- 1 KING CYRUS LODGE
- 2 REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS
- 2.1 ANNIVERSARIES
- 2.2 VISITS BY GRAND MASTER
- 2.3 BY-LAW CHANGES
- 2.4 HISTORY
- 2.4.1 75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JANUARY 1952
- 18.104.22.168 FOREWORD
- 22.214.171.124 CHAPTER 1: Preliminary Steps in Organization
- 126.96.36.199.1 JAMES A. BAKER 1841-1910
- 188.8.131.52.2 EDWIN F. BLOSSOM b. 1844
- 184.108.40.206.3 CHARLES HAMILTON BROWN 1839-1904
- 220.127.116.11.4 JOHN CARTER 1834-1882
- 18.104.22.168.5 SAMUEL WENTWORTH CHAMBERLIN b. 1832
- 22.214.171.124.6 ABRAM ALFRED CHASE b. 1826
- 126.96.36.199.7 JERE CLINTON CHASE 1835-1886
- 188.8.131.52.8 ARTHUR HARRIS COWDREY 1836-1907
- 184.108.40.206.9 GEORGE ALBERT COWDREY 1848-1881
- 220.127.116.11.10 EDMUND A. CURRY 1835-1895
- 18.104.22.168.11 AMMI CUTTER 1834-1914
- 22.214.171.124.12 CHARLES CARROLL DIKE 1827-1918
- 126.96.36.199.13 GEORGE LEVI WOODBURY DIKE 1831-1892
- 188.8.131.52.14 LYMAN DIKE 1821-1898
- 184.108.40.206.15 EDWARD PORTER DODGE 1841-1918
- 220.127.116.11.16 REV. EDWARD BAXTER FAIRCHILD 1835-1911
- 18.104.22.168.17 DAVID B. GERRY b. 1824
- 22.214.171.124.18 ONSLOW GILMORE 1832-1910
- 126.96.36.199.19 CHESTER WILLIAM GREENE b. 1839
- 188.8.131.52.20 CHARLES HENRY HADLEY 1840-1917
- 184.108.40.206.21 MOSES HALL b. 1826
- 220.127.116.11.22 JOSEPH HANSCOM 1830-1903
- 18.104.22.168.23 ORRIN HANSCOM
- 22.214.171.124.24 AMOS HILL 1830-1892
- 126.96.36.199.25 SIDNEY ADELWIN ARTHUR HILL 1849-1930
- 188.8.131.52.26 RICHARD HODGSON
- 184.108.40.206.27 GEORGE W. HOPKINS b. 1828
- 220.127.116.11.28 JEREMIAH F. HOWARD b. 1825
- 18.104.22.168.29 ROBERT CAVERNS HUNTRESS 1832-1924
- 22.214.171.124.30 DANIEL JONES 1836-1908
- 126.96.36.199.31 HENRY C. KEENE 1831-1904
- 188.8.131.52.32 GEORGE WASHINGTON KING 1818-1879
- 184.108.40.206.33 CHARLES A. LIBBEY b. 1841
- 220.127.116.11.34 THOMAS LORD b. 1845
- 18.104.22.168.35 GEORGE IRVIN MANSUR 1843-1892
- 22.214.171.124.36 OLIVER HUTCHINS MARSTON 1837-1911
- 126.96.36.199.37 JOHN C. PAIGE
- 188.8.131.52.38 ORRA PAIGE 1843-1916
- 184.108.40.206.39 J. R. PARKER b. 1846
- 220.127.116.11.40 LEWIS PERRY d. 1930
- 18.104.22.168.41 ARTHUR WILLIAM RICE 1846-1920
- 22.214.171.124.42 JOSEPH P. SMITH
- 126.96.36.199.43 JOSEPH THEOBALD 1842-1900
- 188.8.131.52.44 DAVID TIBBETTS 1840-1904
- 184.108.40.206.45 ROBERT P. TURNBULL 1828-1916
- 220.127.116.11.46 WILLIAM F. WALKER 1826-1901
- 18.104.22.168.47 CHARLES H. WHITCHER
- 22.214.171.124.48 CHARLES K. WHITE d. 1905
- 126.96.36.199.49 JOSEPH EMERSON WILEY 1838-1914
- 188.8.131.52 CHAPTER II: The First Year Under Dispensation
- 184.108.40.206 CHAPTER III: The First Quarter Century
- 220.127.116.11 CHAPTER IV: The Second Quarter Century
- 18.104.22.168 CHAPTER V
- 22.214.171.124 CHAPTER VI: Presentations to and from the Lodge
- 126.96.36.199 CHAPTER VII: Outstanding Members of King Cyrus Lodge
- 188.8.131.52.1 OLIVER H. MARSTON
- 184.108.40.206.2 WILLIAM F. WALKER
- 220.127.116.11.3 ORRA PAIGE 1843-1920
- 18.104.22.168.4 GEORGE L. AND CURTIS M. CHILD
- 22.214.171.124.5 WILLIS BEARD
- 126.96.36.199.6 JOHN S. LEAVITT, WILLIAM H. BRIGGS, HENRY C. CARBEE
- 188.8.131.52.7 HERBERT P. HOWE
- 184.108.40.206.8 CHARLES J. EMERSON
- 220.127.116.11.9 BENJAMIN J. HINDS
- 18.104.22.168.10 BURLEIGH C. GILBERT
- 22.214.171.124.11 CHESTER A. MERRIFIELD AND WILLARD DAY
- 126.96.36.199.12 FREDERICK T. DRAKE
- 188.8.131.52.13 C. FRANCIS MUNGER
- 184.108.40.206.14 J. ALGERNON FORBES
- 220.127.116.11.15 HORACE E. BELLOWS
- 18.104.22.168 CONCLUSION
- 2.4.2 CENTENARY HISTORY, JANUARY 1977
- 2.4.1 75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JANUARY 1952
- 2.5 EVENTS
- 2.6 GRAND LODGE OFFICERS
- 2.7 DISTRICTS
- 2.8 LINKS
KING CYRUS LODGE
Chartered By: Percival L. Everett
Charter Date: 12/13/1876 1876-136
Precedence Date: 10/18/1875
Current Status: in Grand Lodge Vault; merged with Good Samaritan Lodge, 05/22/2003.
- Oliver H. Marston, 1876, 1877
- William F. Walker, 1878, 1879
- J. Clinton Chase, 1880, 1881
- Arthur W. Rice, 1882
- Lewis Perry, 1883, 1884
- George L. W. Dike, 1885, 1886
- Willis Beard, 1887, 1888
- John S. Leavitt, 1889, 1890
- John A. Fraser, 1891, 1892
- William H. Briggs, 1893, 1894
- Henry C. Carbee, 1895, 1896
- George W. Hook, 1897, 1898
- Fred H. Chase, 1899, 1900
- Edward C. Jenkins, 1901, 1902
- William P. Fletcher, 1903, 1904
- Benjamin J. Hinds, 1905, 1906; Mem
- Burleigh C. Gilbert, 1907, 1908
- Fred L. Brown, 1909, 1910
- Arthur S. Parker, 1911, 1912
- William O. Richardson, 1913, 1914
- Frank A. Williams, 1915
- Walter G. Barton, 1916
- John L. Gilson, 1917
- William S. Lister, 1918, 1919
- J. Raymond MacAnanny, 1920
- C. Francis Munger, 1921, 1922; N
- George E. Merrifield, 1923, 1924
- William F. Wilson, 1925
- Ralph A. Jenkins, 1926
- Herbert J. Brock, 1927, 1928
- George H. Hanson, 1929
- Alfred Belcher, 1930, 1931
- Elbert R. Boyd, 1932, 1933
- R. Arnold Newcomb, 1934, 1935
- Russell F. Parker, 1936
- Theodore F. Moore, 1937
- Norman R. Houghton, 1938
- R. Murrey Price, 1939
- Joseph E. Lodge, 1940
- Frederick P. Hanford, 1941
- A. Duncan Clark, 1942
- Lester D. Gaffney, 1943
- Arthur G. Lodge, 1944
- Rogen L. Hanson, 1945
- Gordon F. May, 1946
- Herbert J. Brock, Jr., 1947
- Fred H. Brock, 1948
- Randolph J. Owen, 1949
- Archibald MacLennan, 1950
- Harold A. Martin, 1951
- George T. Prigge, 1952
- Oliver Rutherford, 1953; N
- Charles L. Bean, 1954
- Willard C. Decker, 1955
- Arthur G. Jillette, 1956
- Charles J. Moore, 1957
- Edward J. Chamberlain, 1958
- Charles F. Sanborn, 1959
- Madison E. Davis, Sr., 1960
- Arnold D. Finley, 1961
- Robert E. Lewis, 1962
- John F. Howard, Jr., 1963
- Harry W. Mellen, Jr., 1964
- James L. Standish, 1965
- Clifford K. Herrick, 1966
- Richard C. F. Hastings, 1967; N
- Millard D. Taylor, 1968
- Eugene H. Hale, 1969
- Clifford T. Taylor, 1970
- C. Arthur Wold, 1971
- David W. Shaw, 1972
- Robert A. Waite, 1973
- Robert C. Crockett, 1974, 1975, 1992, 1993; PDDGM
- Vincent A. Lalicata, 1976
- Charles J. Moore, 1977
- William L. Wallace, 1978
- Leon C. Kezarjian, Sr., 1979, 1980
- Harry W. Mellett, Jr., 1981
- Wayne F. Dyer, 1982, 1983
- Paul B. Craigie, 1984; DDGM
- John M. Kandres, 1985; SN
- Carl A. Wold, Jr., 1986, 1991
- Wayne F. Dyer, 1987
- Robert G. Taber, 1988
- Charles R. Austin, 1989, 1995
- Bernard D. Hutchens, 1990
- Richard W. Wallace, 1994
- Larry Sorenson, 1996, 1997
- Harry G. Orcutt, 1998, 1999
- Earl W. Cole, Jr., 2000, 2001; PDDGM
- Vincent M. Rinaldi, 2002, 2003
REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS
- Petition for Dispensation: 1875
- Petition for Charter: 1876
- Consolidation Petition (with Good Samaritan Lodge): 2003
VISITS BY GRAND MASTER
- 1877 (Everett; Constitution of Lodge and installation; Special Communication (not described in Proceedings))
- 1909 (Flanders)
- 1910 (Flanders)
- 1924 (Ferrell)
- 1927 (Simpson; 50th Anniversary; Special Communication)
- 1952 (Roy; 75th Anniversary; Special Communication)
- 1977 (Maxwell; Centenary; Special Communication)
- 2003 (Hicks; Consolidation; Special Communication)
75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JANUARY 1952
From Proceedings, Page 1952-16:
by Worshipful Theodore F. Moore
In the compilation of this history upon the occasion of the seventy-fifth anniversary of the constitution of King Cyrus Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Stoneham, Massachusetts, the immediate data available were as follows:
- Outline of 150 years — King Solomon's Lodge, Somerville, Massachusetts, (formerly of Charlestown) loaned by Brother Roland K. Forbush, a member of King Cyrus Lodge.
- History of King Cyrus Lodge prepared by Brother George A. Hinchcliffe in 1927 for the fiftieth anniversary.
- History of Stoneham by Judge William B. Stevens, published in 1891.
- Complete record of the meetings of King Cyrus Lodge dating from the preliminary get-together in 1875.
The history of Stoneham and the Lodge records were loaned by our present able and efficient Secretary, Brother J. A. Forbes, who furnished much valuable assistance during the course of the work. Many other members of King Cyrus Lodge, including several Past Masters, the Grand Secretary in Boston and associated clerical assistants, and others too numerous to mention individually also assisted in various ways, and sincere thanks are due to them for their cooperation.
CHAPTER 1: Preliminary Steps in Organization
It is the year 1875 — a century after the midnight ride of Paul Revere and the "shot heard around the world," ten years after the close of the Civil War, during the administration of Ulysses S. Grant. Tt is shortly after the "Great Fire" in Boston (1872); the postal service and the telegraph were the primary means of communication, as the telephone was only on the verge of discovery in 1876. Thomas A. Edison had not yet introduced his electrical lighting system and transportation of persons and goods was limited to horse-drawn vehicles, ships (sail and steam) and the railroads. The automobile, aeroplane, radio and television were still in the future.
At that time, when our nation was barely 100 years old, the Town of Stoneham had been in existence for fully 150 years, having been incorporated as such by the laws of the Province of Massachusetts Bay in 1725. Prior to 1725, this territory had been known as "Charlestown End" and was within the limits of the Town of Charlestown, as fixed by a grant of the General Court and negotiations with the Indians. The Town of Charlestown also included Woburn, Maiden, Melrose, Burlington, Somerville, a large part of Medford and portions of Reading, Arlington and Cambridge.
In 1875, the population in Stoneham had increased to approximately 5,000 from only about 300 in 1775. The neighboring Town of Melrose (incorporated in 1850 and previously known as "Pondfeilde," and later as "Maiden North End") was then somewhat smaller in numbers, being credited with 3,999 inhabitants by the Decennial Census and Industrial statistics of the Commonwealth taken as of May 1, 1875.
The manufacture of leather and shoes was noted as the principal industry in Stoneham, four firms being concerned with leather and thirty-one individuals or firms producing shoes and associated items. In addition, of course, the usual trades and shops furnishing goods and services to the townspeople as well as a few outlying farms were in existence. A reference to the news columns of that year reveals that the Boston, Lowell and Nashua steam railroad served the town through the Stoneham Branch, and that horse-drawn barges left Central Square on schedule to connect with the Boston and Maine Railroad at what is now the Melrose Highlands station. The Stoneham ■street Railway, horse-drawn also, ran along part of Main Street and down Franklin Street to the depot, providing local transportation. The Cunard Ship line featured in an advertisement the weekly sailing of their "Mail Steamers" from Boston to Liverpool. It is also of interest to note that gas was available, supplementing the use of oil for illumination and cooking.
