Nehoiden

From MasonicGenealogy
Jump to: navigation, search

NEHOIDEN LODGE

MA_Nehoiden.jpg

Location: Needham

Chartered By: Frank L. Simpson

Charter Date: 09/12/1928 1928-249

Precedence Date: 10/14/1927

Current Status: in Grand Lodge Vault; merged into Beth-Horon Lodge, 07/29/2010.


PAST MASTERS

  • Arthur Hamilton, 1928, 1929
  • Ralph P. Preble, 1930
  • Edward Nason, 1931
  • George M. Pond, 1932
  • Herbert P. Stevenson, 1933
  • Harry H. Bruns, 1934
  • C. Weston Ringer, 1935; N
  • Curtis R. Wells, 1936; N
  • Roland C. March, 1937
  • Charles W. Bell, 1938
  • Clarence S. Burton, 1939
  • Russell J. Rice, 1940
  • Ralph H. Gray, 1941
  • Rupert I. Irving, 1942
  • Robert E. Powell, 1943
  • Jay Tracy, 1944
  • Alan L. Drury, 1945
  • H. Prescott Trucker, 1946
  • Roy F. Towne, 1947
  • Ralph F. Reeves, 1948
  • James M. Hindle, 1949
  • John R. Drinkwater, 1950
  • Carl E. Tamm, 1951
  • Alfred J. Emrich, 1952
  • Wilfred C. Morse, 1953
  • William G. Regan, 1954
  • A. Johnston Shaw, 1955; N
  • J. Roland Ackroyd, 1956
  • Burt B. Mader, 1957
  • William B. Ludlow, 1958
  • N. Henry Larson, 1959
  • Harold R. Slaney, 1960
  • David W. Lovering, 1961
  • Earl MacPherson, 1962
  • Edwin W. Cameron, 1963
  • Lawrence W. Gay, 1964
  • Howard B. Beal, 1965
  • John L. Tufts, 1966
  • Stanley Rawstron, 1967
  • Allen Stone, 1968
  • Russell L. Patten, 1969
  • Harold B. Wetmore, 1970
  • Walter H. Olsen, 1971
  • John G. Stanley, 1972
  • Edward L. Bottum, 1973
  • Robert R. Andrews, II, 1974
  • Horace W. Cutler, 1975
  • Douglas Salisbury, 1976
  • Jerry J. Davis, 1977, 1992
  • Clark H. Shaw, 1978
  • Melvin P. Sacks, 1979
  • Joseph I. Stone, 1980; N
  • Robert M. Rhynd, 1981
  • Harold J. Parmelee, 1982
  • Carroll N. Jackson, Jr., 1983
  • John Q. Cragin, 1984
  • John F. Carter, 1985
  • G. Leonard McIntosh, 1986, 1991, 2006, 2007
  • Bruce M. Newman, 1987, 1988, 2005, 2008-2010
  • Richard B. Deming, 1989
  • Clarke H. Wertheim, 1990
  • Robert M. Eaton, 1993, 2000, 2004
  • George A. Serafinas, 1994, 1995; PDDGM
  • Christopher F. Bates, 1996, 1997
  • Gary L. Cox, 1998
  • Melvin H. Davis, 1999
  • David P. Newcomb, 2001; PDDGM
  • Thomas C. MacPhee, 2002
  • Bruce S. Kremer, 2003

REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS

  • Petition for Dispensation: 1927
  • Petition for Charter: 1928
  • Consolidation Petition (with Beth-Horon Lodge): 2010

ANNIVERSARIES

  • 1937 (10th Anniversary)
  • 1952 (25th Anniversary)
  • 1977 (50th Anniversary)
  • 2002 (75th Anniversary)

VISITS BY GRAND MASTER

BY-LAW CHANGES

1928 1936 1940 1949 1953 1957 1958 1961 1972 1978 1979 1980 1981 1983 1985 1986 1996 1999 2001 2003

HISTORY

  • 1937 (10th Anniversary History, 1937-165; see below)
  • 1952 (25th Anniversary History, 1952-244; see below)
  • 1977 (50th Anniversary History, 1977-156; see below)
  • 2002 (75th Anniversary History, 2002-43; see below)

10TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, SEPTEMBER 1937

From Proceedings, Page 1937-165:

By Wor. Frank E. Porter:

It is not a small thing to undertake to tell the story of a Lodge for even so little a time as ten years, because there is so much of interest that could be said which does not appear upon the records. In the short time given the writer to prepare he has produced but a sketch, and now submits it.

On April 26, 1927, a small group of Masons gathered at the home of Bro. Arthur S. Hamilton, at his invitation, upon an occasion momentous for Nehoiden Lodge. It was known that there were a great many Masons living in Needham whose Masonic homes were in other jurisdictions, and who were averse to joining another and perhaps older Lodge where they became just "other" members. They were away from home, and of course could visit if they wanted to, but lacking incentive, they generally lacked interest, which grew fainter and fainter.

It was suggested to this little group that these Brothers would renew their interest, and their incentive be restored, if they could get together and form a Lodge of their own, in which they themselves would designate the course they would pursue and the policy they would adopt. There was no purpose to profit at the expense of a sister Lodge, and in fact few of its members were accepted as Charter members. Some who were accepted are now members of both Lodges.

The suggestion became the opinion of the group, and thus was a new Lodge conceived.

This policy of practically limiting our proposed membership to residents Masonically domiciled in other jurisdictions having been determined, subscription papers were circulated, and eventually applications of eighty-three petitioners were on our list. At a meeting called for the purpose, Wor. Bro. Arthur S. Hamilton, Past Master of Norfolk Lodge, was suggested as first Master "Under Dispensation," Wor. Bro. Frank E. Porter, Past Master of Soley Lodge, Somerville, as first Senior Warden, and Bro. Ralph P. Preble, member and former officer of St. Andrews Lodge, No. 83, Bangor, Maine, as first Junior Warden. Arrangements were made for occupation of apartments occupied by Norfolk Lodge, and the application for Dispensation to form a lodge to be known as Nehoiden Lodge was made to Most Worshipful Frank Leslie Simpson, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. After much negotiation, of which Wor. Bro. Hamilton bore the brunt, the Dispensation was granted. Two of the petitioners never qualified, and one died, and the Charter Members were as follows:

  • Alexander Allan
  • Lloyd K. Allen
  • Charles A. Alexander
  • Herman F. Arnold
  • Frederick Bailey
  • F. Russell Bartlett
  • Herbert W. Barton
  • Carl M. Bergquist
  • Newton Black
  • Herbert E. Blaisdell
  • William E. Boyer
  • Harry H. Bruns
  • Philip V. Burt
  • Clarence S. Burton
  • Chester H. Carmichael
  • Horace A. Carter
  • Walter B. Chaffin
  • Harley E. Crisp
  • Arthur G. Curren
  • John C. Davis
  • Ralph G. Decatur
  • Arthur E. Farnham
  • Charles A. Forbush
  • Richard Fortune
  • Raymond A. Gillett
  • J. William Gledhill
  • Forrest E. Goodwin
  • Eugene H. Gordon
  • Roger C. Griffin
  • Arthur S. Hamilton
  • David S. Hamilton
  • Willard B. Hamlin
  • Floyd G. Hatch
  • John H. Heald
  • Waldo M. Hunt
  • Carl A. Karcher
  • Harry W. Kimball
  • Fred H. Learned
  • Amory Leland
  • Raymond A. Longmore
  • George A. Lord
  • Jesse E. Lott
  • Melvin F. Maddocks
  • William A. Mann
  • Roland C. March
  • Ralph G. Martin
  • Herbert N. Mitchell
  • Bret D. Montague
  • Arthur V. Munro
  • Edward W. Nason
  • George W. Neale
  • Edmund G. Pond
  • George M. Pond
  • Frank E. Porter
  • Ralph P. Preble
  • Frederick J. Price
  • ElRoy S. Reeder
  • Allison C. Ringer
  • C. Weston Ringer
  • Percy F. Rowley
  • John A. Salman
  • Philip A. Seabury
  • Francis W. Shaw
  • Henry F. Silsby
  • W. Augustus Simmons
  • Harry W. Stark
  • Llewellyn S. Stevens
  • Herbert F. Stevenson
  • Harold F. Still
  • George R. Toney
  • John W. Totten
  • H. Prescott Tucker
  • Jasper C. Warwick
  • Curtis R. Wells
  • Leslie J. Wertheim
  • Waldemar R. White
  • C. Winthrop Whiting
  • Joseph Percy Williams
  • John P. Wolfenden
  • Samuel H. Wragg

So earnest and interested were the members that upon mere suggestion many of them contributed regalia, jewels, furniture, and money. The list of contributions follows:

Regalia List - Presented By

  • Master's Apron, Collar and Jewel - Bro. Amory Leland
  • Senior Warden's Apron, Collar and Jewel
 - Bro. Chester A. Carmichael
  • Junior Warden's Apron - Bro. Ralph P. Preble
  • Junior Warden's Collar and Jewel
 - Bro. Carl M. Bergquist
  • Treasurer's Apron, Collar and Jewel - Bro. George A. Lord
  • Secretary's Apron, Collar and Jewel - Bro. Francis W. Shaw
  • Chaplain's Apron, Collar and Jewel - Bro. Arthur G. Curren
  • Marshal's Apron, Collar and Jewel - Bro. C. W. Whiting
  • Senior's Deacon's Apron, Collar and Jewel - Bro. Edward W. Nason
  • Junior's Deacon's Apron, Collar and Jewel - Bro. James C. Warwick
  • Senior's Steward's Apron - Bro. Bret D. Montague
    • Collar and Jewel, $12.00
  • Junior's Steward's Apron - Bro. Ralph G. Martin
    • Collar and Jewel, $12.00
  • Inside Sentinel's Apron, Collar and Jewel, $25.00
  • Tyler's Apron, Collar and Jewel, Sword and Belt - Bros. Frederick Bailey and John H. Heald
  • 
Great Lights - Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton
  • Grand Lodge Jewels - Wor. Frank E. Porter
  • Master's gavel, Wardens' truncheons, Marshal's baton, and 3 Stands - Wor. Francis C. Hersey
  • Deacon's and Stewards' Rods - Wor. John A. Salman
  • Working Tools - Wor. Arthur G. Curren
  • Trestle Board - Wor. Herbert F. Stevenson
  • Hour Glass - Wor. David S. Hamilton
  • Point Within Circle - Wor. Herbert N. Mitchell
  • Charter Case - John A. Salman

Donations not for any particular items

  • Wor. Frank E. Porter - $10.00
  • Bro. George M. Pond - 10.00
  • Herman F. Arnold - 10.00
  • Eric Jones (A visitor) - 5.00

Bro. C. Weston Ringer contributed gavel blocks for the several
 stations.

By a call dated October 14, 1927, signed by Arthur S. Hamilton, and countersigned by Francis W. Shaw, as Secretary, the first regular communication was held on October 21, 1927, for the purpose of receiving the Dispensation. Fifty-one of the eighty-two petitioners were present. Rt. Wor. H. Alton Roark, D. D. G. M. for the Waltham Fifth Masonic District, was present and took charge of the meeting, assisted by Wor. Howard S. Hatch, D. D. G. Marshal.

The Dispensation was read by the D. D. G. Master, after which Wor. Bro. Hamilton was presented to the East, and to him was delivered the Dispensation, authorizing him and the Brethren associated with him and therein named to organize Nehoiden Lodge, and do all Masonic acts consistent therewith and in accordance with the laws and customs of Masonry. He was then invested with the jewel of his office and seated in the Oriental Chair as First Master of Nehoiden "Under Dispensation."

Wor. Bro. Frank E. Porter was then presented to the East, invested with the jewel of his office, and seated in the West; and Bro. Ralph P. Preble was similarly invested and seated in the South.

Then in succession were presented, duly invested with the jewels of their respective offices, and escorted to their respective stations, the following Brothers who, with the council as already indicated, were to constitute the original organization of Nehoiden Lodge:

  • Treasurer: Bro. George A. Lord, member of Soley Lodge, Somerville
  • 
Secretary: Bro. Francis W. Shaw, member of Washington Lodge, Roxbury

  • Chaplain: Rev. Bro. Newton Black, member of Putnam Lodge, Cambridge

  • Marshal: Wor. Bro. Herbert N. Mitchell, P. M. of Norfolk Lodge
  • S. Deacon: Bro. Edward W. Nason, member of Norfolk Lodge
  • J. Deacon: Bro. George M. Pond, member of Norfolk Lodge
  • S. Steward: Bro. Herbert F. Stevenson, member of Lafayette Lodge No. 199, Lock Haven, Penn.
  • 
J. Steward: Bro. Harry H. Bruns, member of Norfolk Lodge
  • I. Sentinel: Bro. Charles A. Forbush, member of Theodore Roosevelt Lodge, Quincy

  • Tyler: Bro. John H. Heald, member of Fraternity Lodge, Newton

The ceremonies were witnessed by Rt. Wor. Rudolph Burrough, D. D. G. M. for Brighton Fifth Masonic District, and by the Masters and Wardens of Norfolk, Dalhousie, Bethesda, Brookline, Belmont, and Norumbega Lodges.

And thus was the baby born, and four applications were received to start it in the world.

Scarcely had the new organization begun to function when into its life came the ultimate vicissitude —death. On November 7, 1927, the first special communication was called to administer the last Masonic rites at the funeral of Bro. Leslie Asa Lyna.

At the second communication four more applications for the degrees were received, and at the third four more, and it seemed as if our hopes and aspirations were approved; and it continued until twenty-two applications had been received during the year, of whom eight were raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason and became members.

At the third communication, on December 16, 1927, was inaugurated the custom of holding Christmas parties, which have been a feature of our Lodge ever since, when we break the shackles of age and convention and become boys again.

On February 17, 1928, Newton Chapter, Order of DeMolay, were our guests, and exemplified their work. Officers and members of Norfolk Lodge were also our guests.

