- 1 COCHICHEWICK LODGE
- 2 REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS
- 2.1 ANNIVERSARIES
- 2.2 VISITS BY GRAND MASTER
- 2.3 BY-LAW CHANGES
- 2.4 HISTORY
- 2.4.1 50TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1924
- 220.127.116.11 LOUIS WEIL 1828-1883
- 18.104.22.168 JOHN PARKHURST 1826-1917
- 22.214.171.124 CHARLES PLUMMER MORRILL 1839-1913
- 126.96.36.199 THOMAS KIMBALL GILMAN 1842-1912
- 188.8.131.52 WILLIAM WALLACE CHICKERING 1848-1918
- 184.108.40.206 LORING BAILEY REA 1850-1889
- 220.127.116.11 CLINTON CARTER BARKER 1851-1887
- 18.104.22.168 CALVIN REA 1848-1934
- 22.214.171.124 GEORGE IRVIN SMITH 1846-1923
- 126.96.36.199 JOHN BARKER 1845-1931
- 188.8.131.52 FRANK TISDALE 1850-1935
- 184.108.40.206 GEORGE HENRY PERKINS 1831-1924
- 220.127.116.11 GEORGE ALBERT REA 1852-1909
- 18.104.22.168 SAMUEL DWIGHT BERRY 1868-1946
- 22.214.171.124 WILLIAM HALLIDAY, JR. 1853-1913
- 126.96.36.199 JAMES WILLIAM LEITCH 1858-1932
- 188.8.131.52 FRED STEVENS SMITH 1870-1932
- 184.108.40.206 ROLAND ABBOTT PRESCOTT 1874-1948
- 220.127.116.11 WILLIAM MORTON McQUESTEN 1873-1955
- 18.104.22.168 FRANK MILTON BLACKSTOCK 1860-1958
- 22.214.171.124 WILLIAM EDWARD HELLIWELL 1878-1929
- 126.96.36.199 WILLIAM DREW RUNDLETT 1864-1933
- 188.8.131.52 STEPHEN DeMERRITTE GAGE 1874-1939
- 184.108.40.206 HERBERT EUGENE McQUESTEN 1882-1948
- 220.127.116.11 FRANK ERNEST WALLWORK 1880-1964
- 18.104.22.168 GEORGE ALBERT REA 1887-1980
- 22.214.171.124 WALTER LEMUEL HAWKES 1879-1970
- 126.96.36.199 FREDERICK PLUMMER HANNAFORD 1832-1911
- 188.8.131.52 FRANK DUDLEY FOSTER 1836-1929
- 184.108.40.206 ALBERT BRAINERD 1845-1917
- 2.4.2 75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1949
- 2.4.3 CENTENARY HISTORY, JUNE 1974
- 220.127.116.11 HARRY WILKINSON 1881-1956
- 18.104.22.168 JAMES RUMFORD BALDWIN 1880-1957
- 22.214.171.124 FRED GOFF 1883-1976
- 126.96.36.199 REGINALD ANDREWS 1887-1953
- 188.8.131.52 GEORGE HENRY WILTON 1896-1951
- 184.108.40.206 EDGAR BOWER 1883-1953
- 220.127.116.11 ARTHUR ALBERT REEVES 1888-1968
- 18.104.22.168 GEORGE HARRY GOFF 1902-1984
- 22.214.171.124 FREEMAN JOHN DAVIS 1898-1966
- 126.96.36.199 THOMAS ARTHUR EMMONS 1904-1983
- 188.8.131.52 ROGER DEHULLU 1911-2002
- 184.108.40.206 WARREN FRED GOFF 1911-1968
- 220.127.116.11 HOWARD ELLIS PAULSON 1913-1987
- 18.104.22.168 JOHN McDOWELL 1907-1980
- 22.214.171.124 ARTHUR HENRY COVELL 1910-2003
- 126.96.36.199 RICHARD LOUIS HEIDER 1913-2001
- 188.8.131.52 THOMAS HARRY WILKINSON 1913-1997
- 184.108.40.206 RICHARD ALTON GRAHAM 1912-1998
- 220.127.116.11 WILLIAM BASSETT KENT, JR. 1924-2004
- 18.104.22.168 HAROLD RATCLIFFE 1911-2001
- 22.214.171.124 GEORGE WELLINGTON BEAUMONT 1922-1989
- 126.96.36.199 ROBERT EVERETT GUPTILL 1925-2012
- 188.8.131.52 LOUIS ROBERT PETERSON 1924-1972
- 184.108.40.206 GEORGE ALFRED HOUSTON 1916-1997
- 220.127.116.11 JAMES MONROE GASKELL 1918-2013
- 18.104.22.168 HUGH ALEXANDER McCLUNG 1915-1988
- 22.214.171.124 JOHN HAZEN TACY 1925-2012
- 126.96.36.199 RUSSELL JACK HOWARD 1926-2012
- 188.8.131.52 THOMAS EDWARD PENDLEBURY 1919-1986
- 184.108.40.206 WILLIAM JOSEPH LABELLE 1916-1999
- 220.127.116.11 HAROLD RAYMOND BOYNTON, JR. 1920-1999
- 18.104.22.168 EARLE MERRIAM CARD 1910-1984
- 22.214.171.124 JAMES HAIGH DEWHIRST 1924-
- 126.96.36.199 PAUL ALBERT THOMSON 1930-2012
- 188.8.131.52 ALLAN MYLES ZECCHINI 1937-
- 184.108.40.206 RICHARD ALBERT SCHUBERT 1940-
- 2.4.1 50TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1924
- 2.5 EVENTS
- 2.6 GRAND LODGE OFFICERS
- 2.7 DISTRICTS
- 2.8 LINKS
Location: North Andover
Chartered By: Percival L. Everett
Charter Date: 06/09/1875 1875-73
Precedence Date: 06/02/1874
Current Status: Active
- Louis Weil, 1874, 1875 ⊕
- John Parkhurst, 1876, 1877 ⊕
- Charles P. Morrill, 1878, 1879; Mem ⊕
- Thomas Kimball Gilman, 1880, 1881 ⊕
- William Wallace Chickering, 1882, 1883 ⊕
- Loring Bailey Rea, 1884 ⊕
- Clinton Carter Barker, 1885, 1886 ⊕
- Calvin Rea, 1887, 1888 ⊕
- George Irvin Smith, 1889, 1890 ⊕
- John Barker, 1891, 1892 ⊕
- Frank Tisdale, 1893, 1894 ⊕
- George H. Perkins, 1895, 1896; Mem ⊕
- George Albert Rea, Sr., 1897, 1898 ⊕
- Samuel Dwight Berry, 1899, 1900 ⊕
- William Halliday, Jr., 1901, 1902 ⊕
- James William Leitch, 1903, 1904 ⊕
- Fred Stevens Smith, 1905, 1906; Mem ⊕
- Roland Abbott Prescott, 1907, 1908 ⊕
- William Morton McQuesten, 1909, 1910 ⊕
- Frank Milton Blackstock, 1911 ⊕
- William Edward Helliwell, 1912, 1913 ⊕
- William Drew Rundlett, 1914, 1915 ⊕
- Stephen DeMerritte Gage, 1916 ⊕
- Herbert Eugene McQuesten, 1917, 1918 ⊕
- Frank Ernest Wallwork, 1919, 1920 ⊕
- George Albert Rea, Jr., 1921, 1922 ⊕
- Walter Lemuel Hawkes, 1923, 1924 ⊕
- Harry Wilkinson, 1925, 1926; N §
- James R. Baldwin, 1927, 1928; N §
- Fred Goff, 1929, 1930 §
- Reginald Andrews, 1931, 1932 §
- George H. Wilton, 1933, 1934 §
- Edgar Bower, 1935, 1936 §
- Arthur A. Reeves, 1937, 1938 §
- George H. Goff, 1939, 1940 §
- Freeman J. Davis, 1941, 1942; SN §
- Thomas A. Emmons, 1943, 1944 §
- Roger Dehullu, 1945, 1946; N §
- Warren F. Goff, 1947, 1948 §
- Howard E. Paulson, 1949, 1950 §
- John McDowell, 1951, 1952 §
- Arthur H. Covell, 1953 §
- Richard L. Heider, 1954 §
- Thomas H. Wilkinson, 1955 §
- Richard A. Graham, 1956 §
- William B. Kent, Jr., 1957; N §
- Harold Ratcliffe, 1958 §
- George W. Beaumont, 1959 §
- Robert E. Guptill, 1960 §
- Louis R. Peterson, 1961 §
- George A. Houston, 1962; N §
- James M. Gaskell, 1963 §
- Hugh A. McClung, 1964 §
- John H. Tacy, Jr., 1965 §
- R. Jack Howard, 1966 §
- Thomas E. Pendlebury, 1967 §
- William J. LaBelle, 1968 §
- Harold R. Boynton, Jr., 1969; SN §
- Earle M. Card, 1970 §
- James H. Dewhirst, 1971 §
- Paul A. Thomson, 1972 §
- Allan M. Zecchini, 1973, 1990; PDDGM §
- Richard A. Schubert, 1974, 2004, 2005 §
- Walter R. Stamp, 1975
- Richard H. Dufresne, 1976
- John G. Leach, 1977
- Robert C. Hull, 1978, 1979
- Raymond P. Tudisco, 1980
- Robert E. Cole, 1981, 2002
- Wesley R. Hull, 1982
- Thomas E. Andrew, III, 1983, 1996
- Lensley M. Henshaw, 1984, 1985
- Salvatore L. Lipomi, 1986, 1993, 2008, 2009
- Jerry N. Kegley, 1987
- Edward A. Condon, Jr., 1988, 1997, 2003; PDDGM
- Philip W. Morgan, 1989
- Robbins L. Bailey, 1991
- Benjamin Perry, Jr., 1992
- Frank D. Rowe, 1994, 1995
- Donald W. Smith, 1998
- Robert A. Cole, 1999
- Robert C. Hull, 2000, 2001
- Robert O. Hinckley, 2006, 2007
- Jason P. Scholten, 2010-2012
- Jaraslaw Margolycz, 2013
⊕ = In the 50th Anniversary history starting on Page 1924-129, there are numerous biographies of early members of the Lodge. Also included were
- Frederick Plummer Hannaford, ⊕
- Frank Dudley Foster. ⊕
- Albert Brainerd. ⊕
§ = In the Centenary history starting on Page 1924-129, there are numerous biographies of Past Masters of the Lodge.
REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS
VISITS BY GRAND MASTER
- 1875 (Deputy Grand Master Welch; Constitution of Lodge and installation; Special Communication; see description below.)
- 1882 (Lawrence)
- 1908 (Blake)
- 1922 (Prince; cornerstone laying in Lawrence)
- 1922 (Ferrell; 50th Anniversary)
- 1949 (Keith; 75th Anniversary)
- 1974 (Vose; Centenary)
- 2000 (Bauer)
- 1924 (50th Anniversary History, 1924-129; see below)
- 1949 (75th Anniversary History, 1949-82; see below)
- 1974 (Centenary History, 1974-137; see below)
50TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1924
From Proceedings, Page 1924-129:
By Brothers James R. Baldwin, Harry Wilkinson, and Thomas Milner.
The history of Freemasonry in North Andover dates back to about the year 1820. The first Masonic meeting of record was held at the home of the widow Mary Parker, on January 22, 1823. This was the first meeting of St. Matthew's Lodge, of Andover, of which North Andover was then a part, and the building in which it was held still stands on Chestnut Street, near the corner of Andover Street. In 1824 St. Matthew's Lodge moved to Andover Centre, and for the succeeding fifty years the records of Masonic activity in this town are but meager.
Worshipful Brother Calvin Rea is authority for the statement that in 1825 the local Masons met at different places, sometimes on high hills, at others, in deep vales. Somewhat later, meetings were held in the old Tavern House, which then stood on the site of the present Town Hall. It was about this time that the Anti-Masonic agitation resulting from the Morgan exposure curtailed the work of our Fraternity, membership dropped to almost nothing, and St. Matthew's Lodge was enabled to save its Charter from destruction only by the wit of its Worshipful Master, Merrill Pettingill, who buried it in his cellar. On the revival of Freemasonry, the members of the Craft in North Andover continued under the jurisdiction of St. Matthew's Lodge until 1874.
On the 20th day of May, 1874, the following named Master Masons, residents of North Andover, assembled in Engine Hall No. 2, viz.: Louis Weil, Joseph F. Allen, Charles F. Johnson, John Parkhurst, Horace Whitcomb, Hiram Berry, Joseph N. Taylor, William Halliday, and Francis F. Dole. The object of the meeting was to dis¬cuss the necessity and propriety of forming a new Masonic Lodge in North Andover.
The subject had already been discussed with the members of St. Matthew's Lodge residing in this town, and there seemed to be a decided and almost unanimous sentiment in favor of going ahead with the project. Feeling that they were upon all fair and Masonic considerations warranted in taking active measures for the forming of a new Lodge, Louis Weil was chosen Chairman of the meeting and Charles F. Johnson, Secretary. It was voted that a petition in due form be presented to the Grand Master of Massachusetts for a Dispensation. It was further voted that the Lodge asked for should be called Cochichewick Lodge.
The name Cochichewick is of Indian origin, and means the place of the Great Cascade. The name appears in history spelled in various ways. The Colonial officials, however, finally adopted the spelling Cochichewick, or without the final "e." The following Brethren were nominated as the first officers of the new Lodge: Louis Weil, Worshipful Master; Joseph F. Allen, Senior Warden; and John Parkhurst, Junior Warden. It was also agreed that the night of meeting should be the Wednesday on or before the full of the moon of each month.
The petition was presented for permission and approval to St. Matthew's Lodge at a regular meeting held May 25, 1874, and received its hearty sympathy and the necessary authority to take it to the Grand Lodge. The petition was approved by the District Deputy Grand Master, Joseph Sydney Howe, on the second day of June, 1874, and was presented to the Most Worshipful Grand Master, Sereno D. Nickerson, on the same day.
A Dispensation was received from the Most Worship¬ful Grand Master on the third day of June, 1874, said Dispensation being dated June 2, 1874. The house of the Cochichewick Engine Co., No. 2, at North Andover Centre, was the scene of the first meeting held by the Lodge under Dispensation. The Worshipful Master, Louis Weil, was in the East. No degree work was attempted. It was voted, however, to appoint a committee to lease the chambers in the Brick Block, and to finish off a hall and other rooms suitable for the Lodge. The work of remodeling and furnishing was accomplished during the summer, and in September, 1874, Cochichewick Lodge began work in the quarters which they were to occupy for nearly fifty years. The very interesting carpet with which the floor of the Hall was covered was the gift of Brother John A. Wiley. This carpet was woven in Philadelphia, and so far as is known, there is but one other like it. A part of it now adorns the preparation room of the new Hall, which will be dedicated on the fiftieth anniversary of Cochichewick Lodge. Another highly prized gift received about that time was the Holy Bible, upon which so many of our members have been obligated, it being presented to us by St. Matthew's Lodge.
The degrees were worked for the first time by our Lodge on September 23, 1874, when District Deputy Grand Master Joseph S. Howe and suite were present. Two candidates received the Entered Apprentice degree, the work being witnessed by the official guests, and sixty-six members of the Craft. Cochichewick Lodge worked under Dispensation until June 9, 1875, when a Charter was granted by the Grand Lodge with precedence to commence from June 2, 1874. On June 24, 1875, St. John's Day, Cochichewick Lodge was formally inaugurated by the officers of the Grand Lodge. The day was observed as a general holiday in North Andover, all the mills and shops were shut down, and flags were flying in every direction. Participating hi the ceremonies incident to the occasion were Bethany Commandery, of Lawrence, acting as escort for the officers of the Grand Lodge, accompanied by the Lawrence Brass Band; Winslow Lewis Commandery, of Salem, with the Salem Brass Band; St. Matthew's Lodge, of Andover, and Cochichewick Lodge, accompanied by the Boxford Brass Band.
In the absence of the Most Worshipful Percival L. Everett, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, the Deputy Grand Master, Charles A. Welch, officiated at the exercises. The Grand Officers were escorted to the Brick Block, when the Hall of the new Lodge "Cochichewick" was dedicated. The ceremonies consisted of the reception of the Grand Officers, prayer by the Grand Chaplain, Reverend Burtis Judd, music, ceremonies of consecration, Corn, Wine and Oil; constitution by the Most Worshipful Grand Master, and concluding hymn.