This somewhat sketchy picture will indicate the general conditions under which on September 13, 1875, as taken from the first records of King Cyrus Lodge, "At the suggestion of several Master Masons a meeting was holden at the room of the Stoneham Brass Band in Dow's building for the purpose of considering the subject of the formation of a Masonic Lodge in Stoneham which was attended by 13 Brother Master Masons, viz:
- David B. Gerry
- William F. Walker
- J. Clinton Chase
- Ammi Cutter * Arthur W. Rice
- N. Porter Dodge
- Moses Hall
- George L. W. Dike
- Joseph Theobald
- Thomas Lord
- J. R. Parker
- Chas. A. Libbey
- George I. Mansur
"The meeting was organized by the choice of Brother Joseph Theobald as Chairman and C. A. Libbey as Secretary.
"After a discussion of the subject, it was decided that it was for the interest of the fraternity in the town that a Lodge of Masons should be formed."
To accomplish this purpose, committees were appointed "to prepare a petition (to the Grand Lodge) and obtain signatures for a dispensation, to see what arrangements could be made in regard to a hall, and to ascertain the expense of Jewels, Regalia and other necessary apparatus for furnishing a lodge room." These committees were to report at an adjourned meeting "holden September 29th when 35 Master Masons were present and much enthusiasm was exhibited."
"The committee on procuring a hall reported that an arrangement could be made with Columbian Lodge, No. 29, I. O. O. F., for the use of their hall for the sum of Five dollars per night, they to light and heat it."
"The committee on Jewels presented samples at three different prices. Upon examination of them by the brothers, it was voted to purchase them of B. W. Hersey like the sample from him at the price of Forty-nine dollars, which this committee was instructed to purchase and also such Regalia and other working tools as they found necessary."
"The committee to prepare the Petition for a dispensation reported that they had obtained 34 signatures, also that they had asked and obtained the consent of Wyoming Lodge in Melrose for the formation of a lodge in Stoneham." (A majority of the signers were members of Wyoming Lodge, residing in Stoneham.)
"At this meeting the brothers selected the following-named persons for officers under a dispensation:
- For Worshipful Master, Oliver H. Marston
- For Senior Warden, William F. Walker
- For Junior Warden, J. Clinton Chase"
Also selected for the name of the Lodge — King Cyrus "(a King of Persia, charged by God with the rebuilding of the Temple at Jerusalem)."
Following is a copy of the request to Wyoming Lodge of Melrose, as mentioned above (from the original in the Grand Lodge files):
Stoneham, Mass. Sept. 22, 1875
We, the undersigned Master Masons in good standing, being anxious of forming a new Lodge at Stoneham for the convenience of our respective dwellings, propose to petition the Grand Lodge for a Dispensation for that purpose, and in accordance with the Grand Constitutions desire the recommendation of Wyoming Lodge, as being the nearest Lodge to our residences, in support of that petition. We, therefore, ask that such recommendation may be given us under the seal of Wyoming Lodge.
- Ammi Cutter
- Arthur W. Rice
- O. H. Marston
- J. C. Chase
- Sidney A. Hill
- Geo. I. Mansur
- C. A. Libbey
Request approved and Recommendation granted Sept. 22nd by vote of Lodge.
George C. Stantial, Secretary.
Other meetings were held in Room No. 6, Chase's Block, on October 5th and 19th and the weekly newspaper (Independent) of Oct. 23rd, 1875, carried the following item in the "Locals" column:
Quite a large number of well-known and influential citizens are about organizing a Masonic Lodge in town and have made application for a charter. Some forty have already signified their intention to join, the most of them tried and true Masons, and some at present working members of Wyoming Lodge of Melrose. Committees have been appointed to look after the necessary preliminary affairs and when they receive their charter we will have in Stoneham one of the most influential Lodges in the State.
The above so-called "application for a charter" (actually a petition for a dispensation) had been submitted to the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts, signed by 49 Masons, whose names and such information concerning the same as is available at this time will appear at the end of this portion of our history.
A copy of the original petition (also filed with other Grand Lodge Records) is shown below:
Stoneham, Mass., Sept. 22nd, 1875
To the Most Worshipful Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts:
We, the undersigned, being Master Masons in good standing, and having the prosperity of the Craft at heart, are anxious to exert our best endeavors to promote and diffuse the general principles of Freemasonry; and for the convenience of our respective dwellings and other good reasons, we are desirous of forming a new Lodge in Stoneham, to be called King Cyrus Lodge. We, therefore, with the approbation of the District Deputy Grand Master and the Lodge nearest our residences, respectfully pray for a Dispensation empowering us to meet as a regular Lodge on the third Wednesday of every month, and there to discharge the duties of Ancient York Masonry in a constitutional manner according to the forms of the order and the laws of the Grand Lodge, and we have nominated and do recommend Brother Oliver H. Marston to be the first Master, Brother Wm. F. Walker to be the first Senior Warden and Brother J. Clinton Chase to be the first Junior Warden of said Lodge. The prayer of this petition being granted, we promise strict obedience to the commands of the Grand Master and the laws and regulations of the Grand Lodge.
Signed by 49 Master Masons (see end of Chapter I).
Following the signatures was this notation:
The foregoing petition is approved Boston, Oct. 18th, 1875. Theo. N. Foque, D. D. G. M. — 17th Dist.
The approval of the Grand Lodge was indicated on this document by another notation, as follows:
Grand Lodge of Massachusetts Boston, Oct. 18th, 1875
The prayer of the above-named petitioners is hereby approved and the Grand Secretary will prepare a Dispensation in accordance with the petition returnable into our Grand Lodge at the Annual Communication in December, A.D. 1876.
P. L. Everett. (Grand Master)
Reference to this petition and the granting of same may be found in the Proceedings of the Grand Lodge, Annual Communication, December, 1875:
The Grand Master, Most Worshipful Percival Lowell Everett, stated that various dispensations for new Lodges had been granted including
- King Cyrus, Stoneham (49 Petitioners)
- Oliver H. Marston, Master
- William F. Walker, Senior Warden
- J. Clinton Chase, Junior Warden
Dispensation granted October 18, 1875, returnable at the Annual Communication in December 1876.
To conclude this first chapter of our history, it is deemed altogether fitting and proper that the names of the original 49 signers be spread upon the records and that some information as to their origin and history be included, if only as a matter of interest. Accordingly, such a list follows with the names in alphabetical order for ease in reference, not in the order of their appearance on the petition, together with a resume of such facts as are at hand.
Signers of Original Petition for Dispensation (and some historical data concerning the same). Note: some additional information, shown in italics, is provided for this online version.
JAMES A. BAKER 1841-1910
- Born, Ashland, New Hampshire, Feb. 18, 1841
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, May 24, 1871
- Died Dec. 29, 1910
EDWIN F. BLOSSOM b. 1844
- Born 1844, Norway, Miss.
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose * Died Aug. 2, 1906
CHARLES HAMILTON BROWN 1839-1904
- Born, Leominster, Mass., Feb. 27, 1839
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Aug. 23, 1867
- Died: March 25, 1904
Attended common schools of Leominster until 16, in the following year came to North Woburn, serving apprenticeship at the currying trade with firm of Bond and Tidd until 21. Came to Stoneham in 1860, worked in factory of Tidd and Bloomer until 1861, then went to Woburn and returned to Stoneham in 1862, being employed by Wm. Tidd, Jr., and afterward with Wm. Tidd & Co. Admitted as a partner in the firm in 1866 and continued till 1890, when he retired with a competency. A member of Hugh de Payens Commandery of Melrose, life member of Waverly Royal Arch Chapter and an attendant at the Unitarian Church. Director of the First National Bank of Woburn and Director and incorporator of the Stoneham National Bank, residing in one of the finest homesteads in Stoneham, at the corner of Maple and Chestnut Streets.
JOHN CARTER 1834-1882
- Born 1834
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Feb. 11, 1857
- Died Mar. 11, 1882
SAMUEL WENTWORTH CHAMBERLIN b. 1832
- Born, Rochester, New Hampshire, Dec. 21, 1832
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Jan. 28, 1874
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Mar. 20, 1878
Attended public schools of Rochester and Dover, New Hampshire, leaving school at 13 to work in Sawyer Mill at Dover, and the Whitehouse Mills at Rochester. In 1851, went to South Carolina and worked as foreman in a shoe factory, returning to the North late in that year and settling in Natick, where he employed six men in the shoe business. Came to Stoneham in 1854 at 21 years of age, employing several men in that business. In 1859 invented a machine for burnishing boot and shoe heels and later withdrew from shoe manufacture to invention and manufacture of shoe machinery. A 32nd degree Mason, member of Waverly Royal Arch Chapter and Hugh de Payens Commandery, Knights Templar, of Melrose, and other Masonic bodies; also a charter member of Wamscott Tribe, No. 39, Ind. Order of Red Men and several other societies. An attendant at the Unitarian Church, residing at 2 Winthrop Street.
ABRAM ALFRED CHASE b. 1826
- Born, Deerfield Centre, New Hampshire, Feb. 25, 1826
JERE CLINTON CHASE 1835-1886
- Born, Deerfield Centre, New Hampshire, June 25, 1835
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Feb. 15, 1864
- Died Oct. 28, 1886
Attended district schools and Pittsfield (New Hampshire) Academy, coming to Wakefield in 1857. Came to Stoneham in 1860 and worked for M. P. Sweetser & Co. (grocer) purchasing the business in 1862. Joined by his brother, A. Alfred Chase, in 1864 and continued as Chase Bros. Built the Chase Block on the site of the old store in 1874. Collector of Taxes in 1867-8-9. Chairman of Board of Selectmen in 1877; member of Hugh de Payens Commandery, Knights Templar of Melrose, and other Masonic bodies; also of Columbian Lodge, I. O. O. F. He was the first Junior Warden of King Cyrus Lodge, Worshipful Master in 1880-81 and Treasurer at the time of his death.
ARTHUR HARRIS COWDREY 1836-1907
- Born, Acton, Mass., Jan. 17, 1836
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Feb. 16, 1866
- Died Nov. 4, 1907
Attended the schools in Acton and also Lawrence Academy at Groton, Mass., then studying medicine with his father (originally from Wakefield) who had been a physician in Acton for many years. Attended Berkshire Medical School in Pittsfield, Mass., and Harvard Medical School, graduating in 1857. In 1858 went to Stowe, Mass., until 1862, then being appointed Assistant Surgeon of the Seventh Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. Served throughout the war, attaining the rank of Surgeon by appointment of President Lincoln. Came to Stoneham in 1865 after being mustered out and followed his profession as physician and surgeon, being Town Physician for a period. A member of Royal Arch Chapter and DeMolay Commandery of Melrose, various medical and other societies, ColumbianLodge,I.O.O.F. Served three years on the School Committee, was Trustee and Vice President of the Stoneham Five Cent Savings Bank and Director in the Stoneham National Bank and Co-operative Bank. Interested in better transportation arrangements from Stoneham to Boston. A prominent member, worker and attendant at the Congregational Church.
GEORGE ALBERT COWDREY 1848-1881
- Born, Stoneham, Mass., Apr. 9, 1848
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, July 24, 1872
- Died July 12, 1881
Attended the public schools and Waitt's Academy at Wakefield and French's Commercial College at Boston. Employed in the shoe factories of E. P. Duncklee and William D. Brackett, Jr., holding several positions of responsibility and trust. Elected to the House of Representatives in 1878 and served as Selectman and Assessor for several years.
EDMUND A. CURRY 1835-1895
- Born 1835, Ireland
- Raised, William Parkman Lodge, Winchester, Sept. 10, 1872
- Died Jan. 25, 1895
AMMI CUTTER 1834-1914
- Born Oct. 24, 1834
- Raised, Mount Lebanon Lodge, Boston, Feb. 28, 1865
- Died Aug. 28, 1914
Appointed first Inside Sentinel of King Cyrus Lodge.
CHARLES CARROLL DIKE 1827-1918
- Born Stoneham, Mass., Oct. 27, 1827
- Raised Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Mar. 11, 1857
- Died June 30, 1918
Acted as Marshal at first meeting of King Cyrus Lodge, U. D., Nov. 17 1875. Worshipful Master of Wyoming Lodge, 1873-5. Honorary member of King Cyrus Lodge, April 18, 1877.
GEORGE LEVI WOODBURY DIKE 1831-1892
- Born, Stoneham, Mass., Aug. 26, 1831
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Apr. 13, 1859
- Died Mar. 7, 1892
First Secretary of King Cyrus Lodge and became Worshipful Master in 1885-86.
