Difference between revisions of "MountHolyoke"

From MasonicGenealogy
Jump to: navigation, search
(MOUNT HOLYOKE LODGE)
 
(33 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 10: Line 10:
  
 
Current Status: ''Active''
 
Current Status: ''Active''
 +
 +
* ''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Chicopee Chicopee] merged here, 03/13/2019.''
 +
* ''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Vernon Vernon] merged here, 03/13/2019.''
  
 
<hr>
 
<hr>
Line 17: Line 20:
 
<div style="column-count:3;-moz-column-count:3;-webkit-column-count:3">
 
<div style="column-count:3;-moz-column-count:3;-webkit-column-count:3">
 
* George E. Fisher, 1870, 1871
 
* George E. Fisher, 1870, 1871
* Lewis B. Hooker, 1872, 1873  
+
* Lewis B. Hooker, 1872, 1873, 1876, 1877
 
* M. V. B. Jenkins, 1874
 
* M. V. B. Jenkins, 1874
 
* Charles Church, 1875  
 
* Charles Church, 1875  
* Lewis B. Hooker, 1876, 1877
 
 
* James O. Walker, 1878, 1879
 
* James O. Walker, 1878, 1879
 
* William N. Price, 1880
 
* William N. Price, 1880
 
* Phillip Hyde, 1881-1883
 
* Phillip Hyde, 1881-1883
* Horace W. Gaylord, 1884
+
* Horace W. Gaylord, 1884; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASuppNecrologiesAG#GAYLORD.2C_HORACE_WRIGHT_1837-1904 SN]'''
 
* Earl M. Scott, 1885-1887
 
* Earl M. Scott, 1885-1887
 
* Sebertrum E. Bliss, 1888
 
* Sebertrum E. Bliss, 1888
Line 43: Line 45:
 
* Hugh Sinclair, 1907, 1908
 
* Hugh Sinclair, 1907, 1908
 
* Ernest T. Brown, 1909, 1910
 
* Ernest T. Brown, 1909, 1910
* Charles H. Smith, 1911
+
* Charles H. Smith, 1911; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASuppNecrologiesSZ#SMITH.2C_CHARLES_HENRY_1871-1938 SN]'''
 
* Frederick H. Webster, 1912
 
* Frederick H. Webster, 1912
 
* Leon H. Dunklee, 1913
 
* Leon H. Dunklee, 1913
 
* Albert Hagar, 1914
 
* Albert Hagar, 1914
* David Glassford, 1915
+
* David Glassford, 1915; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesAG#GLASSFORD.2C_DAVID_1880-1965 N]'''
 
* William H. Downs, 1916
 
* William H. Downs, 1916
 
* Marine Cooper, 1917, 1918
 
* Marine Cooper, 1917, 1918
Line 63: Line 65:
 
* Carl A. Carlson, 1930
 
* Carl A. Carlson, 1930
 
* Ralph H. Burnett, 1931, 1932
 
* Ralph H. Burnett, 1931, 1932
* Ralph B. Wilson, 1933
+
* Ralph B. Wilson, 1933; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesSZ#WILSON.2C_RALPH_BRAINERD_1903-1984 N]'''
* Ronald Astley, 1934 RW
+
* [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley], 1934; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesAG#ASTLEY.2C_RONALD_1901-1986 N]'''
 
* Robert A. Brainerd, 1935
 
* Robert A. Brainerd, 1935
 
* Stanley A. Scott, 1936
 
* Stanley A. Scott, 1936
Line 77: Line 79:
 
* Ernest C. Smith, 1945
 
* Ernest C. Smith, 1945
 
* Joseph J. Lacey, 1946
 
* Joseph J. Lacey, 1946
* Huey H. McKay, 1947
+
* Huey H. McKay, 1947; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASuppNecrologiesHM#McKAY.2C_HUEY_HARRY_1895-1977 SN]'''
* Edger G. Thompson, 1948
+
* Edger G. Thompson, 1948; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesSZ#THOMPSON.2C_EDGAR_GAYLORD_1899-1984 N]'''
 +
* Edward Norris, 1949
 
* William A. Green, 1950
 
* William A. Green, 1950
 
* Charles Lempke, Jr., 1951
 
* Charles Lempke, Jr., 1951
Line 96: Line 99:
 
* Harrison B. Fecteau, 1965
 
* Harrison B. Fecteau, 1965
 
* ''Frank Obremski, Jr.'', 1966
 
* ''Frank Obremski, Jr.'', 1966
* ''Jos. R. P. Champagne'', 1967
+
* ''Joseph R. P. Champagne'', 1967
 
* Raymond I. Duff, 1968
 
* Raymond I. Duff, 1968
 
* Wilfred O. Hatch, Jr., 1969
 
* Wilfred O. Hatch, Jr., 1969
* Francis R. Dressell, 1970
+
* Francis R. Dressell, 1970; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesAG#DRESSELL.2C_FRANCIS_ROBERT_1919-1994 N]'''
 
* Albert D. J. Asprey, 1971
 
* Albert D. J. Asprey, 1971
 
* ''Richard B. Scott'', 1972
 
* ''Richard B. Scott'', 1972
 
* Walter E. Schmitter, 1973
 
* Walter E. Schmitter, 1973
 
* ''Kenneth S. Wilson'', 1974
 
* ''Kenneth S. Wilson'', 1974
* ''Ronald E. Jackson'', 1975 DDGM
+
* ''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRJackson Ronald E. Jackson]'', 1975
 
* Kenneth C. Haskins, 1976
 
* Kenneth C. Haskins, 1976
 
* ''Leonard A. Neumann, Jr.'', 1977
 
* ''Leonard A. Neumann, Jr.'', 1977
 
* Louis Laferriere, 1978
 
* Louis Laferriere, 1978
* ''Robert Martin'', 1979
+
* ''Roger Martin'', 1979
 
* ''Robert W. Tucker'', 1980
 
* ''Robert W. Tucker'', 1980
 
* James D. Hoisington, 1981
 
* James D. Hoisington, 1981
 +
* W. K. Brooksbank, Jr., 1982
 
* ''Philip Hano, III'', 1983
 
* ''Philip Hano, III'', 1983
 
* William I. Mandell, 1984
 
* William I. Mandell, 1984
 
* ''Eugene G. Anderson'', 1985
 
* ''Eugene G. Anderson'', 1985
 
* ''Christopher D. Bascom'', 1986
 
* ''Christopher D. Bascom'', 1986
* ''John M. Gauger'', 1987
+
* ''John M. Gauger'', 1987; '''PDDGM'''
 
* William P. Daly, 1988
 
* William P. Daly, 1988
 
* ''Raymond J. LeClair'', 1989
 
* ''Raymond J. LeClair'', 1989
* ''John E. Wehr, Jr.'', 1990
+
* ''John E. Wehr, Jr.'', 1990, 1999
 
* ''Henry A. Fusari'', 1991, 1992
 
* ''Henry A. Fusari'', 1991, 1992
* ''James A. Cassidy'', 1994
+
* David Lewis, 1993
 +
* ''James A. Cassidy'', 1994, 1998
 
* ''Donald L. Grise'', 1995
 
* ''Donald L. Grise'', 1995
 
* ''Donald T. Cherry'', 1996
 
* ''Donald T. Cherry'', 1996
* ''Mark C. Mueller'', 1997
+
* ''Mark C. Mueller'', 1997; '''PDDGM'''
* ''James A. Cassidy'', 1998
+
* ''John E. Wehr, Jr.'', 1999
+
 
* ''Clark Stevens Mandell'', 2000
 
* ''Clark Stevens Mandell'', 2000
 
* ''Mark A. Cohen'', 2001
 
* ''Mark A. Cohen'', 2001
Line 131: Line 134:
 
* ''Donald Sargent'', 2003
 
* ''Donald Sargent'', 2003
 
* ''Brian T. Gibbons'', 2004
 
* ''Brian T. Gibbons'', 2004
* Edward L. Alford, 2005
+
* ''Edward L. Alford'', 2005, 2006; '''PDDGM'''
* Paul A. Cataldo, 2006, 2007
+
* ''Paul A. Cataldo'', 2007, 2008; '''DDGM'''
* ''Robert D. St. George'',  2008, 2009
+
* ''Robert D. St. George'', 2009
 