A procession was then formed and marched around the Common to the Unitarian Church, where the ceremonies were as follows: music by the Adelphi Quartette; installation of Louis Weil, Worshipful Master; an Ode, installation of Joseph P. Allen, Senior Warden; an Ode, installation of John Parkhurst, Junior Warden; an Ode; installation of other officers, Horace N. Stevens, Treasurer; Charles P. Johnson, Secretary; Robert Brookhouse, Senior beacon; S. William Ingalls, Junior Deacon; Charles P. Morrill, Chaplain; Joseph N. Taylor, Marshal; Isaac S. Dixon, Senior Steward; Henry Newhall, Junior Steward; Matthew S. Dixon, Inside Sentinel; and Frederick P. Hannaford, Tyler. The proclamation was then made in due form, followed by a prayer by the Reverend Brother Charles A. Titus.
DR. LORING'S ADDRESS
Dr. George B. Loring, of Salem, then delivered the following address on Speculative Masonry:
Companions and Brethren:
It is with no ordinary interest that I have met you here today, on this anniversary of the festival of Saint John the Baptist, the blessed Christian martyr, the patron saint of our order, to dedicate in this town an institution devoted to the Royal Art. I cannot forget that here, on this very spot, were laid in my own mind and heart those principles of life which, being based on the divine law, are intended to guide and support man in his earthly career. And remembering how from this edifice in which we are assembled the truths of Christianity have been piously and faithfully inculcated for generations, I do indeed rejoice that here and now I am allowed to take part in consecrating an ally to the Christian church, and strengthening the right arm of the great Master.
A community filled with an abiding faith, and warmed with generous and fraternal sentiments of humanity, will always find expression for its convictions and sentiments. And so I hail every organization designed to cultivate the mind and heart, every bond intended to bind men together in a holy brotherhood, as an evidence of a determination to build up society on the sound foundations of intelligence and morality.
In assigning this high position to the order of Free-masonry, I merely indicate the duty which has been imposed upon it, the work which it is intended to accomplish. Whatever may have been its origin, whatever its history during all the early period of its existence, its service now is to inculcate the highest moral and religious truth, and to establish relations between man and man which will elevate society and smooth the path through life.
We indeed love to dwell upon the antiquity of our order, and are ready to believe that it may have existed in some form through all time, to satisfy man's natural demand for a sacred and secret abode for his deepest sentiments and loftiest aspirations. There can be no doubt that its symbols are to be found today inscribed thousands of years ago upon the huge temples which tell of ancient Egyptian civilization and faith. The intelligent and initiated traveler may read the story of his Craft on the walls of Thebes and Eleusis, and be able to point out the immortal designs imprinted by Hiram, King of Tyre, on the Temple of King Solomon.
The work of ancient Masonry can still be seen in the great structures of the Norman style of architecture, the monasteries and baronial castles of England. Nor can we doubt that in the Middle Ages secret associations of practical masons or builders were formed, to which the Lodges of the present day owe their origin. We study the annals of the craftsmen as they associated together to erect the great Gothic cathedrals of the Middle Ages, the tower¬ing and imposing structures of Strasbourg and Cologne; as they formed colleges of architects in Italy, free corporations in France, and Freemasons in Scotland; and as they attracted to their organizations men of eminence and learn¬ing in Church and State throughout Europe.
But I am compelled to believe that the order had a higher meaning than all this — a higher duty to perform than merely the erection of imposing edifices, the material expression of man's faith in God and immortality. Of the time when the rights and injunctions of Freemasonry were established we have no knowledge. In searching for the origin of the organization we may be lost in historic fable; but the language has in all times been the same, the thought and sentiment underlying all the ceremony have not changed — and we have a right to believe that the bands of architects and operative masons who were engaged in erecting churches and monasteries, and who were by papal and royal decree made free, were also the depositories of profound philosophical truth and a pure and elevated religious faith.
Associations like these entrusted with the business of erecting the great theocratic palaces of the world, and of building temples equal to man's highest spiritual aspirations, would naturally be surrounded with mysteries and clothed with the robes and vestments of a sacred order. Associations like these, man has never failed to employ in the preservation and expression of his religious sentiment and faith. They have been to the Brethren and Christian alike the guardians of his inner Temple, that Holy of Holies, that sacred spot from which the world is shut out, in accordance with a universal religious desire for secret worship and the voice of symbols.
Let us accept this then as the high and spiritual duty of our order, and date from the adoption of the regulation "that the privileges of Masonry should be no longer restricted to operative masons, but extended to men of various professions provided they were regularly approved and initiated into the order, from the time when Sir Christopher Wren, then Grand Master, desired that other than operative masons might belong to the order, and that all free born citizens worthy and well qualified might be initiated, the elevation of the order to its highest purpose and significance. Not that I am unmindful of what had long ere this been done to clothe the order with honor and renown.
For who can forget that from the martyrdom of De Molay and his associates has sprung the order of the Knights Templars to guard that sacred memory and pre¬serve the holy injunctions? Who can forget that Richard, King of England, surnamed the Lion Heart, Grand Master of the Templars, was elected by the Lodges of English Free¬masons to the like positions over them? Who can ever forget the devotion of the Masonic Lodges in Scotland to the exiled knights who sought refuge there early in the fourteenth century, to escape the fate of their Grand Master, De Molay? But then, on the other hand, I read the ancient Masonic charges of the Lodge of Antiquity, and I learn what the spirit of Freemasonry means.
The first charge is "that ye shall be true men to God, and the holy church, and to use no errors or heresy by your understanding and by wise men's teachings." Also, Secondly— "That we shall be true men to the King of England, without treason or any falsehood, and that ye know no treason or treachery, but ye shall give knowledge thereof to the King or to his Council; also ye shall be true to one another (that is to say) every Mason of the Craft that is Mason allowed, ye shall do to him as ye would do unto yourself." Thirdly—"Ye shall truly pay for your meat and drink wherever ye go to table or board — Also, ye shall do no villainy there, whereby the craft or science may be slandered."
And so also from the ancient records of Lodges beyond sea, and of those in England, Scotland, and Ireland, I read, —
"A Mason is obliged by his tenure to obey the moral law; and if he rightly understands the art, he will never be a stupid atheist, nor an irreligious libertine."
"All preferment among Masons is grounded upon real worth and personal merit alone, none shall discover envy at the prosperity of a brother, nor supplant him or put him out of his work, you are to salute one another in a courteous manner, as you will be instructed, calling each other brother, freely giving mutual instruction as shall be thought expedient.
"You are to act as becomes a moral and wise man."
Impressed with these sacred injunctions our admirable and revered Brother Ezra Ripley more than seventy years ago set forth these as the inculcations of Masonry:
"Masons enter the porch of their Temple in the name of God, and are led to pay Him their devout acknowledgments — they are taught to think and act under a sense of His all-seeing eye, and of His particular cognizance of human affairs and characters. The holy writings are set before them, as their great directory, and the moral law as their rule of life — they are instructed and obligated to be sincerely pious toward God, to acknowledge and worship Him according to their best understanding of His character, as revealed in His glorious works and sacred Word. It is essential that they be righteous and just, honest and true, their dealings with men must be on the fair principles of integrity and uprightness, and under a conscious¬ness that the righteous Lord loveth righteousness and hateth wickedness.
"They are actuated in this course not only by a love of rectitude but also by a conviction of the importance and utility of righteousness to society and individuals. It is enjoined on them that they shall be more than righteous; they must be sincerely and extensively benevolent. It-must be their prevailing disposition to do good; the law of kindness must regulate their tongue, and acts of beneficence occupy their hands.
"They are obligated to be more than benevolent, they must be charitable in sentiment and conduct, they must put the most favorable construction on the opinions and behavior of people who differ from them that reason will admit, and be prompt to relieve the necessitous, and console the afflicted, their hearts must melt with compassion toward the wretched, and their hands be open to supply the wants of the indigent. If an enemy hunger they must give him meat, if he thirst, they must give him drink, much more they must abound in charity to unoffending and virtuous people, and above all to Brethren.
"While Masons endeavor to aid and comfort other people, they are strictly charged to take heed to themselves, to be temperate in all things, to be self-collected and to be self-governed; they must regulate their passions and appetites by the rules of reason and virtue, and keep themselves within due bounds in transactions with men of every description, but especially with the Fraternity.
"That Masons may have wherewith to supply the destitute — that they may cultivate a spirit of peace and contentment, and be blessed with self-enjoyment, they are taught to be industrious in some lawful calling. Industry is so important to individuals, to families, and to the community, so necessary to the practice of some other of the most useful virtues of Masonry, that much stress is very justly laid on it. Idle drones among Masons are odious and disgraceful spots and blemishes on the whole order, and on our feasts of Charity. The Fraternity adopts the rigid rule of the apostle, if any will not work, neither shall he eat, if he becomes poor through indolence and sloth, he shall be fed with a scantiness answerable to his conduct. Having done little for his own support, or for the benefit of society, or being a burden, he has no claims on the bounty of charity, but only on the fruit of compassion.
It is the inculcation of doctrines like these which has given Freemasonry its permanency and power. This is its vital force, which has outlived all the mutations of fortune, and all attempts of civil and ecclesiastical power to compass its overthrow. When the material importance of the Masonic corporations on the continent of Europe began to decline, church architecture, having been suspended for a season on account of the vast sacrifices of the people in this direction, and the abuses of the clergy, Freemasonry began to lose its operative character, and attracted to its Lodges and Chapters men eminent for their knowledge and attainments in art, science, and literature. As early as the year of our Lord 1500, the Masonic fraternities of Europe may be said to have finished their labors in church architecture, and to have dispersed to find occupation in their individual capacities as constructors of public buildings for civil and municipal purposes. In England, however, they continued to flourish, and were there employed in that work which had ceased in those countries whose ecclesiastical establishments were perfected and whose churches were either suspended or completed.
Here it was that the order rose gradually to the position of a great conservator of religion and morality. The initiation of honorary members under the designation of Accepted Masons into the English Lodges prepared the pay for the foundation of British Speculative Masonry, which now has its organization in every civilized quarter of the globe, and which about 1650 received its great vital force from the celebrated antiquary, Elias Ashmole, who was initiated as an Accepted Mason, and who rearranged the forms of the Society of the Red Cross Brothers, which had been organized in London after the model of the new Atlantis of Lord Bacon, and held its assemblies in the hall which had hitherto been used by the Freemasons.
To the rituals of reception of the Red Cross Brethren, which consisted of some ceremonies having an historical foundation, and the communications of the signs of recognition, and which to some extent resembled those used among the Freemasons, Ashmole added some others. This labor inspired him with the idea of arranging also a new ritual for the Freemasons, and he therefore composed and substituted for the ritual then in use, another mode of initiation copied in part from the ancient manuscripts, and the Anglo-Saxon and Syrian rituals, and in part from the mysteries of Egypt, and otherwise, as he supposed, which most resembled the initiation ceremony as it was conducted in the colleges of European architects and builders. These rituals were at once adopted by the Lodges in London, and subsequently by those everywhere in England. From this new fountain of sweet waters the stream flowed out in every direction, and the fields once occupied by innumerable Lodges of operative Masons were now filled with bands of thoughtful Brethren who, inspired with the speculation and philosophy of the new order, espoused the cause of the people, and dispensed everywhere the doctrines of humanity and freedom. Cherishing, therefore, the memory of the chivalry and valor of the ancient days, and contemplating with pride the integrity and fidelity taught the Craftsmen by the Masters from the beginning, we rejoice in that wise and exalted philosophy which has taught us that, "as for all earthly things that are mortal and transient, truth alone is unchangeable and everlasting. The benefits we receive from it are subject to no change and no vicissitudes of time and fortune. In her judgment there is no unrighteousness, and she is the strength, wisdom, power, and majesty of all ages . . . Blessed is the God of truth."
Truth is a divine attribute, and the foundation of every virtue; to be good men and true is the first lesson taught by Masonry; my engagements are sacred and inviolable. No man should gain his sovereign's favor at the expense of his integrity. It is to a Masonry built on foundations like these that we are devoted; it is to this cause that we have assembled to dedicate a Masonic institution in this ancient town. It is of such as this that Brennan so forcibly says, "Moral architecture or modern Freemasonry, the issue of the Masonic corporations of Britain is, without doubt, more closely allied by its object to the ancient institutions than was that practiced among the colleges of builders, but It can never become a school of science and philosophy, seeing that science and philosophy have become the common attainment of all who are now situated and disposed to her study." While, however, this position is denied it, Freemasonry should be grander, more sublime than any form of ancient mysteries, inasmuch as while they were exclusive and confined to classes and peoples, it may embrace the whole race of man, and transform that race into a society of brothers, united by love of science and labor. It is to such an object every phase of the Freemasonry of today should tend, and for the accomplishments of which each of its initiates should solemnly engage his efforts and influence.
Of this modern Freemasonry the precepts laid down are; be just, be good, be indulgent, be kind, be grateful, be modest, pardon injuries, render good for evil, be forbearing, temperate, chaste, be a citizen, defend thy country with thy life; if thy country wrong thee, if she refuse thee happiness, and suffer thee to be oppressed, leave her in silence, but never trouble her, support adversity with resignation. And now, my Brethren, in order to perfect the system of impressing upon the mind abstract truths like these and to cement the brotherhood, we have, in accordance with a universal human desire, and a custom known in all ages, strengthened our edifice like a true master builder, with symbols and signs appropriate to our work. It has been said of Freemasonry that, "it is a system of morality developed and inculcated by the science of symbolism."
To this form of expression the human mind has ever been ready to resort, both in its feeblest efforts, and in its most sacred aspirations. To the child the symbol is the most vivid and striking form of utterance, to the faithful devotee the symbol is full of the tenderest significance. The first learning of the world consisted chiefly of symbols and the sublimest form of religious faith, in the form of revelation, crowns all its efforts with symbols whose meaning appeals to the most affectionate and elevated emotions in the heart of man.
To all religious systems, to the ecclesiastical organization of every pious people, to Egyptian, Jew, Phoenician, Chaldean, Christian, to every great moral and religious teacher, to Plato, to Socrates, to Pythagoras, to the Divine Master, the symbol has been in all time the great interpreter. Associated as it was with man's primitive religious systems, "it was afterwards continued when in the advanced stage of human mind the previous necessity no longer existed; and it thus came to constitute a kind of sacred language, and became invested with an esoteric significance understood only by the few." But to that few how valuable and expressive it always is!
Drawn as the symbols of Masonry are from the most important events in the sacred history of the world, they come clothed with a peculiar and impressive power, and i transport the initiated back to those sublime hours which are filled with most imposing service and over which time has shed a radiant charm and a most fascinating significance. From no unworthy objects has Masonry chosen its emblems. Into no low and common associations is the Brother brought by any symbol of his brotherhood. But recognizing the necessity still resting upon finite minds to receive their teachings in the most inspiring and impressive maimer, the master of our Craft holds up before us the visible speech prepared by man in his work of erecting temples worthy of his aspirations, and irradiating his path with deeds of heroism and chivalry. It was indeed a sub¬lime design when from the Temple of Solomon man select¬ed his emblems of deep religion, high morality, and well organized and well rewarded toil, of faithful labor and just compensation, of strength of purpose, rectitude, equality, brotherly love — the keystone of the arch, the plumb, the level, the trowel, the pot of incense as the emblem of a pure heart.
And where in all history could have been found an inci¬dent more illustrative of untiring devotion to moral and religious truth, and more radiant with a mystical halo of oriental fervor and exaltation and high purpose, than the return of the Jews from their captivity for the purpose of rebuilding the Temple, led by the wise and pious Zerubbabel, to commemorate which was instituted the order of Knights of the Red Cross? To inspire man's reverence, to fill his mind with knowledge of the accomplishments of his race in its most fervid and exalted age, to arouse his imagination, to warm his thoughts with striking imagery, to strengthen his power of memory, to cultivate his modes of expression, to guide his thoughts along a lofty plane, to fill him with courage to traverse the rough and rugged path of life, Freemasonry has supplied itself and him with symbols and emblems of the highest import, and has adopted those legends which are expressive of the sublimest truth. To the language of symbols, and the recognition of signs, moreover, has associated man always resorted to strengthen the bonds, and vitalize the force of his associations.
Cedo signum, si harum, Bacchantarum es, says the poet Placetus in one of his plays. If anyone happens to be present who has been initiated into the same rites as myself he will give me the sign," say Apuleius. And so, the world over, the Brother who is in distress or surrounded by danger, or pining for fellowship, or dumb amidst strange and unknown tongues, can resort to his emblems and signs with the assurance that he has a universal literature, and a universal language, which will give strength to his heart, and will introduce him in joy and in I sorrow to the great brotherhood of man.
