Arrington Lodge, instituted April 2, 1928; and Mount Sinai Lodge, instituted March 16, 1946. In each of these Lodges, members of Mount Carmel Lodge were listed among the Charter Members, and with the exception of Benjamin F. Arrington Lodge, the first Master of each was a Past Master of Mount Carmel Lodge. We welcome them, with Golden Fleece Lodge, into the family of Masonic Lodges in our community. May their Light never grow dim.

There are eighteen living Past Masters of the Lodge at the present time:

  • Wor. Raymond Tasker Parke, 1912-1913
  • Wor. Charles Bernard Bethune, 1924-1925
  • Wor. Wilbur Marshall Coolidge, 1926-1927
  • Wor. Walter Edwin Richardson, 1928-1929
  • Wor. Everett Rider Campbell, 1934
  • Wor. Francis Lord, 1935
  • Wor. James Gordon Smith, 1936-1937
  • R. W. Earl Record Galeucia, 1938-1939
  • Wor. Archie Merrill Simons, 1940-1941
  • Wor. Lawrence Henry St. Jean, 1942-1943
  • Wor. Sheldon Forrest Goldthwait, 1944
  • R. W. Alfred Lewis Parsons, 1945
  • Wor. Carl Francis Turner, 1946-1947
  • Wor. John Roger Turnbull, 1948
  • Wor. Lewis Almon Collyer, 1949-1950
  • Wor. Carl Raymond Perry, 1951-1952
  • Wor. Alton Irving Rouse , 1953-1954
  • Wor. John Estes Moulton, 1955

Four of this number have been honored by appointment in Grand Lodge: R.W. Earl Record Galeucia and R.W. Alfred Lewis Parsons as District Deputy Grand Masters for the Salem 8th Masonic District; Wor. Walter Edwin Richardson as Junior Grand Steward; and Wor. Archie Merrill Simons as Junior Grand Deacon. In addition to these, Wor. James Gordon Smith has received the signal honor of having been awarded the coveted Joseph Warren Medal for Distinguished Service to his Lodge and to the Craft. Thus we come to the end of one hundred and fifty years in the history of Mount Carmel Lodge. We have completed a long period of steady growth and service to the Craft and to our community, and with the experience of the past, look hopefully forward to the tomorrows and the opportunities that lie ahead. Many matters of interest and importance in the history of the Lodge have been passed over in this brief sketch, not only because of lack of time in securing and editing the data, but in order that the patience of the listeners might not be unduly taxed.

"I have but marked the place,
But half the secret told,
That, following this slight trace,
Others may find the gold."
— Longfellow

OTHER

  • 1821 (Report on delinquency, III-341, III-368)
  • 1834 (Permission for remission of dues, IV-339)
  • 1835 (Communication, IV-375)
  • 1849 (Newburyport Feast of St. John; Description)
  • 1851 (Remission of dues, V-341)
  • 1894 (Participation in Nahant corner stone laying, 1894-41)
  • 1895 (Jurisdictional dispute, 1895-216)
  • 1898 (Participation in Lynn corner stone laying, 1898-112)
  • 1904 (Participation in Nahant corner stone laying, 1904-75)
  • 1912 (Participation in Nahant corner stone laying, 1912-62)

EVENTS

OFFICER LIST, DECEMBER 1826

From Masonic Mirror and Mechanics' Intelligencer, Vol. III, No. 2, January 1827, Page 10:

Officers of Mount Carmel Lodge, elected Dec. 20, 5826:

  • R. W. John Lummus, M.
  • W. Samuel Viall, S. W.
  • W. Edmund Munroe, J. W.
  • Bro. Ezra Hitchings, Treasurer.
  • Bro. Samuel Hallowell, Secretary.
  • Bro. Joseph N. Saunderson, S. D.
  • Bro. Carey Libbey, J. D.
  • Bro. Alfred Adams, S. S.
  • Bro. William Ingalls, J. S.
  • Bro. Isaac Story, Chaplain.
  • Bro. George Johnson, Marshal.
  • Bro. Jabez Hitchinson, Tyler.

OFFICER LIST, DECEMBER 1827

From Masonic Mirror and Mechanics' Intelligencer, Vol. III, No. 52, December 1827, Page 409:

  • Past Master Br. Ezra Mudge, R. W. M.
  • Past Master Br. Josiah Newhall, W. S. W.
  • Past Master Br. Wm. Chadwell, W. J. W.
  • Bro. Ezra Hitchings, Treas.
  • Bro. Samuel Hallowell, Sec.
  • Bro. John Lovejoy, S. D.
  • Bro. Joseph N. Saunderson, J. D.
  • Bro. Carey Libbey, J. D.
  • Bro. Alfred Adams, Steward.
  • Bro. William Ingalls, Steward.
  • Bro. Isaac Story, Chaplain.
  • Bro. George Johnson, Marshal.
  • Bro. Jabez Hitchings, Tyler.