* ''Ralph Lamy'', 2010
 
* ''Ralph Lamy'', 2010
 
* ''Karl Ferguson'', 2011
 
* ''Karl Ferguson'', 2011
 +
* ''Tyler W. Seavey'', 2012, 2013
 
</div>
 
</div>
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1869-71GeorgeFisher.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1872-73LewisHooker.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1874MVBJenkins.jpg<br>
 +
''George E. Fisher, Lewis B. Hooker, M. V. B. Jenkins''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1875CharlesChurch.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1876-77LewisHooker.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1878-79JamesWalker.jpg<br>
 +
''Charles Church, Lewis B. Hooker, James O. Walker''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1880WilliamPrice.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1881-83PhilipHyde.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1884HoraceGaylord.jpg<br>
 +
''William Price, Philip Hyde, Horace Gaylord''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1885-87EarlScott.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1888SerbertrumBliss.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1889-90WilliamSmith.jpg<br>
 +
''Earl M. Scott, Sebertrum E. Bliss, William H. Smith''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1891-92MyronJudd.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1893FredSmith.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1894-95WillGaylord.jpg<br>
 +
''Myron H. Judd, Fred M. Smith, Will W. Gaylord''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1896FredHerrick.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1897AlbertCooke.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1898AlbertHahn.jpg<br>
 +
''Frederick B. Herrick, Albert D. Cook, Albert G. Hahn''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/0000NoPhotograph.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1900GeorgeSelfridge.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1901HarrisonDunbar.jpg<br>
 +
''Henry E. Gaylord, George M. Selfridge, Harrison E. Dunbar''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1902-03HarryBrainard.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1904CharlesBartlett.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1905RayScott.jpg<br>
 +
''Harry E. Brainerd, Charles W. Bartlett, Ray P. Scott''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/0000NoPhotograph.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1907-08HughSinclair.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1909-10ErnestBrown.jpg<br>
 +
''David E. Hattiman, Hugh Sinclair, Ernest T. Brown''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1911CharlesSmith.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1912FrederickWebster.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1913LeonDunklee.jpg<br>
 +
''Charles H. Smith, Frederick H. Webster, Leon H. Dunklee''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1914AlbertHager.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1915DavidGlassford.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1916WilliamDowns.jpg<br>
 +
''Albert Hagar, David Glassford, William H. Downs''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1917-18MarineCooper.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1919RalphBatchelor.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1920AlexanderSinclair.jpg<br>
 +
''Marine Cooper, Ralph N. Bachelor, Alexander B. Sinclair''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1921IrvingRoyston.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1922RobertHall.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1923GeorgeCanney.jpg<br>
 +
''Irving Royston, Robert Hall, George F. Canney''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1924JamesWeirJr.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1925NormanRichards.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1926DwightEaton.jpg<br>
 +
''James C. Weir, Jr., Norman H. Richards, Dwight H. Eaton''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1927JamesIngham.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1928WilliamBrown.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1929AlbertSortonJr.jpg<br>
 +
''James J. Ingham, William H. Brown, Albert Sorton, Jr.''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1930CarlCarlson.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1931-32RalphBurnett.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1933RalphWilson.jpg<br>
 +
''Carl A. Carlson, Ralph H. Burnett, Ralph B. Wilson''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1934RonaldAstley.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1935RobertBrainerd.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1936StanleyScott.jpg<br>
 +
''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley], Robert A. Brainerd, Stanley A. Scott''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1937EdwinLewis.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1938SamuelWatson.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1939HaroldHansen.jpg<br>
 +
''Edwin A. Lewis, Samuel A. Watson, Harold A. Hansen''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1940ClarenceSmiledge.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1941AWilliamAstley.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1942CharlesBuss.jpg<br>
 +
''Clarence H. Smiledge, A. William Astley, Charles J. Buss, Jr.''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1943JHoldenCamp.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1944JosephGriffin.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1945ErnestSmith.jpg<br>
 +
''J. Holden Camp, Joseph G. Griffin, Ernest C. Smith''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1946JosephLacey.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1947HueyMcKay.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1948EdgarThompson.jpg<br>
 +
''Joseph J. Lacey, Huey H. McKay, Edgar G. Thompson''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1949EdwardNorris.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1950WilliamGreen.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1951CharlesLempkeJr.jpg<br>
 +
''Edward Norris, William Green, Charles Lempke, Jr.''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1952CarltonStiles.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1953ThomasHardy.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1954RobertWilson.jpg<br>
 +
''Carlton O. Stiles, Robert T. Hardy, Robert W. Wilson''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1955KennethSnape.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1956WKBrooksbankJr.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1957ErnestPerron.jpg<br>
 +
''Kenneth A. Snape, W. K. Brooksbank, Jr., Ernest E. Perron''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1958ThomasSimpson.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1959ClarenceDeWolfe.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1960PhilipHano.jpg<br>
 +
''Thomas S. Simpson, Clarence C. DeWolfe, Philip Hano''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1961AlfredCharron.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1962DavidLewis.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1963WilliamColgan.jpg<br>
 +
''Alfred P. Charron, David W. Lewis, William H. Colgan''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1964AllanStewart.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1965HarrisonFecteau.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1966FrankObremskiJr.jpg<br>
 +
''Allen W. Stewart, Harrison B. Fecteau, Frank Obremski, Jr.''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1967JosephChampagne.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1968RaymondDuff.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1969WilfredHatchJr.jpg<br>
 +
''Joseph R. P. Champagne, Raymond I. Duff, Wilfred O. Hatch, Jr.''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1970FrancisDressell.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1971AlbertAsprey.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1972RichardScott.jpg<br>
 +
''Francis R. Dressell, Albert D. J. Asprey, Richard B. Scott''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1973WalterSchmitter.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1974KennethWilson.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1975RonaldJackson.jpg<br>
 +
''Walter E. Schmitter, Kenneth S. Wilson, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRJackson Ronald E. Jackson]''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1976KennethHaskins.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1977LeonardNeumannJr.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1978LouisLaferriere.jpg<br>
 +
''Kenneth C. Haskins, Leonard A. Neumann, Jr., Louis Laferriere''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1979RogerMartin.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1980RobertTucker.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1981JamesHoisington.jpg<br>
 +
''Roger Martin, Robert Tucker, James Hoisington''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1982WKBrooksbankJr.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1983PhilipHanoIII.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1984WilliamMandell.jpg<br>
 +
''W. K. Brooksbank, Jr., Philip Hano, III, William Mandell''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1985EugeneAnderson.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1986ChristopherBascom.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1987JohnGauger.jpg<br>
 +
''Eugene G. Anderson, Christopher D. Bascom, John M. Gauger''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1988WilliamDaly.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1989RaymondLeClair.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1990JohnWehrJr.jpeg<br>
 +
''William P. Daly, Raymond J. LeClair, John E. Wehr, Jr.''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1991-92HenryFusari.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1993DavidLewis.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1994+98JamesCassidy.jpg<br>
 +
''Henry A. Fusari, David Lewis, James A. Cassidy''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/0000NoPhotograph.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1996DonaldCherry.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1997MarkMueller.jpg<br>
 +
''Donald L. Grise, Donald T. Cherry, Mark C. Mueller''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1994+98JamesCassidy.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/1990JohnWehrJr.jpeg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/0000NoPhotograph.jpg<br>
 +
''James A. Cassidy, John E. Wehr, Jr., Clark Stevens Mandell''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/0000NoPhotograph.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/0000NoPhotograph.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/2003DonaldSargent.jpg<br>
 +
''Mark A. Cohen, Michael Wehr, Donald Sargent''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/0000NoPhotograph.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/2005-06EdwardAlford.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/2007-08PaulCataldo.jpg<br>
 +
''Brian T. Gibbons, Edward L. Alford, Paul A. Cataldo''
 +
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/2009RobertStGeorge.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/2010RalphLamy.jpg
 +
http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/images/MountHolyokeLodge/2012-13TylerSeavey.jpg<br>
 +
''Robert D. St. George, Ralph Lamy, Karl Ferguson, Tyler W. Seavey''
  
 
<hr>
 
<hr>
=== YEARS ===
+
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1869 1869]'''
+
== REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS ==
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1870 1870]'''
+
 
 +
* Petition for Dispensation: '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1869 1869]'''
 +
* Petition for Charter: '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1870 1870]'''
 +
 
 +
=== ANNIVERSARIES ===
 +
 
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1919 1919]''' (50th Anniversary)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1944 1944]''' (75th Anniversary)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1969 1969]''' (Centenary)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1994 1994]''' (125th Anniversary)
 +
 
 +
=== VISITS BY GRAND MASTER ===
 +
 
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1870 1870]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMGardner Gardner]; Constitution of Lodge and installation; Special Communication)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1881 1881]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLawrence Lawrence])
 +
* '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1914 1914]''' (Eugene B. Sheldon, Acting Grand Master; Cornerstone laying)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1915 1915]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMMJohnson M. Johnson]; Hall Dedication; Special Communication)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1919 1919]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLAbbott L. Abbott]; 50th Anniversary)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1944 1944]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMACoolidge A. Coolidge]; 75th Anniversary; Special Communication)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1949 1949]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMKeith Keith]; reception for Senior Grand Warden [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley])
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1969 1969]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMJaynes Jaynes]; Centenary; Special Communication)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1984 1984]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMRichardson Richardson])
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1985 1985]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMRichardson Richardson])
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1987 1987]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMAmes Ames]; awards night)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1990 1990]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMDarling Darling]; installation)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1993 1993]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLovering Lovering])
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1994 1994]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLovering Lovering]; 125th Anniversary; Special Communication)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2004 2004]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMHicks Hicks])
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2009 2009]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMPageau Pageau])
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2010 2010]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMPageau Pageau])
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2013 2013]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMStewart Stewart]; 2 visits)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2014 2014]''' ([http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMWaugh Waugh]; 100th Building Anniversary; Special Communication)
 +
 