On March 16, 1928, Rt. Wor. and Rev. Frederick W. Hamilton, Grand Secretary of Grand Lodge, was our guest and gave us a very interesting talk on English, Irish, and Scottish Lodges. Upon this date, also, a code of by-laws was submitted by the Committee in charge, and adopted, subject to the approval by Grand Lodge, which was afterwards given.

On April 20, 1928, a committee was appointed to arrange a program for the ceremonies of Constitution of Nehoiden Lodge, which would take place on September 14, 1928.

The new Lodge found itself cordially received into the fellowship of the Fifth Masonic District, as evidenced by invitations to visit and visits received. Rt. Wor. Bro.. Roark, too, kept his eye on us and watched our progress by frequent friendly visits. That he was satisfied is evidenced by the prompt grant of a Charter. On May 4, 1928, the Lodge held its first Ladies' Night, and thus gave members the opportunity to find out "Who Was Who," and the ladies to know with whom their husbands were associating, and thus establish at once a mutual understanding. It was held in Stevens Hall, and was a great success.

Following that, the Lodge inaugurated its observance of Masonic custom of attending church services in a body, by joining other Lodges of the district at Newton Congregational Church, Newtonville, on May 20th. This custom has been observed during the ten years of its existence at one church or another.

The officers and members also received and accepted an invitation from Norfolk Lodge to attend its June 11th communication and assist in the work.

On June 15th, in preparation for the ceremonies of Constitution, the members voted to assess themselves the sum of $3.00 each, for the purpose of defraying the additional cost offending some glamour and dignity to the exercises without expending Lodge funds, such additional expenditures being contrary to Grand Lodge policy.

Then, on September 4, 1928, came the great day — never but once in the history of a Lodge. Our by-laws, records, and all necessary documents having been submitted to Grand Lodge and approved, the day of our Constitution was at hand: Most Wor. Frank Leslie Simpson, Grand Master of Masons, attended, with M. W. Bro. Dudley H. Ferrell, P. G. M.; Rt. Wor. Otis C. White, Deputy Grand Master, Rt. Wor. John W. Withington, Senior Grand Warden, Rt. Wor. Elton S. Wilde, Junior Grand Warden, Rt. Wor. Robert J. McKechnie, Grand Marshal, Wor. and Rev. Robert Walker, Wor. and Rev. Percy T. Edrop, D.D., and Wor. and Rev. John Vannevar, D.D., Grand Chaplains, Rt. Wor. Charles H. Ramsay, Grand Treasurer, Rt. Wor, Frank H. Hilton, Acting Grand Secretary, and others.

The Brethren assembled in the Lodge-room, and the Grand Lodge in the adjoining apartment. Then a procession was formed, and all proceeded to the banquet hall, where a bountiful repast was served to 137 members and guests. After dinner, Wor. Bro. Hamilton reviewed the past year in a most excellent manner, and then the Pilgrim Quartette rendered several selections, after which the Brethren returned to the Lodge-room.

Upon the reorganization of Grand Lodge, Wor. Bro. Hamilton, accompanied by the Senior and Junior Wardens, waited upon the Grand Master and announced that, acting under a Dispensation issued by the Grand Lodge, Nehoiden Lodge had organized and had been working under such Dispensation; that its records and work having been approved by the Grand Lodge, they now requested that they be recognized as a regular and duly constituted Lodge, and that a Charter be granted Nehoiden Lodge, for which purpose the Brethren were then convened in the Lodge-room.

The Grand Master stated that Grand Lodge was pleased to grant the request, and would proceed to the Lodge-room forthwith for the purpose of Constituting the lodge.

The Brethren of Nehoiden Lodge formed a double line from the door, between which the Grand Lodge entered under the direction of the Grand Marshal.

The Constitution exercises then began, continued, and ended in a most solemn and impressive manner, and was a spectacle but few present had seen, and none will forget.

The Grand Master then proceeded to install Wor. Bro. Arthur S. Hamilton as Master; The Senior Grand Warden installed Wor. Frank E. Porter as Senior Warden; the Junior Grand Warden installed Bro. Ralph P. Preble as Junior Warden; the Grand Treasurer installed Bro. George A. Long as Treasurer; and Acting Grand Secretary installed Bro. Francis W. Shaw as Secretary.

The appointive officers, except the Chaplain, were invested and installed by the Deputy Grand Master. The Chaplain, Rev. Bro. Newton Black, received his jewel from Wor. and Rev. Percy T. Edrop, D.D., a neighbor and colleague.

A charge, one written by Grand Master Paul Revere in 1795, was read by P. G. M. Dudley H. Ferrell.

The Grand Master spoke in most appreciative terms of the course Nehoiden Lodge had pursued, and was greatly pleased by its loyal observance of all the rules as well as his wishes in the matter, and then retired. Having thus passed the first and second gates of our Masonic pilgrimage, it was thenceforth our business to see that the promise of those earlier experiences should not be broken, and the third gate be approached with honor and dignity intact.

A week after Constitution, on September 21, 1928, occurred the tenth regular and First Annual Communication of the lodge, and election of new officers. Wor. Bro. Porter, Senior Warden, declined advancement, and Wor. Bro. Hamilton was re-elected Wor. Master, and all the other officers received their normal advancement. The new officers were installed by Rt. Wor. Henry P. Smith, P. D. D. G. M., assisted by Wor. Frank E. Babcock as Marshal. Bro. C. Weston Ringer then made his first bow as an officer in a body of which he has since become a much-esteemed Master, and incidentally is now Secretary of the Thirty-fourth Lodge of Instruction.

Wor. Bro. Porter, retiring Senior Warden, presented Wor. Bro. Hamilton with the first Past Master's jewel to be given by Nehoiden Lodge. The suggestion of its design was Wor. Bro. Porter's.

The interest in our meetings was evidenced by the fact that during the first year the average attendance at regular communications was 58% of its membership; at special communications, 17.3%.

At this time the Treasurer and Secretary were bonded, in accordance with the expressed policy of Grand Lodge, and have so remained.

On November 16, 1928, Wor. Bro. Frank E. Porter, Senior Warden of Nehoiden Lodge, U. D., was elected as Honorary Member; and on December 21, M. W. Frank Leslie Simpson, Grand Master, was elected to this honorable state when he attended our Thirteenth regular communication and Christmas party, and was presented with an Honorary Membership Diploma.

On November 16, also, Bro. Charles Wilder Bell, our present Wor. Master, was raised by Wor. Lester P. Leathers, Master of John Abbot Lodge, Somerville, assisted by Bro. Irving Taylor, then Junior Deacon of Soley Lodge, now Past Master. Last evening these two worthies again took part in exercises in his behalf. This date marks also the first issue of our present form of notice.

Also noteworthy on this date was the presence of Rt. Wor. Edward N. West, Captain of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Co., with a delegation of the Ancients, to confer the Master Mason degree upon Bro. Norman Edward McPhail, in long form, with lectures. The delegation was so large that all the stations were filled, and the work was truly impressive. Bro. McPhail was a Lieutenant of the Company, and Commissary.

On December 21, 1928, M. W. Frank L. Simpson made us a fraternal visit.

On March 18, 1929, the officers and several members paid a fraternal visit to Soley Lodge, Somerville, by invitation of Wor. Charles J. VanCor, Master, participating in the work of the First Degree, and this visit was returned by Soley Lodge on June 21st, when it participated in the work of the Second Degree.

On June 23, 1929, the Lodge observed for the first time the anniversary of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist, by attending service at Christ Church by invitation of Rev. Richard G. Preston. This observance, too, has become a usual custom.

On September 20, 1929, Bro. Ralph P. Preble, was elected Wor. Master. At the same time Bro. Francis W. Shaw declined re-nomination, and Bro. Alexander Allan was nominated and elected Secretary. Bro. (now Wor. Bro.) Curtis R. Wells became Inside Sentinel, and Rev. Bro. Harry W. Kimball associate Chaplain. These officers were installed by Rt. Wor. Henry P. Smith, P. D. D. G. M., assisted by Wor. Bro. Hamilton.

On October 19, Rt. Wor. Amos L. Taylor, D. D. G. M., made the official Visitation.

This year five applications for degrees and thirteen for membership were received, and fourteen were raised to the degree of Master Mason. The year began with 89 members and ended with 117.

Notice was given of the first meeting of the Fifth District Lodge of Instruction in the Masonic Apartments, Newtonville, on October 23, 1929. Later it was given the title of "Thirty-fourth Lodge of Instruction."

On June 13, the Lodge visited Atlantic Lodge, Wollaston, and took part in the work; and on March 21, 1930, Atlantic Lodge were our guests. The Master of Atlantic Lodge, Wor. Harold M. Lawson, is a member of Nehoiden Lodge.

Our attendance kept up in a way to talk about: Regular communications for the year, average 41%; special, 24.4%. Net gain in membership, 14, to 131.

The Master reported practically $2.00 a member raised for Juniper Hall fund — very close to its quota. He also pointed with pride to 100% attendance at Lodge of Instruction and at Grand Lodge communications. At the Annual Communication on September 19, 1930, Bro. Edward W. Nason was elected Wor. Master, and the officers were installed by Rt. Wor. Andrew C. Morrow, P. D. D. G. M. for the Twenty-fifth Masonic District, and Wor. Bro. Hamilton as Marshal.

During the year, as in previous years, a special communication for church attendance on a stated occasion was held, and Christmas and other gatherings and festivities, now grown customary with Nehoiden Lodge, were enjoyed.

The net membership was increased by 14, to 145.

On September 18, 1931, Bro. George M. Pond was elected Wor. Master, and to his father, Bro. Edmund G. Pond, was given the privilege of announcing to his son the news of this honor, and of presenting him to the Lodge as Master-elect. The officers were installed by Wor. Bro. Frank E. Porter, assisted by Wor. Bro. Harrison Hyslop, Past Master of Dalhousie Lodge, as Marshal.

Our present Master, Wor. Charles W. Bell, started his progress in line as Inside Sentinel.

On October 16, Rt. Wor. Robert Dudley Diggs, Jr., D. D. G. M., made the official Visitation.

On April 15, 1932, we held our first Past Masters' Night. This generally presumes that there are a lot of Past Masters, but we had only three. Nevertheless, we had a good "Night," with the assistance of seven of our affiliated Past Masters, who rose nobly to the occasion.

On June 17, Rev. Bro. Harry Hamlin Hall, one of our two present truly beloved Chaplains, was raised by Wor. Bro. Arthur S. Hamilton, assisted in all the stations by parishioners of Christ Church; and on June 26th the Lodge attended divine service at his church.

The net membership increased 15 to 160.

The Master in his report stated that several members who wished their names withheld had sent contributions which amply cared for all welfare work. It is a pleasure to make note of such an item. He also announced that Bro. Charles A. Furbush, Senior Deacon, who had been in line since the beginning, and a loyal and conscientious officer, had withdrawn because of demands of business and health. On September 16, 1932, Bro. Herbert F. Stevenson was elected Wor. Master, and the officers were installed by Wor. Frank E. Porter, assisted by Wor. Bro. Hamilton as Marshal.

Bro. Clarence S. Burton, last evening installed as Senior Warden, was then installed as Inside Sentinel. On October 21, occurred the official Visitation, made by Rt. Wor. Alfred P. Waterman, D. D. G. M.j and we were also honored by a visit from M. W. Bro. Frank L. Simpson, P. G. M. and an honorary member of this Lodge.

On November 30, Bro. Kenneth Sydney Koscoe, seaman on S. S. Alaska, American-Hawaiian S. S. Co., was due to receive his Entered Apprentice degree, at a special meeting. Finding his ship over-due in port, he had a member of the Craft relieve him at Philadelphia and he continued by airplane to keep his tryst with us. We are glad to record such an appreciation of the situation.

On January 20, 1933, we had another Past Masters' Night, and this time we had four of our own, but our affiliated Worshipful Brothers shared the burden, if they did not in fact almost carry it, and made it a great success.

February 17th was the occasion of a visit from the officers of Norfolk Lodge as our guests, who took charge of the work of the evening. Rt. Wor. Alfred P. Waterman, and Rr. Wor. Joseph Earl Perry, also D. D. G. M., were present.

On May 3, the dignity and appeal of the Master Masons' degree were greatly enhanced by the beautiful singing of the Glee Club of Fraternity Lodge, present by invitation; and they also gave us a short concert afterwards. Rt. Wor. Bro. Waterman, surely a faithful shepherd of his flock, and a constant visitor, was again present; and still again, on May 19, he addressed the Lodge on the subject, "Ancient Mysteries of Masonry Leading up to Modern Masonry."

Net gain in membership was 6, to 166.

Precedent was followed during the year in having had a Christmas party, Past Master's Night, church attendance, and Ladies' Night — only the latter was transformed into a "Family Night."

Also our quota to the Juniper Hall Fund was more than filled this year; we were represented at all meetings of the Grand Lodge; we observed the Dedication of the George Washington Memorial at Alexandria by a report from one of our Brothers who was present at the exercises; we cooperated with the Thirty- fourth Lodge of Instruction in observing the Two Hundredth anniversary of Organized Masonry in Massachusetts, at Watertown, and also were well represented at the Grand Lodge celebration in Boston; and we observed a "Father and Son Night" by inviting the sons to come to the bamiuer hall after a short Lodge meeting, with a special program.

On September 15, 1933, Bro. Harry Holmes Bruns was elected Wor. Master, and Bro. Russell J. Rice, our present Junior Warden, started his ascent in the line as Inside Sentinel. The officers were installed by Rt. Wor. Henry P. Smith, P. D. D. G. M, assisted by Wor. Bro. Samuel H. Wragg as Marshal.

The official Visitation was made on October 20th by Rt. Wor. Alfred P. Waterman, D. D. G. M. and on November 17, M. W. Bro. Arthur 1). Prince spoke to us on "International Fellowship."