I have said, "associated man," and in this I mean to include all man's power, success, and accomplishments in I the world. Isolation is not man's law. It is not good to live alone. Not in solitary confinement, not in withdrawal from our fellows, not in lonely paths does man accomplish I his best work in the world. The sanctity of the closet, the holy light of the cloister, have indeed their joy and beauty and inspiration; but they derive their charm from the wisdom which man brings from the outer world into the dreamy atmosphere of their sacred solitudes. The student retires to his work, I know, the great creative genius of man pursues his way amidst a loneliness as touching as the loneliness of sorrow; but the student and the genius would faint and fall by the way, did they not feel that around them stood their fellow-men, and that from their associates they were to receive an encouraging and responsive word. A healthy mind seeks society, a finite mind requires it, and when men gather together for a common object they do it in obedience to that instinct and necessity which run through all nature, and divide all living things, not, into individuals, but into all the various forms of associations. For common defense, for help in time of trial, for sympathy in sorrow, for companionship in joy, for enlarging the humanities, for reform and progress, for entertainment and culture, for discipline and for great accomplishment, man creates and cherishes his social combinations. It is true, that when the Divine Teacher and Master sought inspiration and strength from communion with his Father and his God, then indeed
"Cold mountains and the midnight air
Witnessed the fervor of his prayer;
but when he applied his powers to enlighten and redeem the world, he summoned around him his chosen twelve, and as the great drama drew to a close he called them about him at the table and united with them as a band of associated brethren in establishing the great symbol of Christianity. It is by association that man learns to live, and from its softening and harmonizing influences that he may learn to die. And nowhere more truly than in the Lodge can he receive the full benefit of companionship, in the Lodge, where he is compelled by rigid rule to be courteous and civil, to address his superiors with propriety, to lay aside all rudeness, to recognize his proper relations, to measure his words and expressions, to bury his jealousies and passions, to treat every man as a Brother, to apply the best powers of his mind to the comprehension of the ritual to which he listens; and where he is enjoined to observe the best rules of life. Where better than in an organization like this can he learn the true value of associations, and companionship of his fellows? But I should fail to respond to the thoughts which are uppermost in your minds on this day and on this occasion, did I neglect to recall the virtues of him whose festival is now being observed by the Brethren through the world, our patron Saint, the blessed martyr, the Holy Saint, John the Baptist.
What a sublime record of high and self-sacrificing purpose, of unaffected humility, of unambitious devotion, he gave mankind, as he proclaimed the advent of the Saviour of the world, exiled himself to the desert solitudes that he might prepare by fasting and prayer to enter upon his heavenly mission, suffered the lingering torture of the dungeon, and died at last the victim of the worst passions known to man. To him, on this anniversary we pay our tribute of love and admiration.
On this month, too, and on this centennial year of the early heroic deeds of the illustrious fathers of our republic, who carried with them to the battlefield the patriotic determination which warmed their souls as they knelt together at the altar of Masonry, we pause to thank God for the great example of courage and devotion set before struggling mankind by our Most Worshipful Brother Joseph Warren, whose heroic death gave a sacred and immortal power to the words and deeds of his radiant life.
I see him now, following his friend and supporter, Brother Paul Revere, into the St. Andrew's Royal Arch Chapter, where he took his degree only five months after his watchful and sagacious ally in the cause of freedom, and under the sacred influences of the august ceremonies, there counseling with him for the honor of his country, and the liberties of man. It is easy for us to understand how the two illustrious friends sustained each other in that hour of trial, strengthened and enlightened by the equality and fraternity which lay at the foundation of the order to which they belonged.
We are proud to know that there freedom found a refuge; and that there her bravest and most defiant children learned those precepts which guided them on their path to immortality.
The watchfulness and devotion and liberality and faith and wisdom and humanity which elevated Joseph Warren, while yet a young man, to the position of Grand Master of Masons for the Continent of America, joined with his valor and flaming zeal to make him the leader of the patriotic host, who by word and sublime deed breathed the breath of life into our republic. Can you not imagine how, as he sat within the pale of that Royal Arch degree, the most august, sublime and important of all, the summit and perfection of ancient Masonry; and listened to the words of the charge, "here we find additional inducements to continue steadfast and immovable in the discharge of our respective duties," the fires gathered about his heart, and he pondered with a holy ardor upon the great service and the immortal destiny which opened before him?
The listening multitudes felt the power of his eloquence, an oppressed and downtrodden people gathered hope from his resolute and determined action, his youthful fervor inspired all ranks and orders of men who came within his influence, but it was especially to his Brethren that his I secret soul was opened, and it was from their sympathy and advice that he drew his strength for the hour when his great duty fell upon him. Suddenly, ere it had reached mid-heaven and had risen to the radiance of noonday, his sun went down and in an instant all men, friend and foe alike, were struck dumb and bowed their heads in overwhelming sorrow and darkness. The power of his words, the generosity of his spirit, the rich exuberance of his youth, the maturity of his wisdom and judgment, the chivalry of his whole existence rose up in all their glory from the field where he fell, and dazzled his enemies and became the guiding light of his people in all their long and weary conflict for independence. The rosemary and the cassia adorned and marked his grave, while his spirit soared in triumph to the heavenly mansions, leaving his Brethren to ponder upon his sacred ashes and to reflect in that awful presence. How striking are these emblems of mortality! Once animated like ourselves, but now, behold, they have ceased to act or even think. Their vital energies are extinct, and all their powers of life have ceased their operation. Such, my friends, is the state to which we are all hastening. Let us then gratefully improve the remaining space of life, that when our weak and frail bodies shall become cold and inanimate, our disembodied spirits may soar aloft and live forever with Him in realms of light and everlasting bliss. "When Warren fell at Bunker Hill, Freemasonry had secured a firm foothold in this country, British Speculative Masonry having long before been transplanted to our shores and having become a social institution into which were gathered the intelligent and well educated, without regard to political opinions.
"The revolutionary struggle commenced," says Brother Poore, in his admirable address at the dedication of the new Masonic Temple in Washington in 1870, "and Freemasonry cemented with the life-blood of her noblest sons, the foundations of the infant republic." Peyton Randolph, Grand Master of Virginia, died while presiding over the Continental Congress at Philadelphia, and Joseph Warren, Grand Master of Massachusetts, fought and fell at Bunker Hill. Some of the Brethren who were among the first in the field to defend the liberties of their land, received a Dispensation under which they worked, and during the revolutionary struggle at least ten other Military Lodges were formed. Among those who knelt at Masonic altars were those gallant Generals, Brothers Harry Lee, of Virginia, Sullivan, of New Hampshire, Putnam, of Connecticut, Caswell, of North Carolina, Ogden, of New Jersey, Barton, of Rhode Island, and Girt, of Maryland; and in the East, Washing¬ton with his allies, Lafayette, of France, and Steuben, of Germany.
In Europe the current had flowed back from England to the Continent, Lodges multiplying with great rapidity, in France and Germany especially. It was from the Eight Honorable and Most Worshipful George, Earl of Dalhousie, Grand Master of Masons in Scotland, that Warren received his commission as Grand Master of Massachusetts in 1769; and from the Right Honorable and Most Worshipful Patrick, Earl of Dumfries, Grand Master of Masons in Scotland, that he received his commission as Grand Master of Masons for the Continent of America in 1772. Who can tell the influence which the martyrdom of this great Brother had over the minds of Brethren everywhere, to make the Lodges nurseries of freedom abroad, while they were the chosen abodes of freedom at home? And now we may in conclusion contemplate with peculiar satisfaction the growth and extension of Freemasonry under its speculative organizations in all parts of the civilized world. Brennan tells us that, "In Europe it is in a most flourishing condition, protected and respected. England, Scotland, Ireland, Sweden, Denmark, Holland, Russia, Saxony and Germany, France, Switzerland, and Bavaria number nearly three thousand Lodges, governed by twenty-two Grand Lodges. In Africa we find Lodges in Algiers, at Alexandria, Senegal, Senegambia, Guinea, the Cape of Good Hope, Mozambique, Canaries and St. Helena, Bourbon and Mauritius.
In America it is everywhere prosperous, there being no State in the American Union which has not its Grand Lodge; Freemasonry has penetrated into every part of this vast continent. The British possessions of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Canada, and Newfoundland have each their Provincial Grand, or independent Grand and Opera¬tive Masonic Lodges; while all the more southern and western states have each their Grand and Operative Lodges. The West India Islands, Cuba, Porto Rico, have their Lodges, and that of Haiti its Grand and Operative Lodges. In Central America it is to be found, in French, Dutch, and British Guiana, and also in the republics of Venezuela, Guatemala, Colombia, Bolivia, and Peru, and the united provinces of La Plata, Uruguay, and Paraguay; while in Rio Janeiro, capital of the Empire of Brazil, there is a Grand Lodge, with twenty-five Operative Lodges under its jurisdiction.
In Asia, Freemasonry has existed for more than a century in Hindustan. Lodges are to be found in Bombay, Pondicherry, Allahabad, Bejopoor, Chagepoor, Carnute, Darrely, Concan, and Bengal, while in China, at Canton, and the islands of Ceylon and Prince of Wales, in Persia and Turkey, Lodges exist. In Oceanica, Freemasonry was introduced in 1730, into the island of Java. At the present time, Sumatra, New Holland, New South Wales, New Zealand, and Van Diemen's Land all have their Masonic Lodges. Thus within a century and a half the modern or Philosophic Masonry has been promulgated over the whole surface of the earth, and in its progress, always spreading seeds of civilization and friendly intercourse. Prom habits practiced in the Lodges have gone out principles of peace, fraternity, freedom, and equality, which have softened the asperities of social intercourse, given birth to a greater breadth of charity for the prejudices of mankind, and expanded the human mind beyond the exclusiveness of caste, origin, national education, sect, and party.
This, my Brethren, is the order to which you belong, and in whose service you Dedicate this Lodge today. In discharging my part of this ceremony I have endeavored to impress upon your minds the solemnity of the obligations you have taken upon yourselves, the high character of your associations in the Craft, and the benefit which this community may derive from the existence of your organization. That you will do all in your power to cherish the religion, morality, and education of this town, I cannot for a moment doubt. And may your Lodge long be the fountain from which shall flow all these influences which make a community virtuous, intelligent, and happy. For now, "The stone which the builders rejected is become the head of the corner.
After the formal ceremony of dedication the Lodge settled down to the routine work, with a constantly in¬creasing number of applications for membership. It was the custom in the early days for all candidates upon receiving their third degree to provide a supper for the members of the Lodge. On such occasions, at the completion of the degree work, the Brethren repaired to the banquet hall, and there made merry at the expense of their new Brother.
The secretary's records of 1875 and 1876 show that Cochichewick Lodge was indebted to Colonel Eben Sutton for many of the Masonic implements which we are using to this day, among them being the Officers' regalia and jewels, silver trowel, and silver Square and Compasses. Other gifts received about this time were those of a Raising Board from Brother John Parkhurst, and a Tyler's sword and belt from Worshipful Brother Louis Weil. This is but an abbreviated list of the donations of our early Brothers, for many of the furnishings of the Lodge were due to their generosity.
On November 24, 1882, Cochichewick Lodge was honored by a visit from the Most Worshipful Samuel C. Lawrence, Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts, and his suite. His visit was primarily for the purpose of explaining to our Lodge the means which he favored in taking care of the debt of the Grand Lodge which had been incurred in building the Masonic Temple in Boston. Our members voted to accept the capitation tax to take care of its share of the burden.
In 1889, there was some agitation with regard to moving the Lodge to the lower village, and a committee was appointed to look into the matter. They reported in favor of the project, but as there was no suitable place that could be obtained at that time, and it was not desired to occupy quarters controlled by another body, it was put over until some future time. The idea was again brought forward 1894, and another committee authorized to see what should be done. This committee reported in 1895, that the rent of the hall about which they had made inquiries would be about $250.00 per year, besides the expense of heating and lighting. As it seemed out of the question to pay such heavy rent, nothing further was said or done about it.
The twenty-fifth anniversary of Cochichewick Lodge was publicly celebrated on June 23, 1900. The ceremonies which were held at Stevens Hall, were followed by a banquet. Right Worshipful Charles P. Morrill acted as toast-master, and the principal speech was delivered by Right Worshipful George H. Perkins.
A notable event occurred on June 12, 1908, the occasion being a reception to the Most Worshipful John Albert Blake, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, and his suite. A banquet was held, which was followed by the work of the Master Mason degree, exemplified by the Past Masters of Cochichewick Lodge.
In 1911, we find the first mention of the Cochichewick Quartette. The organization consisted of Brothers Harry Wilkinson, first tenor; Arthur Higton, second tenor; Albert Mitchell, baritone, and Carl Yost, who was followed by Allison Blackstock, basso. Their work was much enjoyed, but the life of the quartette was short, due to the moving from town of two of its members.
In 1914, when most of the European nations were plunged into the great struggle that developed into the World War, a period of unprecedented growth in Masonic membership began. In common with other Blue Lodges all over the country, Cochichewick Lodge grew rapidly.
In 1917, when the United States entered the war, it was a source of great pride to our Lodge, that so many of our members volunteered for service. We are thankful that our Service Flag remained without a gold star, emblematical of the supreme sacrifice of one of our Brothers. Since the cessation of hostilities our membership has been further increased by many who had taken part in that great conflict.
Early in April, 1922, a special meeting of the Lodge was called for the purpose of considering the purchase of the Cochichewick Engine House, which the town had decided to sell. Our quarters in the Brick Store Building, which we had used continuously since 1874, were much too small for our increasing membership. It was the opinion of the meeting that new quarters were highly desirable; the main question was whether or not the Lodge should remain at North Andover Centre, or select a site down town, which would be more readily accessible to many of our members. After considerable discussion, the Lodge voted to appoint a committee to attend the sale of the Engine House, and if the property could be obtained at a fair price, to buy it. The purchasing committee attended the sale, and after spirited bidding, obtained the property for the sum of $4,450.00. The matter of obtaining the funds necessary for the purchase and remodeling of our new home was put in the hands of a Drive Committee, who with the aid of an auxiliary committee, solicited funds from every member of the Lodge. The response was very gratifying, and a sum sufficient for the original estimate of cost was raised. The remodeling of the Engine House for Lodge purposes was put in the hands of a Building Committee, who had complete charge of the work. It seemed wise to them to make provision for our increasing numbers, and it was decided to go ahead on a somewhat larger scale than was at first contemplated. The original estimate was nearly doubled when the final figures of cost were in. We now ■have a Lodge-room of which we are proud, and one which will be sufficient for our needs for many years.
The passing years have seen our membership grow from ■sixteen Charter members to a Lodge of very nearly three hundred.
Our fiftieth anniversary is to be celebrated by the dedication of our new home.on June 2, 1924, at which time Cochichewick Lodge is to be honored by the presence of the Most Worshipful Dudley H. Ferrell, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, and his suite. In bringing this brief history of Cochichewick Lodge to I close, it is the wish of your Historical Committee that the same high ideals and ambitions of the pioneers of this Lodge may persist in our present and future members, and pat we may always be an example of upright manhood and patriotism to our community.
LOUIS WEIL 1828-1883
MM 1857, St. Matthew's
Worshipful Master, 1874, 1875.
Worshipful Brother Louis Weil, a Charter member and the first Master, 1874 and 1875, of Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M., was born in Baden, Germany. His father was a manufacturer. He was the youngest of the family and attended Heidelberg University for a time, but in 1849, with other adventurous youths seeking a more representative government, came to America. Here in a new land Louis Weil met and overcame many obstacles, making a real place for himself and identifying his life thoroughly with that of his adopted country. Eventually he established a clothing business in Lawrence, and lived in North Andover.
He had married Anna Moore Tuttle, of Revolutionary ancestry, and the union resulted in five children, Kate, George, Prank, Charles, and Fred. Dr. Frank E. Weil became Treasurer of Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M. The one surviving member of the family is the Rev. Fred Alban Weil, Minister of the historic First Parish Church, Quincy, Mass., and Chaplain of Rural Lodge, A.F. and A.M. of that city.