 +
=== BY-LAW CHANGES ===
 +
 
 +
<blockquote>
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1873 1873]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1873 1873]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1876 1876]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1876 1876]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1881 1881]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1886 1886]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1887 1887]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1888 1888]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1888 1888]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1901 1901]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1901 1901]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1903 1903]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1912 1912]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1912 1912]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1919 1919]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1921 1921]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1921 1921]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1922 1922]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1922 1922]'''
Line 158: Line 397:
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1927 1927]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1927 1927]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1936 1936]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1936 1936]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1944 1944]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1947 1947]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1947 1947]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1949 1949]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1951 1951]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1951 1951]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1961 1961]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1961 1961]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1969 1969]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1974 1974]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1974 1974]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1976 1976]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1976 1976]'''
Line 169: Line 405:
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1982 1982]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1982 1982]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1983 1983]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1983 1983]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1984 1984]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1985 1985]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1987 1987]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1988 1988]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1988 1988]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1989 1989]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1989 1989]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1990 1990]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1993 1993]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1993 1993]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1994 1994]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1995 1995]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1995 1995]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2001 2001]'''
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2001 2001]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2004 2004]'''
 
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2008 2008]'''  
 
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2008 2008]'''  
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2009 2009]'''
+
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2012 2012]'''
'''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear2010 2010]'''
+
</blockquote>
 +
 
 +
=== HISTORY ===
 +
 
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1919 1919]''' (50th Anniversary History; not in Proceedings; see below)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1944 1944]''' (75th Anniversary History, 1944-55; see below)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1969 1969]''' (Centenary History, 1969-131; see below)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1994 1994]''' (125th Anniversary History, 1994-73; see below)
 +
 
 +
==== 50TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, MARCH 1919 ====
 +
 
 +
''South Hadley Falls, Fiftieth Anniversary, March 29, 1919.''<br>   
 +
''By Fred M. Smith.''
 +
 
 +
The last four years for the world - the last two years, especially, for this country, has been a history making epoch, such as the world has never witnessed before. The overthrow of dynasties, of kings and queens, the crushing of long matured and carefully laid plans for world dominion, the rise of democracy, the deeds of valor, the long sufferings and great sacrifices, the immense works accomplished, have all been such that they will remain indelibly recorded en the memories of this generation and generations yet to come, and last until time shall be no more.
 +
 
 +
But history of the more common place varieties, especially in a time like this, is dry and uninteresting reading at the best, while the history of a Lodge cannot be other than of the most prosaic sort. No one realizes this more than your present historian, yet custom seems to have decreed that a history is one of the essential features on the occasion of anniversaries,and were it not for this custom your historian would have hesitated to write a history of Mt. Holyoke Lodge in the closing period of this history making epoch and to read it at this late hour after the working of the third degree.
 +
 
 +
At the outset I want to say that your historian has been handicapped in clearing up certain disputed points and inconsistencies in the early history of the Lodge and in certain omissions, owing to the fact that the first book of records was burned,when our Lodge room was destroyed by fire in 1886 and also to the fact that all the Charter members of the Lodge have passed on, so that he could not look to any of these for a confirmation of facts.
 +
 
 +
R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLDCrafts David W. Crafts], District Deputy of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield10_1867-1882 10th Masonic District], to which the Lodge was first assigned, truthfully said in his report to the Grand Lodge in 1869 that Mt. Holyoke Lodge was an offspring of [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mt. Tom] Lodge of Holyoke. He then enumerated the first list of members under the dispensation, stating that,with one exception,all had been dimltted from Mt. Tom Lodge.
 +
 
 +
There were fifteen petitioners for a Dispensation,which was granted by the Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMGardner William Sewall Gardner], Grand Master and Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLSThornton Solon Thornton], Recording Grand Secretary, on March 30, 1869. The petitioners were:
 +
* Rev. George E. Fisher
 +
* James O.Allen
 +
* William Harris
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard
 +
* R. Ogden Dwight
 +
* George F. Bassett
 +
* John A. Smith
 +
* Rev. Richard Knight
 +
* Martin V. B. Jenkins
 +
* Richard Green
 +
* Irving W. Brown
 +
* John Sinclair
 +
* Karl August Kappell
 +
* Emerson B. Judd

 +
* Frederick W. Moos
 +
 
 +
The first officers under the dispensation were;
 +
* George E. Fisher, Master
 +
* Emerson B.Judd, Senior Warden
 +
* William Harris, Junior Warden
 +
* R. Ogden Dwight, Secretary
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer
 +
Right here is where the first variation or inconsistency in the records appears.
 +
 
 +
A printed list of officers, in a pamphlet .published by the Lodge in 1888, containing its By-Laws, gives James O. Allen as the first Senior Warden, whereas the Grand Lodge records give Emerson B. Judd as the first Senior Warden. It is hard to see, at this distance, how Brother Allen could have been the Senior Warden under the dispensation,as the records show that he joined the Lodge by affiliation the following year. On the other hand Bro. Judd, who had been dimitted from Mt. Tom Lodge, became affiliated with [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=IonicE Ionic] Lodge at Easthampton the following year. It is a curious fact that neither of these brothers appear among the petitioners for a Charter in 1870. The list, otherwise, is identical with the list who petitioned for a dispensation, but for some reason did not sign the petition for a Charter. Evidently the petitioners for a Charter were not of the superstitious sort,for there were thirteen of them and the Charter was granted to them on June 6, 1870, and was signed by [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMGardner William Sewall Gardner], Grand Master; [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLawrence Samuel C. Lawrence], Senior Grand Warden; [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMBriggs Richard Briggs], Junior Grand Warden; [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLSThornton Solon Thornton], Recording Grand Secretary.
 +
 
 +
Following is a list of the Charter members,and the lodge in which each received
 +
his degrees;-
 +
* Rev.George E. Fisher, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Hope Hope] Lodge
 +
* George F. Bassett, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=EveningStar Evening Star] Lodge
 +
* Martin V. B. Jenkins, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=CTFrederick14 Frederick] Lodge, Conn.
 +
* Richard Green, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=CTApollo59 Apollo Lodge], Suffield, Conn.
 +
* John Sinclair; John A.Smith; Frederick W. Moos; Karl August Kappell; Benjamin C. Brainard; Irving W. Brown; Rev. Richard Knight; R.Ogden Dwight; William Harris,  all in Mt. Tom Lodge.
 +
 
 +
The first complete list of officers of the lodge,is that for the first year under the Charter, and is as follows:-
 +
* George E. Fisher, Master
 +
* James O. Allen, Senior Warden
 +
* William Harris, Junior Warden
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer
 +
* John L. Mathews, Secretary
 +
* Richard Knight, Chaplain
 +
* Martin V. B. Jenkins, Marshal
 +
* George F. Bassett, Senior Deacon
 +
* John A. Smith, Junior Deacon
 +
* Richard Green, Senior Steward
 +
* Irving W. Brown, Junior Steward
 +
* John Sinclair, Tyler
 +
 
 +
The lodge was organized in the old school building on School Street and has occupied six different lodge rooms during its existence of fifty years. The first lodge room was in the old Glasgow Co.'s building situated just west of the vacant lot on the north side of School Street, the fourth building west of the school-house. This was occupied some four or five years until the Lodge moved in the Graves and Walton building at the corner of Bridge and Main Streets, and which was afterwards known as Dudley's Hall, and the Lodge occupied the third floor of this building, until the building was burned on Sept. 5, 1886. It was in this fire that the first book of the Records of the Lodge was burned, together with all the property of the Lodge,including its furniture and Charter. The present Charter of the Lodge is simply a copy of the original one. The things that were saved were the present Jewels of the Lodge; these were kept in a case on the wall, similar to the one now used. This fell face downwards and protected the Jewels, which were found later in the day by our late brother. Past Master Serbertrum E.Bliss. Two evenings after the fire, the Lodge met in the old Grand Army Hall on Main St. It was voted at that time to accept the invitation of Charles C. Smith Grand Army Post to occupy their rooms until permanent quarters were obtained. In September, however, the Lodge voted to accept the invitation of Mt. Tom Lodge to use their rooms which at that time were located over the present Public Market on High St., Holyoke. The [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMHowland Grand Master] authorized the Lodge to occupy these quarters until suitable apartments within the jurisdiction of Mt. Holyoke Lodge could be secured. The Lodge remained there until February 3, 1887, when it returned to their old original quarters in the Glasgow Co.'s building on School St. On April 7 of that year, it was voted to accept an offer of Smith & Hennick for the lease of a lodge room in the building which they proposed to erect on the site of the old Dudley Hall building. Owing to a change In the plans for this building, a hall was not included,and the lodge remained in its School St. quarters until its annual meeting, November 3, 1892, when they met in their new Lodge room in the Carey building on Main St.,the building now occupied by Bro. A .P. Lane for his market.
 +
 