LYMAN DIKE 1821-1898
- Born, Stoneham, Mass., Aug. 24, 1821
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose Feb. 11, 1857
- Died July 7, 1898
Attended the public and private schools of the town, then worked in the general store of his brother, George W. Dike (not to be confused with George L. W. Dike). In 1843, formed partnership with Alfred J. Rhoades for the manufacture of shoes, producing a new and finer grade, which was later widely copied. The firm became Lyman Dike & Co. (with George W. as the Company) and continued as such till 1855; thereafter Lyman was alone until his retirement in 1885 to Marble Ridge Farm in the southwestern part of town. He was interested in the military activities of the times, assisting in forming a company in 1851 (C-7th Regiment) becoming the first Captain and later Colonel. With Dr. Wm. H. Heath, brought about the opening in 1859 of the Public Library in Stoneham, one of the first to be organized in the State. He was a leading citizen, holding many public offices in the town, district and county; was one of the original members of the Stoneham Board or trade and was first President of the Stoneham Co-operative Bank, and also presided at a later date over the Stoneham Five Cent Savings Bank. He was one of seven who built the Stoneham Street Railway and was a Director, Superintendent and Treasurer during the period from 1860 to 1888, when it was transferred to the East Middlesex. He was active in the Fire Department, several agricultural societies and other organizations. Colonel Dike was a 32nd degree Mason, a charter member of Waverly Royal Arch Chapter, Royal and Select Masters and Hugh de Payens Commandery, all of Melrose; also a member of Columbian Lodge, I. O. O. F., holding high stations in each. Attended the Unitarian Church, being one of the original organizers.
EDWARD PORTER DODGE 1841-1918
- Born, Topsfield, Mass., Jan. 21, 1841
- Raised, Amity Lodge, Danvers, Apr. 29, 1869
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Jan. 19, 1881
- Died: 1918
REV. EDWARD BAXTER FAIRCHILD 1835-1911
- Born Sep. 15, 1835
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge
- Died Jan. 21, 1911
- Find A Grave entry
Appointed first Chaplain of King Cyrus Lodge.
DAVID B. GERRY b. 1824
- Born 1824
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, June 14, 1869
ONSLOW GILMORE 1832-1910
- Born, Bedford, New Hampshire, Mar. 8, 1832
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Mass., Aug. 17, 1863
- Died Mar. 11, 1910
Attended the district schools until 15 years of age, removing to Medford, Mass., and going to that High School for a year; served as apprentice mason in Manchester, New Hampshire, for three years. Came to Stoneham in 1850, in business as a mason and builder until his retirement in 1872. Chosen Treasurer of the Stoneham Five Cent Savings Bank in 1873 and was Director and Treasurer of the E. L. Patch Co. Served two years in the House of Representatives and two years as State Senator; also enjoying the confidence of his fellow-townsmen to such an extent that he was honored by being chosen to almost all town offices and special committees. A member of the Royal Arch Chapter and Hugh de Payens Commandery of Melrose and other organizations, and an attendant of the Congregational Church.
CHESTER WILLIAM GREENE b. 1839
- Born, Stoneham, Mass., Apr. 22, 1839
- Raised Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Nov. 22, 1871
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Dec. 20, 1910
Appointed first Organist of King Cyrus Lodge.
CHARLES HENRY HADLEY 1840-1917
- Born, May 12, 1840
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, June 22, 1868
- Died, Feb. 4, 1917
MOSES HALL b. 1826
- Born 1826, New York
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, June 10, 1867
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Nov. 17, 1880
JOSEPH HANSCOM 1830-1903
- Born 1830, Barnstable, New Hampshire
- Died Jul. 22, 1903
- Raised, Charity Lodge No. 43, Bradford, Vermont
AMOS HILL 1830-1892
- Born, Stoneham, Mass., Oct. 26, 1830
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, June 28, 1871
- Died Sept. 24, 1892
Attended the local schools and at Groton and Phillips Academy. Became a topographical engineer, being compelled to give up this profession in 1876 due to ill health. Continued as insurance agent, Justice of Peace, conveyancer and local representative of the Wakefield Water Co. Served the Town as Selectman for fourteen years, being Chairman of the Board for twelve years; also as assessor and member of the School Board. Was a Representative in the State Legislature also, being intensely interested in civic affairs. A member of Waverly Royal Arch Chapter, Columbian Lodge and Encampment I. O. O. F., and other associated organizations.
SIDNEY ADELWIN ARTHUR HILL 1849-1930
- Born, Stoneham, Mass., Aug. 26, 1849
- Raised, Merrimack Lodge, Haverhill, Mar. 15, 1871
- Died July 20, 1930
Attended local schools, employed in shoe factories in Stoneham and Haverhill, returned to Stoneham, manufacturing ladies' and children's handsewed boots and shoes. Entered into partnership with Jason B. Sanborn in 1874, continuing in the production of shoes and adding a retail store on Main Street. Member of Columbian Lodge and Encampment I. O. O. F. and other organizations. One of the incorporators of the Stoneham Co-operative Bank; being a Director and also Vice President. Member of Board of Selectmen for several years in the late nineties and Representative to the Great and General Court, holding other civic offices from time to time. (Note: his house is on the National Register.)
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, June 22, 1868
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Nov. 17, 1880
GEORGE W. HOPKINS b. 1828
- Born 1828
JEREMIAH F. HOWARD b. 1825
- Born, Conway Center, New Hampshire, June 5, 1825
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Feb. 9, 1859
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Jan. 19, 1881
ROBERT CAVERNS HUNTRESS 1832-1924
- Born Jan. 17, 1832
- Raised, Charter Oak Lodge No. 58, Effington, New Hampshire, Mar. 13, 1857
- Died Dec. 30, 1924
DANIEL JONES 1836-1908
- Born 1836, Needham, Mass.
- Died Mar. 9, 1908
Appointed first Senior Deacon of King Cyrus Lodge.
HENRY C. KEENE 1831-1904
- Born 1831, Augusta, Maine
- Raised: (Member of Wyoming Lodge, Melrose), Mar. 8, 1869
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Dec. 19, 1883
- Died Jul. 6, 1904
GEORGE WASHINGTON KING 1818-1879
- Born, Haverhill, New Hampshire, Feb. 7, 1818
- Raised Amicable Lodge, Cambridge, Mass., 1861
- Died Jan. 22, 1879
CHARLES A. LIBBEY b. 1841
- Born 1841
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Apr. 24, 1872
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, June 15, 1881
Appointed first Junior Steward of King Cyrus Lodge.
THOMAS LORD b. 1845
- Born 1845
- Raised, Good Samaritan Lodge, Reading, Mass., Nov. 11, 1874
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge), Nov. 17, 1880
GEORGE IRVIN MANSUR 1843-1892
- Born, Rumford, Maine, Sept. 13, 1843
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Jan. 10, 1870
- Died June 17, 1892
At the age of nineteen, entered the Army, serving three years, being honorably discharged in his home state at Portland, Maine. Came to Stoneham in 1865 and was the first Treasurer of King Cyrus Lodge.
OLIVER HUTCHINS MARSTON 1837-1911
- Born, Sandwich, New Hampshire, Dec. 17, 1837
- Raised, New Hampshire, 1862
- Affiliated, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Mar. 11, 1867
- Died Feb. 14, 1911
Attended grade schools in Sandwich, coming to Stoneham in 1855, completing his education at Stoneham High School. Employed for one year and a half in Stoneham shoe factories, returning to Sandwich to -manufacture pails.
In 1861, assisted in raising a company of volunteers, was commissioned Captain, was wounded daring the war, received commission as Lieutenant Colonel and mustered out in Concord, New Hampshire, in 1865. He remained in Sandwich as proprietor of a general store, again coming to Stoneham in 1869, entering into the sewing machine business and later into picture framing and the hardware business.
He was the first Worshipful Master of King Cyrus Lodge, a member of the G.A.R., and other organizations, attending the Congregational Church. Col. Marston was also a member of the Stoneham School Committee for three years and Chief of Police for two years.
JOHN C. PAIGE
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose July 13, 1868
ORRA PAIGE 1843-1916
- Born Nov. 14, 1843
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose July 13, 1868
- Died Mar. 3, 1916
Secretary of King Cyrus Lodge, 1878 to 1892 (14 years).
J. R. PARKER b. 1846
- Born 1846, Athol, Mass.
Appointed first Junior Steward of King Cyrus Lodge.
LEWIS PERRY d. 1930
- Raised, Mount Horeb Lodge, Woburn, Mass., May 6, 1868
* Died Apr. 8, 1930 Worshipful Master of King Cyrus Lodge in 1883 and 1884.
ARTHUR WILLIAM RICE 1846-1920
- Born, Sturbridge, Mass., July 14, 1846
- Raised, Quinebaug Lodge, Southbridge, Mass., Aug. 15, 1870
- Died June 30, 1920
Attended the common schools of his native town, afterwards serving as an apprentice for four years in printing offices at Worcester and Boston. Following his apprenticeship, he traveled as a salesman for about a year coming to Stoneham in 1869, opening a news, stationery and periodical store on Franklin Street. Elected Tax Collector of Stoneham in 1891.
A member of Beulah Chapter, Stoneham, O. E. S., Waverly Royal Arch Chapter and Hugh de Payens Commandery of Melrose and of Aleppo Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine of Boston, and other organizations.
Was the first Senior Steward of King Cyrus Lodge, becoming Worshipful Master in 1882.
JOSEPH P. SMITH
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Apr. 17, 1878
JOSEPH THEOBALD 1842-1900
- Born, Bury St. Edmunds, England, June 24, 1842
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose Feb. 24, 1875
- Died Apr. 25, 1900
DAVID TIBBETTS 1840-1904
- Born 1840, Columbia, Maine
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Apr. 17, 1878
- Died Oct. 16, 1904
ROBERT P. TURNBULL 1828-1916
- Born Dec. 12, 1828, Nova Scotia
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose Aug. 22, 1867
- Died Dec. 23, 1916
WILLIAM F. WALKER 1826-1901
- Born 1826, Bedford, New Hampshire
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose Dec. 21, 1863
- Died June 28, 1901
Appointed first Senior Warden of King Cyrus Lodge, becoming Worshipful Master in 1878-79 and serving as Secretary from 1894 until ms death in 1901.
CHARLES H. WHITCHER
- Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, June 18, 1879
CHARLES K. WHITE d. 1905
- Raised, Charles C. Dame Lodge, Georgetown, Mass., Oct. 4,1869 * Dimitted from King Cyrus Lodge, Dec. 19, 1905
JOSEPH EMERSON WILEY 1838-1914
- Born Mar. 20, 1838
- Raised, Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, Apr. 23, 1864
- Died Dec. 23, 1914
CHAPTER II: The First Year Under Dispensation
Following the granting of the dispensation, a meeting, on October 29, 1875, of the signers of the petition was called by the Worshipful Master, Oliver H. Marston, at Room No. 6, Chase Block, at which time the committee reported that a dispensation had been granted and the Worshipful Master announced his appointments for the Lodge as follows:
- George I. Mansur, Treasurer
- George W. Dike, Secretary
- Daniel Jones, Senior Deacon
- Charles A. Libbey, Junior Deacon
- Arthur W. Rice, Senior Steward
- J. R. Parker, Junior Steward
- Rev. E. B. Fairchild, Chaplain
- Ammi Cutter, Inside Sentinel
In accordance with the preceding arrangements, the original records of King Cyrus note that on November 17, 1875:
The first regular communication of King Cyrus Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons was holden in Odd Fellows hall, called to order by Worshipful Master Oliver H. Marston by the reading of the following dispensation from the Most Worshipful Grand Master of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.
Grand Lodge of Massachusetts
To all Persons to whom these Presents may come, Greetings: Whereas a petition has been presented to me by Sundry Bretheren, to wit:
James A. Baker, Edwin F. Blossom, Charles Hamilton Brown, John Carter, Samuel Wentworth Chamberlin, Abram Alfred Chase, Jere Clinton Chase, Arthur Harris Cowdrey, George Albert Cowdrey, Edmund A. Curry, Ammi Cutter, Charles Carroll Dike, George Levi Woodbury Dike, Lyman Dike, Edward Porter Dodge, Edward B. Fairchild (Rev.), David B. Gerry, Onslow Gilmore, Chester William Greene, Charles Henry Hadley, Moses Hall, Joseph Hanscom, Orrin Hanscom, Amos Hill, Sidney Adelwin Arthur Hill, Richard Hodgson, George W. Hopkins, Jeremiah F. Howard, Robert Caverns Huntress, Daniel Jones, Henry C. Keene, George Washington King, Charles A. Libbey, Thomas Lord, George Irvin Mansur, Oliver Hutchins Marston, John C. Paige, Orra Paige, J. R. Parker, Lewis Perry, Arthur William Rice, Joseph P. Smith, Joseph Theobald, David Tibbetts, Robert P. Turnbull, William F. Walker, Charles H. Whitcher, Charles K. White, Joseph Emerson Wiley
praying to be congregated into a regular Lodge under the name and title of
King Cyrus Lodge
with permission to hold the same in the Town of Stoneham, in the County of Middlesex, and Commonwealth of Massachusetts. And whereas said petitioners have been recommended to me as Master Masons, in good standing, by the Worshipful Master, Wardens and Brothers of Wyoming Lodge, holden in Melrose and their petition having been countersigned and approved by our District Deputy Grand Master for the Seventeenth Masonic District.
Therefore, I, Percival Lowell Everett, Grand Master of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Massachusetts, reposing full confidence in the recommendations aforesaid, and in the Masonic integrity and ability of the petitioners, do, by virtue of the authority of my office and of Ancient Masonic usage, hereby grant this Dispensation, authorizing and empowering our trusty and well beloved Brethren aforesaid, to form and open a Lodge after the manner of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and therein to admit and make Free Masons, according to the ancient custom, and not otherwise. And this Dispensation is to continue in full force until the Quarterly Communication of our Grand Lodge aforesaid, to be holden in the city of Boston in the month of December, A.L. 5876, unless sooner 'evoked by my or by authority of our Grand Lodge. .And I do hereby appoint Brother Oliver H. Marston to be the first Master, Brother William F. Walker to be the first Senior Warden, and Brother J. Clinton Chase to be the first Junior Warden of said Lodge. And it shall be the duty of said Master and Wardens and their associates, and they are hereby required to return this Dispensation, with a correct transcript of all proceedings had under the authority of the same, together with an attested copy of their By-Laws, to our Grand Lodge aforesaid, at the expiration of the time herein specified, for examination and such further action in the premises as shall be deemed wise and proper for the general interest of the Craft.