Those who knew Louis Weil are unanimous regarding his leading characteristic — a devoted love for his family. He was a good citizen, taking large part in moves for civic betterment. He had a pew in the North Parish Church at the Centre and, as revealed in his diary, was an interested attendant. The respect in which he was held, however, is measured by the fact that he became the first Master of Cochichewick Lodge, and this enduring memorial perpetuates his name.
Death came early to Louis Weil at his home, suddenly and peacefully, in 1883. As the world reckons he had not attained threescore years of life. Yet it is to be believed that with God he was found qualified to be raised to the sublime degree of immortality. The funeral at the house was conducted by the Rev. Chas. C. Vinal, a former minister of the North Parish Church. Although a Knight Templar and Thirty-second Degree Mason, by request of Louis Weil it was the Blue Lodge that represented Masonry. For him Masonry was a living command, and in and of all Masonry it was Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M., that occupied the Holy of Holies within his heart.
JOHN PARKHURST 1826-1917
MM 1870, Charles C. Dame
Worshipful Master, 1876, 1877.
Worshipful Brother John Parkhurst was born in Chelmsford, Mass., Dec. 30, 1826. After his schooling he learned the carpenter's trade at which he worked for some years, later entering the employ of the Byam & Carlton Match Company, working for them in Chelmsford. From there lie went to Boston where he worked for the same firm for a number of years. In Lowell, during March of 1862, he enlisted for nine months in the Sixth Regiment, Company K, and was with the Union Army in the Engineering Corps near Norfolk, Virginia. After returning from the service he worked at his trade for a while; later he was again employed by the Match Company in Boston. In 1869 the company sent him to Boxford as Superintendent of their branch factory, which position he held until the Match Company gave up their Boxford plant.
Brother Parkhurst was a Representative from the district of which Boxford was a part, a Democrat elected in a strong Republican district. For many years he served variously as Selectman, Assessor, and Overseer and was an Election Officer at the time of his death. Always interested in the town, he gave of his time and strength for its betterment. He became a member of the Chas. C. Dame Lodge in Georgetown, April 25, 1870, but resigned his membership there to help found Cochichewick Lodge, of which organization he was the second Worshipful Master, serving during 1876 and 1877, and but very few men now living knew of what he did for the betterment of the Lodge during the first few years of its infancy, for Brother Parkhurst was one who did not believe in proclaiming his deeds of charity from the housetop.
John Parkhurst was married to Elizabeth B. Pearson October 10, 1850, and the couple were blessed with five children, the following three of whom survived him at his death: Frank Leon, of Lawrence; John William, of Boxford; and Geo. Benjamin, also of Boxford. Brother Parkhurst died in Boxford, September 30, 1917, at the age of ninety years and nine months.
CHARLES PLUMMER MORRILL 1839-1913
Worshipful Brother Charles Plummer Morrill was born in Chesterville, Maine, September 13, 1839. His parents were prominent citizens of their generation, and children of the first settlers of that region. His father, who was a Baptist preacher, was Registrar of Deeds for Franklin County for many years, and was also Representative in the National Congress. Dr. Morrill was educated at the Old Farmington Academy, and later attended Bowdoin as a medical student until enlisting in the Union Army, where he served as hospital steward. His regiment served with General Banks' army in his campaign against Port Hudson. After his discharge from the army he became a clerk in the Treasury at Washington, and took courses at Georgetown University where he received his M.D. degree in 1866.
In November, 1866, he married Ellen S. Corbett of Farmington, Maine. He spent another year at Washington and then went to Minnesota, which was then the frontier, to see if the dry air of that region would improve his health.
In 1872 he came to North Andover, buying the house and practice of Dr. Davis, and for forty-one years he was an able and faithful physician in that place. Not only was respected as a physician, but as a confidential adviser he had the esteem of many families.
He was a member, and for many years an active member, of the Congregational Church, and it was his earnest wish to lead the life of a Christian gentleman. He served the town for twenty-five years as a member of the School Committee, also as a Trustee of the Public Library.
He was interested in town affairs and it was on his motion that the first piece of macadam road was put down in the town of North Andover. Dr. Morrill was a Warden at the time that Cochichewick Lodge was organized, and was elected Worshipful Master in 1878.
He was District Deputy Grand Master for the Tenth Masonic District in 1889 and 1890. He was High Priest in Mt. Sinai Royal Arch Chapter, and Eminent Commander of Bethany Commandery of Knights Templars. He kept his interest in Masonry throughout his life. He died at his home in North Andover June 27, 1913, leaving his wife (since deceased), two daughters: May (since deceased), Susan, now of Farmington, Maine, and one son, Charles, of Hyannis, Mass.
THOMAS KIMBALL GILMAN 1842-1912
MM 1864, Grecian
Worshipful Master, 1880, 1881.
Worshipful Brother Thomas Kimball Gilman, second son of William Allen and Lavinia (Emerson) Gilman, was born at Wells, Maine, August 11, 1841. At the age of fourteen years he came to North Andover, Mass., and re¬ceived his education in a private school. After completing his education he entered the employ of the Davis & Furber Machine Company. In 1874 he entered into business with his brother, William Edward Gilman, in Boston, where they conducted a wholesale leather business until the time of his death. Worshipful Brother Gilman took an active interest in civic affairs, and was Republican Representative from his district in the Massachusetts Legislature for two terms. He was a Charter member of Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M., and served as Master of his Lodge in 1880 and 1881.
May 30, 1864, he married Mary M. Fernandez, and they had one child, Miss Lavinia E. Gilman. Worshipful Brother Gilman died at his home in North Andover, January 7, 1912.
WILLIAM WALLACE CHICKERING 1848-1918
Worshipful Master, 1882, 1883.
Worshipful Brother William Wallace Chickering, the son of Charles and Priscilla (Holt) Chickering, was born in North Andover in 1844, on the ancestral farm lying along the Shawsheen River and the Old Railroad, now Railroad Avenue, between Greene Street and Den Rock. His father died when the son was but thirteen years old.
When the Civil War broke out, Worshipful Brother Chickering was among the first to volunteer from North Andover. He was seventeen years of age at this time, but I managed to pass muster as eighteen, the minimum for enlistment. He served with the Eleventh Massachusetts Infantry from the first Bull Run through the Wilderness, a period of three years and three months. His was the second regiment to go through Baltimore. In the twenty-two engagements known by name in which he participated, he was wounded only once and that on volunteer service. Only about six of his company, and something over two hundred of his regiment came through the war. He was for a few months a prisoner at Libby Prison, but was fortunate enough to be freed upon an exchange between the armies. He saw considerable service as a volunteer assistant in the hospital tents. Returning at the end of his enlistment, he went to work at the Davis & Furber Machine Company's shop at North Andover, and was with that concern until his death. He married Ruth A. Brierley in 1867 and had two sons, Arthur P. and Sydney H. Chickering, the latter of whom died in 1886. Mrs. Chickering died in 1905.
Worshipful Brother Chickering was for several years a Town Auditor in the days when the office consisted of three elected members. He was one of the first Library Trustees and was reelected to that Board until it was superseded by the Trustees of the Stevens Memorial Library. He never aspired to any other public office.
He was fond of books. With a remarkable capacity for application to reading, he had a very retentive memory. He became a close student of the war in which as a boy he had taken part. He was also a lover of the fields and woods, and spent much time in all seasons of the year tramping over the countryside. Withal he was a companionable man, to whom his friendships meant much.
Worshipful Brother Chickering received his Entered Apprentice degree on February 11, 1876; the Fellowcraft decree on March 17, 1876; and the Master Mason degree on April 14, 1876. He served as Worshipful Master of Cochichewick Lodge in 1882 and 1883.
He passed away at North Andover, Mass., on February 8, 1918.
LORING BAILEY REA 1850-1889
Worshipful Master, 1884.
Worshipful Brother Loring Bailey Rea was born in North Andover, Mass., March 23, 1850, the son of William and Harriet (Bradstreet) Rea. He was educated in the local schools, and spent the greater part of his life in North Andover where he was engaged in the farm and lumber business. He received his Entered Apprentice degree, January 6, 1875, Fellowcraft, February 10, 1875, and Master Mason, March 10, 1875. He served as Master in 1884. At the age of thirty-four he moved to the West where he purchased large cattle ranches, and also conducted a provision store at St. Paul, Minn. He married Miss Mary Downey at Miles City, Montana. He passed away at his home in Miles City in 1889 at the age of thirty-nine years.
CLINTON CARTER BARKER 1851-1887
Worshipful Master, 1885, 1886.
Worshipful Brother Clinton Carter Barker, a son of John and Mary (Longley) Barker, was born at North Andover, Mass., on May 31, 1851. He was educated in the public schools of his native town and Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass.
On June 1, 1881, he married Ella Friend. They had one son, Clinton Carter Barker, now of Salem, Mass.
Worshipful Brother Barker resided his entire life in North Andover, where he was engaged in farming with his father. In public office, he was a member of the first Board of Registrars, and was also a Selectman for three years.
He received his degrees in Cochichewick Lodge as follows : Entered Apprentice, June 1, 1877; Fellowcraft, June 29, 1877; and the Master Mason, July 27, 1877. He was a member of Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Lawrence Council of Royal and Select Masters, and Bethany Commandery, Knights Templars. He was a Charter member of North Andover Grange No. 128.
He served as Worshipful Master of Cochichewick Lodge in 1885 and 1886.
Worshipful Brother Barker died at his home in North Andover, Mass., on October 5, 1887.
CALVIN REA 1848-1934
Worshipful Master, 1887, 1888.
Worshipful Brother Calvin Rea, son of Aaron Gilbert, and Mary (Chickering) Rea, was born March 8, 1848, in North Andover, corner of Chestnut and Milk Streets in the old homestead which he now owns.
On November 17, 1858, he went to Boston to work as clerk and shipper. Leaving there in 1872 he returned to North Andover, and bought the meat business of his brother on Main Street, North Andover. He belonged to the Cochichewick Engine Company, also the Merrimack Engine Company before he left home, and when he returned to North Andover he belonged to the Eben Sutton Steam Fire Engine Company. He served as Foreman of the latter for five years.
Brother Rea has been married twice, his first wife being Clara C. Foss, whom he married September 10, 1873. His present wife was Nettie E. Mead, whom he married May 26 1880. He is the last of a family of eight children, seven brothers and one sister. He served as Selectman, Assessor, Overseer of the Poor, the Board of Health, and Registrar of Voters for a number of years. He took the valuation of the town in 1880 and 1900; was elected Representative to the General Court for Andover and North Andover in 1887.
On January 7, 1876, he was accepted and took the first degree in Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M. On February 7, took his second degree, and on March 3, 1876, was raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason. He was elected Worshipful Master in 1887 and 1888; on October 14, 1887, was presented with a Past Master's diploma by Brother Andrew C. Stone, District Deputy Grand Master for the Tenth Masonic District. On June 15, 1888, Brother Newton P. Frye, on behalf of the Lodge, presented him with a Past Master's jewel, which he prizes very highly.
In 1922 he was on the Committee of Three to buy the Cochichewick Engine House and land for which they paid $4,450.00. He was also on the Committee of Five to proceed with plans and have charge of the erecting of the new Masonic Temple; he was on a Committee of Three to raise the dues and fees to meet the extra expense of the new Lodge rooms, and was also elected on the Board of three Directors of Cochichewick Lodge Properties, Inc. Worshipful Brother Calvin Rea has the enviable distinction of being the oldest living Past Master of Cochichewick Lodge. He retains an active interest in its affairs and is a regular attendant at its meetings.
GEORGE IRVIN SMITH 1846-1923
Worshipful Master, 1889, 1890.
Worshipful Brother George Irvin Smith, the son of David C. and Louisa (Perley) Smith, was born in George¬town, Mass., on February 6, 1846.
During the Civil War he was a private in Company B of the 26th Regiment, New York Cavalry.
His residence was in North Andover for many years, and he followed the trade of machinist. He served the town in both the office of Chief of Police, and Chief of the Fire Department.
Worshipful Brother Smith was initiated an Entered Ap¬prentice in Cochichewick Lodge on August 3, 1877 ; passed to the degree of Fellowcraft September 7, 1877; and raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason, October 26, 1877. He was appointed Inside Sentinel by Right Worshipful Charles P. Morrill in 1879. He filled successively the various chairs and was elected Worshipful Master in 1889. He served the Lodge as its Master for two years, but declined to serve a third term to which he was elected.
He passed away at the home of his son, Right Worshipful Fred S. Smith, in North Andover on February 17, 1923.
JOHN BARKER 1845-1931
Worshipful Master, 1891, 1892.
Worshipful Brother John Barker, a son of John and Mary (Longley) Barker, was born in North Andover, Mass., on April 7, 1845. He was educated in the schools of North Andover. By occupation a farmer, he has been engaged in this work all his life.
On September 2, 1868, he married Kate Nason. They have no children.
Worshipful Brother Barker received his Entered Apprentice degree in Cochichewick Lodge on April 19, 1878; the Fellowcraft on May 17, 1878, and the Master Mason degree on June 14, 1878.
He received the York Rite degrees in Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters, and Bethany Commandery, Knights Templars.
He served Cochichewick Lodge as its Worshipful Master in 1891 and 1892. He still resides on his farm on Osgood Street, North Andover, Mass.
FRANK TISDALE 1850-1935
estimated date of death; demitted 1924
Worshipful Master, 1893, 1894.
Worshipful Brother Frank Tisdale, son of Warren and Mary (Howes) Tisdale, was born in Newburyport, Mass., September 1, 1850. He received his education in the public schools of his native city, and afterward took up the cotton mill business. In 1872 he moved to North Andover, and on November 1 he married Margaret Falla. By this marriage they had three children, Marietta, George War¬ren, and Mabel Bertha Tisdale.
After coming to North Andover, Brother Tisdale entered the employ of the Davis & Furber Machine Company, Card Clothing Department, where he has since been em¬ployed as card setter. He served as one of a Board of Five Engineers of the Eben Sutton Company, No. 1, of North Andover.
He took his degrees in Cochichewick Lodge as follows: Entered Apprentice, December 12, 1879; Fellowcraft, January 23, 1880; and Master Mason, February 20, 1880. He served the Lodge as its Worshipful Master in 1893 and 1894. He is also a member of Wauwinet Lodge No. Ill, I.O.O.F., North Andover.
GEORGE HENRY PERKINS 1831-1924
Born in North Andover, Mass., May 10, 1863, son of Apollos L. and Mary E. (Phelps) Perkins. He received a thorough education in the public schools of his native town, then, entering upon the business world, he chose a useful occupation, that of a druggist. For four years he was in the employ of E. J. Kelly, at that time a prominent druggist of Lawrence, and there, by diligent study, learned the business. In 1883 he started in the drug business for himself in North Andover, and for many years has held a leading position in this line in the town. lie is a member of the New England Druggists' Association and of the National Association of Retail Druggists. In his prominent position in business circles Brother Perkins was much in the public eye, and at the age of twenty-six years was elected Town Treasurer, which office he ably filled for thirty-two years.
Brother Perkins is a member of Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M., of North Andover, having taken his degrees as follows: Entered Apprentice, January 9, 1885; Fellowcraft, February 6, 1885; and Master Mason, March 13, 1885. He is also a Past Master of his Lodge, he has served as District Deputy Grand Master for the Tenth Masonic District, member of the Past Masters' Association of the Eleventh Masonic District of Massachusetts, member of Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters; Bethany Commandery No. 17, Knights Templars, Lowell Lodge of Perfection; Lowell Council, Princes of Jerusalem; Mt. Calvary Chapter, Rose Croix; Massachusetts Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, holding the Thirty-second Masonic degree. He is also a member of Aleppo Temple, A.A.O.N.M.S. of Boston, member of Wauwinet Lodge, LO.O.P. No. Ill, of North Andover, and Kearsarge Encampment No. 36, of Lawrence, Mass. During the World War Brother Perkins was active in the many movements in support of the Allied Forces, and was a member of the Public Safety Committee. Brother Perkins married in 1889, Lillian Berry of North Andover, and they have one son, Lyman G.
GEORGE ALBERT REA 1852-1909
Worshipful Master, 1897, 1898.
Worshipful Brother George Albert Rea, the son of William and Harriet (Bradstreet) Rea, was born at North Andover, Mass., February 5, 1852.
He was educated in the schools of North Andover, and also attended Bryant and Stratton's Commercial College, of Boston. He was for some time a member of the Andover Brass Band. For a number of years he was employed by the grocery firm of Smith and Manning of Andover. He afterward purchased the old Rea homestead, and for the remainder of his life he was engaged in the farming, wood and lumber business.