 +
On November 25 of that year a public installation of Officers was held with a very large attendance of members, visiting Masons, and friends of the Lodge. On that occasion Mt. Tom Lodge presented a clock to the Lodge, and the same is still in use in the Lodge room.
 +
 
 +
A lease of this Lodge room was taken for ten years. The lease was arranged by a committee who showed considerable foresight; for when the ten years had elapsed, the new landlord insisted on a large increase in rent before granting a new lease. But when a clause in the original lease was pointed out to him which provided that the Lodge should have the privilege of renewing the lease at the same rental he swallowed his disappointment and bided his tine until the second lease expired. For a year after the second lease expired the Lodge simply rented the rooms from month to month. In the meantime our patron saint, St.Patrick. came on the scene. He was a new landlord. He figured that the Lodge had no other place to go and would be obliged to remain there and consequently boosted the rent one hundred percent. The landlord was partly right in his surmise, for it was true the Lodge had no other place to go; but the members did not agree with him that they were obliged to stay there. When the landlord found the Lodge had decided to vacate he offered to allow them to remain at the former rent; but under the circumstances and judging from the temper of the members, it is doubtful if they would have remained if the rent had been made free. The Lodge vacated these quarters September 1,1913. after having occupied them twenty-one years. lona Lodge of Odd Fellows, at South Hadley Center, came to our rescue and offered the use of their Lodge rooms, reciprocating a favor that Mt.Holyoke Lodge had shown that Lodge when it was instituted a few years ago, when it offered them the use of our Lodge rooms while the Odd Fellows building was being erected.
 +
 
 +
The first meeting in Odd Fellows Hall was held September 4, 1913 and the Lodge continued to hold its meetings there until the regular monthly meeting in March 1915. Although the members had to travel by trolley four miles, the attendance at the meetings while occupying Odd Fellows Hall was good and fully up to the average, and there was plenty of work during that period. During our sojourn at South Hadley Center the members of the Lodge were not asleep, but immediately took steps toward securing a building of their own. At the outset it was found that the Lodge, as a Lodge, could not hold real estate; consequently a Masonic Association was organized and chartered whose purpose was to provide quarters for Mt. Holyoke Lodge. There was a nest egg, in the shape of a fund raised by the Mt. Moriah degree team, which served as a start for the new building. This, with the proceeds of a fair,and a generous subscription for bonds by the members, made the building of a Temple possible. The land was secured of the Carew heirs, and also by an exchange of a small portion of this with the Congregational Church; so that during the summer of 1914 the building was underway.
 +
 
 +
The Corner-Stone was laid with appropriate Masonic ceremonies on September 10, 1914, before a large gathering of Masons and their friends, by R. W. Eugene L. Sheldon of Easthampton, District Deputy of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1911-1926 17th Masonic District], Acting Grand Master, assisted by R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCBrodeur Clarence A. Brodeur] of Westfield, Acting Deputy Grand Master; R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCPeck Chauncey E. Peck] of Wilbraham, Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Mass., Wor. Bro. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin L. Davis], Acting Junior Grand Warden; R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCSpellman Charles C. Spellman] of Springfield, Past Grand Warden; R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEBlodgett Edwin A. Blodgett] of Springfield, Past Grand Warden; Wor. Louis L. Campbell of Northampton, Acting Grand Secretary; Wor. Lewis M. Richards of Holyoke, Acting Grand Treasurer; Rev. Bro. Henry H. Morrill of Springfield, Acting Grand Chaplain; R. W.  [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLHBallard Harry P. Ballard] of Malden, Acting Grand Marshal; R. W. William E. Gibbs of Westfield, D. D. G. M. of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield18_1911-1926 18th District]; and R. W. Arthur P. Delabarre of Conway, D. D. G. M. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGreenfield14_1911-1926 14th District].
 +
 
 +
The following is a list of the contents of the box, collected by Past Master, Serbertrum E. Bliss, and deposited in the Corner-Stone of the Temple:-
 +
* History of Mt.Holyoke Lodge;
 +
* Acts and Resolves of the Mass. General Court, 1914;
 +
* Manual of the General Court, 1914;
 +
* Program of the Sesquicentennial Celebration of South Hadley, 1903;
 +
* Proceedings of the 38th Annual Session of the Grand Chapter, O.E.S., 1914;
 +
* List of Lodges, A.F. & A.M., 1914;
 +
* Assessors' List of South Hadley,1914;
 +
* By-Laws of Mt.Holyoke Lodge, Holyoke Council, Mt. Holyoke Royal Arch Chapter, George E. Fisher Chapter, O.E.S., No. 115; Springfield Commandery;
 +
* List of Officers and Members of Springfield Commandery; Melha Temple, A.A.O.N.M.S.; Bela Grotto; Grand Lodge of Mass., A.F.&.A.M.,1914;
 +
* Voters' List, South Hadley, 1914;
 +
* Old Maps and Papers, Town of South Hadley, 1796 and 1797;
 +
* Mt. Moriah Announcements,1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1914;
 +
* Social Programs of Mt. Holyoke Lodge, 1896 and 1897;
 +
* Souvenir of the Springfield Masonic Dedication, Oct. 24, 1893;
 +
* Mansir Guide and Vally Guide, Sept. 1914; 
 +
* Constitutions of Grand Lodge;
 +
* Fire District Reports, No. 1 & No. 2;
 +
* Exemplification Notices;
 +
* Official Visitations of R. W. Horace W. Gaylord, 1890, and R. W. Eugene L. Sheldon, 1914;
 +
* Church notice of the laying of the Corner-Stone, September 26, 1914;
 +
* Notice of Past Masters' Night, April 16,1914, with list of Officers and Past Masters;
 +
* Duplicate of Charter of Mt. Holyoke Lodge;
 +
* Petition for membership;
 +
* List of members of Mt. Holyoke Lodge, Charter and elected;
 +
* List of Charter and elective members of George E. Fisher Chapter, O.E.S., No. 115;
 +
* Notification of Past Masters' Associations of the 17th and 18th Districts;
 +
* Mt. Holyoke Lodge seals;
 +
* Photographs:
 +
** 1st Home of Masonry in Western Mass., built in Orange, 1750;
 +
** Masonic Home, Charlton,Mass.;
 +
** Masonic Home, School St.;
 +
** Masonic Home, Main St.;
 +
** Masonic Home, Main & Bridge Sts.
 +
** Masonic Temple in course of construction;
 +
** Odd Fellows Hall, South Hadley Center, the present meeting place of Mt. Holyoke Lodge;
 +
** 16 views of South Hadley Falls, including the three churches;
 +
** The old Brick Chapel, North Main St.
 +
* Relics of the Masonic fire, September 5, 1886: 
 +
** Coins of 1914;
 +
** Postage stamps of different denominations;
 +
** Photograph of the new Town Hall;
 +
** List of Town Officers;
 +
** Mt.Holyoke Masonic Association;
 +
** Blue Prints of the building plans of the Masonic Temple;
 +
** List of members of different town organizations;
 +
** District Deputy Notification;
 +
** Copy of Corner-Stone Laying Exercises;
 +
** Charter and By-Laws of the Masonic Building Association;
 +
** List of Official Suite at the laying of the Corner-Stone.
 +
* The following newspapers:
 +
** Springfield ''Union'';
 +
** Springfield ''Republican'';
 +
** Holyoke ''Transcript'';
 +
** Holyoke ''Telegram'';
 +
** Hampshire ''Gazette'';
 +
** Easthampton ''News'';
 +
** Holyoke ''Democrat'';
 +
** New England ''Rundschau'';
 +
** ''La Justice''; 
 +
** Springfield ''Vorwärts'';
 +
** ''Free Press'';
 +
** Conn. ''Staats Zeitung'';
 +
** ''Die Bene'';
 +
** ''Teutonia''.
 +
* Parcel Post or 4th Class Mail Rates etc.;
 +
* Masonic Leather Apron;
 +
* Corn, Wine and Oil, in vials, and Chalk, Charcoal and Clay.
 +
 
 +
It was on March 4, 1915 that the Lodge held its first meeting in the new Temple, with an out turning of members such as had probably never before been seen in the history of the Lodge.
 +
 
 +
On April 10,1915,the Temple was dedicated by the Officers of the Grand Lodge of
 +
Massachusetts,as follows:-
 +
 