Given under our hand and the Seal of our Grand Lodge aforesaid, at Boston, this 18th day of October, A.D. 1875, A.L. 5875.
Percival Lowell Everett, Grand Master
Attest: Charles H. Titus, Recording Grand Secretary
At this meeting, the officer appointments previously indicated were confirmed by the Worshipful Master, and in addition for Organist, Brother Chester W. Greene.
Past Master Charles C. Dike, acting as Marshal, then declared the Lodge organized in due form. This ceremony concluded the institution of King Cyrus Lodge to act under the dispensation granted. Following the institution ceremony, miscellaneous committee matters were considered, applications for the degrees were read and the work on the first section of the Entered Apprentice Degree was rehearsed.
There were two applications, the first from George Lemuel Childs (afterwards Tyler of the Lodge for twenty-seven years – 1877 to 1904) and Alexander Campbell Duncan.
The thanks of the Lodge were tendered to the following Brothers for presentations:
- Ammi Cutter, Gavel
- J. R. Parker, Rough and Perfect Ashlers
- George L. W. Dike, Door Knocker
- R. C. Huntress, Truncheon and Rods
During the remainder of 1875 and the twelve months of 1876, a total of twenty meetings were held, three meetings during March, 1876.
Sixteen applications for the degrees were received, with thirteen being raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason before the close of the year. It may be of interest to record their names.
- George Lemuel Child
- Alexander Campbell Duncan
- John Willard Spencer
- George Elmore Gerry
- Hermann Strauchauer
- James Albert Valler
- Bryan Ransom Houghton
- Isaiah Massey
- William Hoyt Richardson
- Edwin Augustus Vinton
- John Sargent Leavitt
- Joseph Boutelle Berry
- Nathaniel Stevens Thompson
Two visitations from the Right Worshipful District Deputy Grand Master, Theodore N. Foque, were received.
A committee appointed to arrange for the rental of Odd Fellows Hall reported the following charges: For Regular Meetings — $5.00; for Sodality Meetings — $3.00. The Lodge to pay for its own janitor. This committee was instructed to seek a reduction in the charge for Sodality Meetings and was successful in arranging a cut to $1.50.
In order to improve the financial condition of the Lodge, it Was found necessary to levy an assessment of $2.00 on each member.
A Committee on By-Laws was appointed to prepare a draft for the consideration and action of the Lodge. Again, it may be of interest to record the original regulations adopted, as follows:
This Lodge shall hold stated communications on the third Wednesday of every month (July and August excepted).
The annual communications shall be holden on the third Wednesday in December at which time there shall be elected by ballot a Worshipful Master, Senior Warden, Junior Warden, Treasurer and Secretary. The Worshipful Master shall appoint Senior and Junior Deacons, Senior and Junior Stewards, Chaplain, Marshal, Organist, Inside Sentinel and Tyler and such other officers as he or the Lodge may deem expedient.
Section 1. The Treasurer shall invest the funds of the Lodge in such manner as the Finance Committee shall direct, or pay them out on such orders as they may approve. His accounts shall at all times be subject to the inspection of the Finance Committee and the Lodge. He shall present an account of all money transactions at the Annual Communication. Pay over all money to his successor who shall give duplicate receipts, one of which shall be on file with the Secretary.
Section 2. The Secretary shall send a printed notice of all regular communications to each member of the Lodge, which shall contain the names of all candidates for initiation and the degree on which the Lodge is to work. Shall deliver to his successor all property of the Lodge in his possession and shall receive such compensation as the Lodge shall direct.
Section 1. The Worshipful Master and Wardens shall constitute a Finance Committee. They shall superintend the prudential concerns of the Lodge. They shall examine and approve all bills before they can be paid and shall act as Trustees of the Lodge during their term of office. They shall direct the investment of the funds of the Lodge and report the precise state of its funds, together with the receipts and expenditures at the Annual Communication and at such other times as the Lodge may direct.
Section 2. At the Annual Communication there shall be appointed a visiting committee to consist of the Worshipful Master, Senior and Junior Wardens and four members of the Lodge, whose duty it shall be to look after and care for all Brethren sick or in distress. In no case shall they expend over Twenty Five dollars without the consent of the Lodge.
Any brother receiving the degrees in this Lodge may become a member thereof by signing the By-Laws within three months and any brother not signing the By-Laws within three months shall be subject to the same rule as brothers not made in this Lodge. Any brothers not made in this Lodge may become a member by being proposed and balloted for the same as for initiation and payment of Five dollars.
The fees for the degrees shall be Thirty-five dollars and every candidate shall deposit Fifteen dollars with his application as a part of his fee for initiation which shall be returned in case of his rejection, the balance to be paid before initiation.
Every member of this Lodge except the Treasurer, Secretary and Honorary Members shall pay the sum of One dollar every quarter in advance and any member neglecting to pay his quarterages for one year may by vote of the Lodge be suspended from membership.
These By-Laws shall not be altered or amended except by a vote of three-fourths of the members present nor until notice thereof shall have been inserted in the notifications of the meeting at which the proposed alteration or amendment is to be acted upon.
In the records of King Cyrus Lodge (By-Laws) it is noted following the original copy as shown above:
Grand Lodge of Massachusetts
In Grand Lodge December 13, 1876, this code of By-Laws was approved.
Attest: Charles H. Titus, Rec. Gr. Secy.
In the latter months of the year 1876, a second petition was being prepared, this one for a formal Charter of Constitution, and included in the minutes of the meeting held December 7th is a notation to the effect that all members raised in the Lodge would be permitted to sign the petition upon the payment of Five Dollars.
A reference to the Grand Lodge Proceedings, Annual Communication, December 13, 1876, shows that this petition was duly submitted:
The Brethren of King Cyrus Lodge, Stoneham, having worked during the past year under Dispensation, presented the following petition for a Charter which was referred, with the accompanying documents, to the Committee on Charters:
Petition for Charter for King Cyrus Lodge — 60 Signatures To the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of Massachusetts:
We, the undersigned Master Masons, to whom your Most Worshipful Grand Master issued a Dispensation bearing date October 18, 1875, empowering us to form and open a Lodge, now returning our Dispensation with a record of all our proceedings and a copy of our By-Laws, respectfully pray, if these be approved, for a Charter of Constitution empowering us, with those who may hereafter join us, under the name of King Cyrus Lodge, located in the town of Stoneham, in the County of Middlesex, to perform all the ceremonies, and discharge all the duties at said Stoneham, appertaining to Ancient Craft Masonry, in accordance with the Constitution of the Grand Lodge.
The signatures appended to this petition included forty-four of the original forty-nine signers of the first petition, those of Edmund A. Curry, Charles Carroll Dike, O. Hanscom, Daniel Jones and J. R. Parker being missing, and sixteen additional signatures as follows:
- Alexander C. Duncan
- Edwin A. Vinton
- G. E. Gerry
- Hermann Strauchauer
- George L. Child
- Isaiah Massey
- James A. Valler
- Bryan R. Houghton
- J. B. Hawkins
- Joseph B. Perry
- John S. Leavitt
- N. S. Thompson
- J. W. Spencer
- William H. Richardson
- E. F. Buswell
- Aaron Hill
Further along in the December 1876 Proceedings of the Grand Lodge, the Committee on Charters reported favorably upon the above petition, which report was accepted and the charter granted. The name of King Cyrus Lodge was accordingly included in the "List of Charters Issued," viz:
- King Cyrus, Stoneham
- Date of Precedence, October 18, 1875
- Date of Charter, December 13, 1876
This concludes an account of the preliminary proceedings in the organization of the Lodge and during the period of probation under dispensation. The succeeding pages will begin with the formal constitution of the Lodge January 4, 1877, and continue with some of the high spots of the years to follow.
CHAPTER III: The First Quarter Century
(January 1, 1877, to January 1, 1902)
Five Years (1877 through 1881)
Worshipful Masters — Oliver H. Marston, William F. Walker, and J. Clinton Chase
On January 4, 1877, the earliest convenient date after the Charter was granted, King Cyrus Lodge was honored by a visitation of the Grand Master and accompanying suite for the purpose of formally constituting the Lodge and presenting the Charter. At this meeting the Most Worshipful Grand Master himself, Percival Lowell Everett, personally installed the officers as follows:
- The existing incumbents for Master, Wardens, Treasurer and Secretary
- Charles A. Libbey, Senior Deacon
- Joseph Theobald, Junior Deacon
- Ammi Cutter, Senior Steward
- Bryan R. Houghton, Junior Steward
- Lewis Perry, Inside Sentinel
- George L. Child, Tyler
- James B. Hawkins, Chaplain
- Arthur W. Rice, Marshal
- Chester W. Greene, Organist
The first official visit of a District Deputy Grand Master to King Cyrus Lodge was made October 19, 1877, by Right Worshipful Theodore N. Foque, who also installed our officers at the first public installation on January 29, 1878.
At the installation held January 21, 1880, the records indicate that following the formal ceremonies, Rev. Bro. E. B. Fairchild "presented to each (preceding Masters, Oliver H. Marston and William F. Walker), in a few well-chosen and appropriate remarks, elegant Past Masters' Jewels, both the Brothers feelingly responding." Then followed a collation and an hour of dancing.
Early in 1880, the desirability of a "Charity Fund" became evident to care for the needs of distressed worthy Brethren, and a "Fair or other entertainment" was proposed, considered and held. Although no details are available, it appears to have been extremely successful for at the regular communication of November 17, 1880, the Treasurer of the Fair Committee, Brother Lewis Perry, reported net receipts of $1553.35. By amendments to the By-Laws, our Charity Fund was then established and Trustees elected December 15, 1880. At this time also, the annual dues were increased to $5.00, payable $1.25 quarterly.
Various social occasions took place during this five-year period as committees on "Sociables" were appointed and presumably completed their assignments, invitations being extended to the "lady friends" of the Brethren to make the evenings more enjoyable.
Consideration was given to the more serious things of life as well for the records note the preparation of an alphabetical list of members for "sick watching" purposes and contributions for our Brethren in the South, distressed with a yellow fever epidemic.
Five Years (1882 through 1886)
Worshipful Masters — Arthur W. Rice, Lewis Perry, George L. W. Dike and Willis Beard
During this period, there were few outstanding developments in the life of King Cyrus Lodge. It appears that some thought was given early in 1882 to the extent of the geographical area coming under the jurisdiction of Wyoming Lodge and also our own, but the records do not indicate the action taken or the details considered.
In 1883, an amendment to the By-Laws changing the month of the annual communication from December to October was proposed and duly voted. A change was also made in the Grand Lodge districting, King Cyrus Lodge now becoming a part of the Seventh instead of the Seventeenth District.
Late in the following year, 1884, each retiring Worshipful Master became entitled to a Past Master's jewel by a formal decision of the members.
In the course of these five years, the Lodge again responded t0 appeals for assistance in several catastrophes or special needs, Gloucester, Massachusetts, and Galveston, Texas, for example.
Five Years (1887 through 1891)
Worshipful Masters — Willis Beard, John S. Leavitt and John A. Fraser
In 1887, King Cyrus Lodge received a request from a group of Brethren in Wakefield requesting our approval of their proposed plan to organize a new Lodge in that town. This procedure was similar to that of our charter members in 1875, addressing our request to Wyoming Lodge. Favorable action appeared desirable and accordingly it was so voted.
At the December meeting in 1889, the By-Laws were again amended, the dues being reduced from five dollars to four dollars per year, as they had been originally.
Apparently the officers' collars had seen hard service and required replacement during this period, as a notation is included in the February, 1891, record that Wor. Brothers Walker and Rice and the Secretary, Brother Orra Paige, were appointed a committee to procure new ones.
Five Years (1892 through 1896)
Worshipful Masters — John A. Fraser, Wm. H. Briggs, Henry C. Carbee and George W. Hook
A further amendment to our By-Laws was proposed and duly voted in 1892 when the meeting night for regular communications was changed to the third Tuesday of the month, as it is today.
Late in 1893, a committee was appointed to consider the purchase of an organ which, with a suitable covering for protection, was procured early in 1894. It is stated that the cost of this instrument delivered was $96.05, not including the cover. According to our present Senior Past Master, Wor. Bro. George W. Hook, the organ was slightly larger than the melodeon type. It was operated by means of foot treadles and served to heighten the enjoyment of the meetings to a great extent. (Brother Hook was installed as Worshipful Master November 17, 1896, and is now our oldest living Past Master.)
Also in 1894 the purchase of a safe was referred to a committee, and in 1895, emblems for the Deacons and rods for the Stewards.
Five Years (1897 through 1901)
Worshipful Masters — George W. Hook, Fred H. Chase and Edward C. Jenkins
In the spring of 1897 occurred our first formal Ladies' Night, promoted by Wor. Brother A. W. Rice. A "fine entertainment" by a male quartet, reader and pianist was provided, as well as entertainment for the inner man.
The first Past Masters' Night was also observed rather informally in May of that year, the presiding Master, Wor. Brother Hook, calling on Past Masters Beard, Walker, Leavitt and Carbee to take over the degree work.
In 1898, the Lodge deemed it advisable to have printed copies of the By-Laws available, also to purchase new aprons for the officers. Committees were appointed, performed their duties and were eventually discharged.