The Rea Brothers at one time ran a large milk business in Lawrence. He served the town as Forest Warden for a number of years, and was instrumental in causing the electric car line from Lawrence to Salem to be built.
In 1886 he joined Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M., of North Andover, and took his Entered Apprentice degree March 26, 1886; his Fellowcraft, April 23, 1886; Master Mason, May 21, 1886. In 1897 and 1898 he served as Worshipful Master of his Lodge.
Brother Rea married Miss Eva Wilson of Franklin, Vt. He passed away April 2, 1909, survived by his wife, a daughter, Bessie E., and a son, George A. Rea, all of whom reside at the old homestead.
SAMUEL DWIGHT BERRY 1868-1946
Worshipful Master, 1899, 1900.
Worshipful Brother Samuel Dwight Berry was born in Noi'th Andover, Mass., November 23, 1867, the son of Albert and Mary (Perley) Berry. He was educated in the public schools of North Andover, and at the age of twenty-five he was placed in charge of his father's farm on Salem Turnpike and Berry Street, North Andover. He success¬fully conducted the business until 1909, when he sold it, and removed to Andover, Mass., where he now resides. He was married June 6, 1894, to Mary E. Nason, and they have four children. He has served North Andover as a Selectman and Overseer of the Poor.
Worshipful Brother Berry received his Entered Apprentice degree in Cochichewick Lodge on December 11, 1891; his Fellowcraft degree, January 8, 1892; and his Master Mason degree, February 12, 1892.
He served as Worshipful Master in 1899 and 1900, and continuously as Treasurer from 1900 to 1920. He is a member of the Andover Square and Compass Club, the Andover Club, and is a Past Master of the North Andover Grange.
WILLIAM HALLIDAY, JR. 1853-1913
Worshipful Master, 1901, 1902.
Worshipful Brother William Halliday was born June 13, 1853, at North Andover, Mass. He was the son of William and Jane (Lawrence) Halliday. He was educated in the public schools of North Andover, and was employed on clerical work in the Davis & Furber Machine Company from 1879 to 1898. He later entered the employ of J. W. Leitch & Son, and there held the position of bookkeeper until 1912, when he resigned to become a member of the firm of the North Andover Coal Company. He was actively engaged in this business up to the time of his death.
He served several terms in the Massachusetts Legislature as Representative from Andover and North Andover.
Worshipful Brother Halliday was a member of Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M.; Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters; and Bethany Commandery, Knights Templars. He received his degrees in Cochichewick Lodge as follows: Entered Apprentice, January 28, 1887; Fellowcraft, March 4, 1887; and Master Mason, April 22, 1887. He served Cochichewick Lodge as its Worshipful Master in 1901 and 1902.
Brother Halliday was a member and Past Grand of Wauwinet Lodge No. Ill, I.O.O.F. In 1874 he married Carrie E. Wills who survives him. Brother Halliday passed away at Ocean Park, Maine, September 23, 1917.
JAMES WILLIAM LEITCH 1858-1932
Worshipful Master, 1903, 1904.
Worshipful Brother James William Leitch, sou of William and Mary Leitch, was born in Andover, Mass., on December 12, 1858. He was educated in the grammar and high schools of Andover, and lived in Andover until 1882, when he married Elizabeth Watson and removed to North Andover. He was employed as tinsmith at the plant of the Davis & Furber Machine Company, afterward resigning from this company to enter into business for himself in North Andover. He has built up a large business in plumbing, heating, and hardware and a garage service, which he now carries on.
Worshipful Brother Leitch served as Town Clerk of North Andover for seventeen years, and was Inspector of Plumbing for several years. He is a member of Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M.; Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters; Bethany Commandery, Knights Templars, and Aleppo Temple of Boston, A.A.O.N.M.S.; also a member of Wauwinet Lodge No. Ill, I.O.O.F., and a member of North Andover Grange. He received his Masonic degrees as follows: Entered Apprentice, March 31, 1893; Fellowcraft, April 28, 1893; Master Mason, May 26, 1893. He served Cochichewick Lodge as Worshipful Master in 1903 and 1904. Brother Leitch has two children, William J. who is associated with him in business in North Andover, and Harold W., of Franklin, N. H.
FRED STEVENS SMITH 1870-1932
Worshipful Master, 1905, 1906.
District Deputy Grand Master, Tenth Masonic District, 1916, 1917.
Right Worshipful Brother Fred Stevens Smith was born in North Andover, Mass., May 6, 1870, his parents being Worshipfui Brother George I. Smith, and Laura (Stevens) Smith. He attended the local schools, Phillips Andover Academy, and the Harvard Medical School from which he graduated in 1895. Since his graduation from college he has been a practicing physician in North Andover. January 22, 1907, he married Helen Josselyn, of North Andover, and they have two children, Jocelyn and Frances. During the World War he was a member of the Public Safety Committee, and also acted in an advisory capacity to the Selective Draft Commission. Dr. Smith has been a member of the School Committee of the town of North Andover continuously from 1897.
He is a member of the Massachusetts Medical Society, the American Medical Association, the North Andover Club, Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. and A.M., and Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons. He served as Worshipful Master of Cochichewick Lodge in 1905 and 1906; was appointed District Deputy Grand Master for the Eleventh Masonic District in 1916 and 1917.
He received his Masonic degrees as follows: Entered Apprentice, January 7, 1898; Fellowcraft, February 4, 1898; Master Mason, March 4, 1898. Right Worshipful Brother Smith is the President and a Director of the Cochichewick Lodge Properties, Incorporated.
ROLAND ABBOTT PRESCOTT 1874-1948
Worshipful Master, 1907, 1908.
Worshipful Brother Roland Abbott Prescott, the son of Abbott and Lydia A. (Gale) Prescott, was born in North Andover, Mass., November 13, 1874, he being a descendant of the first settlers of the town. He received his early education in the public schools of the town and later attended Cannon's Commercial College of Lawrence. In 1895 he became associated with the Essex Company, of Lawrence, entering the accounting department in 1896. In 1910 he became Cashier, which position he still holds. On December 10, 1906, Brother Prescott married Jessie J. Pedler, the daughter of Wm. S. Pedler, of Lawrence.
Brother Prescott is a Director of the Bay State National Bank of Lawrence, and a Trustee of the Lawrence Savings Bank. He is a member of Wauwinet Lodge No. 111, I.O.O.F., of North Andover, Mass., of which he is Past Grand; of Kearsarge Encampment No. 36, and the Merrimack Valley Country Club. He also belongs to the following Masonic bodies, Cochichewick Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of North Andover; Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters, Bethany Commandery No. 17, Knights Templars, Lowell Lodge of Perfection; Lowell Council, Princes of Jerusalem; Mt. Calvary Chapter of Rose Croix; Massachusetts Consistory Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, holding the Thirty-second degree. He is also a member of Aleppo Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S., Lawrence Chapter, O.E.S., Past Masters' Association of the Eleventh Masonic District, and a Director of the Lawrence Masonic Association. He received his degrees in Cochichewick Lodge as follows: Entered Apprentice, March 21, 1902, Fellowcraft, April 18, 1902; Master Mason, May 16, 1902.
Worshipful Brother Prescott served Cochichewick Lodge as its Worshipful Master in 1907 and 1908.
WILLIAM MORTON McQUESTEN 1873-1955
Worshipful Master, 1909, 1910.
Worshipful Brother William Morton McQuesten, oldest son of Solon F. and Sarah A. (Morton) McQuesten, was born in North Andover, Mass., Dec. 24, 1873. He received his education in the public schools of his native town, and afterward entered the employ of the Lawrence Gas Company. Through promotions in this company, Brother McQuesten is today superintendent of the gas department. He was a Trustee of the North Andover Public Library for a term of years, and has held no other public office.
He received his degrees in Cochichewick Lodge as fol¬lows : Entered Apprentice, January 7, 1898; Fellowcraft, February 4, 1898; Master Mason, March 4, 1898. A member of Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, he is also a member of Monadnock Lodge, I.O.O.F. No. 145, of Lawrence. He was Master of Cochichewick Lodge in 1909 and 1910.
January 8, 1900, Brother McQuesten married Edith M. Brown, and their children are Carolyn, H. Morton, and S. Franklin. The family home is at 34 Marston Street, Lawrence.
FRANK MILTON BLACKSTOCK 1860-1958
Worshipful Master, 1911.
Worshipful Brother Frank Milton Blackstock was born in Amesbury, Massachusetts, February 27, 1860, the son of John H. and Henrietta Blackstock. He was educated in the grammar schools of his native town, and afterward learned the trade of hat finishing. Seeking a change of work, he became a motorman on the lines of the old Lowell Lawrence and Haverhill Street Railway, now a part of the Eastern Massachusetts Street Railway. At one time Wor. Bro. Blackstock was assistant superintendent of the Lawrence Division.
He afterward took up farming, and is now located at Londonderry, N. H. He married Anna Louise Cooper, February 25, 1902. Their five children are, Mildred (deceased), F. Allison, Milton, Frederick, and Beatrice. Wor. Bro. Blackstock became a member of Cochichewick Lodge in 1903, taking his Entered Apprentice degree April 10, 1903, Fellowcraft, May 8, 1903, and Master Mason, June 5, 1903. He was Master of his Lodge for the year 1911.
WILLIAM EDWARD HELLIWELL 1878-1929
Worshipful Master, 1912, 1913.
Worshipful Brother William Edward Helliwell, third I and youngest son of Edward and Ann E. (Hall) Helliwell, was born September 23, 1878, at Leeds, England. His father was a woolen manufacturer, and a member of several Masonic bodies. He was educated at St. Peter's schools, Morley, Yorkshire, England, and afterwards learned the woolen business. He served in the English Army in South Africa during the Boer War, 1901 and 1902. He came to the United States in 1902 and located North Andover in 1903. In 1910 he married Miss Jennie M. King of Lawrence. During his seventeen years in North Andover he was a member of St. Paul's Church, clerk of the parish, and a vestryman for several years. He had a license from Bishop Lawrence as lay-reader. For several years he was a member of the Advisory Board of the Town of North Andover, also a member of the School Committee, a charter member and one of the founders of the North Andover Club, and a past President of that organization.
He is a member of Cochichewick Lodge, and took his Entered Apprentice degree April 14, 1905, his Fellowcraft, May 12, 1905, and Master Mason, June 16, 1905. He served as Master of Cochichewick Lodge in 1912 and 1913, also District Deputy Grand Marshal in 1916 and 1917 to Wor. Bro. F. S. Smith. On appointment as agent to the Riverside Mills, of the American Woolen Company, of Providence, R. L, he took up his residence in that city in 1920, residing there at present. He is a member of the Turk's Head, Metacomet Golf, Old Colony, British Empire, and North Andover Clubs. He is also a member of Harmony Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Pawtucket, R. I.
WILLIAM DREW RUNDLETT 1864-1933
Worshipful Master, 1914, 1915.
Worshipful Brother William Drew Rundlett, son of William F. and Sarah A. (Drew) Rundlett, was born in Exeter, N. H., September 23, 1864. He was educated in the grammar and high schools of his native town. He took up the occupation of pattern-maker and, in 1887, machine designing. He carried on his work in different places, and in 1892 he came to the plant of the Davis & Furber Machine Company, of North Andover, Mass. In 11)20 he resigned to go to the James Hunter Machine Company, North Adams, Mass.
In 1891 Brother Rundlett married Mabel Howe Chase of Lowell, Mass. Two children were born of this marriage, Muriel Chase Rundlett and Christine (deceased).
He became a member of Cochichewick Lodge, A. F. and A. M., in 1899, taking his degrees as follows: Entered Apprentice, March 24, 1899; Fellowcraft, April 21, 1899, and Master Mason May 19, 1899.
He became a member of Mt. Sinai Royal Arch Chapter, of Lawrence, and was afterwards dimitted, and in 1923 admitted to Composite Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, of North Adams. He served as Master of Cochichewick Lodge in 1914 and 1915. He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce of North Adams, North Adams Hospital Association, First Unitarian Church of North Adams, and a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
STEPHEN DeMERRITTE GAGE 1874-1939
Worshipful Master, 1916.
Worshipful Brother Stephen DeMerritte Gage, son of Edwin V. and Martha J. (DeMerritte) Gage, was born January 4, 1874, at Durham, N. H. He attended the public schools at Bradford, Mass., and graduated from the Bradford High School in 1892. He afterwards attended e Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and graduated 1896 with the degree of S. B. Also while at Massachusetts Institute of Technology he specialized in chemistry and bacteriology. In 1896 Brother Gage entered the employ of the Massachusetts State Department of Health as Assistant Bacteriologist, stationed at Lawrence, then Bi¬ologist and Principal Assistant until 1914.
Since May, 1914, he has been Chief Chemist and Sani¬tary Engineer of the Rhode Island State Board of Health and Director of the Division of Chemical and Sanitary Engineering of that Board. Also acting as (ex officio) Sanitary Engineer of Khode Island Board of Purification of Waters, and Rhode Island Board of Commissioners of Shell Fisheries.
Worshipful Brother Gage has written several scientific papers, etc., on Water Supply, Sewage Disposal, and other Sanitary and Public Health topics.
He retains membership in professional societies as follows: Fellow American Public Health Association, member American Chemical Society, New England Water Works Association, National Geographic Society, American Association for Promotion of Hygiene and Public Baths, Providence Engineering Society, Fitzgerald Medallist, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, 1919, Chairman Lawrence Section, Boston Society of Civil Engineers, 1918, Chairman Municipal Section of Providence Engineering Society, 1923. Brother Gage took his degrees in Cochichewick Lodge as J follows: Entered Apprentice, January 19, 1906; Fellowcraft, March 9, 1906; Master Mason, April 6. 1906. He served as Master of his Lodge in 1916.
He became a member of Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, in 1909, Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters 1909, Bethany Commandery, Knights Templars, 1909. December 23, Brother Gage married Arrabella Menter, of Bradford, Mass. Their children are Martha DeMerritte, Stephen DeMerritte (deceased), Ruth Erdine, and John Albert. Their home is at Edgewood, Cranston, Rhode Island.
HERBERT EUGENE McQUESTEN 1882-1948
Worshipful Master, 1917, 1918.
Worshipful Brother Herbert Eugene McQuesten, a son of Solon and Sarah (Morton) McQuesten, was born in Lawrence, Mass., September 17, 1882. His parents moved to North Andover in 1884, where he received his education in the public schools of the town. In 1901 he entered the employ of the Lawrence Gas Company, in the electrical department, and remained with this company twelve years. He resigned to enter the meat and provision business in North Andover.
During the World War, Worshipful Brother McQuesten was Chairman of the Food Administration of North Andover. In 1910 he served on the Board of Registrars of Voters in North Andover. He is affiliated with several organizations, being a member of Cochichewick Lodge, of forth Andover, having taken his Entered Apprentice degree, December 28, 1906, Fellowcraft, January 25, 1907, Id Master Mason, February 22, 1907. He is also a member of Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters, Bethany Commandery No. 17, Knights Templars, Aleppo Temple, A.A.O.N.M.S., of Boston. He is a Past Grand of Wauwinet Lodge, I.O.O.F., of North Andover, and a member of the North Andover Club. In 1917 Worshipful Brother McQuesten became Master of Cochichewick Lodge, which office he held for two years. June 8, 1910, he married Carolyn Lenora White of North Andover. They have one child, Harriet White McQuesten.
FRANK ERNEST WALLWORK 1880-1964
Worshipful Master, 1919, 1920.
Worshipful Brother Frank Ernest Wallwork, youngest son of David William and Mary Jane Wallwork, was born in North Andover, Mass., October 27, 1880. He received his education in the public schools of his native town, and later entered the employ of the Davis & Furber Machine Company, of North Andover, in the card clothing department, where he is still employed as a card setter.
Worshipful Brother Wallwork took his degrees in Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. & A.M., as follows: Entered Apprentice, March 15, 1907; Fellowcraft, April 26, 1907, and Master Mason, May 24, 1907. He was Worshipful Master of his Lodge in 1919 and 1920. He is also a member of Wauwinet Lodge No. 111, I.O.O.F., of North Andover, and Kearsarge Encampment No. 36, of Lawrence. On November 23, 1904, he married Margaret Belle Roberts of North Andover. They have two children, David William and Frank Ernest, Jr.
GEORGE ALBERT REA 1887-1980
Worshipful Master, 1921, 1922.