On May 18, 1934, our new D. D. G. M., Rt. Wor. Walter L. McCammon, made a fraternal visit, with Wor. Bro. Edwin O. Childs as D. D. G. Marshal, and witnessed the work of our Past Masters and affiliates, Wor. Bro. Preble presiding. We had begun to feel our age, as youth will, but still required the experience and skill of our elder Brethren to help keep our balance. Later, as years go by, we shall be able to stand on our own feet in this respect, but we shall never sever the ties which bind us youngsters in Masonry to those who have borne the burden and heat of the day, and yet are interested in our endeavors.

On September 21, 1934, Bro. C. Weston Ringer was elected Wor. Master, and the officers were installed by Wor. Bro. Stevenson, assisted by Wor. Leon M. Smith, P. D. D. G. Marshal.

After faithful service for seven years, ever since the first meeting of the Lodge U. D., Bro. George A. Lord, Treasurer, declined nomination, and our funds were committed to the care of Bro. Amory Leland, elected Treasurer. Bro. Lord was raised in Soley Lodge, Somerville, and was Junior Warden of that Lodge during his first year's residence in Needham, some eighteen years ago, and upon his retirement these officers with whom he had been associated bought and presented to him a Life Membership in Soley Lodge as a token of their esteem. He was the writer's Senior Deacon.

On October 19, 1934, owing to Rt. Wor. Bro. McCammon's illness, the official Visitation was made by Rt. Wor. E. Lester Swett, D. D. G. M. for the Twenty-fifth District.

The officers of Nehoiden Lodge accepted an invitation of Norfolk Lodge to assist in its work on November 12, and on the Kith Norfolk Lodge returned the visit.

On December 9, the Lodge attended a special anniversary service at the Congregational Church to commemorate the laying of the corner-stone by the Grand Lodge of Masons, ten years before. Rev. Bro. Harry W. Kimball conducted the service, and Rt. Wor. Frederick W. Hamilton, Grand Secretary, was guest speaker.

On March 15, 1935, Rt. Wor. Walter L. McCammon visited us in person to make up for his enforced absence in October, and witnessed the work done by the Past Masters; and in April Wor. Bro. Edwin O. Childs visited us and gave a charge to the candidate at once original and inspiring.

On May 17, Sir Galahad Chapter, Order of DeMolay, were our guests and exemplified their beautiful work and ritual in our apartments.

Our membership declined 1 to 171, but considering the times it is not discouraging, and most of the social activities usual in Nehoiden Lodge were carefully fostered. We made a great deal of our social activities.

On September 20, 1935, Bro. Curtis R. Wells was elected Wor. Master, and Bro. Alexander Allan, Secretary since 1929, was appointed Inside Sentinel. Bro. George W. Brown was elected Secretary. It is a pity that business pressure prevented Bro. Allan from going the distance, but he severed his connection with the line on September 21, 1937.

The officers were installed by Rt. Wor. H. Wendell Prout, D. G. M., then Acting Grand Master, and Wor. Leon E. Smith as Marshal.

On October 11, 1935, Rt. Wor. Walter L. McCammon, D. D. G. M., and a large suite, made the official Visitation.

On November 15, 1935, it was suggested that Nehoiden Lodge contribute S25.00, one-third of the cost to make needed repairs to the organ at the Masonic Home, and when the meeting was over it was found then plenty had been contributed by members present.

On February 21, 1936, our new District Deputy Grand Master Rt. Wor. Harry A. Starr, made a fraternal visit. On March 20, the death was announced of Bro. Edmund G. Pond, our oldest member, and father of Wor. Bro. George M. Pond, at the ripe old age of eighty-eight years.

The meeting had been dedicated to the Past Masters, and they proceeded with the work of the Second Degree, in two shifts, to use all the Past Masters who were members. It takes two shifts, now, to show our wealth of material. At the end each of the Past Masters was presented with a Past Master's watch-charm given by one of our members, and each of our own Past Masters received a beautiful gavel which was donated and presented by Bro. Frank C. Hersey.

And now a word sub rosa: Since the beginning a giver of charms and emblems has been furnishing for each candidate an emblem pin, requesting that it be presented anonymously. I think this sketch would be incomplete if the veil were not raised for a moment, and Bro. John A. Salman be known for the generous man that he is.

On June 21, 1936, the memory of the Nativity of St. John the Baptist was commememorated by attendance, with Norfolk Lodge, at Christ Church, our Chaplain, Rev. Bro. Harry Hamlin Hall, officiating.

Our membership rose from 171 to 177, principally by affiliation.

On September 18, 1936, Bro. Roland C. March was elected Wor. Master, and the officers were installed by Wor. Bro. Edwin O. Childs, Past Master of Fraternity Lodge, assisted by Wor. Bro. Charles W. Henderson, Past Master of Pequossette Lodge.

On October 16, Rt. Wor. Harry A. Starr, D. D. G. M., made the official Visitation, accompanied by a generous suite.

On December 18, the Wor. Master introduced to the Lodge Bro. Charles A. Alexander, who had been a Mason For over fifty years, and had recently received from the Grand Lodge a Veteran's Medal. Following the closing, our usual Christmas festivities were observed.

On March 19, 1937, a change in the meeting night was proposed, the original selection of Friday evening having proved for one reason or another to be not so popular. The outcome later was that the third Tuesday was substituted.

The Past Masters again took their annual opportunity to relive the olden times, and did excellent work. Every Past Master and affiliated Past Master scheduled for work was present, and the work was done in two shifts, as has now become the custom. At the conclusion Bro. Frank C. Hersey presented the Master, as he had all previous Masters, with a gavel.

On April 16, the officers of Norfolk Lodge took over the meeting, and thus continued the friendly exchanges and relations which help to make the whole world kin.

An interesting bit of news was given the Brethren by Bro. Arthur G. Curren. He was a member of a West Indies-Rio Cruise, sailing from New York, and had the privilege of attending an informal meeting of Master Masons on board the S.S. Gripsholm February 18th, under the auspices of the International High Noon Club.

On November 24, 1935, many of our members had the privilege of calling on Bro. Alexander M. Campbell and his good wife upon the occasion of their Sixtieth Wedding Anniversary. On July 13, 1937, Mrs. Campbell was laid to rest, and on the 24th it was our sad duty to lay "Sandy" beside her. He was eighty-five years of age, and was the oldest electrician, both in years of age and of service, in Boston until his enforced retirement the first part of the year.

The year closed with a membership of 182.

Last evening, September 21, Bro. Charles Wilder Bell was elected Wor. Master, and was installed by Wor. Bro. Lester P. Leathers, Past Master of John Abbot Lodge, who raised him, assisted by Wor. Bro. Irving Taylor, Past Master of Soley Lodge, who assisted at his raising.

Wor. Bro. Bell is the eleventh incumbent of that high office. Those who preceded him bore a great burden through many difficult years, honorably and well, and now they say to him, upon this tenth anniversary,

"To you from falling hands we throw
The torch. Be yours to hold it high!"

and he responds

"The torch ye threw to us we caught."

A future historian will record how well the light was tended, but we feel confident that the Lodge will receive a just and true accounting of this and succeeding stewardships, and that the light will not be suffered to grow dim as the years pass.

25TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, OCTOBER 1952

From Proceedings, Page 1952-244:

by Brother Charles W. E. Morris.

The period 1927 to 1937 is covered by a history compiled by Wor. Frank E. Porter, which is recorded in the Proceedings of the Grand Lodge, and of which this brief history is a condensation.

On April 26, 1927, a small group of Masons gathered at the home of Bro. Arthur S. Hamilton upon an occasion momentous for Nehoiden Lodge. It was known that there were a great many Masons living in Needham whose Masonic homes were in other jurisdictions, and who were averse to joining another and perhaps older Lodge where they would become just "other" members. It was suggested to this little group that these Brothers would renew their interest and their incentive would be restored if they could get together and form a Lodge of their own, in which they themselves would designate the course they would pursue and the policy they would adopt. There was no purpose to profit at the expense of a sister Lodge, and in fact few of its members were accepted as Charter members. Some who were accepted are now members of both Lodges. The suggestion became the opinion of the group, and thus was a new Lodge conceived.

This policy of practically limiting our proposed membership to residents Masonically domiciled in other jurisdictions having been determined, subscription papers were circulated, and eventually applications of eighty-three petitioners were on our list. At a meeting called for the purpose, Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton, Past Master of Norfolk Lodge, was suggested as first Master "Under Dispensation," Wor. Frank E. Porter, Past Master of Soley Lodge, Somerville, as first Senior Warden, and Bro. Ralph P. Preble, member and former officer of St. Andrew's Lodge, No. 83, Bangor, Maine, as first Junior Warden. Arrangements were made for the use of the apartments occupied by Norfolk Lodge, and the application for a dispensation to form a Lodge to be known as Nehoiden Lodge was made to Most Worshipful Frank L. Simpson, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. After much negotiation, of which Wor. Bro. Hamilton bore the brunt, the dispensation was granted. (It is here interesting to note that the selection of the name Nehoiden was due to its historical significance to Needham. On April 13, 1680, William Nahaton or Nehoiden, an Indian, deeded a territory approximately four miles by five, for ten pounds, forty acres of land, and Indian corn to the value of forty shillings. This tract comprised the township of Needham prior to 1797, also Dedham Island.)

By a call dated October 14, 1927, signed by Arthur S. Hamilton, and countersigned by Francis W. Shaw as Secretary, the first regular communication was held on October 21, 1927, for the purpose of receiving the dispensation. Fifty-one of the eighty-two petitioners were present. R. W. H. Alton Roark, District Deputy Grand Master for the Waltham Fifth Masonic District, was present and took charge of the meeting, assisted by Wor. Howard S. Hatch, District Deputy Grand Marshal. The dispensation was read by the District Deputy Grand Master, after which Wor. Bro. Hamilton was presented to the East, and to him was delivered the dispensation, authorizing him and the Brethren associated with him and therein named to organize Nehoiden Lodge and do all Masonic acts consistent therewith and in accordance with the laws and customs of Masonry. He was then invested with the jewel of his office and seated in the Oriental Chair as first Master of Nehoiden "Under Dispensation." Wor. Frank E. Porter was then presented to the East, invested with the jewel of his office, and seated in the West; and Bro. Ralph P. Preble was similarly invested and seated in the South. Then in succession were presented, duly invested with the jewels of their respective offices, and escorted to their respective stations, the following Brothers, who, with the council as already indicated, were to constitute the original organization of Nehoiden Lodge:

  • Bro. George A. Lord, Soley Lodge, Somerville, Treasurer
  • Bro. Francis W. Shaw, Washington Lodge, Roxbury, Secretary
  • Rev. Newton Black, Putnam Lodge, Cambridge, Chaplain
  • Wor. Herbert N. Mitchell, Norfolk Lodge, Needham, Marshal
  • Bro. Edward W. Nason, Norfolk Lodge, Needham, Senior Deacon
  • Bro. George M. Pond, Norfolk Lodge, Needham, Junior Deacon
  • Bro. Herbert F. Stevenson, Lafayette Lodge No. 199, Look Haven, Pennsylvania, Senior Steward
  • Bro. Harry H. Bruns, Norfolk Lodge, Needham, Junior Steward
  • Bro. Charles A. Forbush, Theodore Roosevelt Lodge, Quincy Inside Sentinel
  • Bro. John H. Heald, Fraternity Lodge, Newtonville, Tyler

The ceremonies were witnessed by R.W. Rudolph Burrough, District Deputy Grand Master of the Brighton Fifth District, and by the Masters and Wardens of Norfolk, Dalhousie, Bethesda, Brookline, Belmont and Norumbega Lodges. And thus was the baby born, and four applications were received to start it in the world.

In 1927 the 34th Lodge of Instruction was organized, and Nehoiden Lodge was honored by having its first and presiding Master elected by the Masters of the District to serve as its first Secretary.

At the third communication on December 16, 1927, was inaugurated the custom of holding Christmas parties, which have been a feature of our Lodge ever since, when we break the shackles of age and convention and become boys again.

On February 17, 1928, Newton Chapter, Order of DeMolay, were our guests and exemplified their work. Officers and members of Norfolk Lodge were also our guests. On April 20, 1928, a committee was appointed to arrange a program for the ceremonies of Constitution of Nehoiden Lodge, which would take place on September 14, 1928. On May 4, 1928, the Lodge held its first Ladies' Night and thus gave members the opportunity to find out "Who was Who," and the ladies to know with whom their husbands were associating and thus establish at once a mutual understanding. It was held in Stevens Hall and was a great success. Following that, the Lodge inaugurated its observance of Masonic custom of attending church services in a body by joining other Lodges in the district at Newton Congregational Church, Newtonville, on May 20th.

Then on September 14, 1928, came the great day which comes but once in the history of a Lodge. Our by-laws, records and all necessary documents having been submitted to Grand Lodge and approved, the day of our constitution was at hand. The Grand Officers present were:

and others.

The Brethren assembled in the lodge-room and the Grand Lodge in the adjoining apartment. Then a procession was formed and all proceeded to the banquet hall, where a bountiful repast was served to 137 members and guests. After dinner, Wor. Bro. Hamilton reviewed the past year in a most excellent manner, and then the Pilgrim Quartet rendered several selections, after which the Brethren returned to the lodge-room. Upon the reorganization of the Grand Lodge, Wor. Bro. Hamilton, accompanied by the Senior and Junior Wardens, waited upon the Grand Master and announced that, acting under a dispensation issued by the Grand Lodge, Nehoiden Lodge had organized and had been working under such dispensation; that, its records and work having been approved by the Grand Lodge, they now requested that the Lodge be duly constituted, for which purpose the Brethren were then convened in the lodge-room.

The Grand Master stated that Grand Lodge was pleased to grant the request and would proceed to the lodge-room forthwith for the purpose of constituting the Lodge. The Brethren of Nehoiden Lodge formed a double line from the door, between which the Grand Lodge entered under the direction of the Grand Marshal. The constitution exercises then began, continued and ended in a most solemn and impressive manner, and was a spectacle but few present had seen, and none will forget.