On November 15, 1898, Brother Fred H. Chase was installed Worshipful Master. He was the son of Wor. Brother J. Clinton Chase, a charter member, and the brother of Charles H. Chase, who is still one of our members. Another Chase, Abram Alfred Chase, a brother of J. Clinton Chase, was also a charter member.
At the official visitation in September, 1899, the District Deputy Grand Master, R.W. Marion V. Putnam, recommended that a copy of our charter be procured in order to save wear and tear on the original. Some years later, the copy having been obtained, it was framed and is now hanging on the wall of the lodge-room.
On November 20, 1900, Brother Edward B. Jenkins was installed Worshipful Master. He was the uncle of Wor. Brother Ralph A. Jenkins.
Resolutions were offered and spread upon the records September 17, 1901, on the assassination of Brother William McKinley, President of the United States.
CHAPTER IV: The Second Quarter Century
(January 1, 1902, to January 1, 1927)
Five Years (1902 through 1906)
Worshipful Masters — Edward C. Jenkins, William P. Fletcher, Benjamin J. Hinds and Burleigh C. Gilbert
During the latter part of 1902, it was proposed that a provision for "Life Membership" be added to our By-Laws, and a committee appointed to consider the same reported early in the following year that such a provision appeared advisable. It was recommended that the cost be scaled on the basis of age, from $75.00 at twenty-one years of age down to $10.00 at eighty years, based on the "American Mortality Experience Table" at a 2 1/2 per cent interest rate. Apparently no further action was taken, however. In 1905, a new set of lights was purchased, and in 1906, it is noted that a substantial contribution was made to the Relief Fund being raised for benefit of the suffering at San Francisco, California.
Five Years (1907 through 1911)
Worshipful Masters — Burleigh C. Gilbert, Fred L. Brown and Arthur S. Parker
It was in the early part of 1907 that a fraternal visit from the District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. Walter F. Medding, brought forth the first mention of a proposed Masonic Home in Massachusetts. At that time he requested serious consideration of the subject, which was discussed at later meetings. As a result, the purpose being deemed commendable, it was voted to contribute the sum of $150 per year for a period of five years. Our records indicate that early in 1911, at a fraternal visitation of R. W. Charles L. Purrington, he expressed the thanks of the Grand Lodge for our liberal and generous contribution, the final payments having been made in advance, and spoke of the formal dedication May 25, 1911.
Also in 1907, at the official visitation in September, our Secretary Isaac W. Hanson, noted the presentation of a Past Master's diploma to Wor. Bro. Burleigh C. Gilbert. This is the first reference to a diploma in the records.
The Ladies' Night held in Armory Hall February, 1908, apparently was a very enjoyable and highly formal affair, marking a social epoch in our history and that of the Town of Stoneham. It is indicated that 337 attended, the charge per person being $1.00, and the deficit of $137.73 was paid by the Lodge.
The Chelsea fire occurred in 1908 and the Lodge contributed generously to the sufferers from that disaster.
In the latter part of that year, a committee of seven was appointed, headed by Wor. Brothers Beard, Chase and Gilbert, to arrange for a testimonial meeting in January, 1909, our 32nd anniversary, in honor of Wor. Brother Oliver H. Marston, the first presiding Master. This was duly arranged, and on January 19, 1909, the leading fraternal and social function of that year took place in Odd Fellows' Hall. In addition to the guest of honor, six other charter members were present, Brothers Onslow Gilmore, Charles K. White, Sidney A. Hill, Jos. E. Wiley and Wor. Brother Arthur W. Rice. At the banquet, five toasts to Masonry, past, present and future, were given and responded to in appropriate words. Later in the evening there were selections by the Weber Male Quartet, the reading of the history of the Lodge by Brother George A. Hinchcliffe and remarks from Colonel Marston, who was deeply moved at the occasion. It was a very memorable evening.
The Lodge was honored by the appointment, late in 1908, of our first District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. Benjamin J. Hinds, who made his first official visitation in September, 1909. This honor was climaxed in April, 1910, when the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, M. W. Dana J. Flanders, visited King Cyrus Lodge, the first such visit in our history since the constitution in 1877.
On November 15, 1910, Wor. Arthur S. Parker was installed with due ceremony by R. W. Benjamin J. Hinds, assisted by Wor. Bro. Charles S. Norris, Past Master of Converse Lodge of Maiden. Wor. Bro. A. S. Parker was the father of Wor. Bro. Russell F. Parker.
The question of home ownership of Masonic apartments for King Cyrus Lodge was raised in 1911 and a committee was appointed to consider the formation of a Masonic Building Association.
Five Years (1912 through 1916)
Worshipful Masters — Arthur S. Parker, Wm. O. Richardson, Frank A. Wilkins, Walter G. Barton and John L. Gilson
A committee had been appointed late in 1911 to confer with the I. O. O. F. trustees to ascertain the possibility of joining with other organizations using Odd Fellows' Hall in placing a tablet at the entrance listing the names and meeting nights. Early in 1913, the records note "that it was evident that they had performed their duty."
At the regular meeting in May, 1912, Brother L. C. G. Byries was raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason in the German language by R. W. Samuel Hauser, Past Senior Grand Warden, assisted in the other stations by the officers of Germania Lodge, Boston. A somewhat similar occasion was noted in June, 1914, when Bro. Myron P. Peffers was raised by Wor. Bro. Herbert P. Cook of Temple Lodge, East Boston, assisted by his line officers. At this meeting also, Bro. Austin H. Walker was raised by Wor. John Marshall, Past Master of St. John's Lodge of Ulster County, Ireland, in the form used in that country. Two hundred and fifty were present that evening.
In 1913, Golden Rule Lodge of Wakefield celebrated their 25th anniversary, inviting us to participate in the enjoyment of the occasion. Also in that year a desk and card index file were purchased for the convenience of the Tyler.
In 1914 one of our charter members, Bro. Joseph E. Wiley, was congratulated by Wor. Bro. Wm. O. Richardson at the April meeting on having been a Mason for fifty years, having been raised in Wyoming Lodge April 23, 1864. Six months later Bro. Wiley, with five other charter members, R. C. Huntress, C. H. Hadley, Orra Paige, S. A. Hill and Wor. A. W. Rice, all having been faithful attendants and hard workers in building up the Charity Fund, were voted "Life Members," the first on record.
Pour additional life members were recorded during this five-vear period. In December, 1915, Bros. Jos. B. Perry and James R Hawkins, also members when the Lodge was constituted in 1877, were accorded the honor, and a year later, Wor. Willis Beard, following his twenty-third installation as Marshal, was voted into that select group, together with Wor. Wm. H. Briggs.
In 1915, the supply of printed By-Laws having been exhausted, our Secretary, Bro. Isaac W. Hanson, suggested that a committee be named to consider their revision and a general bringing up-to-date. This committee was composed of three Past Masters, R. W. Benjamin J. Hinds, and Wor. Bros. Edward C. Jenkins and Wm. O. Richardson. The group labored for about a year, consulting the By-Laws of other Lodges, and in March, 1916, presenting recommendations which were all accepted with the exception of an article providing for the purchase of life memberships. As previously noted, such an article had been originally proposed back in 1902, but no action had been taken on the report of those who had investigated the matter. At this time also, the members deemed it inadvisable and a proposed article covering the point was omitted.
Five Years (1917 through 1921)
Worshipful Masters John L. Gilson, Wm. S. Lister, J. Raymond MacAnanny and C. Francis Munger
Two more life members were added early in this period, Bro. Samuel Hipkiss in 1917, a member close to forty years, and Bro. Daniel C. Skelton in 1918. Also in June, 1919, Wor. Wm. H. Tay of Golden Rule Lodge in Wakefield was voted an Honorary Member" in view of his interest in our Lodge and his ever constant willingness to assist when the occasion required, substituting for absent officers, acting as Chaplain at regular meetings and installations and exemplifying his friendship in many other ways. He became our second "Honorary Member," the first being Wor. Chas. C. Dike in April, 1877, a charter member of King Cyrus Lodge (acted as Marshal at the institution in 1875), and Master of Wyoming Lodge, Melrose, during 1873-1875.
Reference is made to the joint celebration of the Bi-Centenary of Masonry, dating from June 24, 1717, and the observance of St. John's Day on that day in 1919, the Lodge attending Divine service at St. James' M. E. Church.
In 1917 an addressograph was purchased to facilitate the work of our Secretary, and a Service Flag procured to honor the Brethren in military service (World War I), each being represented emblematically by a star. As these Brethren returned from meeting to meeting, following the cessation of hostilities, we read that the presiding Master, noting their reappearance, welcomed them back and expressed the gratitude of the "stay-at-homes" for their service to the nation and community.
Further reference to war conditions is found in the records as the Lodge was urged to close by ten P.M. to conserve light and heat, and the October, 1918, meeting was omitted entirely by order of Wor. Bro. Lister, as the Public Health officials deemed it wise to dispense with all public and fraternal meetings during the prevalence of the influenza epidemic. This made it necessary for the Grand Lodge to rule that the regular business of the annual meeting, scheduled for October in the By-Laws, might be legally transacted in November.
Also it is noted that 158 members contributed over $500 to the Masonic War Relief Fund administered by the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, a check being presented to R. W. Chas. S. Norris at the official visitation in 1918.
Amendments to the By-Laws were adopted in 1918, raising the affiliation fee to $10.00, assuming previous contributions to the Masonic Home Fund, and in 1920, increasing the initiation fee to $50.00 and the dues to $5.00.
The question of procuring our own apartments was again raised and a committee headed by R.W. Benjamin J. Hinds reported early in 1919 on the possible acquisition of the Rev. J. H. Whitmore estate, corner of Main and Hancock Streets. However, it appeared that the estimated costs were out of proportion to the expected benefits and the recommendation of the committee to defer action was adopted.
Another committee headed by Bro. Wm. A. Garside, our Junior Deacon, was appointed to consider the purchase of a new modern organ to replace the original one used since 1894. Late in 1919, it was recommended that the Lodge buy a 16-stop, electrically operated Esty organ, and it was so voted, the new organ being placed in service shortly thereafter. It is interesting to note that the price was close to $900, as indicated in the Treasurer's report of October, 1920.
At the May meeting in 1920, Wor. Thomas O. Paige of Winslow Lewis Lodge, Boston, assisted in the work of the evening, raising Bro. George W. Dearborn. This was considered of particular interest as Wor. Bro. Paige was the son of Bro. Orra Paige, a charter member and former Secretary, from 1878 to 1892.
In March, 1921, the subject of a National Shrine again came to the forefront and the Lodge voted to contribute the sum of $1.00 per member to the George Washington Memorial Fund. This fund has been swelled by contributions from each member initiated since that time and used for the construction of a magnificent and imposing building situated in Alexandria, Virginia, not far from Mt. Vernon where he lived, and close to our Capitol City, Washington, D. C.
Five Years (1922 through 1926)
Worshipful Masters — C. Francis Munger, George E. Merrifield, William F. Wilson, Ralph A. Jenkins and Herbert J. Brock
There were four meetings held in this period which were particularly enjoyable to the members present. Reference is made to the very formal Past Masters' Nights, at which practically all stations, even the Gates at times, were occupied by Past Masters. At each of these four occasions Wor. Bro. Willis Beard assumed the East, while the West and South were held down by Wor. Bros. Wm. H. Briggs and George W. Hook respectively on these evenings. Although Past Masters had presided at various times previously, apparently these four meetings were the first attempts to formalize such gatherings for all living Past Masters.
Two Ladies' Nights are also singled out for particular mention in this period, as they were marked by the attendance of the Most Worshipful Grand Master. In 1924, Most Worshipful Rev. Dudley H. Ferrell was present, and in 1926, King Cyrus Lodge was honored by the presence of Most Worshipful Frank L. Simpson.
It is also interesting to note that our first so-called "Family Night" was held in 1925, with a similar social evening in 1926.
The efforts of the Lodge were not entirely concerned with social matters, however, as in addition to routine contributions for usual causes and relief for distressed, worthy Brethren, a room in a new wing added to our Masonic Home at Charlton was furnished in 1924 and assistance was given to the sufferers in the 1926 Florida disaster.
In 1922, Wor. George E. Merrifield, following his election to the East, received evidence of the esteem and respect of his associates in the Boston Market. A total of eighty-five were present to wish him well and bestow upon him a 32nd Degree charm. It is stated that Wor. Bro. Merrifield was considerably moved on this occasion and "could say but little" in appreciation for the gift.
In 1923, Wor. J. Raymond MacAnanny, Master in 1920, was honored by being installed Grand Pursuivant of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge.
Late in this period, the Treasurer's reports indicate the replacement of the officers' regalia and the purchase of a typewriter for the Secretary. It was also deemed advisable to provide a safe for the use of the Secretary to protect the records his possession and it was so voted in November, 1926.
Several amendments to the By-Laws were adopted and approved in these years. In 1924, a committee appointed to consider the expediency of establishing a so-called "Permanent Fund" and also a "Life Membership" charge reported favorably and in due course these amendments were adopted and approved by the Grand Lodge. The life membership fee at that time was set at $75.00. Also in 1926 our fiscal year was changed to agree with that of the Grand Lodge, from September 1 to August 31, the annual meeting to fall in September and dues payable in advance at the regular communication of that month.
As a matter of interest, it is noted that the "Per Capita Tax" payable to the Grand Lodge at the rate of $2.00 per member, was proposed, considered and approved in 1924. This action was to stabilize and increase the income of the Grand Lodge, previously dependent on gifts and revenue from invested bequests, to permit the proper maintenance of our Home and other relief activities coming under their jurisdiction.