Worshipful Brother George Albert Kea, son of Worshipful Brother George A. and Eva H. (Wilson) Rea, was horn in North Andover, Mass., February 5, 1887. He was educated in the public and high schools of his native town, graduating in 1904. He afterward attended Salem Commercial School, and graduated from there in 1901. Upon the death of his father he took over the care of the farm, this farm having been in the Rea family for many years. Worshipful Brother Rea is a member of Cochichewick Lodge, A.F. & A.M., and received his degrees as follows: Entered Apprentice, March 25, 1910; Fellowcraft, April 22,1910; Master Mason, May 20, 1910. He was elected Master of his Lodge for the years 1921 and 1922. He is also a Past Master of North Andover Grange. He served as Forest Warden of the Town of North Andover for five years. On April 28, 1923, he married Charlotte Perley of Boxford, Mass., and they have one daughter. One thing worthy of mention concerning Worshipful Brother Rea is the fact that he was greatly responsible for the fine home of Cochichewick Lodge today. When the Town of North Andover decided to dispose of the Cochichewick No. 2 Engine House, Worshipful Brother Rea was serving his second year as Master. Having in mind the need of better and larger quarters for our Lodge, he realized this might be an opportunity for us to acquire a meeting place of our own.
He called together his officers, and was instrumental in arranging with them a feasible plan to obtain this property. Upon presentation to the members, the plan was adopted with the result that the splendid building which we now occupy is the property of Cochichewick Lodge.
WALTER LEMUEL HAWKES 1879-1970
Worshipful Master, 1923, 1924.
Junior Grand Steward 1925.
Worshipful Brother Walter Lemuel Hawkes, a son of Winslow Hawkes, Jr., and Lucy (Nichols) Hawkes, was born at South Windham, Maine, on July 27, 1879. He was educated at the Friends' School, Providence, Rhode Island, and at the Young Men's Christian Association College at Springfield, Mass., from which he graduated in 1906. By occupation he is a bond salesman.
He married Beulah Stone Ellison of North Andover on July 6, 1909, and they have five children, Arthur W., Frances, James Ellison, Richard R., and Lucy Hawkes. He has resided in North Andover since 1907, and has never held any public office.
Worshipful Brother Hawkes received his Entered Ap¬prentice degree in Cochichewick Lodge on May 9, 1913; the Fellowcraft on June 13, 1913; and the Master Mason degree on September 12, 1913.
In 1922 he was elected Worshipful Master of Cochichewick Lodge, and at the time of our fiftieth anniversary is its presiding Master.
FREDERICK PLUMMER HANNAFORD 1832-1911
MM 1866, St. Matthew's
Brother Frederick Plummer Hannaford was born at Billerica, Mass., December 1, 1832. His parents were William Hannaford and Mehitabel (Heath) Hannaford. After attending the public schools in Billerica, he came to North Andover at the age of sixteen to learn the trade of harness making from George French. During his apprenticeship he received his board as his wages, and was allowed to at¬tend the public schools. On Saturdays, he would take his gun and walk to Billerica to see his mother, and would return in the same way. He eventually succeeded his employer, and took James McDonald as his partner in the business of harness making and carriage painting. Brother Hannaford married Sarah Maria Jordan. Their children are: Charles Orville; Frederick Russell; George Nelson; Helen Gertrude and Mabel Maria Hannaford, the first three deceased. Brother Hannaford resided in North Andover continuously from 1848 to the date of his death, with the exception of one year, 1857, when he lived in Methuen. He was for a time engineer of Cochichewick Engine Co., No. 2.
Brother Hannaford received the degree of Master Mason on June 28, 1866, in St. Matthew's Lodge of Andover. He was a Charter member of Cochichewick Lodge, and was the first Tyler, a position which he held continuously until the time of his death, which occurred February 28, 1911, at his home in North Andover.
FRANK DUDLEY FOSTER 1836-1929
MM, St. Matthew's, 1866
Organist, since 1890.
Brother Prank Dudley Foster's name first appears in the records of Cochichewick Lodge as Organist on September 23, 1874. He became affiliated with our Lodge on February 15, 1878. He was appointed Organist of Cochichewick Lodge by Wor. Bro. George I. Smith on. November 5, 1890, since which time he has continuously held this office. A sketch of his life is best told in his own words:
"I was born at Billerica, Mass., August 30, 1836. My father was Dudley Foster who descended from Reginald Foster, one of the early settlers of Ipswich, Mass. My mother was a descendant of Thomas Pollard, who came from Coventry, England, and settled in the north part of Billerica, Mass., in 1692. His farm was in the possession of the Pollard family for more than two hundred years. My school education was in the Billerica schools, and continued until the close of the second year at the high, when the master came to my desk one fine day and left thereon a huge Greek lexicon. I then took a long vacation, not yet completed.
"After leaving school I went to Boston where I worked three years, when I was ordered to quit by Dr. Bickford, of Charlestown, who found my condition very unsatisfactory from his point of view as a physician. I kept no diary at that time, and can say very little about myself at the time when most men are having the most enjoyment of their lives.
I know I had to loaf for many months after I went back to Billerica. Then I did the work of the Post Office at Billerica Centre for four years, and afterward was book¬keeper at a retail grocery at North Billerica. While I was in Boston I devoted some time to the piano and organ, but could not get the opportunity for practice that is required before anyone can be called proficient in either. The thought of working only ten hours a day had much influence in causing me to seek employment in a machine shop. I came to North Andover in March, 1866, and was made a Mason in St. Matthew's Lodge the same year. I applied for membership in Grecian Lodge not long after my initiation, because it was so much nearer home.
"I have been Organist in Grecian Lodge, Mt. Sinai Chapter, and Bethany Commandery, all of Lawrence, and for several years while I was young in Masonry I played occasionally at each of the Blue Lodges of Lawrence.
Now that I am old my regard for Masonry is stronger than ever. If any Mason does not appreciate the Order to which he belongs, let him consider the confusion and distress of the nations, and be glad that there is one institution that is trying to promote peace on earth, and goodwill among men."
ALBERT BRAINERD 1845-1917
Secretary, since 1896.
Bro. Albert Brainerd, eldest son of Albert William and Maria (Sears) Brainerd, was born in Lawrence, Mass., November 3, 1869. He attended the public schools of Lawrence and North Andover, Cannon's Commercial School of Lawrence, also courses in efficiency and business. He entered the employ of the Pacific Mills, and succeeded his father as overseer of carding, which position he holds at present.
Brother Brainerd is a member of Cochichewick Lodge A. F. & A. M., receiving the Entered Apprentice degree, June 19, 1896; Fellowcraft, Sept. 18, 1896; and the Master Mason, October 16, 1896. November 4 of the same year he was elected Secretary of this Lodge, which position he has held continuously to this time. He is also a member of Mt. Sinai Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, Lawrence Council, Royal and Select Masters, Bethany Commandery, Knights Templars No. 17, Aleppo Temple, A.A.O.N.M.S. of Boston, Lowell Lodge of Perfection; Lowell Council, Princes of Jerusalem; Mt. Calvary Chapter of Rose Croix, of Lowell, and Massachusetts Consistory, Boston.
At one time he was a member of the Dennett Sword Corps of Lawrence. He has never held any public office. Brother Brainerd is not married. His home is on Marblehead Street, North Andover, Mass.
75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1949
From Proceedings, Page 1949-82:
By Brother G. Howard Curry.
The first recorded Masonic meeting in North Andover was held on January 22, 1823. This was a meeting of what was soon to become Saint Matthew's Lodge of Andover, North Andover and Andover being then one village. Later they became two separate towns, but the Masons residing in North Andover remained under the jurisdiction of Andover until 1874 when steps were inaugurated to form a new Lodge in North Andover.
Volume I of the records of Cochichewick Lodge contains the following account of the formation:
Origin of Cochichewick Lodge
On the 20th day of May, Anno Lucius 5874, the following named Master Masons, residents of North Andover, assembled in Engine Hall No. 2, viz.: Louis Weil, Joseph F. Allen, Charles F. Johnson, John Parkhurst, Horace Whitcomb, Hiram Berry, Joseph N. Taylor, William Halliday and Francis F. Dole. The object of the meeting was to consider the necessity and propriety of forming a new Masonic Lodge in North Andover. The subject had already been discussed with the members of St. Matthew's Lodge residing in North Andover, and there seemed to be a decided and almost unanimous sentiment in favor of forming the Lodge.
Feeling that they were upon all fair and Masonic considerations warranted in taking active measures for the formation of a new Lodge, Louis Weil was chosen Chairman of the meeting, and Charles F. Johnson Secretary. It was voted that a petition in due form be presented to the Grand Master of Massachusetts for a dispensation. It was further voted that the Lodge asked for should be called Cochichewick Lodge, and the following brethren were nominated and appointed the first three officers: Brother Louis Weil, Master; Brother Joseph F. Allen, Senior Warden; Brother John Parkhurst, Junior Warden. It was also agreed that the day of meeting should be the Wednesday on or before the full moon of each month.
The petition was presented for permission and approval to St. Matthew's Lodge at a regular meeting held May 25th, Anno Lucius 5874. The petition received the approval and hearty sympathy of the Lodge. It was approved by the District Deputy Grand Master, Joseph Sidney Howe, on the 2nd day of June, Anno Lucius 5874, and was presented to Most Worshipful Grand Master Sereno Dwight Nickerson June 2nd Anno Lucius 5874. A dispensation was received from the Most Worshipful Grand Master on the 3rd day of June, A. L. 5874, said dispensation being dated June 2nd Anno Lucius 5874.
Meetings began immediately, and three special communications were held on the 3rd, 10th and 17th of June for the purpose of getting the new Lodge under way and to practice opening and closing. The first regular communication was held on Wednesday, June 24, 1874.
Two applicants for degrees appear in the records of the second regular meeting of July 22nd, but neither was accepted.
The third regular meeting, on August 26th, saw five applicants for the degrees. The first name read was that of Stephen William Ingalls, who was accepted and successively became the first candidate to be initiated, passed and raised in the new Lodge, in September, October and November of 1874.
At the regular communication of September 23, 1874, a Bible was presented by Saint Matthew's Lodge, accompanied by the following letter:
To the Master, Wardens, and members of Cochichewick Lodge, North Andover:
Desiring in some manner to express our good will towards you, and our best wishes for the success of the arduous undertaking in which you have engaged, we, the members of St. Matthew's Lodge have decided that we could not make you a more useful or appropriate gift than this Bible, Masonry's "Great Light", for by a steady observance of its teachings, you will learn how to tread that path in which all good men and Masons should walk. With it you have the fullest assurance of the brotherly love of St. Matthew's Lodge towards you, and of its desire that both Lodges may work side by side assisting each other to hold before the world all the Masonic virtues, and to make Masonry what it should be, an honored institution in the land. Whenever you can make it convenient to visit us, you may be sure of a hearty welcome.
Again extending you our best wishes for your future prosperity, and trusting that we may all unite in spreading the cement of brotherly love, we remain, yours fraternally,
Members of St. Matthew's Lodge
This same September meeting saw the first working of a degree by the new Lodge, the Entered Apprentice Degree being conferred on two candidates. Present at this meeting was the District Deputy Grand Master, Joseph Sidney Howe, and his suite, 66 visitors and two members and the officers of Cochichewick Lodge.
On Friday evening, November 27, 1874, Stephen William Ingalls became the first Master Mason to be raised in Cochichewick Lodge. He was followed by Henry Keniston, who afterwards provided a collation for the 63 persons present. The records show that the cost of this was $23.00, and the Lodge gave Brother Keniston a vote of thanks.
Activity continued high throughout the fall and winter, and the records show that during the first year, while the Lodge was working under dispensation, there were 12 regular and 34 special communications held, or virtually one a week.
The 24th of June, 1875, marked the formal inauguration of Cochichewick Lodge. The Secretary's records say that this was a general holiday in North Andover, with the mills and shops shut down and flags flying in every direction. Participating in the ceremonies were Bethany Commandery of Lawrence, acting as escort for the Grand Lodge Officers, with 18 musicians and mustering 90 Knights; Winslow Lewis Commandery of Salem, with 24 musicians and mustering 100 Knights; St. Matthew's Lodge of Andover with 70 members in attendance, and Cochichewick Lodge, accompanied by the Boxford Brass Band.
The records note that about ten o'clock a.m. Bethany Commandery of Lawrence arrived in horse cars at the Depot Village and then marched to the Centre, where they were entertained at the home of Sir Knight Horace N. Stevens. At about half past eleven, a special train from Salem arrived at the Marble Ridge Depot, carrying the members of Winslow Lewis Commandery. They were met by Bethany Commandery and escorted to the home of Horace N. Stevens, and there partook of refreshments. Accordingly, Brother Stevens must have played host to about 230 persons, which would seem to indicate that he was probably a very busy man that day.
While this was going on, Cochichewick Lodge met Saint Matthew's Lodge near the residence of the late James Stevens and escorted them to the Brick Block, where the new lodge hall had been furnished and was to be dedicated. The Commanderies repaired to the vestry of the Unitarian Church, where more refreshments were provided for them.
The ceremonies in the Brick Block consisted of the reception to the Grand Lodge Officers, prayer by the Chaplain, opening hymn, the consecration rites of Corn, Wine and Oil, the Constitution of the new Lodge and the closing hymn. A procession was then formed and marched around the Common to the Unitarian Church, where Louis Weil was installed as the first Master of Cochichewick Lodge. Also installed were Joseph F. Allen, Senior Warden; John Parkhurst, Junior Warden; Horace N. Stevens, Treasurer; Charles F. Johnson, Secretary; Robert Brookhouse, Jr., Senior Deacon; Stephen W. Ingalls, Junior Deacon; Charles P. Morrill, Chaplain; Joseph M. Taylor, Marshal; Isaac S. Dixon, Senior Steward; Henry Newhall, Junior Steward; Matthew S. Dixon, Inside Sentinel; Frederick P. Hannaford, Tyler.
The principal address of the day was delivered by Dr. George B. Loring, who spoke of the obligations which the new Lodge had assumed, the high character of the fraternity, and the benefit which the town might derive from the existence of the organization.
The procession was again formed and marched to the Town Hall, where 500 persons sat down to a banquet served by J. B. Smith of Boston. After the banquet, we read that "the Sir Knights, and members of the fraternity were hospitably entertained by Colonel Eben Sutton, who kept open house, and in his dining room guests from all organizations found a hearty welcome and merry good cheer." Cochichewick and St. Matthew's Lodges then escorted the Salem Commandery group to Stevens Village, where all were handsomely entertained by Honorable Moses T. Stevens. The Salem visitors then departed and Cochichewick Lodge escorted St. Matthew's Lodge back to the Centre, from whence the Andover Brethren departed by teams for home. In the meantime, the Lawrence Knights, on their way home, stopped off at the home of Brother John A. Wiley, where presumably more good cheer was forthcoming.
After reading the full account of the celebration, we may certainly conclude that the new Lodge was constituted in a proper manner, and that the day must have lingered long in the memory of all who were present.
During the first ten or twelve years of its existence, the Lodge was helped immeasurably by many gifts from its members. Not only money, but furnishings, ornaments, pictures and kitchen equipment were freely given so that the Lodge was very soon free of debt and the proud possessor of considerable material wealth. Its greatest asset, however, was the caliber of the officers and members during those early days. The foundation these men worked to build was good and solid; it established the pattern for those to follow, and set up usages and traditions which are reflected in the strong and prosperous Lodge we see today.
All members are familiar with the annual Ladies' night we have today. Here is an account of one of the earliest social evenings. "A Sociable was held in Masonic Hall, Wednesday evening, January 7, 1880. Members with their families, about one hundred and thirty in number, thronged the apartments of the Lodge. After a season of mutual congratulations, Worshipful Master Thomas K. Gilman called the assembly to order, after which came vocal numbers as follows: Trio, "The Queen of the Night," Mrs. Hill, Mrs. Pulsifer, Mrs. Butterworth; Quartette, "The Tattlers," Mr. and Mrs. Butterworth, Mrs. Hill, Mr. Thomas B. Pollard.
"Brother Gen. Eben Sutton then stepped forward, and in behalf of the Lodge presented Past Master Charles P. Morrill with a Past Master's Jewel. The presentation was accompanied with a neat speech, to which the recipient fittingly responded. The gift was of a chaste design. On the front it bears the inscription 'Cochichewick — Charles P. Morrill,' on the reverse 'Cochichewick Lodge — Worshipful Brother Charles P. Morrill, Past Master — 1878 — North Andover, Mass. — 1879.'