The Grand Master then proceeded to install Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton as Master; the Senior Grand Warden installed Wor. Frank E. Porter as Senior Warden; the Junior Grand Warden installed Bro. Ralph P. Preble as Junior Warden; the Grand Treasurer installed Bro. George A. Long as Treasurer; and the Acting Grand Secretary installed Bro. Francis W. Shaw as Secretary. The appointive officers, except the Chaplain, were invested and installed by the Deputy Grand Master. The Chaplain, Rev. Newton Black, received his jewel from Wor. and Rev. Percy T. Edrop, D.D., a neighbor and colleague. A charge, one written by Grand Master Paul Revere in 1795, was read by M. W. Dudley H. Ferrell. The Grand Master spoke in most appreciative terms of the course Nehoiden Lodge had pursued, and was greatly pleased by its loyal observance of all the rules, as well as his wishes, in the matter and then retired.

Having thus passed the first and second gates of our Masonic pilgrimage, we felt it our duty to see that the promise of those earlier experiences should not be broken, and that the third gate be approached with honor and dignity intact. A week after constitution, on September 21, 1938, occurred the tenth regular and first annual communication of the Lodge, and election of new officers. Wor. Bro. Porter, Senior Warden, declined advancement, and Wor. Bro. Hamilton was re-elected Worshipful Master, and all the other officers received their normal advancement. The new officers were installed by R. W. Henry P. Smith, District Deputy Grand Master, assisted by Wor. Frank E. Babcock as Marshal. Bro. Weston Ringer then made his first bow as an officer in the Thirty-fourth Lodge of Instruction. On December 21, 1928, M. W. Frank L. Simpson made the Lodge a fraternal visit. On June 23, 1929, the Lodge observed for the first time the anniversary of the nativity of St. John the Baptist by attending service at Christ Church, by invitation of Rev. Richard G. Preston. This observance, too, has become a usual custom.

On September 20, 1929, Bro. Ralph P. Preble was elected Worshipful Master. The year began with eighty-nine members and ended with 117.

At the annual communication on September 19, 1930, Bro. Edward W. Nason was elected Worshipful Master, and the officers were installed by R. W. Andrew C. Morrow, Past District Deputy Grand Master for the 25th Masonic District, and Wor. Bro. Hamilton as Marshal. The net membership was increased to 145.

On September 18, 1931, Bro. George M. Pond was elected Worshipful Master, and to his father, Bro. Edmund G. Pond, was given the privilege of announcing to his son the news of this honor, and of presenting him to the Lodge as the Master-elect. On April 15, 1932, we held our first Past Masters' Night. This generally presumes that there are a lot of Past Masters, but we had only three. Nevertheless, we had a good "Night," with the assistance of seven of our affiliated Past Masters, who rose nobly to the occasion. On June 17th, Rev. Bro. Harry Hamlin Hall, one of our two present truly beloved Chaplains, was raised by Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton, assisted at all the stations by parishioners of Christ Church, and on June 26, the Lodge attended divine service at his church. The membership was increased to 160.

On September 16, 1932, Bro. Herbert F. Stevenson was elected Worshipful Master, and the officers were installed by Wor. Frank E. Porter, assisted by Wor. Bro. Hamilton as Marshal. The net gain in membership was six, bringing the total to 166.

On September 15, 1933, Bro. Harry Holmes Bruns was elected Worshipful Master, and the officers were installed by R.W. Henry P. Smith, Past District Deputy Grand Master, assisted by Wor. Samuel H. Wragg, as Marshal.

On September 21, 1934, Bro. C. Weston Ringer was elected Worshipful Master, and the officers were installed by Wor. Bro. Stevenson, assisted by R. W. Leon M. Smith, Past District Deputy Grand Master, as Marshal. The officers of Nehoiden Lodge accepted an invitation of Norfolk Lodge to assist in its work on November 12, and on the 16, Norfolk Lodge returned the visit. On December 9 the Lodge attended a special anniversary service at the Congregational Church to commemorate the laying of the corner-stone by the Grand Lodge of Masons ten years before. Rev. Bro. Harry W. Kimball conducted the service, and R. W. Frederick W. Hamilton, Grand Secretary, was guest speaker. Our membership declined to 171, but considering the times, it was not discouraging, and most of the social activities usual in Nehoiden Lodge were carefully fostered.

On September 20, 1935, Bro. Curtis R. Wells was elected Worshipful Master, and Bro. George W. Brown was elected Secretary. The officers were installed by the Acting Grand Master, R. W. H. Wendell Prout, Deputy Grand Master, with R.W. Leon Smith as installing Marshal. On February 21, 1936, the District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. Harry A. Starr, made a fraternal visit. In May, 1936, Wor. C. Weston Ringer, Past Master of Nehoiden Lodge, was elected Master of the 34th Lodge of Instruction. On June 21, 1936, the memory of the nativity of St. John the Baptist was commemorated by attendance with Norfolk Lodge at Christ Church, our Chaplain, Rev. Bro. Harry Hamlin Hall, officiating. The membership rose to 177. On September 18, 1936, Bro. Roland C. March was elected Worshipful Master. On March 19, 1937, a change in the meeting night was proposed, the original selection of Friday evening having proven for one reason or another to be not so popular. The outcome was that the third Tuesday was substituted.

On September 21, 1937, Bro. Charles Wilder Bell was elected Worshipful Master, and was installed by Wor. Lester P. Leathers, Past Master of John Abbot Lodge, who raised him, assisted by Wor. Irving Taylor, Past Master of Soley Lodge, who assisted in his raising. On September 22, 1937, the tenth anniversary of Nehoiden Lodge was celebrated by a special communication of the Grand Lodge. The Grand Officers present included:

The Grand Lodge was opened in Ample Form in a convenient apartment at ten minutes before eight o'clock in the evening and proceeded under suitable escort to the lodge-room, where Nehoiden Lodge was in session with Wor. Charles W. Bell, presiding Master, in the East. After receiving the Grand Officers, the Master surrendered the gavel and the chair to the Grand Master, who conducted the exercises of the evening. A history of the Lodge was presented by Wor. Frank E. Porter. At the conclusion of the exercises, the Grand Lodge retired and was closed in Ample Form at ten minutes before ten o'clock.

Previous to the exercises, the Grand Officers were hospitably entertained at dinner by the Brethren of Nehoiden Lodge. On September 20, 1938, the Lodge elected Bro. Clarence S. Burton as Worshipful Master. The officers of the Lodge were duly installed by Wor. C. Weston Ringer, assisted by Wor. Bro. Wells. During the year eight candidates were raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason and six admitted by affiliation. At the Feast of St. John in December, 1938, Nehoiden Lodge was honored by the appointment of one of its Past Masters, Wor. C. Weston Ringer, to the office of District Deputy Grand Master of the Waltham 5th Masonic District by M. W. Joseph Earl Perry. The following year he was appointed to the same office by M.W. Albert A. Schaefer.

One of our esteemed charter members, Wor. Samuel Holmes Wragg, Past Master of Norfolk Lodge, brought great honor to Nehoiden Lodge by virtue of his appointments to the following offices by M.W. Joseph Earl Perry:

  • 1939, District Deputy Grand Master, Brighton Sth District
  • 1940, Deputy Grand Master

He also served as Most Worshipful Grand Master for the years 1945, 1946 and 1947, and as Relief Commissioner from April, 1948, to May, 1949. In February, 1939, the Lodge had the pleasure of witnessing the work of the Waltham Chapter No. 2, Order of Rainbow for Girls. The inspiring work of the young ladies was something those who saw it will long remember. Another outstanding event was our trip to the Masonic Home at Charlton, where we entertained the guests of the Home and their friends. Past Masters' Night was another highlight of the year, and with five candidates to work upon, they were in their glory. Ladies' Night at the Dover Town Hall was a complete success again this year, and has become a permanent part of our yearly activities.

On September 19, 1939, Worshipful Master Russell J. Rice was unanimously elected. The newly elected officers were installed by R. W. Leon E. Smith, Past Master of Bethesda Lodge, and R. W. C. Weston Ringer. In November, R.W. C. Weston Ringer, with a suite of fifty-four officers, was received, and an official visitation was paid to Nehoiden Lodge. Following the work of the evening, all present were privileged to hear a most inspiring address by the District Deputy, our own Past Master, C. Weston Ringer. The January meeting set a new high with 178 present. Bro. Karl Ames Flint, a member of the local police force, was raised by Wor. William E. Scott, assisted by the Degree Team of the Police Square Club of Massachusetts. Another successful Ladies' Night was held in Dover the first of March. Attendance was good and the program enjoyed.

On September 17, 1940, Bro. Ralph H. Gray was unanimously elected Worshipful Master. After appropriate remarks and acceptance of the office, the newly-installed Worshipful Master asked R. W. C. Weston Ringer and Wor. Russell J. Rice to be escorted to the East. With his usual genial manner, R. W. Brother Ringer presented a Past Master's jewel to Wor. Bro. Rice. At the October meeting, R. W. Francis D. Taylor made his final official visitation. It was well attended and his remarks were of especial interest. Boys' Night in December proved to be a very popular feature of the year. The enjoyment of the dinner, games and entertainment spoke well for the efforts of the committee in charge. In January the Lodge shared in the honor bestowed upon our Past Master, R. W. C. Weston Ringer, who had been appointed District Deputy Grand Master of the Waltham 5th Masonic District. Again the annual Ladies' Night was held in Dover, and although the attendance was not large, a most enjoyable time was had. Past Masters' Night was observed at the March meeting, at which time we were privileged to witness excellent work.

On September 16, 1941, the Lodge unanimously elected Bro. Rupert I. Irving as Worshipful Master. R. W. C. Weston Ringer presided in the East as Installing Master. At the regular April Communication, it was voted to remit the dues of any Lodge member who enters the service of our country, this at the discretion of the Council. During the course of the year, three vacancies occurred in the slate of officers because of the demands of military service. The advent of the war caused a dearth of candidates for the degrees, but five members were added to our ranks by affiliation, and the total membership at the year's end stood at 196. At the October meeting we had as our guests the football squads of the Senior and Junior High Schools. Coach Denny Myer gave us, as well as the boys, a very interesting, illustrated talk on football. The usual Christmas party was held in December, at which time we were privileged to hear from the leaders of our Civilian Defense Organization. In February we held our annual Ladies' Night at the Lodge apartments.

At the annual business meeting held on September 15, 1942, Bro. Robert E. Powell was unanimously elected Worshipful Master. Once again our own R. W. C. Weston Ringer acted as Installing Master. At the October meeting, R.W. Ellwood L. Overholser, District Deputy Grand Master, made his official visitation. A real old-fashioned Christmas party was held in December and the popularity of this occasion was attested by the splendid attendance. At the height of the entertainment a black-out signal was sounded, and in a darkened hall, the orchestra played and the folks sang community songs during the interlude. Our February meeting will long be remembered by those who attended. The temperature of fifteen degrees below zero had frozen the pipes, and the lodge-room was without heat. In the emergency, your officers obtained the use of the Congregational Church basement and banquet hall for the meeting. Our annual Ladies' Night was held late this year because of the extreme cold and the uncertainty of having an adequately heated hall. We were deeply indebted to the wives of the officers for the preparation and serving of a lobster buffet supper.

On September 21, 1943, Bro. Jay Tracy was unanimously elected Worshipful Master, Wor. Herbert F. Stevenson acting as Installing Master. At our October meeting R.W. Ellwood L. Overholser, District Deputy Grand Master of the Waltham Fifth District, and his distinguished suite, paid us an official visit. After the Lodge was closed, we enjoyed an official showing of the Bethlehem-Hingham Ship Yards pictures. The Lodge honored R. W. C. Weston Ringer at our December meeting. Bro. Ringer had been presented the Joseph Warren Medal on November 23, 1943, in Waltham Lodge. Our annual Ladies' Night was held on May 5 with a large attendance present. It was reported that there were ninety-eight members and sons and daughters of members in the Armed Services.

At our regular annual business meeting on September 19, 1944, the Lodge unanimously elected Bro. Alan L. Drury as Worshipful Master. R.W. C. Weston Ringer presided in the East as Installing Master. Wor. Curtis R. Wells presented Wor. Jay Tracy with his Past Master's jewel and a beautiful Past Master's apron. A Christmas Party, a Senior Wardens' Night, and a Past Masters' Night were very successful affairs. A Ladies' Night was held, and we attended a community Masonic and Eastern Star Service at the Evangelical Congregational Church. At the December meeting of the Grand Lodge, Samuel Holmes Wragg, one of our Charter Members, was elected to the office of Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. He was received in his official capacity in Nehoiden Lodge on February 27, 1945. At our regular communication in June, R.W. Alton L. Miller, District Deputy Grand Master, presented a Masonic Fifty-year Medal to Bro. Francis C. Hersey. At the same meeting, our Honor Roll was dedicated, and a special flag ceremony was used in closing. During the year, the Lodge membership increased from 216 to 245.

At the annual business meeting on September 18, 1945, Bro. H. Prescott Tucker was unanimously elected Worshipful Master. He was installed by Most Worshipful Samuel Holmes Wragg, whose presence, with a large and distinguished suite, gave added lustre to the occasion. The Christmas Party was an exceptionally successful affair, the lodge-room being filled to overflowing, and in January, the Past Master's Night was another outstanding success. Ladies' Night was held on May 3 in the Norwood Masonic Apartments. Following a roast turkey dinner, the evening was spent in entertainment and dancing right up to the closing hour. Throughout the year, thirty-five members were added to our ranks, twenty-three by degrees and twelve by affiliation, making a total of 280.