 +
* M. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMMJohnson Melvin M. Johnson], Grand Master
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEBlodgett Edwin A. Blodgett] as Deputy Grand Master
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLGThacher George C. Thacher], Senior Grand Warden
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLTBooth Thomas T. Booth], Junior Grand Warden
 +
* R. W. Charles H. Ramsay, Grand Treasurer
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFHamilton Frederick W. Hamilton], Grand Secretary
 +
* Bro. Rev. Francis L. Beal, as Grand Chaplain
 +
* R.W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLWFarrington William M. Farrington], Grand Maishal
 +
* Wor. Robert G. Wilson, Senior Grand Deacon
 +
* Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFVogel Frank Vogel], Junior Grand Deacon
 +
* Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEMiller D. Edward Miller] as Senior Grand Steward
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin L. Davis] as Junior Grand Steward
 +
* Wor. George W. Chester, Grand Tyler
 +
 
 +
The Officers were entertained at luncheon at the Holyoke Club. The Grand Lodge was opened in Ample Form in one of the apartments of the Temple,at 2.30 P.M., and under escort of a Committee entered the Lodge room in procession, where the members of the Lodge and visiting Brethren were assembled in goodly numbers. The Grand Officers then performed the ceremonies of dedication, in accordance with the established ritual,and the Grand Marshal proclaimed that the Temple had been duly dedicated.
 +
 
 +
During the ceremonies solos were rendered by Br. Norman Dash of Mt.Tom Lodge. After the formal ceremonies of dedication,an historical paper by Bro. Sydney Ingham was read by Wor. David Glassford. The dedicatory address was given by R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFHamilton Frederick W. Hamilton], Recording Grand Secretary, who had been delegated by the Moat Worshipful Grand Master to perform that service. After a prayer by the Acting Grand Chaplain, the Grand Lodge was closed in Ample Form. At six o'clock the Grand Officers and members of the Lodge sat down to a banquet in the banquet room of the Temple. After dinner remarks were made by the Most Worshipful Grand Master, the Recording Grand Secretary and the Grand Marshal.
 +
 
 +
Thus was our Temple built and dedicated, and it has proved to be a real Masonic home, such as the Lodge has never enjoyed. It has proved ideal for the uses of the Lodge, as well as for social purposes. It was reared as the result of hard work and many sacrifices, and should be appreciated, not only by those who have had a hand in its building, but by those who have come into the Lodge since its completion - of which there are a goodly number, numbering in fact about a third of our present membership. To the ladies of the Eastern Star Chapter much credit is due, for their constant and efficient help, which has proved an important factor in making the Temple a possibility.
 +
 
 +
There have been thirty four Masters who have sat in the East, who, with their terms of office, are as follows -
 +
<div style="column-count:2;-moz-column-count:2;-webkit-column-count:2">
 +
* Rev. George E. Fisher, 1869, 1870, 1871
 +
* Lewis B. Hooker, 1872, 1873, 1876, 1877
 +
* M. V. B. Jenkins, 1874
 +
* Charles Church, 1875
 +
* James O. Walker, 1878, 1879
 +
* William N. Price, 1880
 +
* Phillip Hyde, 1881-1883
 +
* Horace W. Gaylord, 1884
 +
* Earl M. Scott, 1885-1887
 +
* Sebertrum E. Bliss, 1888
 +
* William H. Smith, 1889, 1890
 +
* Myron H. Judd, 1891, 1892
 +
* Fred M. Smith, 1893
 +
* Will W. Gaylord, 1894, 1895
 +
* Frederick B. Herrick, 1896
 +
* Albert D. Cook, 1897
 +
* Albert G. Hahn, 1898
 +
* Henry E. Gaylord, 1899
 +
* George M. Selfridge, 1900
 +
* Harrison E. Dunbar, 1901
 +
* Harry E. Brainerd, 1902, 1903
 +
* Charles W. Bartlett, 1904
 +
* Ray P. Scott, 1905
 +
* David E. Hattiman, 1906
 +
* Hugh Sinclair, 1907, 1908
 +
* Ernest T. Brown, 1909, 1910
 +
* Charles H. Smith, 1911
 +
* Frederick H. Webster, 1912
 +
* Leon H. Dunklee, 1913
 +
* Albert Hagar, 1914
 +
* David Glassford, 1915
 +
* William H. Downs, 1916
 +
* Marine Cooper, 1917, 1918
 +
* Ralph N. Bachelor, 1919
 +
</div>
 +
 
 +
Thus it will be seen that Wor. Bro. Hooker was the only Master who served four years, but this service was in two terms of two years each. Wor. Bros. Fisher, Hyde, Earl K. Scott each served three years. Wor. Bros. Walker, W. H. Smith, Judd, Will W. Gaylord, Brainerd, Sinclair, Brown and Cooper each served two years, while the reminder were consistent believers in a one term policy.
 +
 
 +
Twelve Past Masters have died and passed on to that undiscovered country from whose bourne no traveler returns. The first was Wor. Bro. Martln V. B. Jenkins, who died November 2, 1880 and the last being Wor. Bro. Albert G. Hohn who died April 27, 1917.
 +
 
 +
The oldest Past Master,in point of service, is Wor. Bro. Earl M. Scott, now residing in Dalton, Mass., and the next is Wor. Bro. William H.Smith. Five Past Masters are now living out of town, although three of these are still affiliated with Mt. Holyoke Lodge.
 +
 
 +
Mt. Holyoke Lodge has had an enviable record is the recent World War. It has reason to be proud of its members who were in the service,and the records that they made. While so many homes, organizations and communities have been saddened by the loss of those who have been called to make the supreme sacrifice, we rejoice that of all those who have gone from our midst into the army and navy none of them have been included in the Nation's long list of casualties. Various other members have contributed their bit in various war activities,serving either in the State Guard.,the war committees of the town,Liberty L an and other war work campaigns,helping as best they could at home,while the younger men served in the field of action or on the sea.
 +
 
 +
The Roll of Honor of the Lodge is as follows:-<br>
 +
'''ARMY'''
 +
<div style="column-count:2;-moz-column-count:2;-webkit-column-count:2">
 +
* Captain Herbert Robert Audet
 +
* Lieut. Frederick Downs
 +
* Lieut. Andrew Charles Smith
 +
* Sgt. Albert William Astley
 +
* Sgt. Sydney Ingham
 +
* Sgt. Frank Marsh Johnson
 +
* Sgt. Norman Frederick Lamb
 +
* Sgt. Norman Henry Richards
 +
* Corp. Joseph Henry Pierce
 +
* Corp. John Peter Mitchell
 +
* Grover Cleveland Carter
 +
* Stanley Pettison Downs
 +
* Alexander Simpson Ford
 +
* Alexander George Ford
 +
* Arthur Thomas Hessom
 +
* Joseph Clark Webster
 +
* Hobert Hudson Wingate
 +
* Harry Lloyd Hunt
 +
</div>
 +
 
 +
'''NAVY'''
 +
<div style="column-count:2;-moz-column-count:2;-webkit-column-count:2">
 +
* Edwin Harold Moffatt
 +
* Sumner P. Winslow
 +
</div>
 +
The total is twenty.
 +
 
 +
Nine of these have seen overseas service, and five are still with the American Expeditionary Forces. In addition Hobert Burnett, Jr. who was elected to receive the degrees was called to the service before he was initiated. There have been twelve sons of members of the Lodge who have served in forces of the United States, as follows:-
 +
<div style="column-count:2;-moz-column-count:2;-webkit-column-count:2">
 +
* Lieut. Winthrop H. Smith
 +
* Lieut. Arthur Easterbrook Whittemore
 +
* Corp. George Henry Glackner
 +
* Corp. Lincoln Bardwell Smith
 +
* Walter Charles Cordes
 +
* Frank William Glackner
 +
* Hobert Harvey Hall
 +
* Hobert Harrison McElwain
 +
* Corp. Charles Calvin Rae
 +
* Frederick Merwin Smith, Jr.
 +
* [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDunbar Edson Stanley Dunbar]
 +
</div>
 +
Seven of these saw service in France.
 +
 
 +
As to service in the Civil War, of course the Lodge was not instituted until nearly four years after that conflict came to a close, but in the early days of the Lodge, twenty-three veterans of that war,who served in the Union Forces, were enrolled in the membership of the Lodge, as follows:
 +
<div style="column-count:3;-moz-column-count:3;-webkit-column-count:3">
 +
* Richard Green
 +
* Charles Church
 +
* John L. Mathews
 +
* Edwin C. Hanks
 +
* Lewis B. Hooker
 +
* Martin T. B. Jenkins
 +
* Reuben Hyde
 +
* Dr. Gardner Cox
 +
* John W. Hersey
 +
* Seth Lathrop
 +
* Joseph E. Lloyd
 +
* William Smith
 +
* John Kirkpatrick
 +
* Edmund H. Pearson
 +
* Frank M. Pettigrew
 +
* Nathan W. Loveland
 +
* Philip Hyde
 +
* Burritt Judd
 +
* James S. Moffatt
 +
* Thomas VanRiper
 +
* Charles H. Davenport
 +
* Joel S. Walkley
 +
* Thomas White (who died after having been passed to the degree of F. C.)
 +
</div>
 +
 