"Previous to intermission, there was a duet, 'A Swiss Song,' by Mr. and Mrs. Drake.
"The program after intermission we append; song, 'A Half Bushel,' Mr. Drake; reading, 'A Norman Baron,' by George N. Cross, finely rendered; Solo, 'Only a Gray Hair, Darling,' by Mrs. Pulsifer; reading, 'The Charity Dinner,' by George N. Cross; song, 'The Lady Auctioneer,' by Mrs. Drake. Frank D. Foster acted as accompanist.
"An elegant collation in the banquet hall agreeably supplemented the literary exercises."
In 1883 the Lodge had 74 members, and the District Deputy Grand Master, in his annual official visit, noted that the average attendance for the past year had been twenty-five.
Starting in 1889, and continuing intermittently for many years, there was considerable agitation for improved quarters, or even a change in location to the lower part of the town. Because of the cost, no action was taken. In 1907, however, the lodge hall was refurnished and electricity installed. At that time the Lodge was paying $65.00 per year rent and indignation was expressed when the landlord wanted to raise the rent to $85.00 coincident with the improvement. They finally compromised on $75.00 per year, and a five year lease was signed dating from January 1, 1907.
In 1916 there were only two charter members alive. They were Charles F. Johnson, who had been Secretary for the first twenty years, and Worshipful John Parkhurst, who had been the second Master. They were elected honorary members at the regular meeting of April 14, 1916. Brother Johnson died shortly afterward, on May 16th, and Brother Parkhurst died on September 30, 1917, at the age of 90 years and 9 months, the last charter member of Cochichewick Lodge.
On April 6, 1922, a special communication was called by the then Worshipful Master, George A. Rea. It had been learned that the town was going to sell the nearby Cochichewick Engine House, which had been built about sixteen years previously, and was no longer in use. The Lodge had long been seeking larger and more comfortable quarters, and this opportunity to acquire them was not missed. It was voted to appoint a committee to purchase the property at a fair price, and at the same meeting, a drive was started to raise $12,500 to buy and rebuild the hall. The purchase was made for $4450, and a month later, $9300 had already been pledged. Today there still remains $1000 due on the mortgage of this building, but this is expected to be paid off in the near future. When this is done, Cochi-chewick Lodge will have its own Temple, free and clear of debt, for the first time in seventy-five years.
The fiftieth anniversary of the Lodge was celebrated on June 2, 1924, coincident with the dedication of the new temple. The Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, Most Worshipful Dudley H. Ferrell, was present with his suite. A dinner was served at 6:30 p.m. in Grange Hall to 121 persons. At 8:00 the Grand Master was received, and formally dedicated the new temple.
An interesting point appears in the records when it is noted that the new temple was described by some of the Brethren to Brother Albert McDonald, who was elected to membership in 1877. Brother McDonald knew the old temple well, but never saw the new one because he had become blind. He was made an honorary member in 1925, and died in 1937 — a loyal member for sixty years.
It should be borne in mind that the real history of a Lodge is created by the seemingly routine, month-in-and-month-out, meetings. Here the applications are received, the Apprentices entered, the Fellowcrafts passed, and the Master Masons raised. Here the young member is appointed to a minor office and travels through the chairs to the East. Here the old and faithful Mason passes on, having lived his allotted span of years, and a page in the records is given over to his memory.
Against a background of seventy-five years, these individual happenings do not stand out as vividly as the day they occurred.
In a sum total, however, they constitute the real history of a Lodge, because it is the 1300 meetings Cochichewick Lodge has held to date that have given it a history.
There have been thirty-nine Masters in our seventy-five years of existence. Each has occupied the East to the best of his ability, and each has contributed to the advancement of his Lodge. The records of each meeting begin by giving the date and time and place, and then go on to say, "The Worshipful Master in the East."
Times are changing rapidly, and we cannot have the gift of seeing the future. Some of us will not see a one hundredth anniversary; some of us will be there for the 125th. No matter where we are, we know that there will be a Cochichewick Lodge, with "The Worshipful Master in the East."
CENTENARY HISTORY, JUNE 1974
From Proceedings, Page 1974-137:
From 1924 to 1974
By Brother Harry Wilcox.
(A detailed history of Cochichcwick Lodge for the period from 1874 to 1924 may he found in the Proceedings of the Grand Lodge for 1924 — pages 129 to 192, inclusive.)
The 50th Anniversary of Cochichcwick Lodge was celebrated on June 2, 1924 by the dedication of our new home. Taking part in the dedication service was the Most Worshipful Dudley H. Ferrell, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts and his suite (1924 Mass. 127-192). The Historical Committee was made up of Brothers James R. Baldwin, Harry Wilkinson, and Thomas Milnes.
There is very little information available concerning the next twelve years, except that efforts to reduce the mortgage on the building were made by holding whist parties. In the report of the Standing Committee of August 31, 1936, there remained a mortgage of $4,500.00.
The first Lodge outing was held in June of 1937 at the Happy Health Camp in Boxford, Massachusetts. For a number of years afterward, this event was held on the Campus of the Phillips Brooks School in North Andover, Massachusetts.
On May 8, 1942, a Masonic Play, entitled, "A Rose on the Altar" was put on by the Brethren from the Lodge in Gleasondale, Massachusetts.
During June of 1942, the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts conducted a drive to raise $200,000 to set up a Masonic Service for the soldiers of Fort Devens in Ayer, Massachusetts. Cochichewick Lodge collected $584.00 for this worthy cause.
On June 2, 1949, under the direction of Worshipful Master Howard R. Paulson, the 472nd Special Communication of the Lodge was held for the purpose of celebrating the 75th Anniversary of the founding of the Lodge. The Lodge opened at 4:30 p.m. with a hot roast tenderloin dinner, served in the Grange Hall. At 8 p.m., the Most Worshipful Roger Keith, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, and his suite were received (1949 Mass. 79-89). After an Historical Address by Brother G. Howard Curry, the Most Worshipful Grand Master, Roger Keith addressed the Lodge. The Committee on Arrangements for the Anniversary consisted of Right Worshipful James R. Baldwin, Chairman, and Right Worshipful Harry Wilkinson, Right Worshipful Freeman J. Davis, Worshipful Master Howard E. Paulson, Worshipful Thomas A. Emmons, Worshipful Edgar Bower, and Brothers John McDowell, Arthur Covell, Gilbert Cate, and Douglas Glennie. At the regular meeting in December of 1949, it was voted to pay off the mortgage on the building; on October 13, 1950, the $1,000.00 mortgage was burned. Also in December of 1949, it was voted to purchase an electric organ and at the 830th Communication of the Lodge, April 14, 1950, the organ was dedicated by Reverend Brother Clinton W. Carvell. Brother Donald Watson gave a concert on the organ at this time. On April 15, 1950, an entertainment was held to raise funds to pay for the organ. By June of 1951, the organ was paid for.
The Silver-plated railing in front of the organ is the gift of Brother Alfred Dearden, who also presented the Lodge the "Point Within a Circle", which stands on the Master's Pedestal in the East.
At the May meeting of 1951, Brother George Fellows, a member of King Solomon Lodge of Somerville, Massachusetts and a North Andover resident and frequent visitor to our Lodge, presented us with a beautiful chest in which we keep the "Working Tools". This chest was made by Brother Maurice M. Lindsay of the Bentley School of Accounting of Boston, Massachusetts. The plush lining in the chest was the gift of Brother John Hay. On October 8, 1958, the Lodge presented Past Master's Aprons to all of our living Past Masters.
The "Actors Guild" of the Service Committee put on a one act play for Masons on June 4th and 5th of 1959.
In May of 1960, we find the first mention of the Cochichewick Golf League. This has been a successful continuing event in the life of the Lodge. In May 1963, the Service Committee sponsored a Horse Show, which was one of our largest events ever undertaken by our never tiring Service Committee.
At the 983rd Communication, June 11, 1965, the Cochichewick Lodge Scholarship Fund was established with a board of five Trustees to oversee its function; this Scholarship is known as the "Cochichewick Lodge Master's Award". The first award was made in June of 1966. The first board of Trustees consisted of Worshipful Master John H. Tacy, Worshipful William B. Kent, Jr., and Brothers Nicholas J. Evangelos, Leslie C. Bernal, and Richard W. Baldwin. The funds for this scholarship are raised by our annual Smorgasboard supper and Auctions.
On February 24-25, 1966, the Service Committee put on a one act play entitled "Judge Not". This play was put on under the direction of Worshipful Harold R. Boynton, Jr.
The character of the Lodge building remained pretty much the same after its remodeling and dedication in 1924 for the next forty-seven years. In the year 1971, after a series of meetings, the Standing Committee under Worshipful Master James H. Dewhirst and the Directors of Cochichewick Lodge Properties Inc., under Worshipful Robert E. Guptill, President, appointed a Building Committee with Worshipful William B. Kent as Chairman to study in detail the feasibility of selling the lodge property and building a new facility, or the remodeling and enlarging of the present one. An architect was hired and several plans and sites were considered, but it was the conclusion and recommendation of the Building Committee to remodel and enlarge our present lodge. The Standing Committee and Directors of the Properties unanimously concurred with this plan which was brought before the lodge members and approved. A financial drive to raise funds for this project was launched under the direction of Worshipful Paul Thomson. A sum of $35,000 was required to complete the plan, and lodge members overwhelmingly responded and a total of better than $31,000 was pledged; included was a significant gift from Brother Carl Yost. The renovations included the moving of the tally columns in the banquet hall, (it is noted that back in 1952 the moving of these posts was discussed at a lodge meeting), and an addition to the rear which provided a new modern kitchen, a lounge and storage room. In the front of the building new lavatories, a ladies powder room and a cloak room were installed ; outside a parking lot was built in the rear and driveways installed completely around the building.
On Saturday, April 22, 1972, the Past Masters' Association of the Lodge honored Worshipful George Rea with a testimonial dinner in recognition of his 50th Anniversary as a Past Master. The highlight of the evening was the attendance of the Most Worshipful Donald W. Vose, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts.
For many years under the direction of Brother George Knipe, there has been a Cochichewick Lodge Choir. They have provided the music at all of our Master Mason's Degree work and also on St. John's Days when the Lodge has attended Divine Worship.
On February 21, 1973, the first meeting of the 100th Anniversary Committee was held with our Senior Warden, Brother Richard A. Schubert as Chairman. At this meeting the various Committee Chairmen were selected, they were: General Chairman overall Committees — Worshipful Robert E. Guptill;
- Worshipful George A. Houston — Grand Lodge Committee;
- Worshipful Earle M. Card — Novelty Committee;
- Worshipful Thomas E. Pendlebury — Dinner Committee;
- Worshipful William B. Kent, Jr. — Dinner Dance Committee;
- Worshipful Harold R. Boynton, Jr. — Program Committee;
- Brother Harry N. Wilcox — Historical Committee;
- Brother Donald B. Beaton — Publicity Committee;
- Worshipful James H. Dewhirst — Treasurer.
In bringing this history of Cochichewick Lodge to a close, it is the wish of the Historical Committee to thank all of the Brethren for their cooperation in collecting the information for this Anniversary Booklet. We are indebted to our former Secretary, Brother Arnold H. Salisbury, Esquire, who compiled the list of dates of installation which is on our notice every month.
Note: dates of death are added to the titles for men whose decease was later than the publication of this history in 1974.
HARRY WILKINSON 1881-1956
Wor. Bro. Harry Wilkinson was born in Websey, Yorkshire, England on June 24, 1881. He came to the United States in 1891 and settled in Lawrence, Mass.
- On September 12, 1905 he married Miss Mary Hainsworth of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on May 20, 1910.
- On November 19, 1924 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
- At the 50th Anniversary in 1924, he was one of the three members of the Historical Committee. At the 75th Anniversary in 1949, he was a member of the Committee on arrangements.
- Wor. Bro. Wilkinson served as District Deputy Grand Master of the 11th Masonic District in 1928-1929.
- His son, Thomas Harry Wilkinson, was Master of the Lodge in 1954.
Rt. Wor. Bro. Wilkinson died in North Andover, Mass. on March 12, 1956. At the time of his death Rt. Wor. Bro. Wilkinson had served 25 years as Secretary of the Lodge.
JAMES RUMFORD BALDWIN 1880-1957
Wor. Bro. James Rumford Baldwin was born in Lawrence, Mass. on December 19, 1880.
- On August 19, 1926 he married Miss Lila Woodhouse of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree in Bellows Falls, Vermont, on February 9, 1911.
- Bro. Baldwin was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 19, 1926.
- Wor. Bro. Baldwin was District Deputy Grand Master of the 11th Masonic District in 1932 and 1933.
- He was Chairman of the Committee on arrangements for the 75th Anniversary of the Lodge in 1949.
- Rt. Wor. Bro. Baldwin died in Andover, Mass. on December 24, 1957.
FRED GOFF 1883-1976
Wor. Bro. Goff was born in North Andover, Mass. on January 23, 1883.
- He was married to Miss Estelle Louise Barker of North Andover, Mass. on August 12, 1908.
- On March 14, 1919 he received his Master Mason's Degree.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 14, 1928.
- From November 9, 1934 until November 12, 1948 he was Marshal of the Lodge.
- On April 11, 1969 he was presented his 50 year medal by Rt. Wor. Bro. George A. Houston.
- He had one son, Warren F., who was also a Past Master of the Lodge.
Wor. Bro. Goff, our oldest living member, now resides in the Town Manor Nursing Home in Lawrence, Mass.
REGINALD ANDREWS 1887-1953
Wor. Bro. Reginald Andrews was born in Blubber-Houses, Yorkshire, England on January 11, 1887.
- He came to the United States in 1912.
- On September 6, 1913 he married Miss Clara Hartley of Wilsden, Yorkshire, England.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on June 20, 1919.
- Bro. Andrews was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 14, 1930.
Wor. Bro. Andrews died in North Andover, Mass. on February 4, 1953.
GEORGE HENRY WILTON 1896-1951
Wor. Bro. George Henry Wilton was born in North Andover, Mass. on July 1, 1896.
- He married Miss Harriet Walton of North Andover, Mass. on August 21, 1922.
- Bro. Wilton received his Master Mason's Degree on April 9, 1920.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 11, 1932.
Wor. Bro. Wilton died in North Andover, Mass. on September 22, 1951.
EDGAR BOWER 1883-1953
Wor. Bro. Edgar Bower was born in Bradford, England on October 8, 1883.
- He came to the United States in 1907.
- On August 30, 1911 he married Miss Jane Waddington of Methuen, Mass.
- Bro. Bower received his Master Mason's Degree on June 6, 1919.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 9, 1934.
- From December 3, 1937 until December 3, 1943, he was Chaplain of the Lodge.
- He was Treasurer of the Lodge from November 8, 1946 until his death in 1953.
- Wor. Bro. Bower was a strict ritualist, and for many years kept a sharp ear for any errors in the deliverence of the spoken word by the Line Officers.
Wor. Bro. Bower died in North Andover, Mass. on March 5, 1953.
ARTHUR ALBERT REEVES 1888-1968
Wor. Bro. Arthur Albert Reeves was born in North Andover, Mass. on December 13, 1888.
- He married Miss Mildred Babb Ellis of North Andover, Mass. on September 7, 1915.
- Bro. Reeves received his Master Mason's Degree on May 11, 1923.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 13, 1936.
Wor. Bro. Reeves died in North Andover, Mass. on June 25, 1968.
GEORGE HARRY GOFF 1902-1984
Wor. Bro. George Harry Goff was born in North Andover, Mass. on August 26, 1902.
- He was married to Miss Elva Carolyn Cranston of Schaghitcoke, New York on August 26, 1924.
- On November 12, 1926 he received his Master Mason's Degree. He was raised by his Uncle, Wor. Bro. Fred Goff, who was Junior Warden of the Lodge at that time.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 11, 1938.
- From November 14, 1941 until November 1946 he was Treasurer of the Lodge.
FREEMAN JOHN DAVIS 1898-1966
Wor. Bro. Freeman John Davis was born in Byfield, Mass. on November 23, 1898.
- He was a Veteran of World War I.
- On June 25, 1921 he married Miss Gertrude Werk of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on October 13, 1922.
- On November 8, 1940 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
- Wor. Bro. Davis was presented with the Joseph Warren Medal on February 13, 1942 by Rt. Wor. Bro. Ben Oldfield, District Deputy Grand Master of the 11th Masonic District.
- Wor. Bro. Davis was District Deputy Grand Master of the 11th Masonic District in 1948-1949.