At our annual business meeting on September 17, 1946, Bro. Roy E. Towne was elected Worshipful Master, R. W. Alton L. Miller presiding in the East as Installing Master. Also present were R. W. Harold W. Knowlton and R. W. Curtis R. Wells. In 1946 R. W. C. Weston Ringer was appointed Grand Pursuivant of the Grand Lodge by M. W. Samuel Holmes Wragg. At the December meeting, Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton was chairman of a committee of Past Masters and affiliated Past Masters to receive our District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. Harold W. Knowlton, who was present to pay us a fraternal visit. On Sunday, May 4, 1947, the Lodge observed St. John's Day by attending divine service at the First Methodist Church. On May 27, at the invitation of Clinton Lodge of Wilton, New Hampshire, and with the permission of the Grand Master, thirty-five members of Nehoiden Lodge journeyed to Wilton, where the officers of Nehoiden Lodge assumed their stations and conducted the work of the Lodge in the exemplification of the Master Mason Degree. In May, 1947, Wor. Jay Tracy, a Past Master of Nehoiden Lodge, was elected Master of the 34th Lodge of Instruction. During the year, twenty-five members were admitted by degrees and five by affiliation.

On June 17, 1947, Bro. Ralph F. Reeves was elected Worshipful Master, and on September 16th, he was duly installed with M.W. Samuel Holmes Wragg officiating in the East. On January 20, R.W. Curtis R. Wells paid the Lodge a fraternal visit in his capacity as District Deputy Grand Master of the Waltham 5th Masonic District. On June 15, Wor. Ralph F. Reeves had the pleasure of officiating in the East at the raising of his two sons to the sublime degree of Master Mason. At the annual business meeting in 1948, Bro. James M. Hindle was elected Worshipful Master. Total membership at the year's end stood at 319. A number of very successful events featured the year's work. The Past Masters' Night in March was notable with 119 members and visitors present. The Christmas Party was also a great success. On May 23, about 125 members and their families and friends journeyed to Charlton for a visit to the Masonic Home, where an outdoor picnic was enjoyed. At the regular communication of the Lodge held on September 21, 1948, Bro. James M. Hindle was installed as Worshipful Master by Wor. Robert E. Powell. Wor. Bro. Hamilton, first Master of Nehoiden Lodge presented a Past Master's jewel to Past Master Reeves, and a Past Master's apron was presented to the new Master, Bro. James M. Hindle,by Wor. Bro. Powell. On November 19, 1949, a very successful "Family Social Night" was held, with entertainment, card games and dancing. For our December Christmas Party the entertainment committee arranged a splendid program for the kiddies, which the adults appeared to enjoy equally well. On April 28, the annual Ladies' Night was held in our own apartments. An excellent tenderloin beef dinner was served, followed by an entertainment and dancing. On May 24, the Lodge was privileged to witness a rare event in Freemasonry, when a father was accorded the pleasure of raising his three sons the same evening. This signal honor came to our own R.W. C. Weston Ringer, who was assisted by a distinguished company of Masons. It was an event which will long be remembered. The Masonic Home at Charlton was again the recipient of the Lodge's interest and goodwill when on May 22 we sponsored the Needham Philharmonic Orchestra, who visited the Home and gave a distinguished performance under the direction of Mr. Raymond H. Orr. Membership at the close of the year stood at 336.

At the regular monthly communication on September 20, 1949, Bro. John R. Drinkwater, having been duly qualified, was installed as Worshipful Master by R.W. Curtis R. Wells. About two hundred members and friends attended this semi-public installation. Among the distinguished guests were M.W. Samuel H. Wragg and Mrs. Wragg, also Wor. Gilbert W. Cox and Mrs. Cox. At the regular meeting in November occurred one of the outstanding events of the year on the occasion of the last Official Visitation of our own District Deputy Grand Master of the Waltham 5th District, R.W. Curtis R. Wells, when he was honored by one of the largest and most distinguished suites ever to visit Nehoiden Lodge. In the absence of the Master at the December meeting, our Senior Warden, Bro. Carl E. Tamm, acted as Master and conferred the third degree on five candidates, including his own son, Richard. Another highlight of the year was the annual Past Masters' Night, when Nehoiden Lodge was filled to capacity to witness the exemplary and inspiring work of our distinguished Past Masters. Several social events were held, notably the Christmas Party and the Ladies' Night, which was held at the Wellesley Country Club. In May our members visited the Masonic Home, where a picnic was held and the guests of the Home entertained. At the close of the year the membership had risen to 354.

On September 19, 1950, the duly elected Worshipful Master, Bro. Carl E. Tamm, was installed as Master by Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton. The installation was witnessed by R. W. J. Edwin Mitchell, District Deputy Grand Master of the Waltham 5th District, who was introduced by R.W. Curtis R. Wells. The installation was semi-public and was witnessed by approximately two hundred members, their wives, and friends. On October 17, the Lodge received an Official Visitation from the District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. J. Edwin Mitchell. At the Feast of St. John in December, 1950, our Lodge was again honored by the appointment of R. W. Curtis R. Wells to the office of Grand Pursuivant by M. W. Thomas S. Roy. In December, our officers visited Wellesley Lodge and conferred the entire first degree on one of their candidates. The February 20 meeting was called "Charter Member Night," with twenty-three of our charter members in attendance. On March 6, 1951, our special communication was known as "R. W. C. Weston Ringer Night" in honor of his election to the high office of Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts. The Grand Master, M. W. Thomas S. Roy, accompanied by twenty-three of the Grand Lodge Officers, visited Nehoiden Lodge on this occasion to pay honor to our distinguished Past Master, Bro. Ringer. During our January 16, 1951, meeting, the Worshipful Master proposed the elevation of our first Master, Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton, to Honorary Membership. In February Bro. Hamilton was duly elected. In view of this, our usual Past Masters' Night, which was held on March 20, was known as "Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton Night." Our special communication of June 5 was known as "Wor. Ralph P. Preble Night." On this occasion we honored our second Master, who was presented with a Fifty-year Veteran's Medal by our District Deputy Grand Master on behalf of the Grand Master. At the close of the year, the membership had increased to 370.

Bro. Alfred J. Emrich having been unanimously elected at the regular meeting in June, was duly installed as Worshipful Master on September 18, 1951. Wor. Alan L. Drury acted as Installing Master, assisted by Wor. James M. Flindle as Installing Marshal. A Past Master's jewel was presented to Wor. Bro. Tamm by R. W. C. Weston Ringer, and a Past Master's Apron was presented to the Master-elect by R. W. H. C. N. Ripley. As the installation was semi-public, some 250 members, their wives and friends witnessed the ceremonies. At the October meeting, our District Deputy Grand Master, J. Edwin Mitchell, his Marshal, and Secretary honored us with an official visit. At our December meeting the officers of Wellesley Lodge paid us a return visit and conferred the second and third sections of the Entered Apprentice Degree on two of our candidates. Our February meeting was celebrated as Past Masters' Night. After the conclusion of the degree work, Wor. Carl E. Tamm presented the Master with the Hersey Gavel, a wonderful tradition at Nehoiden Lodge. In March we had the honor of receiving our new District Deputy Grand Master, Hanlon M. Carter, and his distinguished suite on his first fraternal visit to Nehoiden Lodge. On Sunday, June 15, 1952, the Lodge attended divine service at the Episcopal Church, together with members of Norfolk Lodge and members of the Eastern Star, in observance of St. John's Sunday.

At the 250th regular communication of Nehoiden Lodge held on Tuesday evening, June 17, 1952, Bro. Wilfred C. Morse was unanimously elected Worshipful Master. The work of the evening then proceeded and was witnessed by R.W. Hanlon M. Carter, District Deputy Grand Master, who with his suite was introduced by R. W. Curtis R. Wells. After occupying the Oriental Chair for a few minutes, R. W. Brother Carter resigned the chair to the Worshipful Master, Alfred J. Emrich, so that the degree work might proceed on schedule.

Thus briefly we have reviewed the first twenty-five years of Nehoiden Lodge, years rich in early promise, which have come to a ripening and fulfillment. The membership, including those Brethren who have passed before us to the Celestial Lodge on high, brings our numbers to around the 400 mark. To the Charter Members of the Lodge and our first Master, Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton, must go the accolade, "Well done!" for this splendid achievement. If their foresight and vision should need any memorial, I would say that we might paraphrase, or even borrow, the simple Latin phrase inscribed in St. Paul's Cathedral in London to the great architect, Sir Christopher Wren. It reads Si vis monumentum, circumspice (If you seek a memorial, look around). Tonight, if any memorial to the enduring character of the founding of Nehoiden Lodge were necessary, all we have to do is just look around.

50TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, OCTOBER 1977

From Proceedings, Page 1977-156:

from 1952 to 1977 By Brother Charles W.E. Morris.

A history of the first twenty-five years of Nehoiden Lodge A.F. & A.M. was compiled in 1952. (1952 Mass. 244-260) The Lodge was organized in 1927 and the first communication was held on October 21 of that year with Worshipful Arthur S. Hamilton presiding in the East. How well the Lodge progressed in its first quarter century can be gauged by the fact that in September 1953 the membership stood at 389.

On September 19, 1952 a special meeting was held, at which time Brother Wilfred C. Morse was installed as Worshipful Master by Right Worshipful C. Weston Ringer. Brothers William C. Regan and A. Johnstone Shaw were installed as Senior and Junior Wardens, respectively.

A special communication was held on October 31, 1952, at which Worshipful Wilfred C. Morse received the Most Worshipful Grand Master and his suite. (1952 Mass. 241-260) He then called the Lodge from labor to refreshment for the purpose of attending a dinner at the First Baptist Church, followed by the anniversary program. This included the reading of the twenty-five year history of Nehoiden Lodge which had been compiled and was read by Brother Charles W. E. Morris. It was enthusiastically received by the Brethren.

A special semi-public meeting was held on September 18, 1953 for the purpose of installing the new officers. Worshipful Arthur S. Hamilton was Installing Master. Brother William C. Regan took his oath as Worshipful Master and Brother A. Johnstone Shaw and Brother J. Roland Ackroyd were installed as Senior and Junior Wardens, respectively. Brother Stanley Rawstron was installed as Secretary. A Fraternal Visitation was paid the Lodge by Right Worshipful Hanlan M. Carter.

On September 24, 1954 a semi-public meeting was held at which time Brother A. Johnstone Shaw was installed as Worshipful Master by Right Worshipful C. Weston Ringer. Also installed were Brother J. Roland Ackroyd as Senior Warden and Brother Burt B. Mader as Junior Warden.

In October a Fraternal Visitation was paid the Lodge by Right Worshipful Charles F. Giles, District Deputy Grand Master.

At a semi-public meeting held on September 23, 1955, with Worshipful James M. Hindle as Installing Master, Brother J. Roland Ackroyd was installed as Worshipful Master. Brother Burt B. Mader was installed as Senior Warden and Brother William B.
Ludlow as Junior Warden. At the December meeting appropriate
remembrances were observed for our beloved Chaplain, Reverend
Harry Hamlin Hall. January 17, 1956, the first meeting of the
year was a very stormy night. The Lodge was opened by Senior
Warden Burt B. Mader, acting as Master. For his handling of his
first meeting he received the commendation of Right Worshipful C. Weston Ringer.

May 4, 1956 was celebrated as Ladies' Night, with a dinner followed by an entertainment and dancing. A very nice affair.

On June 19, 1956 there was a Fraternal Visitation by Most Worshipful Whitfield W. Johnson accompanied by his Grand Marshal, Right Worshipful Laurence E. Eaton. After occupying his seat in the East, the Most Worshipful Grand Master introduced a member of his suite, one of our distinguished members. Most Worshipful Samuel Holmes Wragg, Past Grand Master, Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.

At a semi-public installation with Worshipful Wilfred C. Morse as Installing Master, Brother Burt B. Mader was installed as Worshipful Master, with Brother William B. Ludlow as Senior Warden and Brother Nils Henry Larson as Junior Warden. This was held on September 21, 1956.

January 15, 1957 was Senior Wardens' Night. Worshipful Burt B. Mader requested our Senior Warden, Brother William B. Ludlow to escort the Wardens of the Waltham Fifth Masonic District into the Lodge. He then invited Brother Ludlow to occupy the East and proceed with the work of the evening.

At our February meeting the Lodge had the pleasure of a Fraternal Visitation by Right Worshipful Robert T. Westermark, District Deputy Grand Master.

The March 19 meeting was celebrated as Past Masters' Night. Worshipful Burt B. Mader delegated Past Master Worshipful J. Roland Aclcroyd to take charge of the work. On this occasion a delicious roast beef dinner was served.

On September 20, 1957 a semi-public installation of officers was held with Worshipful Carl E. Tamm as Installing Master. He was assisted by Worshipful J. Roland Ackroyd as Marshal and Worshipful Roger A. Bettencourt, Past Master of Wollaston Lodge as Installing Chaplain. The Master-elect, Brother William B. Ludlow, was escorted to the altar and was duly installed as Master of Nehoiden Lodge. Brothers Nils Henry Larson and Harold R. Slaney were installed as Senior and Junior Wardens, respectively.

At a Special Communication on January 7, 1958 Senior Wardens' Night was celebrated.

March 18 was observed as Past Masters' Night. Worshipful William B. Ludlow invited Worshipful Burt B. Mader to assume the East and take charge of the work of the evening.

At the May meeting the traditional lobster dinner was enjoyed by all.

A semi-public installation was held on September 19, 1958 with Worshipful J. Roland Ackroyd as Installing Master. The Master-elect, Brother Nils Henry Larson, the Senior Warden, Brother Harold R. Slaney and the Junior Warden, Brother David W. Lovering were installed in due form. In October a Fraternal Visitation was paid the Lodge by Right Worshipful Franklin E. Harris, District Deputy Grand Master.

In February 1959, a Senior Wardens' Night was observed and our March Meeting was designated as Past Masters' Night. Worshipful William B. Ludlow assumed the East and conducted the work of the evening.

A semi-public installation was held on September 18, 1959 with Worshipful William B. Ludlow as Installing Master. Master-elect Brother Harold R. Slaney took his oath of office followed by Brothers David W. Lovering and Karl MacPherson who were sworn in as Senior and Junior Wardens respectively.