In September, 1926, a committee was appointed, headed by Wor. Ralph A. Jenkins to make plans for the proper observance of the 50th anniversary of our constitution which took place in January, 1877. Upon his election in October, 1926, Wor. Herbert J. Brock was added to this committee. Wor. Bro. Brock was privileged to have two sons follow him in the East, Herbert J., Jr., in 1947 and Fred. H. in 1948, acting as Installing Master in both years.
The Third Quarter Century (January 1, 1927, to January 1, 1952)
Five Years (1927 through 1931)
Worshipful Masters — Herbert J. Brock, Geo. H. Hanson, Alfred Belcher and Elbert R. Boyd
One of the most important occasions in the history of King Cyrus Lodge, perhaps taking second place only to the original Constitution ceremonies in 1877, was observed in the first days of this quarter century. On January 4, 1927, the fiftieth anniversary was celebrated at the 206th special communication of the Lodge and it was indeed a gala event for our members and the visiting Brethren. The Lodge was honored by the attendance of Most Worshipful Frank L. Simpson, Grand Master, his second visit to Stoneham, having been present at our Ladies' Night in 1926, and a very distinguished group of Brethren, including a Past Grand Master, Rev. Dudley H. Ferrell, the then Grand Secretary, R. W. Frederick W. Hamilton, and also R. W. Frank H. Hilton, who is now Grand Secretary, having succeeded R. W. Brother Hamilton upon his death. There were several other officers of the Grand Lodge and District Deputies on the attending suite.
Bro. Geo. A. Hinchcliffe, chosen Historian for the second time, and Bro. Samuel Hipkiss, a member since 1877, were also among the guests of the evening. Bro. Sidney A. Hill, the only living charter member of King Cyrus Lodge and a Mason since 1871, was not able to be present due to illness. It had been planned to have the Grand Master himself confer upon Bro. Hill a Veteran's Medal, for his fifty years or more membership, but this duty was discharged by our District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. Willard P. Lombard, at the March 1927 communication.
During the course of the evening, the Grand Master was called upon for remarks and commented in most pleasant terms upon our record as brought out in Bro. Hinchcliffe's history, mentioning among other things the continuity from generation to generation in the membership and activity in the Lodge of the Chase and Jenkins families.
In 1927, also, it appears that the Lodge meetings were held outside the present apartments for the first and only time since our institution in 1875, due to the modernization and renovation of the Odd Fellows Building. The September meeting was held in Rotary Hall, 305 Main Street, corner of Montvale Avenue, and in October, at Legion Hall, corner of Main and Minot Streets.
7f is noted in the records of the April, 1927, meeting that a substantial sum was contributed to the Mississippi Flood Relief, and in 1928, another sizable amount, $1.00 for each member, was voted toward the cost of work at the Masonic Hospital) the former estate, called Juniper Hall, of R. W. Matthew John Whittall which his widow had recently presented to the Grand Lodge for use as a hospital to relieve suffering among the Brethren and their dependents.
Also in 1928, reference is made for the first time to the establishment of proposed "Lodges of Instruction" for the purpose of assisting the Fraternity in the education of the candidates and officers in the symbolism, ideals and responsibilities of the Craft.
There were five life members voted during this five year period, Bro. William A. Knox in 1927, Wor. Lewis Perry in 1928, and in 1929, Bro. Charles J. Emerson, R.W. Edgar O. Dewey of Good Samaritan Lodge, Reading, and Wor. Fred H. Chase.
Five Years (1932 through 1936)
Worshipful Masters — Elbert R. Boyd, R. Arnold Newcomb, Russell F. Parker and Theodore F. Moore
During this period, there were two memorable Past Masters, and "Old Timers" Nights. In December, 1932, our oldest living Past Master, Wor. William H. Briggs, and R.W. Benjamin J. Hinds were honored on the first occasion. In recognition of fifty years of Masonic service, each was presented a Veteran's Medal by R.W. George A. Chisholm and R.W. Bro. Hinds was voted a life member, Wor. Bro. Briggs having been a life member for several years. The second of these evenings took place in february, 1935, with Wor. Bro. Briggs again occupying the East. He also delivered the Charge to the candidates at the conclusion of the degree work. Wor. Bro. Hook acted as Senior Warden, with Bro. Chas. J. Emerson as Chaplain once again. I he program for the evening was under the able direction of Wor. Wm. S. Lister, who later presented billfolds, suitably marked, to all attending members of King Cyrus Lodge with twenty-five or more years of membership behind them. Including the "Master of Ceremonies," there were twenty-five of the seventy-two "Old Timers" present. In the early part of the evening, following one of the excellent roast beef suppers for which they were justly famous, gifts were also presented to the "chefs," Bros. Chester Merrifield and Willard Day. At each meeting, the Brethren present enjoyed themselves to the utmost and were unanimous in demonstrating their appreciation.
In addition to R.W. Bro. Hinds, five more life members were added, Bros. Herbert E. Reed (1932), William A. Mitchell (1933), J. Henry March (1934), Benjamin F. Benson (1935) and Wor. George W. Hood (1936).
Bro. March was also presented a Veteran's Medal immediately before being voted a life member in 1934, and at that communication, the by-laws were amended to include a delineation of our official seal.
At the regular communication held in February, 1936, R. W. Frederic L. Putnam, Senior Grand Warden cf the Grand Lodge, was the guest of the evening and entertained those present with a very interesting account cf his experiences during eighteen years as Grand Lecturer.
Five Years (1937 through 1941)
Worshipful Masters — Theodore F. Moore, Norman R. Houghton, R. Murrey Price, Joseph E. Lodge, Frederick P. Hanford and A. Duncan Clark
A change was made late in 1937 in the by-laws increasing the fee for life membership to $100.00 and providing for the safeguarding of our Permanent Fund by requiring the agreement of at least half of the membership for any expenditure.
Five additional life memberships were voted during this period, Bro. Amasa O. Sprague in 1937, Bro. Willard Massey (fifty years a Mason) in 1938, and in 1939, Bros. George M. Downs, Orrin C. Young and Charles R. Farrin. Shortly after voted a life member in 1938, a Veteran's Medal was nted to Bro. Massey at his home by a delegation consisting of our 2nd District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. C. Francis Munger and Past Masters of King Cyrus Lodge, with the presiding Master, Wor. R. Murrey Price.
As noted in the preceding paragraph, King Cyrus Lodge was honored for the second time by the appointment of a Past Master as District Deputy Grand Master. R. W. C. Francis Munger paid his first fraternal visit at our regular communication in January, 1939. At that meeting the Past District Deputy, R. W. Frederick E. Smith, presented to him a District Deputy's Jewel. R. W. Bro. Munger served in that capacity in 1940 also.
On October 30,1939, Wor. Joseph E. Lodge, whose son, Arthur G. Lodge, followed him to the East in 1944, was installed, and during his term in 1940, occurred the first "out of State" visitation in our history. Through the efforts of Bro. Kenneth R. Hancock, arrangements were made for a delegation of officers and members of King Cyrus Lodge to exemplify the work of the third degree in King Solomon's Temple Lodge No. 45, Bellows Falls, Vermont, where Bro. Vernon P. Hancock, brother to Kenneth, was Senior Steward. The meeting was held on a Saturday evening in June, the Grand Master of Masons in Vermont being in attendance. The two Lodges combined also on the following Sunday morning in attending church services and the week-end was unanimously pronounced a novel and enjoyable experience.
A return week-end visit was paid to King Cyrus Lodge in October, 1940, and the officers from Vermont raised one of their candidates according to Vermont ritual at a special communication. After the conclusion of the meeting, a group proceeded to Boston, with a motorcycle police escort, to visit and inspect the recently opened Boston Police Radio headquarters. On Sunday morning, the Brethren repaired to the First Congregational Church in Stoneham where Rev. Bro. Mark Strickland delivered an appropriate sermon.
In June, 1940, also, as a part of the 7th Masonic District, a so-called "pilgrimage" to the Masonic Home and Masonic Hospital was arranged and a large gathering motored to Charlton and Shrewsbury to better acquaint themselves with these relief facilities administered by the Grand Lodge.
The records indicate that in 1941, the officers' regalia was given a major overhaul, being sadly in need of repair and cleaning.
Five Years (1942 through 1946)
Worshipful Masters — A. Duncan Clark, Lester D. Gaffney, Arthur G. Lodge, Roger I. Hanson, Gordon F. May and Herbert J. Brock, Jr.
This period in our history was again influenced by war conditions— World War II. Wor. Arthur G. Lodge and Junior Warden Fred. H. Brock were interrupted in their respective terms by military service; several meetings in Odd Fellows Hall were disrupted by "blackout" tests and air raid "alerts" and the members contributed very liberally to a "Masonic Service Fund," raised by the Grand Lodge for the establishment and maintenance of Service Centers adjacent to military reservations in Massachusetts. These centers were to provide recreation and assistance to Brethren and related individuals engaged in the service of their country. In November, 1943, a so-called "Military Night" was arranged and Bro. Charles Gibbons was raised by a team composed entirely of Army Officers, from Lieutenant Colonel down to Master Sergeant.
In May, 1942, a Masonic Veterans' Night was held'at the Masonic Apartments in Melrose to honor all Brethren in our District who had recently completed fifty years of membership in the Fraternity. The Most Worshipful Grand Master personally presented the Veterans' Medals, one being given to Bro. William A. Mitchell of King Cyrus Lodge. In September 1946, Bro. Henry A. Buell also received a similar medal from R.W. Ralph G. Babcock, our District Deputy Grand Master.
A life membership to Bro. Samuel C. Batchelder was voted in October, 1943.
King Cyrus Lodge made its second "out-of-State" visitation in March, 1946, and exemplified the Massachusetts ritual at Lafayette Lodge No. 41, Manchester, New Hampshire, where Rev. Bro. Mark B. Strickland, formerly Pastor of the First Congregational Church in Stoneham, was then located. A large delegation from our vicinity attended, including R. W. Ralph G. Babcock, District Deputy Grand Master, who paid King Cyrus Lodge a fraternal visit during the meeting, bringing the greetings of the Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, not only to members of the Craft under his jurisdiction, but to Masons in New Hampshire as well.
A most unusual distinction was accorded Wor. Herbert J. Brock at the installation ceremonies in October, 1946. At that time, as Past Master of King Cyrus Lodge, it became his privilege to act as Installing Master, with two of his sons being installed in the most advanced stations — Herbert J., Jr., as Master and Fred H. as Senior Warden. As the Grand Secretary stated, when this was brought to his attention, such an occurrence had seldom, if ever, been duplicated in Massachusetts.
Five Years (1947 through 1951)
Worshipful Masters — Herbert J. Brock, Jr., Fred H. Brock, Randolph J. Owen, Archibald MacLennan, Harold A. Martin and George T. Prigge
A return visit to Stoneham was paid by the officers and members of Lafayette Lodge No. 41, Manchester, New Hampshire, in April, 1947, at which meeting the New Hampshire ritual was worked on one of their regular candidates. In June, 1947, the Lodge officers and a few members traveled to Weld, Maine, at the invitation of the Senior Warden of Mystic Tie Lodge No. 154, the nephew of Bro. Philip W. Potter.
These visitations to other Grand jurisdictions were productive of much enjoyment to all, and the exchange of fraternal greetings aroused such interest that in May, 1949, the officers and a delegation from King Cyrus Lodge spent the week-end at Wells, Maine. Bro. Joseph C. Nickerson had a summer home in that vicinity and was acquainted with the officers of Ocean Lodge No. 142. As a result, an invitation was received to exemplify Massachusetts ritual in their apartments. One of our own members, Bro. William E. R. Coulton, owner of the "York House" in Wells, was the host for those who stayed overnight. Needless to say, another very pleasant and interesting experience rewarded all who found it possible to attend.
The by-laws were further amended during this period. In 1948, the initiation fees were increased to $65.00 and life memberships to $150.00. In 1949, the election of officers was advanced to June and the annual dues were increased to $7.00. (Incidentally, at the time, the Grand Lodge dues were raised to $3.00 per year.)
During the term of Wor. Fred H. Brock in 1948, attendance of the Lodge at Divine Services on St. John's Day was preceded by a breakfast. This enjoyable innovation has been continued since that time.
A fifty-year button was presented in November, 1948, to Wor. Howard H. C. Bingham, Past Master of St. John's Lodge No. 4 of Stratford, Connecticut, now a resident of Stoneham. Our District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. William R. Gilman, acted in this presentation for the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Connecticut. In the summer of 1950, our presiding Master, Wor. Archibald MacLennan was suddenly called to membership in the Celestial Lodge above. This was the first occasion in our history that a Master died in office.
Wor. Bro. MacLennan was intensely interested in the affairs of Freemasonry, and as he advanced through the line toward the East, it became increasingly evident that the welfare of King Cyrus Lodge occupied a prominent spot in his thoughts. When Senior Warden, he had presented the Lodge with a set of sterling silver Masonic tools and a gavel. Early in 1950, he conceived the idea of purchasing a new organ to replace the Esty motor-driven organ in use since 1920. (Our first organ, operated by foot treadles, was obtained in 1894.) His enthusiasm for the betterment of our musical facilities was communicated to the members and in February, 1950, a committee was formed to raise the funds required and arrange for the replacement. In addition to his responsibilities as Master, he agreed to head this committee, with Wor. W. S. Lister as Treasurer, and personally contributed a substantial amount to start the Fund.