Rt. Wor. Bro. Davis died at the Veterans Hospital in Bedford, Mass. on June 10, 1966.
THOMAS ARTHUR EMMONS 1904-1983
Wor. Bro. Thomas Emmons was born in Lawrence, Mass. on January 28, 1904.
- On June 2, 1926 he married Miss Dorothy Margaret Hawes of Providence, Rhode Island.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on June 26, 1925.
- On November 20, 1942 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
ROGER DEHULLU 1911-2002
Wor. Bro. Roger Dehullu was born in Lawrence, Mass. on July 25, 1911.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on February 10, 1933.
- On November 10, 1944 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
- Wor. Bro. Dehullu was District Deputy Grand Master of the 11th Masonic District in 1960-1961.
- On July 29, 1972 he married Mrs. Rita (Montgomery) Roberts of North Andover, Mass.
- From December 27, 1962 until June 13, 1973 Rt. Wor. Bro. Dehullu served as a committeeman for the 19th Lodge of Instruction.
WARREN FRED GOFF 1911-1968
Wor. Bro. Warren Goff was born in North Andover, Mass. on June 30, 1911. He was the son of Wor. Bro. Fred Goff.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on June 12, 1936. He was raised by his father, Wor. Bro. Fred Goff.
- On November 8, 1946 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
- Wor. Bro. Goff served as Master Sergeant in the 8th Air Force in World War II. He was stationed in England and was in France in the Battle of the Bulge.
- On September 10, 1949 he married Miss Joan Irene Gaumond of North Andover, Mass.
Wor. Bro. Goff died in Lawrence, Mass. on June 7, 1968. At the time of his death he was President of the Ashler Club of the Western Electric Co. of North Andover, Mass.
HOWARD ELLIS PAULSON 1913-1987
Wor. Bro. Howard Ellis Paulson was born in Brockton, Mass. on September 12, 1913.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on October 8, 1937.
- On June 10, 1944 he married Miss Dorothy Margaret Greenwood of North Andover, Mass.
- On November 12, 1948 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
- Wor. Bro. Paulson was Master of the Lodge at the time of the 75th Anniversary, which was held on June 2, 1949.
- In September of 1951 Wor. Bro. Paulson moved from North Andover, Mass. to Townsend, Mass. where he still resides.
JOHN McDOWELL 1907-1980
Wor. Bro. John McDowell was born in Lawrence, Mass. on November 5, *1907.
- On October 12, 1933 he married Miss Millie Holden of Lawrence, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on November 10, 1939.
- On November 10, 1950 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
ARTHUR HENRY COVELL 1910-2003
Wor. Bro. Arthur Henry Covell was born in Medwav, Mass. on June 7, 1910.
- On March 15, 1939 he married Miss Ruth Helen Bradstreet of Danvers, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on November 17, 1933.
- On November 14, 1952 he was installed as Master of the Lodge.
- Wor. Bro. Covell moved to Pleasant Hill, Missouri in 1955.
RICHARD LOUIS HEIDER 1913-2001
Wor. Bro. Richard Louis Heider was born in Lawrence, Mass. on March 17, 1913.
- On September 11, 1937 he married Miss Jarjoris Eleanor Gill of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on April 7, 1944.
- Bro. Heider was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 17, 1953.
- Wor. Bro. Heider was Custodian of the Lodge from 1964 until October 1973.
THOMAS HARRY WILKINSON 1913-1997
Wor. Bro. Thomas Harry Wilkinson was born in Lawrence, Mass. on October 8, 1913. He is the son of Rt. Wor. Bro. Harry Wilkinson.
- On September 27, 1941 he married Miss Mabel Barwell of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on September 12, 1941. Bro. Wilkinson was raised by his father, Rt. Wor. Bro. Harry Wilkinson. It was Past District Deputies Night at Cochichewick Lodge, and all of the stations were filled by Past Deputies.
- Bro. Wilkinson was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 19, 1954.
- In April of 1967 he moved to Rumford, Maine where he still resides.
RICHARD ALTON GRAHAM 1912-1998
Wor. Bro. Richard Alton Graham was born in Gloucester, Mass. on September 4, 1912.
- On August 25, 1934 he married Miss Dorothy Evelyn Beaumont of Essex, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on September 17, 1948.
- Bro. Graham was installed as Master of the Lodge on December 9, 1955.
- Wor. Bro. Graham was Grand Pursuivant of the Grand Lodge in 1962 and 1963.
WILLIAM BASSETT KENT, JR. 1924-2004
Wor. Bro. William Bassett Kent, Jr. was born in Andover, Mass. on March 15, 1924.
- He was married to Miss Frances Veronica Zanin, of Highland Falls, New York on June 16, 1946.
- On October 8, 1948 he received his Master Mason's Degree. His father, William Bassett Kent, Sr., also received his Master Mason's Degree the same time.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 30, 1956.
- From October 9, 1959 until October 18, 1963 he was Treasurer of the Lodge.
- Wor. Bro. Kent has also been Master of the Lodge of Instruction, and Grand Lodge Zone Chairman for the Service Committee for the Lawrence, Lowell and Newburyport Area.
- In 1958-59 he was District Deputy Grand Marshal for the 11th Masonic District.
- Since November 12, 1971 he has been the Ritualist for the Lodge.
HAROLD RATCLIFFE 1911-2001
Wor. Bro. Harold Ratcliffe was born in Woodville, Rhode Island on August 31, 1911.
- On June 19, 1934 he married Miss Ruth Eleanor Lewis of Northwood, New Hampshire.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on May 27, 1949.
- Bro. Ratcliffe was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 20, 1957.
GEORGE WELLINGTON BEAUMONT 1922-1989
Wor. Bro. George Wellington Beaumont was born in Hillsboro, New Brunswick, Canada, March 22, 1922.
- He is married to Phyllis Jean Brown of Manchester, New Hampshire.
- On February 11, 1949 he received his Master Mason's Degree.
- Bro. Beaumont was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 17, 1958.
ROBERT EVERETT GUPTILL 1925-2012
Wor. Bro. Robert Everett Guptill was born in Lawrence, Mass. on June 20, 1925.
- On October 12, 1946 he married Miss Phyllis Ruth Scott of Lawrence, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on February 13, 1953.
- Bro. Guptill was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 9, 1959.
- Wbr. Bro. Guptill was appointed in June of 1973 to be Chairman of the Cochichewick Lodge 100th Anniversary General Committee. It is by his efforts and guidance that we have been able to have this successful anniversary program.
LOUIS ROBERT PETERSON 1924-1972
Wor. Bro. Louis Robert Peterson was born in Methuen, Mass. on November 13, 1924.
- On July 1, 1949 he married Miss Mary E. Geary of Lawrence, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on April 20, 1954.
- Bro. Peterson was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 14, 1960.
Wor. Bro. Peterson died in Boston, Mass. on April 14, 1972.
GEORGE ALFRED HOUSTON 1916-1997
Wor. Bro. George Alfred Houston was born in Lawrence, Mass. on February 2, 1916.
- He was married on June 10, 1939 to Miss Dorothy Watson Bee of Lawrence, Mass.
- On June 12, 1953 he received his Master Mason's Degree.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 10, 1961.
- Wor. Bro. Houston was District Deputy Grand Master of the 11th Masonic District in 1968-69.
- From October 18, 1963 until October 27, 1973 Rt. Wor. Bro. Houston was Treasurer of the Lodge.
JAMES MONROE GASKELL 1918-2013
Wor. Bro. James Munroe Gaskell was born in Fall River, Mass. on October 20, 1918.
- He was married on April 5, 1942 to Miss Emily L. Sanderson of North Andover, Mass.
- On June 16, 1950 he received his Master Mason's Degree.
- He was installed Master of the Lodge on October 19, 1962.
HUGH ALEXANDER McCLUNG 1915-1988
Wor. Bro. Hugh Alexander McClung was born in Willimantic, Conn, on April 22, 1915.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on June 10, 1949.
- Bro. McClung was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 18, 1963.
Wor. Bro. McClung now resides in West Boxford, Mass.
JOHN HAZEN TACY 1925-2012
Wor. Bro. John Hazen Tacy was born in Lawrence, Mass. on July 28, 1925.
- On September 7, 1946 he married Miss Helen F. Manning of Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on October 17, 1956.
- Bro. Tacy was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 9, 1964.
RUSSELL JACK HOWARD 1926-2012
Wor. Bro. Russell Jack Howard was born in Ipswich, Mass. on August 23, 1926.
- On July 31, 1948 he married Miss Marion M. McClung of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on November 19, 1958.
- Bro. Howard was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 15, 1965.
THOMAS EDWARD PENDLEBURY 1919-1986
Wor. Bro. Thomas Edward Pendlebury was born in Lawrence, Mass. on September 7, 1919.
- He was married to Miss Hannah Hayes Goff of North Andover, Mass. on September 9, 1938.
- On November 13, 1957 he received his Master Mason's Degree.
- Bro. Pendlebury was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 22, 1966.
- Since retiring from the East, Wor. Bro. Pendlebury has been active in Service Committee work and has on so many occasions filled in at every office and station in line whenever a vacancy has occurred.
WILLIAM JOSEPH LABELLE 1916-1999
Wor. Bro. William Joseph LaBelle was born in North Andover, Mass. on May 25, 1916.
- He was married on June 15, 1941 to Miss Janet Louise Snow of Methuen, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree in October 21, 1955.
- Bro. LaBelle was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 20, 1967.
Wor. Bro. LaBelle now resides in Salisbury, Mass.
HAROLD RAYMOND BOYNTON, JR. 1920-1999
Wor. Bro. Harold Raymond Boynton, Jr. was born in Lawrence, Mass. on January 13, 1920.
- He was married on September 22, 1946 to Miss Dorothy Arlene Petersen of Lawrence, Mass.
- On March 14, 1958 he received his Master Mason's Degree.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 22, 1968.
- Wor. Bro. Boynton has been Secretary of the Lodge since October 18, 1969.
- Wor. Bro. Boynton wears the Past Master's Jewel of Wor. Bro. William W. Chickering, with a hinged plate attached.
EARLE MERRIAM CARD 1910-1984
Wor. Bro. Earle Merriam Card was born in North Andover, Mass. on September 15, 1910.
- He was married to Miss Evelyn Alice Pendlebury of North Andover, Mass. on November 24, 1956.
- On November 13, 1957 he received his Master Mason's Degree.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on November 18, 1969.
- From October 26, 1971 until October 27, 1973, Wor. Bro. Card was Chaplain of the Lodge.
- Wor. Bro. Card is the father of our Senior Warden, Richard E. Card.
JAMES HAIGH DEWHIRST 1924-
Wor. Bro. James Haigh Dewhirst was born in Lawrence, Mass. on May 16, 1924.
- On June 19, 1949 he married Miss Frances Donnelly of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on October 14, 1953.
- Bro. Dewhirst was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 23, 1970.
- On October 27, 1973 Wor. Bro. Dewhirst was installed as Treasurer of the Lodge.
PAUL ALBERT THOMSON 1930-2012
Wor. Bro. Paul Albert Thomson was born in Lawrence, Mass. on October 7, 1930.
- On August 12, 1967 he married Miss Carol Emma Weigel of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree in Grecian Lodge, Lawrence, Mass. on April 29, 1955.
- On March 12, 1965 he affiliated with Cochichewick Lodge.
- He was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 26, 1971.
- Wor. Bro. Thomson, who resides in Lawrence, Mass., has been Treasurer of the Building Fund since 1971.
ALLAN MYLES ZECCHINI 1937-
Wor. Bro. Allan Zecchini was born in Lawrence, Mass. on December 17, 1937.
- On April 10, 1960 he married Miss Norma Jean Ackroyd of North Andover, Mass.
- He received his Master Mason's Degree on January 8, 1960.
- Bro. Zecchini was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 28, 1972.
Wor. Bro. Zecchini now resides in Salem, New Hampshire.
RICHARD ALBERT SCHUBERT 1940-
Wor. Bro. Richard Albert Schubert was born in Methuen, Mass. on January 13, 1940. He received his Master Mason's Degree on June 16, 1961. On July 18, 1970 he married Miss Glenda Kay Croy of Lawrence, Mass. Bro. Schubert was installed as Master of the Lodge on October 27, 1973.
CONSTITUTION OF LODGE, JUNE 1875
From New England Freemason, Vol. II, No. 7, July 1875, Page 357:
Constitution of Cochichewick Lodge.—A Special Communication of the M. W. Grand Lodge of Massachusetts was held in North Andover, on the 24th of June last, for the purpose of constituting Cochichewick Lodge, dedicating its hall, and installing its officers. The Lodge derives its peculiar title from the Indian name of the town of Andover. The ceremonies were conducted by R. W. Charles A. Welch, Deputy Grand Master, the Grand Master being prevented from attending by important business.
The Grand Officers proceeded by way of Salem to North Andover, where they arrived about noon. On repairing to the house of the Treasurer of the new Lodge, Brother Horace N. Stevens, they found a bountiful collation provided, which was discussed with great satisfaction. Under the escort of Bethany Commandery, of Lawrence, and Winslow Lewis Commandery, of Salem, they then proceeded to the Lodge-room. The Grand Lodge was opened in due form, the hall was dedicated and the Lodge constituted according to ancient form. At the conclusion of these services the Deputy Grand Master briefly addressed the members of the new Lodge, congratulating them upon the happy auspices under which their enterprise has been inaugurated, giving them good counsel as to the wise improvement of their high privileges and the proper discharge of their important duties as a brand) of our ancient and widely-extended Fraternity, and wishing them the realization of all the happiness and prosperity they anticipated.
The procession was then re-formed and conducted to the Congregational Church, for the purpose of instilling the officers of Cochichewick Lodge. The house was completely filled witli the Brethren and their friends, a large proportion of the audience being ladies. The Master was installed by the Deputy Grand Master, the Wardens by the Grand Wardens respectively, and the other officers by Past Grand Master John T. Heard. Proclamation having been made that Cochichewick Lodge was regularly organized and its officers duly installed, the Deputy Grand Master, in very happy and complimentary terms, introduced Brother George B. Loring, of Salem, whom the Lodge had selected as the orator of the occasion. Brother Loring then mounted the pulpit from which his father was accustomed to preach when the orator was a boy, and delivered a very comprehensive and striking address, comprising a very full summary of the history of Freemasonry, a sketch of its wide diffusion throughout the civilized world, and of the important influence it has everywhere exerted in favor of human freedom and equality. The address was listened to with great attention, and w;is very highly commended. It was published in full in some of the newspapers of that day.
At the close of these exercises the line was again formed and conducted to the Town Hall, where a collation had been provided by the Lodge. The Grand Officers very hastily disposed of their share of this most acceptable refreshment and then hurried to the railroad station. They reached Boston about seven in the evening, looking somewhat the worse for their journey. The day had been the warmest of the season and the roads were exceedingly dusty. Cochichewick Lodge was launched amid the sweat of many brows, and certainly raised a great dust in the first "go off." We trust hereafter she may enjoy the duly tempered sunshine of prosperity, and that she may keep her garments pure and unspotted.
The officers of the new Lodge are as follows:
- Louis Weil, W. M.
- Joseph F. Allen, S. W.
- John Parkhurst, J. W.
- Horace N. Stevens, Treas.
- Charles F. Johnson, Sec.
- Robert Brookhouse, Jr., S. D.
- William Ingalls, J. D.
- C. P. Morrill, Chap.
- Joseph N. Taylor, Marshal
- Isaac X. Dixon, S. S.
- Henry Newhall, J. S.
- Matthew S. Dixon, I. S.
- Frederick P. Hanaford, Tyler.
GRAND LODGE OFFICERS
- James R. Baldwin, DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1932, 1933; N
- Harold R. Boynton, Jr., DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1978, 1979; SN
- Edward A. Condon, Jr., DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1999, 2000
- Freeman J. Davis, DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1948, 1949; SN
- Roger Dehullu, DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1960, 1961; N
- George A. Houston, DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1968, 1969; N
- William B. Kent, Jr., DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1984, 1985; N
- Charles P. Morrill, DDGM, District 10 (Lawrence), 1889, 1890, 1891; Memorial Bio
- George H. Perkins, DDGM, District 10 (Lawrence), 1907; Memorial Bio
- Fred S. Smith, DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1916, 1917; Memorial Bio
- Harry Wilkinson, DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1928, 1929; N
- Allan M. Zecchini, DDGM, District 11 (Lawrence), 1994, 1995