 +
In the Spanish War, Frank A. Pierce and Lester Jackson served in the Army of the United States, both in Co.B, 2nd. Mass. Infantry.
 +
 
 +
Mt. Holyoke Lodge was originally in the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield10_1867-1882 10th Masonic District]. Later, and for the greater part of its existence, it was in the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAChicopee16_1883-1910 16th Masonic District], while a few years ago, in the new arrangements,it was assigned to the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1911-1926 17th District].
 +
 
 +
For a long time the Lodge had jurisdiction over the north part of Chicopee, which joins this town ,and which in most respects is a part of the village of South Hadley Falls. A ruling of the Grand Lodge some few years ago took away that privilege, a denial which prevents eligibles from the degrees in Masonry for the reason that they object to going through this town and Holyoke in order to reach Chicopee or Chicopee Falls to take their degrees, which they feel in all justice they should be allowed to take nearer to their places of residence. Our friends down the river seem to prefer to take a chance of getting as occasional member rather than release jurisdiction for those who while actually living within the limits of Chicopee desire to join Mt. Holyoke Lodge.
 +
 
 +
Two Past Masters of the Lodge have served as District Deputies. R. W. Horace Gaylord served in the old 16th District during the years 1889-90-91, while R. W. Charles H. Smith served in the 17th District during the years 1917-18. Past Master Henry E. Gaylord has also served as the District Deputy of the 5th Capitular District.
 +
 
 +
Rev. George E. Fisher, the first Master of the Lodge, after his removal from town, affiliated with [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Pacific2 Pacific] Lodge of Amherst and afterwards became Master of that Lodge. He died April 4, 1905,and a delegation from Mt. Holyoke Lodge attended his funeral in Amherst. The local Chapter of the Eastern Star was named in his memory, and a more fitting name could not have been chosen by the order affiliated with the Masonic Fraternity of this town.
 +
 
 +
The first of the Charter Members of the Lodge who died was Martin V. B. Jenkins,who died November 2, 1880. The last of the original Charter Members was Karl August Kappell, who passed away July 24,1918.
 +
 
 +
The oldest living member,in point of membership,is Wor. Bro. Henry E. Gaylord, who received his Master Mason Degree February 17, 1870. The next members are a pair, P. August Moss and John Kirkpatrick, who received their first two degrees together, while the former was raised September 7, 1871 and the latter September 14, 1871.
 +
 
 +
Those who have served the longest in any office have been Thomas Van Riper who was Secretary for 27 years, and who died October 1,1910, and John Kirkpatrick, the present Tyler. Charles Benway, Inside Sentinel, and John Sinclair, Chaplain.
 +
 
 +
During the fifty years of the Lodge, there have been 469 applications, 430 for the degrees and 39 for affiliation. 316 have received their degrees in full while three took only part of their degrees (two having died before taking all their degrees and one never appeared after taking his Entered Apprentice Degree.) Three are now on the way, while three applications for the degrees and for affiliation are pending. The present membership of the Lodge is 192,with two candidates having taken their first degree and one waiting for his first. Three hundred and sixty-six, all told, have been on our membership list.
 +
 
 +
The Anti-Masonic feeling, so prevalent in this country years ago, and of which few of us Masons of today have little personal knowledge, was reflected in the report which R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLSSpooner Samuel B. Spooner] of Springfield, District Depaty of the 10th Masonic District, made to the Grand Lodge in 1870 and in which he paid a beautiful tribute to Wor. Bro. Fisher as follows:- "The newly constituted Lodge, Mt. Holyoke Lodge of South Hadley Falls, is fortunate in securing for its Master a brother so skilled in the Craft and so imbued with the spirit of the Order. Within the last three months, the enemy has twice appeared in the village, and in the name of religion bitterly attacked religion's most powerful ally - our beneficent institution. Yet so judicious has been the conduct of the members of the Lodge,and so profound the respect for its presiding officer, that the local sympathy is decidedly with the Order."
 +
 
 +
It is no exaggeration to say that Mt. Holyoke Lodge has always been a strong organization. It was strong in the personnel of its Charter Members, and strong in its quality of membership during its fifty years. Its members have always been largely identified with the affairs of the town,the churches,and with all those things that tend to the uplift of a community. It goes without saying that it has been the strong organization of the town, though not making as much noise perhaps as some others at times.
 +
 
 +
I would call it a harmonious Lodge. Not that the dove of peace has always hovered around the portals of its sanctum. It would be a remarkable Lodge, if at times there were not differences of opinion among its members that sometimes clashed. But such differences have always been short lived, and have been swallowed up in the existing good fellowship of its members, and the true Masonic spirit has prevailed which is so essential for the continued success of a Masonic body.
 +
 
 +
In closing this history which, I warned you at the outset, must necessarily be dry and which is far from being complete, Ican only express the hope that Mt. Holyoke Lodge will show in the nest fifty years as much real growth as much real strength in the character of its membership as much true Masonic spirit among its members and continue to be as much of a power for good in the community,as it has during the fifty years Just closed.
 +
 
 +
''The above History of Mount Holyoke Lodge was written and delivered by Brother Fred M. Smith at the Fiftieth Anniversary, March 29, 1919.''
 +
 
 +
==== 75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, MARCH 1944 ====
 +
 
 +
''History of Mount Holyoke Lodge, by Historical Committee''
 +
* ''R.W. [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley], Chairman''
 +
* ''R.W. David Glassford''
 +
* ''Wor. Harry E. Brainerd''
 +
 
 +
Twenty-five years ago, March 29, 1919, one of our most esteemed members, Worshipful Fred M. Smith, presented a history of Mount Holyoke Lodge on the fiftieth anniversary celebration. The first portion of that history is worthwhile repeating tonight because it would remind us that history truly repeats itself. He wrote:
 +
<blockquote>
 +
The last four years for the world. . . . the last two years especially for this country, has been a history making epoch, such as the world has never witnessed before. The overthrow of dynasties, of Kings and Queens, and crushing of long matured and carefully laid plans for world dominion, the rise of democracy, the deeds of valor, the long sufferings and great sacrifices) the great works accomplished, the saddened
 +
homes and communities, the ultimate triumph of right, have all been such that they will remain indelibly recorded on the memories of this generation and generations yet to come, and last till time shall be no more.<br>
 +
<br>
 +
A lodge is a certain number of Masons duly assembled, legally constituted, having the Holy Bible, Square and Compasses, with a Charter or Warrant empowering them to work.
 +
</blockquote>
 +
 
 +
Seventy-five years ago, four years after the Civil War, a group of respected Masons and citizens of South Hadley evidently read and re-read this important paragraph of Masonic law and decided at that time that it would be well to petition the Grand Lodge for a dispensation for a Lodge, to be known as Mount Holyoke. Perhaps this group looked out over the Connecticut Valley at the Mount Holyoke range and from this picture of strength and beauty decided to name this child of Masonry Mount Holyoke Lodge, knowing that in its growth there should be strength to support and beauty to adorn all great and important undertakings.
 +
 
 +
Early in 1869, an application was made to the Grand Lodge for a Dispensation which was granted on March 30, 1869, by Most Worshipful [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMGardner William Sewall Gardner], Grand Master, and Right Worshipful [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLSThornton Solon Thornton], Recording Grand Secretary. In his report to the Grand Lodge in 1869, Right Worshipful [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLDCrafts D. W. Crafts], District Deputy Grand Master of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield10_1867-1882 10th Masonic District], in which the Lodge was first assigned, truthfully said that Mount Holyoke Lodge was an offspring of [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge. He then enumerated the signers under the dispensation, stating that with one exception, all had been dimitted from [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom Lodge]. The fifteen petitioners for a
 +
dispensation were:
 +
* Rev. George E. Fisher
 +
* James O. Allen
 +
* William Harris
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard
 +
* R. Ogden Dwight
 +
* George F. Bassett
 +
* John A. Smith
 +
* Martin V. B. Jenkins
 +
* Richard Green
 +
* Irving W. Brown
 +
* John Sinclair
 +
* Karl August Kappell
 +
* Emerson B. Judd
 +
* Frederick W. Moos
 +
* Rev. Richard Knight
 +
 
 +
The officers under the Dispensation were:
 +
* Rev. George E. Fisher, Worshipful Master
 +
* Emerson B. Judd, Senior Warden
 +
* William Harris, Junior Warden
 +
* R. Ogden Dwight, Secretary
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer
 +
 