On November 29 a Masonic Funeral Service was conducted for our departed Brother Worshipful Wilfred C. Morse. A committee was formed to prepare an "In Memoriam".

It was announced that Most Worshipful Laurence E. Eaton had been elected Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts.

At the January 1960 meeting an "In Memoriam" for Worshipful Wilfred Chipman Morse was read by Right Worshipful Curtis B. Wells on behalf of the Committee.

In February 1960 the meeting was observed as Past Masters' Night and at the April meeting the Lodge was honored by a Fraternal Visitation by Right Worshipful Cecil R. Crissey. On August 31, I960 our membership stood at 483.

A semi-public installation of officers was held on September 23, 1960 with Worshipful William G. Regan as Installing Master. Brother David W. Lovering took his oath of office as Worshipful Master.

On October 18, 1960 an Official Visitation was paid the Lodge by Right Worshipful Cecil R. Crissey, District Deputy Grand Master, who inspected the Charter, By-Laws and records of the Lodge.

A semi-public installation of officers was held in September with Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw as the Installing Master. Brother Earl MacPherson was installed as Worshipful Master, with Brother Edwin W. Cameron as Senior Warden and Brother Lawrence W. Gay as Junior Warden.

At the January 1962 meeting, Worshipful William G. Regan received congratulations on his appointment as District Deputy Grand Marshal. He formed an escort to conduct Right Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw, District Deputy Grand Master to the Fast for the purpose of paying the Lodge a Fraternal Visitation.

In April 1962, the Lodge was honored by a Fraternal Visitation of the Most Worshipful Grand Master, Laurence E. Eaton. Prior to his arrival in the apartments it had been unanimously voted to confer honorary membership in Nehoiden Lodge on the Grand Master.

The installation of officers took place on September 22, 1962 with Worshipful William B. Ludlow as Installing Master, Right Worshipful Curtis R. Wells as Installing Marshal and Brother Jerome C. Sisson as Installing Chaplain. Brother Edwin W. Cameron was installed as Worshipful Master, with Brother Lawrence W. Gay as Senior Warden and Brother John L. Tufts as Junior Warden.

In October 1962 Right Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw, District Deputy Grand Master, paid the Lodge an official visit and examined the Charter, By-Laws and records of the Lodge. The December 1962 meeting was observed as "Charter Members Night" and the eleven who were present were introduced by Worshipful Edwin W. Cameron. On September 20, 1963 a semi-public installation of officers was held with Worshipful N. Henry Larson as Installing Master. Brother Lawrence W. Gay was installed as Worshipful Master and Brother John L. Tufts and Brother Howard B. Beal as Senior and Junior Wardens, respectively.

At the November 19, 1963 meeting a committee under the chairmanship of Right Worshipful C. Weston Ringer was formed to wait upon the District Deputy Grand Master, Right Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw who then proceeded with the duties of his official
 visitation. Later he was presented with a beautiful clock by the
presiding Masters of the Waltham Fifth Masonic District. There
were 165 present.

The meeting on January 21, 1964 was observed as Aleppo Temple Shrine Night. Right Worshipful Herbert N. Faulkner was escorted to the East and with the Shrine Degree Team proceeded to raise the candidates.

The March 17, 1964 meeting was the occasion for a Fraternal Visitation by Right Worshipful Willard V. Young, District Deputy Grand Master. The April 21 meeting was Past Masters' Night.

On September 18, 1964 at a semi-public installation of officers, presided over by Worshipful Harold R. Slaney, Brother Howard B. Beal was installed as Worshipful Master, Brother John C.
Tufts as Senior Warden and Brother J. Weston Fisher as Junior
 Warden and Brother Stanley Rawstron as Secretary.

At the October meeting Brother David S. Hamilton tendered his resignation as Treasurer and Brother R. Everett lsherwood was unanimously elected to fill the office.

Worshipful Howard B. Beal opened the June 15, 1965 meeting on the Second Degree and after adjournment the members and guests partook of the traditional lobster or steak dinner. On June 22, Worshipful Howard B. Beal opened the Lodge on the Third Degree and welcomed Right Worshipful Willard V. Young, District Deputy Grand Master, to the East. He also welcomed the Aleppo Temple Shrine Degree Team and the Temple Chanters who proceeded to perform the degree work.

On September 30, 1965 a semi-public installation of officers was held with Worshipful David W. Loveiing as Installing Master. Brother John L. Tufts was installed as Worshipful Master. Brothers Stanley Rawstron as Senior Warden and Allen W. Stone as Junior Warden were installed.

On October 19, 1965 Worshipful John L. Tufts welcomed Right Worshipful Willard V. Young, District Deputy Grand Master, who was present to pay the Lodge an Official Visitation.

At the March 16, 1966 meeting, observed as Past Masters' Night, a delicious roast beef dinner was served. At the business meeting, Most Worshipful Laurence E. Eaton, told about a Lodge in China which had lost its Masonic Jewels in 1941 and how an anonymous package had been received by him from Hong Kong containing the missing jewels.

On November 15, 1966, Worshipful Stanley Rawstron welcomed Right Worshipful F. Crockett Brown, District Deputy Grand Master, to the East on the occasion of his Official Visitation to the Lodge.

Past Masters' Night was celebrated on March 21, 1967 and Worshipful Stanley Rawstron invited Worshipful John L. Tufts to serve as Master of ceremonies.

At the September 19, 1967 meeting, "In Memoriams" were read by Worshipful Howard B. Beal for Worshipful Brothers Arthur S. Hamilton and William G. Regan.

Installation of officers was held on September 22, 1967 with Right Worshipful F. Crockett Brown, District Deputy Grand Master, in attendance. Worshipful Earl MacPherson served as Installing Master. Brothers Allen W. Stone was installed as Master and Brothers Russell L. Patten and Harold B. Wetmore took their oaths as Senior and Junior Warden, respectively.

On October 17, 1967, Worshipful Allen W. Stone received Right Worshipful F. Crockett Brown, District Deputy Grand Master, who was present to pay the Lodge an Official Visitation. At the November 21 meeting, an "In Memoriam" was held for Right Worshipful Howard C. Newcomb Ripley. The March 19, 1968 meeting with Worshipful Allen W. Stone in the East, was Past Masters' Night. During the business meeting a minute of silent prayer was observed in memory of Right Worshipful Overholser of Wellesley Lodge.

A semi-public installation of officers was held September 20, 1968 with Worshipful Edwin W. Cameron as Installing Master. Brother Russell Lambert Patten was installed as Master with Brothers Harold Bostwick Wetmore as Senior Warden and Brother Walter Harding Olson as Junior Warden. On March 18, 1969, Worshipful Russell L. Patten welcomed Right Worshipful Howard E. Perry, District Deputy Grand Master, to the East for the purpose of his paying the Lodge a Fraternal Visitation and on April 15, the Lodge observed Past Masters' Night.

At a semi-public installation on September 19 which was observed by Right Worshipful Howard E. Perry, District Deputy Grand Master, Brother Harold B. Wetmore was installed as Master; Brother Walter H. Olson as Senior Warden and Brother John G. Stanley as Junior Warden. Worshipful Edwin W. Cameron served as the Installing Master.

In October the Lodge received a Fraternal Visitation from Right Worshipful Howard E. Perry, District Deputy Grand Master, who was received in the East by Worshipful Wetmore.

On April 19, 1970, Worshipful Harold B. Wetmore received Right Worshipful J. Philip Berquist, District Deputy Grand Master, in the East on the occasion of his paying the Lodge a Fraternal Visit.

Installation of officers was held on September 18, 1970 with the Installing Masters being Worshipful Lawrence W. Gay and Worshipful George H. Wheeler. Brother Walter H. Olson took his oath as Master followed by Brother John G. Stanley as Senior Warden and Brother Edward L. Bottum as Junior Warden.

On November 17, 1970, Right Worshipful J. Philip Berquist, District Deputy Grand Master, paid the Lodge an Official Visitation. He was welcomed to the East by Worshipful Walter H. Olson. A number of Fifty Year Veterans' Medals were presented. On March 16, the Right Worshipful paid the Lodge a Fraternal Visitation.

On September 21, 1971 the Lodge was opened by Worshipful Walter H. Olson. He appointed a committee to prepare an "In Memoriam" for our departed brother, Right Worshipful C. Weston Ringer. On September 24 a semi-public installation of officers was held with Right Worshipful J, Philip Berquist, District Deputy Grand Master, in attendance. Brother John G. Stanley was installed as Worshipful Master, Brother Edward L. Bottum as Senior Warden and Brother Horace W. Cutler as Junior Warden.

After opening the Lodge on December 21, 1971, Worshipful John G. Stanley welcomed Right Worshipful J. Philip Berquist, District Deputy Grand Master to the East. Right Worshipful Curtis R. Wells as Chairman of the Memorial Committee for Right Worshipful C. Weston Ringer, then welcomed Brothers Val, Allison and Wayne Ringer. The "In Memoriam" was read by Worshipful Edwin W. Cameron and several very appropriate eulogies by prominent Masons present were made.

At a special meeting held on September 6, 1972 the new Masonic Temple was opened on the Third Degree by Worshipful John G. Stanley. The National Colors were presented by the Veterans of Foreign Wars. This was followed by a dinner and at 8:00 P.M. the Most Worshipful Donald Warren Vose, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts arrived and proceeded with the dedication ceremonies. (1972 Mass. 237-241)

On September 22, 1972 a semi-public installation of officers was held with Worshipful Stanley Rawstron as Installing Master. Rrother Edward Lee Rottum was installed as Worshipful Master, Rrother Robert Robbins Andrews II as Senior Warden and Brother Horace Wood Cutler as Junior Warden. Right Worshipful Philip M. Turner, District Deputy Grand Master was present to pay a Fraternal Visitation.

The March 20, 1973 meeting was opened on the First Degree with Worshipful Edward L. Rottum in the East. Worshipful Rottum spoke of the Scottish Rite Museum and Library which is to be erected in Lexington with 1975 as the date of completion. Right Worshipful Philip M. Turner, District Deputy Grand Master was present. At the May 15 meeting Worshipful Edward L. Rottum announced that a Saint John's Day service would be held on June 24 at the Cathedral of the Pines, Rindge, New Hampshire. At the regular meeting on June 19, the annual lobster or steak dinner was held.

On September 28, 1973 the installation of officers was conducted in a semi-public ceremony with Worshipful Russell L. Patten as Installing Master. Brother Robert R. Andrews II was installed as Worshipful Master with Brother Horace W. Cutler as Senior Warden and Brother Douglas Salisbury as Junior Warden.

On March 19, 1974 Worshipful Robert R. Andrews II welcomed Right Worshipful Brenton E. Tyler, District Deputy Grand Master to the East, who was present for the purpose of paying the Lodge a Fraternal visit.

On September 27, 1974 at a semi-public installation with Worshipful Harold R. Wetmore as Installing Master, Rrother Horace Wood Cutler was installed Worshipful Master with Brother Douglas Salisbury as Senior Warden and Brother Jerry J. Davis as Junior Warden.

At the October 15, 1974 meeting with Worshipful Horace W. Cutler in the East, Right Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw made a motion recommending that the Worshipful Master appoint a Committee to study ways and means of raising funds for our 50th Anniversary. At the November 19, 1974 meeting with Worshipful Horace W. Cutler presiding in the East, a number of 50 Year Veterans' Medals were awarded. Among the distinguished Masons present were Most Worshipful Laurence E. Eaton and Most Worshipful Herbert H. Jaynes.

On April 15, 1975 following the opening ceremonies conducted by Worshipful Horace W. Cutler, a Bicentennial Dinner was served by several distinguished Past and Affiliated Past Masters of Nehoiden Lodge. At the June 1 7, 1975 meeting, which was Past Masters' Night, due to the hospitalization of our Worshipful Master, Horace W. Cutler, Worshipful David W. Lovering was presented to the East. A delicious roast beef dinner was served by the Bee-Hive Group of the Carter Memorial United Methodist Church.

Members and guests were welcomed to a semi-public installation of officers on September 20, 1975 by Worshipful Horace W. Cutler. Brother Douglas Salisbury was installed as Worshipful Master, with Brother Jerry J. Davis as Senior Warden, and Brother Melvin H. Davis as Junior Warden. Right Worshipful Robert J. Seder, District Deputy Grand Master was present and extended the greetings of the Grand Master.

On March 16, 1976 the Lodge was opened on the Third Degree by Worshipful Douglas Salisbury. He welcomed to the East Worshipful Brother Peter Buchanan of the Kilwinning Club and members of the degree team. They then proceeded to raise the candidate with impressive ceremony. At the April 20, 1976 meeting Right Worshipful Robert J. Seder, District Deputy Grand Master of the Waltham Fifth Masonic District, and Right Worshipful Robert Patey, District Deputy Grand Master of the Brighton Fifth Masonic District and their suites were welcomed to the East by Worshipful Douglas Salisbury.

At the May 18, 1976 meeting Worshipful Douglas Salisbury announced that the annual St. John's Day Service would be held on Sunday, June 27, 1976 at the Cathedral of the Pines, Rindge, New Hampshire. Right Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw gave a progress report on the 50th Anniversary Committee.

At the September 21, 1976 meeting Worshipful Douglas Salisbury read the Council report and Worshipful David W. Lovering reported on the planning for the Fiftieth Anniversary Celebration. The celebration will be held on October 28, 29 and 30th. This will enable the Grand Master to attend. Update of 25th Anniversary History to be written by Brother Charles W. E. Morris. There will be a catered dinner on the 28th, at no expense to the Brethren. Ladies Night on the 29th and a special Church Service on the 30th.