His untimely death interrupted the efforts being expended in raising the necessary amount, but one of the committee members, Bro. Frank A. Phoenix, was prevailed upon to take over the leadership, and with the assistance of the line officers, Service Committee and the Lodge, completed the arduous task in quick order. The organ, a Hammond electrical type, was installed in January, 1951, Bro. Phoenix formally presenting the keys at that time. A dedication concert was held March 6,1951, 236 being in attendance, at which time Judge Lawrence G. Brooks of the Maiden District Court gave the dedication address, followed by a musical program, organ and vocal. Wor. Bro. MacLennan had been Court Officer under Judge Brooks.
This organ, by unanimous vote of the Lodge, is known as the MacLennan Memorial Organ to honor the memory of the originator of the project and his deep interest in bringing the benefits of better music into the lodge rooms. A metal plate, suitably inscribed, was donated by Bro. Phoenix, who had labored long and earnestly to complete the work,-and is attached to the organ for the information of future members.
CHAPTER VI: Presentations to and from the Lodge
Throughout the seventy-five years of our history, numerous gifts have been presented to the Lodge by its members and occasionally by individuals interested in its welfare, and on the other hand, by the Lodge to individuals and organizations. The more or less routine presentations of Past Masters' jewels and aprons, etc., are not noted herewith, but other items a bit out of the ordinary and those considered of interest to the membership are included in this chapter, having been omitted deliberately in the preceding pages.
The first group of presentations made at the institution meeting, November 17, 1875, has already been noted, namely:
- A gavel by Ammi Cutter — still in existence although the ivory head is broken. * The Rough and Perfect Ashlers — J. R. Parker. * A door knocker — G. L. W. Dike.
- The truncheons and rods — R. C. Huntress.
March 21, 1883
The Tyler's sword — J. S. Leavitt.
This sword was a "relick of the war" and in December, 1892, the records note that Bro. Leavitt "made the following proposition in behalf of his son who wanted to retain it," that seeing the need of a new Bible in the Lodge, he would exchange the sword for a Bible. The vote of the Lodge on this exchange was unanimous and on January 17, 1893, the exchange was made.
October 17, 1888
A square for use at the West Gate — J. E. Wiley.
January 21, 1891
A "large picture frame with several of our Past Masters' photographs" — O. H. Marston.
November 21, 1893
A rule and line — J. S. Leavitt.
June 19, 1894
At this meeting, a committee who had been named to purchase a suitable present for Bro. Orra Paige (Secretary from 1878-1892) reported that they had procured a cane and were awaiting an opportunity to make the formal presentation. Later in the year, it is noted that they had traveled to his home in Magnolia and discharged their duty.
February 21, 1905
A new Bible — Wor. Bro. A. W. Rice; still used in 1951. In this connection, the minutes of the January meeting note that the Bible then in use was in poor condition and should be put in good condition and returned to Columbian Encampment, I. O .O. F. who had kindly loaned it to us for some years.
October 17, 1905
A gavel — Wm. A. Tarbett; "made of relics of the Spanish war," has seen service frequently in recent years.
June 18, 1907
A skin for covering a new couch — Bro. David H. Smith of Saint Matthew's Lodge, Andover, Mass., he being a resident of Stoneham. The couch evidently needing attention, was repaired and re-covered shortly thereafter.
February 16, 1909
A picture of the Past Masters — Lester D. Holden and Wor. Bro. F. L. Brown.
June 15, 1909
A chart of King Solomon's Temple at Jerusalem — Mrs. Aaron M. Wilcox of Washington, D. C., and Mr. Thomas S. Powers of the Boston Herald
March 15, 1910
An electrically illuminated "G" — Wor. F. L. Brown.
September 20, 1910
An American flag — Wor. F. L. Brown. After acceptance by the Lodge, all members arose and sang one verse of The Star Spangled Banner.
October 18, 1910
A contribution box for Charity Fund — Wor. F. L. Brown. This gift was put to immediate use, the total of the first contribution being $7.50.
May 21, 1912
A beautiful picture to Rev. A. S. Beale, our Chaplain, as a wedding gift from the officers of the Lodge.
December 17, 1912
- A Master's jewel — Wor. F, L. Brown.
- A Senior Warden's jewel — Wor. W. O. Richardson.
- A Junior Warden's jewel — Senior Warden F. A. Wilkins.
These jewels are for the proper identification of the respective officers when attending meetings of the Grand Lodge.
November 17, 1914
Several valuable books on Freemasonry — Widow of Bro. David H. Smith, at his death a resident of Stoneham and member of St. Matthew's Lodge, Andover.
October 17, 1916
Several copies of musical selections appropriate to Master Mason's Degree — H. H. Hovey.
March 19, 1918
At this meeting, service flags were presented by the Lodge to Bros. Joseph C. Jenkins and W. Carlton Martin, Junior Steward and Inside Sentinel, then in the service of their country, the flags to be draped over their chairs until their return.
June 17, 1919
A picture of his son, Ernest — Bro. George A. Hinchcliffe.
December 16, 1919
The recently instituted Lodge in Melrose (Fidelity) expressed its appreciation of the contribution of King Cyrus Lodge toward their collars and jewels and also for the Bible presented by our Past Masters.
December 19, 1922
The present symbolic "G" outlined in electric bulbs by our Marshal Chas. R. Farrin.
June 19, 1923
A picture of the George Washington Memorial Monument by the George Washington Memorial Committee.
October 21, 1924
The altar now in use — Junior Steward Erie R. White, in behalf of the Square and Compass Club of Stoneham, in whose organization he had taken a leading part.
October 28, 1924
A special presentation of Past Masters' aprons to nine Past Masters on behalf of King Cyrus Lodge, as the last official act of Wor. George E. Merrifield, they not having received one previously.
October 9, 1930
A Past District Deputy Grand Master's jewel presented to R. W. Benjamin J. Hinds — Wor. Alfred Belcher on behalf of King Cyrus Lodge.
March 15, 1932
A picture of George Washington in Masonic regalia, through Honorable Frederick W. Dallinger, Congressional Representative, in behalf of National George Washington Bi-Centennial Committee.
December 18, 1934
An electric clock to Rev. Bro. John Homer Miller — Wor. Bro. R. Arnold Newcomb in behalf of King Cyrus Lodge. Rev. Bro. Miller was leaving the First Congregational Church in Stoneham in response to a call from Springfield.
February 19, 1935
A bridge set to Bro. Chester A. Merrifield and cigarette case to Bro. Willard Day — Wor. C. Francis Munger in behalf of King Cyrus Lodge, in appreciation of the many enjoyable suppers which they had provided for the members.
Also leather billfolds, suitably inscribed, to 25 "Old Timers" — each having been a member for at least 25 years — presented by Wor. William S. Lister. There were 47 other members in this group not able to attend and their "souvenirs" were forwarded to them.
October 19, 1937
The Past Master's apron of the late Wor. Wm. O. Richardson — Wor. Ralph A. Jenkins.
November 16, 1937
A gavel and block, suitably inscribed, was presented to the Lodge by Wor. Theodore F. Moore for Bro. Frank W. Le Brun. These tools were made from oak taken from the old and famous frigate "Constitution" (Old Ironsides).
March 15, 1938
A letter was read expressing the appreciation of Stoneham Assembly, Order of Rainbow for Girls, for the American flag presented by the Lodge at their institution.
January 17, 1939
A leather record case — Wor. R. Murrey Price on behalf of King Cyrus Lodge to R. W. C. Francis Munger on the occasion of his first fraternal visit since his appointment as District Deputy Grand Master.
October 5, 1940
A gavel — Wor. Harold H. Cady, King Solomon's Temple Lodge No. 45, Bellows Falls, Vermont, upon their return of our visit to Vermont in June, 1940. The head of this gavel is made of wood taken from the so-called "Tucker Toll Bridge," built in 1840 by Nathaniel Tucker, spanning the Connecticut River at Bellows Falls. The handle came from the home of Mrs. Tucker, which was later acquired by Hetty Green, known as the richest woman in the world.
January 18, 1944
A billfold to Wor. Arthur G. Lodge on the occasion of his last meeting before leaving for training in the Marine Corps and service in World War II. A similar gift was forwarded also to Bro. Frederick H. Brock, who had vacated his station as Junior Warden in the summer of 1943 to enter military service.
October 17, 1944
A history of Overseas Lodge, Providence, R. I. — Bro. Gordon F. May.
March 25, 1946
A gavel to Lafayette Lodge No. 41, Manchester, New Hampshire — Wor. Gordon F. May in behalf of King Cyrus Lodge. This presentation was upon the occasion of our second journey out of the Commonwealth to exemplify Massachusetts ritual.
April 29, 1947
Rough and Perfect Ashlers by Lafayette Lodge No. 41, Manchester, New Hampshire, upon their return visitation.
June 17, 1947
A letter was received from Lynnfield Lodge, recently organized, expressing appreciation of lambskins presented by King Cyrus Lodge toward their furnishings.
May 23, 1948
A set of light bulbs for the pedestals, three "Lesser Lights," with the filament built in to illuminate an enclosed Square and Compass — Bro. Robert E. Arnold. He had seen similar lights originally upon a previous visit to a Lodge in Florida, and after considerable correspondence and almost six months elapsed time, was able to obtain the bulbs presented. The search led from the Master of the Lodge in Florida to its Secretary, to a visiting Brother in Chicago, thence to addresses in Texas, Tennessee and New York and finally to the manufacturers.
June 21, 1949
A set of silver working tools, "all the implements of Masonry indiscriminately," including a silver bound mahogany gavel — Wor. Theodore F. Moore for our Senior Warden, Archibald MacLennan. They were enclosed in a velvet lined wooden chest, constructed and contributed by our Junior Deacon, Oliver Rutherford. The attention of the Brethren was also called to the repainting of the designs on our Trestle Board by Russell Hodgeman, son of Bro. Albert R. Hodgeman.
February 20, 1951
A beautiful Masonic Bible, enclosed in light blue leather covering — Bro. Clayton R. Robinson, for the widow of Bro. Joseph C. Nickerson, in his memory.
CHAPTER VII: Outstanding Members of King Cyrus Lodge
In this, the concluding chapter, it is deemed no more than fitting and proper that due recognition be given to those members whose services in and for the Lodge might be termed "over and above the normal duties and responsibilities" incumbent on all good Masons. In our history there have been many who merit such recognition, from all occupants of the East down through the various officers, and even extending to some of the Brethren "on the side lines." It would be impossible to include all deserving members, but an attempt has been made to note briefly the records of some who were particularly outstanding. The following members, therefore, appearing in general on a chronological basis, are cited for their distinguished service to the Craft and to King Cyrus Lodge in particular.
OLIVER H. MARSTON
Our first Worshipful Master, Oliver H. Marston (1876-1877), necessarily tops the list for the hard work and devotion to the Craft he exhibited in the preliminary organization and leadership of the Lodge during its early years. It is obvious that the problems faced by any such group are many and varied, requiring a high order of ability to surmount them and to lay a secure and solid foundation upon which the future ages may build. This point was emphasized in the remarks of Wor. Bro. Marston at the Memorial tendered to him in January, 1909, our 32nd anniversary, the first formal historical celebration of King Cyrus Lodge.
WILLIAM F. WALKER
Our second Master, Wor. William F. Walker (1878-1879), ably assisted in the formation of the Lodge, taking an active part in the work and later assuming the onerous duties of Secretary in 1894, which office he held until his death in 1901.
ORRA PAIGE 1843-1920
The long and meritorious service of Bro. Orra Paige as Secretary from 1878 to 1892, in that station for nearly fifteen years, must not be overlooked. Wor. Arthur W. Rice, Master in 1882, was noted for his interest in all the affairs of the Lodge. In addition to the administration and ritualistic angles, he was particularly active in all social and charitable functions. In 1880, he was on the committee charged with arranging a fair, the proceeds of which were substantial and dedicated to the establishment of our present Charity Fund. He was elected a Trustee of that Fund in 1901, and continued until his death in 1920, leaving a bequest of over $1000.00 to the Lodge, which was added to the amount available for the relief of needy Brethren. He was also our representative to the Grand Lodge Board of Masonic Relief for some years.
GEORGE L. AND CURTIS M. CHILD
A "Father and Son" combination, in office from 1877 to 1926, a period of almost fifty years, is worthy of note. Bro. George L. Child, a charter member, was installed as our Tyler in January, 1877, and served "outside the door" faithfully and loyally until his death in 1904. His son, Curtis M. Child, having become a member in 1900,followed in the footsteps of his father (he was installed in November, 1904) and ably guarded the entrance to our Lodge until he too was cut down by the all-devouring scythe of Time in October, 1926. King Cyrus Lodge has been fortunate in respect to Tylers as Bro. Howard S. Palmer, who took over in 1926, continued for another seventeen years, until his death in 1943.
Wor. Willis Beard (1887-1888) started in line within a few months of signing the by-laws. Even after stepping down from the East, he continued to be very active in the Lodge, serving in many ways, although handicapped toward the end of his life by failing eyesight. He was our Marshal from 1894 to 1919, twenty-five years, and a remarkable ritualist, instructing the candidates in their lectures and supervising the officers' rehearsals even after his sight had practically gone.