 +
The petitioners for a Charter, none of them superstitious because there were thirteen, received this Charter June 6, 1870, and this document was signed by [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMGardner William Sewall Gardner], Grand Master; [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLawrence Samuel C. Lawrence], Senior Grand Warden; [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMBriggs Richard Briggs], Junior Grand Warden; [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLSThornton Solon Thornton],
 +
Recording Grand Secretary. A listing of the thirteen Charter members and the Lodges in which they received their.degrees are as follows:
 +
* Rev. George E. Fisher, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Hope Hope] Lodge, Gardner
 +
* James O. Allen, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=CTFrederick14 Frederick] Lodge, Connecticut
 +
* William Harris, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Evening Star] Lodge
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=CTApollo59 Apollo] Lodge, Connecticut
 +
* R. Ogden Dwight, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* George F. Bassett, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* John A. Smith, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* Martin V. B. Jenkins, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* Richard Green, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* Irving W. Brown, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* John Sinclair, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* Karl August Kappell, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* Emerson B. Judd, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* Frederick W. Moos, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* Rev. Richard Knight, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
 
 +
The history would not be complete without a recording of the first officers who worked under the new Charter, and these officers were installed July 25, 1870.
 +
 
 +
* Worshipful Master: Rev. George E. Fisher
 +
* Senior Warden: James O. Allen
 +
* Junior Warden: William Harris
 +
* Treasurer: Benjamin C. Brainard
 +
* Secretary: John L. Mathews
 +
* Senior Deacon: George F. Bassett
 +
* Junior Deacon: John A. Smith
 +
* Chaplain: Rev. Richard Knight
 +
* Marshal: Martin V. B. Jenkins
 +
* Senior Steward: Richard Green
 +
* Junior Steward: Irving W. Brown
 +
* Tyler: John Sinclair
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge was organized in the old school building on School Street and has occupied six locations during lhe past seventy-five years. The first lodge-room was in the Glasgow Company's building on School Street and remained there a trifle over four years. The Lodge then moved to the Graves and Walton Building at the corner of Main and Bridge Streets, which was afterwards known as Dudley's Hall. The entire third floor of this building was occupied by Mount Holyoke Lodge. On September 5, 1885, this building was destroyed by fire and all of the property of Mount Holyoke was destroyed with the exception of the present jewels, which were in a case on the wall of the Tyler's room, similar to the one now used. This case fell face downward, and protected the jewels, which were found later in the day by Brother Serbertrum E. Bliss.
 +
 
 +
The oldest recording in the Secretary's book is dated October 2, 1884, and Brother Thomas Van Riper, Secretary, closed his report as follows: "No further business appearing the lodge closed in peace and harmony." During these past seventy-five years peace and harmony truly has prevailed, else this Lodge would not have gone forward as it has, in the Masonic way of life.
 +
 
 +
Our oldest living Past Master, Worshipful William H. Smith, received his first appointment, that of Junior Deacon, by the late Worshipful Earl M. Scott on November 13, 1884. His presence here tonight thrills the Brethren of Mount Holyoke because he "knocked at the door of Freemasonry" on November 23, 1882, and has continued his interest in our institution up to the present time, a period of sixty-two years.
 +
 
 +
The first mention of charity outside of the Lodge is listed in the February 4, 1886, records: "On motion the treasurer was ordered to forward $5.00 to Grand Secretary for Texas Sufferers."
 +
 
 +
One of the most interesting excerpts from the records is dated August 26, 1886, and reads: "Lodge was opened on M.M. degree in due form. The Lodge was then formed in procession.and marched to the Connecticut River R.R. Depot and took a special train to Northampton assisting in the ceremony of laying the corner stone of the new county court house at the above named place, after which all marched to Round Hill and partook of a clam-bake and then returned.to the Connecticut River R.R. Depot and took a train to Holyoke and marched to the lodge room. The lodge was closed in due form. Thomas Van Riper, Secretary." The invitation for this ceremony was extended to Mount Holyoke on August 5, 1886, by [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Jerusalem Jerusalem] Lodge of Northampton.
 +
 
 +
As previously stated, fire destroyed the Lodge on September 5, 1886, and the Grand Army Post immediately extended an invitation to use their rooms until permanent quarters were obtained. Two evenings after the fire, a meeting was held in Grand Army Hall by a special telegram dispensation received from Most Worshipful [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMHowland Abraham H. Howland, Jr.], Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. At the second meeting held in the Grand Army Hall, September 27, 1886, an invitation was read from [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge extending the use of their rooms together with the paraphernalia until the Lodge obtained suitable rooms. Mount Tom Lodge at that time was located on High Street in Holyoke. We readily accepted this kind invitation and remained at Mount Tom until January 6, 1887, at which time it was voted to return to the original home on School Street, at an annual rental of $100.00 Per year. Our return to South Hadley Falls was on February 3, 1887, after holding six delightful meetings within the Mount Tom Lodge rooms.
 +
 
 +
Through an invitation received from [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Hampden Hampden] Lodge in Springfield, we find that Mount Holyoke Lodge again took part at a public ceremony on February 22, 1889, at which time we assisted in the exercises of laying the corner stone of the Post Office Building in Springfield.
 +
 
 +
You and I think little of the many conveniences that we have at the present time, but in going through the records, we find that on March 7, 1889, an interesting motion was made: "Moved that a committee of three be appointed to confer with the Electric Light Co., in regard to electric lights - Bros. F. M. Smith, S. W. Johnson and S. E. Bliss were appointed."
 +
 
 +
In 1889 the Johnstown Flood caused nation-wide interest and sympathy. Mount Holyoke Lodge, in a small way, voted to assist the sufferers by sending $25.00 to the Grand Secretary of Pennsylvania.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke has been honored by having four District Deputy Grand Masters and the first appointment was Right Worshipful Horace W. Gaylord, who made his official visit to the Lodge on October 24, 1889.
 +
 
 +
A very few years ago our own Grand Lodge strongly recommended that the Treasurers and Secretaries of all Lodges [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsEdicts1900-1949#Bonding_of_Officers should be bonded] in order to protect the individual Lodge and to make for a better business structure. On November 7, 1889: "Moved that the Treasurer give a bond of $1500.00. Carried." It is quite evident that our fore-fathers in Masonry had the same thoughts as we folks of fifty-five years later.
 +
 
 +
During the past year, perhaps because of the war, Lodges have had heavy schedules, such as two degrees in one evening or a business meeting and a degree which has sometimes caused the work to continue until a rather late hour. Here is a meeting in Mount Holyoke recorded on November 15, 1889:
 +
* Open Lodge in due form.
 +
* Installation of Officers by Rt. Wor. Horace W. Gaylord.
 +
* Lodge of M.M. closed and a Lodge of F..A. opened.
 +
* Bro. S. E. Bliss was again initiated E.A. for practice.
 +
* Lodge of E.A. was closed and a Lodge of F.C. opened.
 +
* Bro. S. E. Bliss was again passed to the degree of F.C. for practice.
 +
* Lodge of F.C. closed and a Lodge of M.M. opened.
 +
* Lodge closed in peace and harmony.
 +
 
 +
On March 3, 1892, it was moved that the Lodge accept the proposition of Mr. Carey for the whole of the top and part of the second floor of his block on Main Street (over Lane's Market), at a rental of $200.00 per year and amended that the Lodge take a lease for ten years. The committee who arranged this contract consisted of Brothers H. W. Gaylord, J. W. Bean, F. M. Smith, E. W. Thompson and H. E. Gaylord. It is of interest to note that on August 4, 1892, the Lodge "moved the furnishing committee use a good generous sum to furnish the new Lodge Room. Carried."
 +
 
 +
The first meeting in the new Masonic Hall (Carey Building) was held on November 3, 1892, and at that meeting Brother Fred M. Smith was elected Worshipful Master. On the 25th of November a public installation of officers was held and 325 were present. The members now living who were present at that meeting are Worshipful Brothers Wm. H. Smith and A. D. Cooke and Brother Charles P. Hennick.
 +
 
 +
On January 4, 1894, an application from the Brethren of South Hadley was received asking permission to apply for a dispensation to form a Lodge at South Hadley. Permission was granted by Mount Holyoke Lodge, but fortunately for all, nothing further developed along this thought.
 +
 
 +
An invitation from the committee on the celebration of the 150th anniversary of South Hadley was read on July 2, 1903, and a committee appointed, with Worshipful Fred M. Smith as Chairman. A month later this terse statement is recorded: "Report of Committee on float that they had performed the duty assigned them."
 +
 
 +
Again, this time on November 1, 1906, modern conveniences were in the minds of our Brethren when it was moved that the Lodge install gas in the kitchen.
 +
 
 +
One of our most beloved District Deputies, Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCBrodeur Clarence A. Brodeur], on his visit to Mount Holyoke on April 18, 1907, presented remarks and suggestions from the Most Worshipful Grand Master in relation to a Masonic Home in Massachusetts. One month later the committee that was appointed reported favorable and it was then moved that Mount Holyoke contribute to the expense five per cent of the gross receipts every year for five years. In the address of the District Deputy nine years later, he said: "that Mount Holyoke Lodge stood at the head of the honor list in regard to the Masonic Home Fund having paid $758.58."
 +
 