On October 2, 1976 a semi-public installation of officers was held with Worshipful Douglas Salisbury in the East and Worshipful Harold B. Wetmore as Installing Master. Brother Jerry J. Davis was installed as Worshipful Master, with Brother Melvin H. Davis and Brother Clark Holbrook Shaw installed as Senior and Junior Wardens, respectively. On October 19, the Lodge was paid a Fraternal Visitation by Right Worshipful Robert J. Seder, District Deputy Grand Master.

On November 16, 1976 Worshipful Jerry J. Davis announced that at the December meeting the Colonial Craftsmen will conduct a Third Degree as performed in 1776. At the December 21st meeting the Brethren had the privilege of witnessing this degree work by the Colonial Craftsmen's Club and were greatly impressed by the work.

At the January 18, 1977 meeting Right Worshipful David W. Lovering, District Deputy Grand Master, Waltham Fifth Masonic District and Right Worshipful Robert Patey, District Deputy Grand Master, Brighton Fifth Masonic District and their suites were present to pay a Fraternal Visitation. At the February 15 meeting, Right Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw reported on the presentation of the Fifty Year Veteran's Medal to Brother Guy Buchanan. Worshipful Brother Davis welcomed Right Worshipful David W. Lovering on April 19, 1977 for a Fraternal Visitation.

A Special Meeting was held on March 22, 1977 and opened on the Third Degree with Worshipful Jerry J. Davis in the East. After the opening ceremonies the members repaired to the Eaton Funeral Home for the purpose of conducting a Masonic Service for our departed Brother, Worshipful Allen Walter Stone.

The regular meeting was held on June 21, 1977 and opened on the Third Degree. This being Past Masters' Night, Worshipful Douglas Salisbury was appointed as Master of Ceremonies. The first section of the Master Mason Degree was conferred upon Brother John Quincy Cragin with Worshipful Brother Stanley Rawstron in the East. Following Nehoiden Lodge tradition a delicious lobster and steak dinner was served by Ted Oldfield. Right Worshipful David W. Lovering, Chairman of the 50th Anniversary Committee reported the schedule of celebrations which are planned.

Necrologies were read by Worshipful Roy Towne and Right Worshipful A. Johnstone Shaw for our departed Past Masters, Worshipful Jay Tracy and Worshipful Allen W. Stone.

The report of the Nominating Committee was read by Worshipful Stanley Rawstron. Brother Clark H. Shaw was unanimously elected Worshipful Master and Worshipful Jerry J. Davis and Brother Melvin P. Sacks were elected Senior and Junior Wardens, respectively. Following the business meeting, Brother John Quincy Cragin received the second and third sections of the Master Mason Degree. A distinguished visitor, Right Worshipful F. Crockett Brown, Past District Deputy Grand Master, received a most warm welcome. Right Worshipful David W. Lovering extended warm, fraternal greetings of the Most Worshipful Grand Master Maxwell.

A special communication was held on July 31, 1977 and opened on the Third Degree by Worshipful Jerry J. Davis. The members then repaired to the Eaton Funeral Home where a Masonic Service was conducted for our departed Brother Charles H, Cowles.

On Tuesday, September 20th, 1977 the Lodge was opened on the First Degree with Worshipful Jerry J. Davis presiding in the East. At the request of Worshipful Brother Davis, the Marshal presented Worshipful Edwin W. Cameron to the East for the purpose of conferring the ceremony of the First Degree on the candidates, Edwin Earl MacKinnon, Edwin Bruce Cameron and David Brian Cameron. At the conclusion of this section of the Degree the Lodge adjourned and a delicious buffet dinner was served by Brother Ted Oldfield. At the resumption of the work the business meeting was held and reports were read. The Secretary read the resignation of Worshipful Jerry J. Davis as Senior Warden-elect, following which Worshipful Stanley Rawstron reported for the nominating committee that Brother Melvin H. Davis was nominated as Senior Warden-elect. A vote was taken and Brother Melvin H. Davis was unanimously elected. An "In Memoriam" was conducted for our departed Brother Charles Hyde Cowles. Worshipful Edwin W. Cameron was escorted by the Marshal to the East where he conducted the work of the second section of the Entered Apprentice Degree for the candidates.

A Special Communication was held on October 1, 1977 for the purpose of conducting a semi-public installation of officers. The Lodge was opened with Worshipful Jerry J. Davis in the East. In traditional ceremonies the officers took their oaths of office at the altar. Brother Clark Holbrook Shaw took his oath as Worshipful Master, and Brother Melvin H. Davis as Senior Warden and Brother Melvin P. Sacks as Junior Warden took their respective oaths of office. Brother Clark H. Shaw was installed by his father, Right Worshipful H. Johnstone Shaw and the remainder of the installing suite were Worshipful William B. Ludlow as Marshal and Worshipful Stanley Rawstron as Chaplain.

The regular meeting was held on October 18, 1977 and opened on the Second Degree with Worshipful Clark H. Shaw in the East. The work of the evening included the conferring of the Fellow Craft Degree on the candidates. This meeting was the occasion of the Official Visitation of Right Worshipful David W. Lovering, District Deputy Grand Master.

75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, APRIL 2002

From Proceedings, Page 2002-43:

Seventy-Five Years of Masonry in Massachusetts
By Wor. Bruce M. Newman:

It is with a justifiable sense of pride that Nehoiden Lodge celebrates the seventy-fifth anniversary of its existence, early in a new millennium.

THE GRAND LODGE

The Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts is the oldest Grand Jurisdiction in the Western Hemisphere, and third oldest in the world. Only the Grand Lodges of England and Ireland are senior. It was organized in 1733, as the result of a deputation issued to Henry Price, a Boston tailor and businessman, as Provincial Grand Master of New England. The Provincial Grand Lodge was formed and immediately constituted St. John's Lodge. Subsequently, the Grand Lodge of Scotland created a Provincial Grand Lodge, and an Independent Grand Lodge was formed in 1769 and 1777, respectively. In 1792, the three groups merged to become the Grand Lodge, as we know it. It has over 275 Lodges located in Chile, China, Japan, Panama, and Cuba, in addition to Massachusetts.

The Grand Lodge in Massachusetts is one of 50 in the United States, each sovereign within its own jurisdiction, and each in amity with the others. Masonry in Massachusetts is governed by a Grand Master, who traditionally has been elected for three one-year terms, and appoints a Deputy Grand Master in each of those years. The Deputy Grand Master becomes acting Grand Master during the absence of the Grand Master from the jurisdiction. The Senior and Junior Grand Wardens, Grand Treasurer, and Grand Secretary are elected annually. The Grand Master in Massachusetts is the only one of the fifty who serves for three years and does not progress through a line to that office. Other appointed officers include the District Deputy Grand Masters, who are the personal representatives of the Grand Master in the districts under the Grand Lodge. The Grand Marshal serves with the Grand Master during his three years, and normally runs unopposed for the office of Senior Grand Warden in the year following. The Grand Sword Bearer is also a three-year service. The Grand Chaplains, Grand Lecturers, two Deacons, four Stewards, Organist, and Tyler are appointed each year. The Grand Standard Bearer and two Grand Pursuivants are appointed annually to serve as Marshals for the Deputy Grand Master and Grand Wardens, respectively.

Freemasonry's history in Massachusetts is a proud and distinguished one. Dr. Joseph Warren was serving as Grand Master when he was slain at the Battle of Bunker Hill. Paul Revere was Grand Master in 1795-1797, and Isaiah Thomas, a most notable patriot and publisher served shortly thereafter. Freemasonry, in our Grand Lodge and elsewhere in these United States, has been a primary builder of our nation since its inception. God willing, it will continue to contribute to our nation's greatness in the future.

HISTORY OF NEHOIDEN LODGE

Preface to the history of the Third Twenty Five Years of Nehoiden Lodge:

  • A history of the first twenty-five years of Nehoiden Lodge, A.F. & A.M. was compiled in 1952.
  • A history of the second twenty-five years of Nehoiden Lodge, A.F. & A.M. was compiled in 1977.

The lodge was organized in 1927, when a small group of masons gathered in the home of Bro. Arthur S. Hamilton. It was known that there were a great many Masons living in Needham whose Masonic homes were in other jurisdictions, and who were averse to joining another and perhaps older lodge where they would become just "other" members. It was suggested to this little group that these Brothers would renew their interest and their incentive would be restored if they could get together and form a Lodge of their own, in which they themselves would designate the course they would pursue and the policy they would adopt." Thus was Nehoiden Lodge formed. It is worthwhile to note the significance of the name Nehoiden, and its relationship to the town of Needham. "On April 13, 1680, William Nahaton or Nehoiden, an Indian, deeded a territory approximately four miles by five, for ten pounds, forty acres of land, and Indian corn to the value of forty shillings. This tract comprised the township of Needham prior to 1797, also Dedham Island."

The first communication was held on October 21, 1927 of that year, with Wor. Arthur S. Hamilton presiding in the East. By the end of its first quarter century, membership stood at 389.

In recent years, many stalwart pillars of the Lodge, among them: R. W. Oscar A. Guinn, Jr., Wor. Andrew U. Kokko, Wor. Douglas Salisbury, and Wor. Clarke H. Wertheim, to name just a few, have passed on to the Celestial Lodge above. Nehoiden Lodge yet survives.

Membership in Masonic bodies has always been cyclical, now being under 200 in Nehoiden Lodge, but, recently, an influx of new members, and, more particularly, younger officers, bodes well for the future of the lodge.

A BRIEF CHRONOLOGICAL SUMMARY OF THE PRINCIPAL EVENTS
IN NEHOIDEN LODGE, A.F. & A.M., FROM OCTOBER 1977 TO APRIL 2002

There have been high points and low points in our history, but Nehoiden Lodge has persevered into the next millennium, and, with our own endeavors, and the blessings of God, will continue on.

On this, the 75th anniversary of our establishment as a lodge, here is a brief compendium of our accomplishments since the 50th anniversary celebration.

1977

On Sat., Oct. 1, 1977, at our 224th special meeting, Clark H. Shaw was installed as Master of the lodge.

On Oct. 18, 1977, our 504th regular meeting R.W. David W. Lovering paid an Official Visit to Nehoiden Lodge.

On Nov. 15, 1977, our 505th meeting, Bros., Edwin Earl MacKinnon, Edwin Bruce Cameron, and David Brian Cameron were raised to the Sublime Degree, the latter two by their father, Wor. Edwin Cameron.

1978

On March 21, 1978, our 509th meeting, Bros. Robert Juan Birt, Bruce Alan King, and Allen Stanley Goldberg were raised to the sublime degree.

On June20,1978, our 512th meeting, Melvin P. Sacks was elected Master of Nehoiden Lodge.

On Sept. 19, 1978, our 513th meeting, Bro. Jim Donald Mor was raised, and Bro. Peter Buchanan affiliated.

On Sept. 30, 1978, our 233rd special meeting, Melvin P. Sacks was installed as Master.

On Dec. 19, 1978, our 516th meeting, Bro. Bruce Stevenson Ten Eyck was raised. Also, at this meeting: Wor. Stanley Rawstron initiated the "Members Fund', which provides interest as payment in lieu of dues (as Past Masters were exempt from paying dues but wished to be more supportive).

There was a visit by M. W. Arthur H. Melanson, who was presented a gift for attending our 50th anniversary celebration; the DDGM, R.W. David W. Lovering presented 50 year veterans' medals to Bros. Arthur Edward Swanson and Lewis Buswell Hill; and the Grand Master presented the Joseph Warren Distinguished Service medal to R. W. Bro. Lovering. There were two "firsts": the first DDGM to receive this from M. W. Melanson; and the only DDGM who will receive it from M.W. Melanson while still an active DDGM.

1981

On June 8, 1981, our 241st special meeting, a Masonic Funeral Service was conducted for Bro. Austin Oscar Decapot.

On June 16, 1981, our 542nd, Bros. Allan Forbes Livingston and George Lawrence Noddin were raised.

On Sept. 15, 1981, our 543rd, the Annual Meeting. Bro Jacob Alpert affiliated.

On Oct. 3, 1981, our 242nd special meeting, Harold J. Parmelee was installed as Master.

On Nov. 17, 1981, our 545th meeting, Bro. Harold Estes Marr affiliated. We received an Official Visit by the DDGM, R. W. Robert C. Lavin.

On Dec. 15, 1981, our 5461 meeting, Bro. Roger Alan Drake was raised.

1982

On Jan. 19, 1982, our 547th meeting, R.W. Robert C. Lavin paid us a Fraternal Visit.

On Mar. 16, 1982, our 549 meeting, Bro. Keith Alan Howell was raised, and Bro. Alexander Stevenson affiliated.

On June 15, 1982, our 552n meeting, Bro. Richard Burnham Deming was raised, and Bro. Carroll N. Jackson, Jr. was elected Master.

Sept. 21, 1982, our 553rd was the Annual Meeting.

On Oct. 2, 1982, Carroll N. Jackson, Jr. was installed as Master.

On Oct. 19, 1982, our 554th meeting we received R. W. Robert C. Lavin on an Official Visit.

On Dec. 21, 1982, our 5561 meeting, Bros. Robert Thomas Heald and Kenneth Ronald Williams were raised.

1983

On Jan. 18, 1983, our 557th meeting, we received notification that R. W. and Rev. Oscar Alan Guinn, Jr. was now the Grand Representative to Prince Edward Island. A letter of thanks was received from the Charles River Association for the Christmas party, that we had hosted for them.

On March 15, 1983, our 559th meeting, Bro. Keith Thomas Duble was raised.

On June 21, 1983, our 562nd meeting, Past Masters Night, Bro. David Rae Nowell was raised and Bro. Frederick Lee Eades affiliated. John Q. Cragin was elected Master.

1984

In June 1984, John F. Carter was elected Master.

1985

On June 18, 1985, our 582nd meeting, We received a Fraternal Visit from R. W. Stephen Kaloyanides. G. Leonard Mcintosh was elected Master. An Illumination was presented to R. W. Curtis R. Wells, commemorating his 50th anniversary as a Past Master.

Sept. 17, 1985, our 583rd, was the Annual Meeting.