JOHN S. LEAVITT, WILLIAM H. BRIGGS, HENRY C. CARBEE
Wor. John S. Leavitt (1889-1890), William H. Briggs (1893- 1894) and Henry C. Carbee (1895-1896) were all highly regarded by Wor. George W. Hook (1897-1898) as "good workers" in the Lodge. Their interest in the Fraternity did not end with the completion of their terms, but was evidenced by their willingness to assume and discharge with distinction other responsibilities laid upon them. Wor. Bro. Leavitt served as Treasurer from 1892 until his death in 1901. Wor. Bro. Briggs was noted for his love and excellent rendition of the ritual, serving as Senior Warden at several of the formal Past Masters' Nights, very capably seconding the work of Wor. Willis Beard. Wor. Bro. Carbee was installed Treasurer in 1901, succeeding Wor. Bro. Leavitt, and also served as Trustee of the Charity Fund. Wor. Bro. Hook is now our Senior Past Master and a life member of the Lodge and was, for a short time, our Secretary. Bro. Isaac W. Hanson took over as Secretary in 1901, following the death of Wor. William F. Walker, and was formally installed in November of that year. He was very conscientious and efficient and was the guiding counsel of the presiding Masters for close to a quarter century, continuing until his death in January, 1925.
HERBERT P. HOWE
The financial affairs of the Lodge were also in capable hands during the early 1900's. Bro. Herbert P. Howe was installed Treasurer in 1903 and out-lived his associate, passing on in 1931 while still in the harness. His service of practically twenty-eight years as Treasurer constitutes as yet the longest term in office of any one member.
CHARLES J. EMERSON
Another well-beloved member, who came to King Cyrus Lodge by affiliation from Warner, New Hampshire, in 1903, was Bro. Charles J. Emerson. In the main, his contribution to the Fraternity through the Lodge was as Chaplain from time to time. He was ever ready to act in that capacity when occasion required, and was Chaplain on many installation and Past Masters' Nights, being very highly respected by all who knew him. He was voted a life member in 1929.
BENJAMIN J. HINDS
One of the most outstanding members in our history, also an affiliated member, coming from Machias, Maine, in 1900, was R. W. Benjamin J. Hinds, who served as Master in 1905 and 1906. He was appointed as our first District Deputy Grand Master for the Seventh Masonic District late in 1908 and for the next two years discharged the duties of that responsible position with dignity and honor. During his career as a Mason, he represented King Cyrus Lodge on the Board of Masonic Relief, assisted as Trustee of the Permanent Fund, and was the first President of the Past Masters' Association, Seventh Masonic District, continuing in that office for twenty years. He is also remembered for acting as Master at many installation ceremonies, accompanied by R. W. Edgar O. Dewey of Good Samaritan Lodge of Reading as Installing Marshal and by Bro. Charles J. Emerson as Chaplain. These installations were always notable for their unique atmosphere of ease and good humor, notwithstanding the dignified formality of the occasion. He was a member of the Fraternity for over fifty years, had received a Veteran's Medal and was voted a life member of King Cyrus Lodge in 1932. Quoting from his obituary in 1934, "Freemasonry, indeed, lost a zealous worker."
BURLEIGH C. GILBERT
Wor. Burleigh C. Gilbert became a member of the Lodge in 1901. He was immediately marked as one with a sincere and unflagging interest in Masonry, becoming Master late in 1906 and ably administering the Lodge affairs during 1907 and 1908. Although cut off by the Grim Reaper in 1915, he is remembered as an active participant in various functions of the organization.
CHESTER A. MERRIFIELD AND WILLARD DAY
Much of the good fellowship and enjoyment of fraternal associations has been experienced around the table at refreshment time. King Cyrus Lodge was fortunate in having two members, Bros. Chester A. Merrifield and Willard Day, often ably assisted by Bro. Edward C. Moody, who were masters of the art of satisfying the "inner man." Their beefsteak suppers were particularly famous and they were called before the Lodge on several occasions to receive the hearty and well-merited appreciation of the Brethren for the excellence of their work in preparing the meal and supervising the serving of the same.
FREDERICK T. DRAKE
Bro. Frederick T. Drake found his major interest in the relief of the "distressed worthy Brother" and his family. He acted as Secretary for a short period following the death of Bro. Isaac W. Hanson, but devoted the greater part of his service as our representative to the Board of Masonic Relief. His assistance to the Master and Wardens in cases of misfortune was invaluable from 1920, when he took the place of Wor. Arthur W. Rice on the Board, until his resignation in 1938 due to ill health. He did not lose his interest in this phase of our fraternal responsibilities even then, but was ever ready to give his successor the benefit of his advice and counsel. His final act in this connection was the gift of $1000.00 to our Charity Fund in 1946, shortly before his passing, indicative of his continued concern until the end for those in need.
C. FRANCIS MUNGER
Our second District Deputy Grand Master, R. W. C. Francis Munger, who has just recently journeyed to the land from whose bourne no traveler returns, had always given Masonry his sincere and serious consideration. He presided over the Lodge in 1921 and 1922, was our District Representative on the Board of Masonic Relief for some years and also found time to give of his knowledge and experience by acting as Lecturer on many occasions in the Lodge of Instruction. His earnestness, ability, and devotion to the Craft was recognized in 1938 by his appointment as District Deputy, in which capacity he served during 1939 and 1940.
J. ALGERNON FORBES
In our present Secretary, Bro. J. Algernon Forbes, we have a worthy successor to those who preceded him. King Cyrus Lodge has been very fortunate in its Secretaries and the saying that "a good Secretary is the Master's strong right arm" is well borne out by Bro. Forbes. He was elected in October, 1925, and has served faithfully and with distinction since that time, a period of over twenty-five years.
HORACE E. BELLOWS
Our Treasurer also, Bro. Horace E. Bellows, who succeeded Bro. Herbert P. Howe at a special election in September, 1931, has now completed twenty years of service in that station. During these two decades, auditing committees have had no difficulty in determining the financial status of the Lodge.
With this chapter, the history of our seventy-five years as a "regular and duly constituted" Lodge is concluded. We have naturally been concerned with the activities of the past and the gradual advancement of the ideals of Masonry in the Town of Stoneham. But our eyes must now look to the future! King Cyrus Lodge has ever been known for the friendly atmosphere among its membership and for its hospitality and welcome to visiting Brethren. As we surrender to our younger Brothers in the Craft the responsibilities laid upon us, we bespeak their constant and vigilant endeavor to maintain the esteemed record of those who have gone before us.
CENTENARY HISTORY, JANUARY 1977
From Proceedings, Page 1977-4:
History From 1952-1977
By Worshipful David W. Shaw.
(For a more detailed history of King Cyrus Lodge covering the earlier periods, please refer to 1952 Mass. 16-70.)
On January 5, 1952, King Cyrus Lodge celebrated its 75th anniversary. Worshipful George T. Prigge was Master of the Lodge at that time. Most Worshipful Thomas S. Roy, Grand Master and a suite of Grand Lodge Officers paid the Lodge a visit on that evening. (1952 Mass. 13-70)
Fifty Year Veteran's Medals were presented to Brothers George R. Barnstead, Charles H. Chase and Harry B. Fiske. The history of the Lodge was read by Worshipful Theodore F. Moore. Music was provided by the Craftsman Quartette. The line officers for that year included two brothers who are in line again this year: Worshipful Charles J. Moore, Master this year, and Worshipful Edward J. Chamberlain, Marshal this year. They were Senior and Junior Stewards, respectively, during the Lodge's 75th year.
King Cyrus Lodge has had four of its members appointed District Deputy Grand Master. They are Right Worshipful Benjamin J. Hinds in 1908, Right Worshipful C. Francis Munger in 1938, Right Worshipful Oliver Rutherford in 1957 and Right Worshipful Richard C.F. Hastings in 1971.
Right Worshipful Benjamin J. Hinds was Master of King Cyrus Lodge in 1905 and 1906. According to the records Right Worshipful Hinds had ability and was devoted to the Craft.
Right Worshipful C. Francis Munger was Master of King Cyrus Lodge in 1921 and 1922. He served his Lodge and the Craft creditably.
Right Worshipful Oliver Rutherford was Master of King Cyrus Lodge in 1953. He became a full-time Mason by serving the Grand Lodge as Director of Masonic Service and Commissioner of Masonic Relief. The Grand Lodge Blood Program under Right Worshipful Rutherford's direction became one of the most outstanding Masonic programs in the country. Massachusetts Grand Lodge became the single largest donor of blood in the State of Massachusetts. Right Worshipful Rutherford was also actively concerned with the former nursing home at Shrewsbury and the recently combined nursing home and retirement home at Charlton, Massachusetts. King Cyrus Lodge is proud to have Right Worshipful Rutherford as one of its members.
Right Worshipful Richard C.F. Hastings was Master of King Cyrus Lodge in 1967. Right Worshipful Hastings had the foresight to set up a service committee not only in the 7th Masonic District, but also in the State. This service committee provides hospital equipment to anyone in need with no charge for rental. The borrower need not even be a Mason. Originally the equipment was obtained by Right Worshipful Hastings in a used condition. He had it stored in his garage where he and a loyal group of followers repaired and made serviceable all of it. The original supply has increased to a point where almost any hospital equipment found in a supply store can be obtained through Right Worshipful Hastings' service committee. This committee is a good example of Masonry in action.
In 1954, the Order of DeMolay was started in Stoneham under the leadership and assistance of three members of King Cyrus Lodge: Worshipful Charles Bean, Worshipful Arthur G. Jillette and Worshipful Edward J. Chamberlain. To the ranks of leadership were later added Worshipful Robert E. Lewis and Worshipful George Dechert. These members of King Cyrus Lodge labored long and hard for this program which they thought to be worthwhile. The Lodge started a Memorial Fund under the name of the late Worshipful Robert E. Lewis. This fund was used to assist DeMolay boys in going to leadership camp. This fund is still in existence though the DeMolay Chapter is now temporarily inactive.
Masonry has been kept alive in Stoneham for one hundred years by King Cyrus Lodge. The size of the Lodge has remained small through the years, but this has not limited the effect it has had on the town or District. Wherever dedicated Masons come to the forefront, Masonry is guaranteed to prosper. King Cyrus Lodge is no exception. Observing a one hundredth anniversary is no indication for our activity to cease and to rest on our past laurels. In fact, it should act as a challenge for the Lodge to press on and continue the good work which can be reported in our history at another memorable anniversary.
32ND ANNIVERSARY, JANUARY 1909
From New England Craftsman, Vol. IV, No. 5, February 1909, Page 166:
Oliver H. Marston
A notable event in the history of Freemasonry in Stoneham, Mass., was the celebration of the thirty-second anniversary of King Cyrus Lodge, which was observed Tuesday, January 19th. Recognizing the importance of the event an able committee consisting of Past Masters Burleigh C. Gilbert, G. A. Hinchliffe, Willis Beard, F. H. Chase, and Worshipful Master F. L. Brown with Brothers A. S. Parker, W. O. Richardson and I. W. Hanson was appointed to arrange for the celebration.
The lodge room was appropriately decorated and a large number of the members of King Cyrus lodge with many brethren from sister lodges were in attendance.
Worshipful Master Brown extended a cordial welcome to the brethren and congratulated the lodge on the success that had been attained during the years of its career. A brief history of the lodge was read by Worshipful Brother Hinchliffe. He stated that the petition for a dispensation was made September 29, 1875, and the first regular communication was held November 17, 1875. Percival Lowell Everett was Grand Master and Charles H. Titus Recording Grand Secretary. Oliver H. Marston was designated Worshipful Master; William F. Walker, Senior Warden, and J. Clinton Chase, Junior Warden. George L. Child, 37 years Tyler of the lodge, was first to receive the degrees. The initial visit of a district deputy was made October 10, 1877, the lodge having previously been instituted in January of that year. The address was most interesting, covering as it did all the notable incidents of more than a score and a half of years.
One of the most gratifying circumstances of the evening was the presence of Worshipful Oliver H. Marston, the first Master of the lodge, who was received with marked attention. Worshipful Master Brown honored him by resigning the chair to him during the opening exercises.
He expressed his thanks to the company for the kind greeting, and then spoke in a reminiscent vein of the past. There had been more than 50 charter members, he said, and eight of these were present at the anniversary.
Past Master Marston stated that he became a Mason in 1862, just before he went to the war, and in his regiment they had a regularly chartered lodge, which met during the winters of '62 and '63 and conferred degrees. On his return home he served in office in his lodge and then came to Stoneham. As he looked back he was pleased that he had presided over so prosperous a lodge, for those days were among his happiest.
With the Master at the head of the line the Past Masters held a reception. There were present Oliver H. Marston, Arthur W. Rice, Willis Beard, William H. Briggs, George W. Hook, Fred H. Chase, Edward C. Jenkins, William F. Fletcher, Benjamin J. Hinds and Burleigh C. Gilbert. The only two living who were absent were Lewis Perry, who lives in Baltimore and John A. Fraser, who is ill. A group picture was taken of them as well as the lodge officers.
The exercises closed with a banquet at which Worshipful Master Brown presided and officiated as toastmaster. Interesting addresses were made by Worshipful Levi S. Gould of Wyoming Lodge, Grand Lecturer Frederic L. Putnam, Worshipful Harry P. Ballard, Grand Marshal of the Grand Lodge, Right Worshipful Benjamin J. Hinds, District Deputy Grand Master and others. Special music was furnished by a quartet and a handsome souvenir program given to each one present.
GRAND LODGE OFFICERS
- Earl W. Cole, Jr., DDGM, District 7 (Malden), 2002; District 13, 2003
- Paul B. Craigie, DDGM, District 13, 2017-2019
- Robert C. Crockett, DDGM, District 7 (Malden), 1992, 1993; N
- Richard C. F. Hastings, DDGM, District 7 (Malden), 1971, 1972; N
- John M. Kandres, DDGM, Chelsea 3, 1995-1996; SN
- Benjamin J. Hinds, DDGM, District 7 (Lynn), 1909, 1910; Memorial
- C. Francis Munger, DDGM, District 7 (Malden), 1939, 1940; N
- Oliver Rutherford, DDGM, District 7 (Malden), 1957, 1958; N