INSTALLATION OF OFFICERS, FEBRUARY 1847

From Moore's Freemason's Monthly, Vol. VI, No. 4, February 1847, p. 108:

On the 18th, the officers of Mount Carmel Lodge, at Lynn, were publicly installed by the Grand Officers. The hall was full to repletion. The address was delivered by Rev. Br. Bartlett, of Marblehead, and was well received, as were all the ceremonies of the evening.

FRATERNAL VISIT, MARCH 1877

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. I, No. 1, April 1877, Page 29:

On Monday, March 12th, Amicable Lodge, of Cambridge, paid a fraternal visit to Mt. Carmel Lodge, of Lynn, and witnessed a fine specimen of work on the Degree of E. A. by W. M. Charles C. Fry and his associate officers.

It happened that these two Lodges were chartered on the same day, June 10, 1805, and this was a return visit, in renewal of "their ancient friendship." A very neat address of welcome was made by W. Master Fry, to which W. M. Samuel D. Young appropriately responded. At the close of the work a fine banquet was served, after which, owing to the fact that a special car was engaged to convey the visitors homeward, and that despatch was to be observed, only brief speeches were made, but in these several of the Brethren acquitted themselves handsomely. The invitation, conveyed by W. Brothers Milliken and Lathrop, for us to accompany Amicable Lodge, and the opportunity afforded to meet our Brethren of Lynn, was highly appreciated, as was also the apparent fact that these twin Lodges are in a highly prosperous state, and well qualified to continue their past and present usefulness.

INSTALLATION, DECEMBER 1882

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. VI, No. 9, December 1882, Page 283:

The Officers of Mount Carmel Lodge were installed on Monday evening, December 11th, by Past Master Charles E. Parsons assisted by Bro. John Young as Marshal, and are as follows: Thomas E. Ward, W. M.; Wm. D. Pool, S. W.; John C. Myer, J. W.; L. W. Clifford, Treas.; Charles E. Chase, Sec.; Eben Beckford, Chap.; Josiah F. Kimball, Marshal; George F. Lewis, S. D.; Charles Alley, J. D.; Frank Alley, S. S.; James W. Carver, J. S.; E. K. Weston, Organist.

INSTALLATION, JANUARY 1888

From Liberal Freemason, Vol. XI, No. 12, March 1888, Page 383:

Mt. Carmel Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons of Lynn, had a public installation of officers on the evening of January 30th, with special exercises. Right Worshipful Harvey N. Shepard, assisted by Worshipful Brother Charles E. Phipps as marshal and suite installed the officers. Among the invited guests were the officers of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge and Masters and Wardens, composed in the Seventh Masonic District of about ten lodges.

Mayor George C. Higgins, George H. Allen, Hon. Charles J. Noyes, John L. Stevenson, Benjamin N. Johnson, James M. Pullman, D. D.; Fielder Israel, D. D.; Henry J. Mills, D. D. G. M.; S. A. Southwick, D. D. G. M. The programme included an organ voluntary, reception of the officers of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, music by the Mt. Carmel quartet, installation of Master, Senior Wardens and Junior Wardens, installation of Brother Luriottis W. Clifford, Treasurer, and Worshipful Brother Charles E. Chase, Secretary, and installation of the following appointed officers: Brother Ebenezer Beckford, Chaplain; Brother J. Leland Towne, Marshal; Brother Allen G. Shepherd, Senior Deacon. Brother Josiah F. Kimball, Junior Deacon; Brother Walter M Lampkin, Senior Steward ; Brother Gustavus W. Sanborn, Junior Steward; Brother William H. Hooper, Inside Sentinel; Brother Samuel S. Shepard, Organist; Brother Charles E. Irving, Tyler. These exercises were followed by a musical and literary entertainment. At the conclusion of the installation there was a sociable. An excellent lunch was served.


GRAND LODGE OFFICERS

OTHER BROTHERS


DISTRICTS

1803: District 2 (Newburyport and North Shore)

1821: District 2

1845: District 2

1849: District 2

1867: District 5 (Salem)

1870: District 2 (Charlestown)

1871: District 5 (Salem)

1883: District 7 (Lynn)

1911: District 8 (Lynn)

1927: District 8 (Salem)

2003: District 9


LINKS

Massachusetts Lodges