On Nov. 19, 1985, our 585th meeting, we received an Official Visit by R. W. Stephen Kaloyanides.

1986

On Jan. 21, 1986, our 587th meeting, it was announced that R. W. David W. Lovering had been elected Senior Grand Warden of our Grand lodge.

On Feb. 18, 1986, our 588th meeting, we received a Fraternal Visit from R. W. Stephen Kaloyanides.

On March 18, 1986, our 589th meeting, it was announced that a trip was scheduled to Falmouth, on April 21, to honor R. W. David W. Lovering, our new Senior Grand Warden.

On June 17, 1986, our 592nd meeting, Past Masters' Night, Bro. Charles Thomas Smith affiliated. Bruce M. Newman was elected Master.

Sept. 16, 1986, our 593rd was our Annual Meeting.

On Nov. 18, 1986, our 595th meeting, R. W. Stephen Kaloyanides paid us an Official Visit.

On Dec. 16th, 1986, our 596 meeting, Bro. Marc Elliot Savenor was raised.

1987

On March 17, 1987, our 599th meeting, we received R. W. Leigh S. Woodward on his first Fraternal Visit to Nehoiden Lodge. We conducted an exchange of ritual with Monitor Lodge in order to fulfill a requirement for the Grand Master's Award. Monitor officers performed at Nehoiden on May 19, 1987, and Nehoiden officers performed at Monitor on June 1, 1987.

On June 16, 1987, our 602nd meeting, Bro. Ronald Carl Marble affiliated. We received a Fraternal Visit by R. W. Leigh S. Woodward. Our senior Past Master, R.W. Curtis R. Wells, was presented an illumination depicting 50 years as a Past Master. R.W. Bro. Wells presented his jewel and apron to the lodge. Brace M. Newman was elected Master for a second consecutive term.

On Sept. 15, 1987, our 603rd, the Annual Meeting, the Needham Rainbow Girls presented the Fathers' Degree.

On Oct. 20, 1987, our 604th, meeting, Bro. Richard Dana Miller affiliated.

On Nov. 17, 1987, our 605th, meeting, R. W. Leigh S. Woodward conducted an Official Visit.

On Dec. 15, 1987, our 606th meeting, R. W. Woodward paid the lodge a Fraternal Visit to present the lodge with a Certificate of Honor for the Grand Master's field Day at Charlton.

1988

A District Masonic Service was held at the Waltham Congregational Church on April 10, 1988.

On Feb. 15, 1988, our 608th, Senior Wardens' Night, R. W. Leigh S. Woodward paid the lodge a Fraternal Visit.

In March, at the Grand Lodge Quarterly Communication, Nehoiden Lodge was presented the Grand Master's award, listing Wor. Brace M. Newman, W. M., Bro. Richard B. Deming, S. W., and Bro. Paul M. Jeannette, J. W. This was the first Grand Master's Award to be received by a Needham lodge.

On April 19, 1988, our 610th meeting, Bro. Laurence Wilson Cranton affiliated.

On May 17, 1988, our 611th meeting, Bro. William Joseph Barnes was raised.

On June 21, 1988, our 612th meeting, Past Masters Night, Richard B. Deming was elected Master. R. W. Bro. Woodward paid the lodge a Fraternal Visit, and presented the lodge with a copy of the Grand Master's Award, to replace the missing original.

Sept. 26, 1988, our 613th, was the Annual Meeting.

All lodges in the state conducted an Open House on Sunday, Oct. 2, 1988.

On Oct. 18, 1988, our 614th, R. W. Bro. Woodward paid us a Fraternal Visit and witnessed the installation of officers.

On Nov. 15, 1988, our 615th meeting, R. W. Bro. Woodward conducted an Official Visit to the lodge.

1989

On Jan. 17, 1989, our 617th meeting, we recognized R. W. Joseph I. Stone, DDGM of the Chelsea 3rd Masonic District, and Wor. Clarke H. Wertheim received the Grand Master's Certificate for Meritorious Service.

On Feb. 21, 1989, our 618 meeting, Bro. Marc Elliot Savenor and Wor. John Tomfohrde affiliated. The DDGM, R. W. Dana Alan Jackson, paid the lodge a Fraternal Visit.

On May 16, 1989, our 621st meeting, Bro. Arnold Matthew Savenor was raised.

On June 20, 1989, our 622nd meeting, Past Masters Night, Clarke H. Wertheim was elected Master.

1990

In June 1990, G. Leonard Mcintosh was elected Master.

1991

In June 1991, Jerry "J" Davis was elected Master.

1992

In June 1992, Robert M. Eaton was elected Master.

On Sept. 15, 1992, our 654th, the Annual Meeting, Jerry J. Davis presided as Master.

On Wednesday, Sept. 23, 1992, Wor. Bruce M. Newman was installed Master of the 34th Lodge of Instruction.

On Oct. 17, 1992, our 279th special meeting, Wor. Robert M. Eaton was installed by R. W. Carl A. Gordon.

On Tuesday, Oct. 20, 1992, our 655th meeting, Wor. George A. Sarafinas was elected S. W., by special dispensation. We received an Official Visit from R. W. Paul R. Whitworth, Jr., the DDGM.

A Halloween Party for the children of the area was held on Oct 24, 1992.

1994

On June 21, 1994, our 673rd meeting, Past Masters Night, Bro Carl P. Marangoudakis was raised. A charge was given by Wor. Clarke Harris Wertheim. Presentations were made by Peter Marangoudakis (our new Brother's father), Steve (his brother), and Wor. Mike Kafandaris of Mt. Orthodox Lodge in West Springfield. Steve Kaloyanides presented him with pin from the Hellenic Square and Compass Club. George A. Sarafinas was elected Master for a second consecutive term.

Wor. Bruce M. Newman was presented a commemorative pin by Wor. William Thompson, on behalf of the Scottish Rite Blue Lodge Program.

On Sept. 20, 1994, our 674th, the Annual Meeting, R. W. Bro. Lowell paid us an Official Visit.

On Sept. 24, 1994, our 285th special meeting, the Installation of Officers was conducted by the Hellenic Square and Compass Club. R. W. Lowell was present for a Fraternal Visit.

On Oct. 18, 1994, our 675th meeting, Bro. Donald Dixwell MacPhee affiliated.

On Dec. 20, 1994, our 677th meeting, Bro. George Thomas Arsenault affiliated.

We received a Fraternal Visit by R. W. Bro. Lowell, who presented a Veteran's Medal to Bro. Jay S. Tracy. It was put in place by his wife. It was noted that Bro. Tracy had been raised by his father in a relatively short time period because of army service.

1995

On Feb. 21, 1995, our 679th meeting, Bro. Michael Joseph O'Sullivan affiliated.

We received a Fraternal Visit by R. W. John Elkins Eldert, who presented a Veteran's Medal to Bro. Carl S. Stricklin.

On April 29, 1995, our 287th special meeting, was a joint Table Lodge, with Norfolk, Wellesley, and Moses Michael Hays Lodges.

June 20, 1995, our 683rd, Past Masters Night, witnessed a Fraternal Visit by M. W. David W. Lovering. It was noted that Prince Hall, in Massachusetts, and the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts were now in official recognition of each other. Christopher F. Bates was elected master.

On Sept. 19, 1995, our 684th, the Annual Meeting, Bro. Larry Cyrus Billingslea was raised.

At the 288th special meeting, Wor. Christopher French Bates was installed Master.

On Oct. 17, 1995, our 685th, we received an Official Visit from R. W. John Elkins Eldert, who presented the lodge with a plaque as 1st runner-up, Honor District Award, for the Grand Master's Fair.

1996

On Jan. 16, 1996, our 688th, Bro. Thomas Christopher MacPhee was raised.

On Feb. 20,1996, our 689th, we received a Fraternal Visit from R. W. Bro. Eldert.

Mar. 19, 1996, our 690th meeting, was Senior Wardens' Night. Wor. Bruce M. Newman gave a talk, with slides, on the Central Artery/Tunnel Project.

On April 18, 1996, our 691st, Bro. Arthur Leonard Carlson affiliated.

A decision was made to fund scholarships for deserving Needham High School (Presently two $1,000.00 dollar scholarships). On June 18, 1996, our 693rd, Past Masters Night, we voted a Scholarship Fund Bylaws Amendment. R. W. Bro. Eldert, on a Fraternal Visit, presented Veterans' Medals to Bros. William H. West and Douglas R. Kingston. Wor. Bro. Bates had already presented medals, at their homes, to Bros. Alfred M. Davenport, Jr. and Donald L. Posson. Christopher F. Bates was elected Master for a second consecutive term.

Aug. 17, 1996, our 291st special meeting, was a joint Table Lodge with Norfolk Lodge.

Sept. 17, 1996, our 694th, was the Annual Meeting.

On Oct. 15, 1996, we received an Official Visit from R. W. Bro. Eldert, who presented the lodge with a plaque as 1st runner-up at the Grand Master's Fair.

1997

On Jan. 21, 1997, our 698th, Bros. Ronald Eric Lewis and James Joseph Mooney, III were raised.

March 21, 1997, our 292nd special meeting, was a joint Table Lodge with Norfolk Lodge. R.W. Bro. Sarafinas was present for a Fraternal Visit.

On June 17, 1997, our 702nd, Past Masters Night, Bruce Samuel Kremer was raised. Gary L. Cox was elected Master.

On Sept. 16, 1997, our 703rd, the Annual Meeting, Ipswich Brethren came for the Traveling Gavel which we had taken from Chatham.

Sept. 19, 1997, our 294th special meeting, was the Installation of Officers.

Oct 21, 1997, our 704th witnessed an Official Visit by R. W. Bro. Sarafinas.

1998

On Jan. 20, 1998, our 707th, Bro. Jason S. Orlov affiliated. It was noted that Bro. Richard Harmon has donated an additional 23 platelets in 1997 and drives over 1600 miles.

April 21, 1998 witnessed a Fraternal Visit by R. W. Bro. Sarafinas Dick Harmon was presented a 38 gallon blood donor pin.

In June 1998, Melvin H. Davis was elected Master.

1999

In June 1999, Robert M. Eaton was elected Master.

2000

In June 2000, David P. Newcomb was elected Master.

On Sept. 19, 2000, our 734th, the Annual Meeting, R. W. Stephen C. Cohn made an Official Visit and presented a 50 Year Veteran's Medal to Brother Richard Hayes.

Sept. 22, 2000, our 294 special meeting, was the Installation of Officers. Wor. David P. Newcomb was installed by M. W. Fred K. Bauer, Grand Master (and fellow clown at Aleppo temple).

On Oct. 17, 2000, our 735th, Bro. James Gary Morse affiliated.

On Dec. 19, 2000, our 737th meeting, Bro. Sumner Waldman was raised.

2001

On Feb. 20, 2001, our 739th meeting, Bro. Deane Ellsworth Baker, Jr. was reinstated.

On April 17, 2001, our 741st meeting, Nehoiden Lodge "seeded" a Masonic Angel Fund for the school children of Needham. We were paid a Fraternal Visit by the DDGM, R. W. Lincoln K. Richards.

On June 19, 2001 Thomas C. MacPhee was elected Master.

On June 24, 2001, our 300th special meeting, a Masonic Funeral Service was conducted for Bro. Carl S. Stricklin.

On Sept. 18, 2001, our 744th, the Annual Mtg., it was noted that Bro. Dick Harmon had now donated 62 gallons of blood.

On Sept. 8, 2001, our 296th special meeting, Thomas C. MacPhee was installed as Master.

On Oct. 16, 2001, our 745th meeting, Bro. Derek Eaton affiliated. We were paid an Official Visit by the DDGM, R. W. Lincoln K. Richards.

2002

On Jan. 15, 2002, our 748th meeting, the lodge was officially presented a Traveling Gavel, which had been obtained at Paul Dean Lodge by Wor. Bruce M. Newman, Bro. Arthur L. Carlson, and Bro. Jacob Larsen. This gavel had been constructed by Mayflower Lodge, and had just returned from an extensive tour of lodges in England.

On Feb. 19, 2002, our 749th meeting, it was announced that, primarily due to our Christmas tree charitable fund-raising event, we would now be able to donate three 1500 dollar scholarships, this year, to deserving high school students. This was voted on and approved.

LOOKING FORWARD

The foregoing has been a brief review of the third twenty-five years of Nehoiden Lodge.

The early years were rich with promise and growth, followed by the usual cycles in Masonic lodge membership.

At this point I feel it is right and proper to borrow from the twenty-five year history, written by Brother Charles W. E. Morris.

"I would say that we might paraphrase, or even borrow, the simple Latin phrase inscribed in St. Paul's Cathedral in London to the great architect, Sir Christopher Wren. It reads Si vis momentum, circumspice (If you seek a memorial, look around). Tonight, if any memorial to the enduring character of the founding of Nehoiden Lodge were necessary, all we have to do is just look around."


EVENTS

CONSOLIDATION WITH BETH-HORON LODGE, JULY 2010

From TROWEL, Winter 2010, Page 3:

NehoidenBethHoron2010.jpg
R. W. David Newcomb, DDGM District 2; M. W. Grand Master Roger W. Pageau, Wor. Bruce Newman, Master of the Lodge and R. W. Paul Bushey, DDGM District 5.

Nehoiden and Beth-horon Merge

On Thursday, July 29th, a merger ceremony was held in Needham to bring together Nehoiden Lodge of Needham and Beth-horon Lodge of Newtonville. Most Wor. Grand Master Roger W. Pageau presided over the ceremony and afterwards, Brother Pageau and his suite of Grand Lodge officers installed the lodge officers.

Beth-horon Lodge previously met in Newtonville in the Fifth District. This newly merged Beth-horon Lodge will meet in Needham and belong to the Second Masonic District.

— R. W. David Newcomb.

GRAND LODGE OFFICERS


DISTRICTS

1927: District 5 (Waltham)

2003:District 5


LINKS

Massachusetts Lodges