 +
On August 7, 1913, it was voted to vacate the present quarters in the Carey Building at the expiration of the present term, namely: September 1, 1913, and it was further voted that a committee be appointed to negotiate with the Directors of Iona Lodge of Odd Fellows at South Hadley Center for the temporary use of their hall. We immediately changed our location to the Odd Fellows Hall, holding the first meeting on September 4, 1913, and continuing until we entered the present building. During the time that we held our meetings at South Hadley Center, the members of Mount Holyoke formulated plans for a building of our own. The Mount Holyoke Masonic Association was organized and chartered, and immediately secured the land from the Carew heirs; also by an exchange of a small portion of this with the Congregational Church.
 +
 
 +
The corner stone of our new Masonic home was laid on September 26, 1914, with appropriate Masonic ceremonies. Right Worshipful Eugene L. Sheldon, Acting Grand Master, opened the exercises while members of the Grand Lodge Suite had places on an improvised platform. The officers of Mount Holyoke Lodge stood in a semi-circle before the stone and the invited guests were seated in the building. The address was delivered by Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCBrodeur Clarence A. Brodeur], Acting Deputy Grand Master, and then principal of the Westfield Normal School. Perhaps the most impressive pan of this memorable occasion took place when three blasts of the bugle signified to those present that the stone had been laid according to the ritual of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge and that the stone had been laid level, square and plumb.
 +
 
 +
The official Grand Lodge Suite composed:
 +
* R. W. Eugene L. Sheldon of Easthampton as Grand Master
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCBrodeur Clarence A. Brodeur] of Westfield as Deputy Grand Master
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCPeck Chauncey E. Peck] of Wilbraham Senior Grand Warden
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin L. Davis] of Chicopee Falls as Junior Grand Warden
 +
* Wor. Lewis N. Richards of Holyoke as Grand Treasurer
 +
* Wor. J. E. Johnson of Holyoke as Grand Secretary
 +
* Bro. Rev. H. H. Morrill of Springfield as Grand Chaplain
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLHBallard Harry P. Ballard] of Maiden as Grand Marshal
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCSpellman Charles C. Spellman] of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEBlodgett Edwin A. Blodgett] of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
 +
* R. W. William E. Gibbs of Westfield, D. D. G. M. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield18_1911-1926 18th Dist].
 +
* R. W. Arthur P. Delabarre of Conway, D. D. G. M. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGreenfield14_1911-1926 14th Dist].
 +
 
 +
It was on March 4, 1915, that Mount Holyoke Lodge held its first meeting in this temple, with an out-turning of members such as had never before been seen in the history of the Lodge. The following month, April 10, 1915, the temple was formally dedicated by the officers of Grand Lodge. Again Mount Holyoke
 +
Lodge had the opportunity of witnessing our Ancient Grand Lodge Ceremony, with Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMMJohnson Melvin M. Johnson], Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, dedicating the building with Corn, Wine and Oil. The dedicatory address at this ceremony was delivered by one of the outstanding Masons of our time, Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFHamilton Frederick W. Hamilton], Grand
 +
Secretary of the Grand Lodge, who spoke on "Universal Benevolence."
 +
 
 +
The Grand Lodge officers present at this meeting were:
 +
* M. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMMJohnson Melvin M. Johnson], Grand Master
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEBlodgett Edwin A. Blodgett] as Deputy Grand Master
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLGThacher George C. Thacher], Senior Grand Warden
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLTBooth Thomas T. Booth], Junior Grand Warden
 +
* R. W. Charles H. Ramsay, Grand Treasurer
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFHamilton Frederick W. Hamilton], Grand Secretary
 +
* Bro. Rev. Francis L. Beal, as Grand Chaplain
 +
* R.W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLWFarrington William M. Farrington], Grand Maishal
 +
* Wor. Robert G. Wilson, Senior Grand Deacon
 +
* Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFVogel Frank Vogel], Junior Grand Deacon
 +
* Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEMiller D. Edward Miller] as Senior Grand Steward
 +
* R. W. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin L. Davis] as Junior Grand Steward
 +
* Wor. George W. Chester, Grand Tyler
 +
 
 +
Our own Right Worshipful David Glassford was Worshipful Master of Mount Holyoke during this period of our history.
 +
 
 +
It was on January 4, 1917, that the Worshipful Master announced that Mount Holyoke had again been greatly honored by having one of our members appointed Distict Deputy Grand Master of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1911-1926 17th Masonic District] - the late Right Worshipful Charles H. Smith, who served Masonry, and particularly this District, well during his two years as Deputy.
 +
 
 +
From the records of November 7, 1918, it was voted that the delegates to the Grand Lodge be instructed to vote to retain the old custom - one black ball to reject a candidate. Many times this question has been brought before Grand Lodge and it is interesting to note that our members of twenty-five years ago believed in the same method as practiced today.
 +
 
 +
We observed our fiftieth anniversary on March 29, 1919, with Worshipful Ralph Batchelor presiding in the East. Mount Holyoke was again pleased to welcome our Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLAbbott Leon M. Abbott]. It was at this meeting that Most Worshipful Leon M. Abbott presented to one of our Past Masters, Worshipful Henry E. Gaylord, a Henry Price Medal for work well done.
 +
 
 +
On September 11, 1920, the Brethren of Mount Holyoke had the pleasure of attending the laying of the corner stone of the Masonic Temple in Holyoke. The Lodges in Holyoke and our Lodge in South Hadley have always extended hands of friendship across the Connecticut River, and it is only natural that we, too, were proud and happy. on this occasion. Our own Brother William Taylor Ramsay of Mount Holyoke Lodge, both an operative and speculative Mason, placed the corner stone. At the next regular meeting of Mount Holyoke, it was voted to extend an invitation to the Holyoke Lodges to use our Temple during the completion of their new building.
 +
 
 +
The Henry E. Gaylord Fund was started on September 6,1923, with a donation of $100.00 to be used for charitable purposes. Worshipful Henry E. Gaylord was the sponsor and the fund continues to be active in our Lodge. Along this same thought of charity, we notice that we voted that $50.00 be taken from the Charity Fund to be applied to the Mississippi Flood Fund of the Grand Lodge. This is another instance where the Brethren of Mount Holyoke extended their charity beyond the confines of our community.
 +
 
 +
Sadness comes to all Lodges and we in Mount Holyoke suffered a great loss on January 7, 1928, when our beloved Past Master, Worshipful Fred M. Smith, passed along to that undiscovered country. We in the Lodge and in this community were deeply appreciative of the service he rendered to his town, to the state and to the nation, as a sincere, loyal and patriotic citizen. It was through his untiring efforts that we of today have this building which we call our Masonic Home.
 +
 
 +
Honorary Membership in Mount Holyoke Lodge is rather a rarity because our records show that only three have received this honor. Right Worshipful Archibald A. Brooks of [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge received honorary membership on December 1, 1932, and once again these two Lodges, Mount Tom and Mount
 +
Holyoke, were brought closer together in a Masonic way. Two years later, October 4, 1934, Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin Lyman Davis] of [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Belcher Belcher] Lodge, Past Deputy Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, was elected to honorary membership. For many years, Right Worshipful Brother Davis has been a vital part of our Lodge and it was quite fitting that he should become an honorary member of Mount Holyoke.
 +
 
 +
By appointment of Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMAllen Claude L. Allen], Right Worshipful David Glassford of Mount Holyoke served our [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 17th District] as District Deputy Grand Master during 1935-1936. This honor was deeply appreciated by our Lodge and our District truly benefited through the splendid leadership of Right Worshipful Brother Glassford.
 +
 
 +
The flood of March 1936 caused very heavy damage to our community, particularly to the business district, which was completely inundated by the waters of the Connecticut River. The C.C.C. boys stationed at Belchertown were called to our town to sand-bag the bulkheads at the dam and during their stay in South Hadley Falls, were housed in our Temple. Seventy army cots were placed in the banquet hall and also on the first floor of the building and we were pleased to be able to do our "bit" for those boys during those critical days. The four smaller rooms in the Temple were used.by the following merchants and
 +
they remained with us until their places of business were
 +
reopened:
 +
* W. C. Cowan Drug Company
 +
* Lane's Market
 +
* Miller Barber Shop
 +
* Bradley Tailor Shop
 +
The Worshipful Master also extended invitations for the use of the Masonic Apartments to St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, Knights of Columbus and the Red Men.
 +
 
 +
Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMPerry Joseph Earl Perry] appointed the fourth District Deputy Grand Master from our Lodge in 1939 and 1940, with Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley] serving the Lodges of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 17th District] during that time.
 +
 
 +
On February 15, 1940, Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRMiles Roy Perry Miles], then Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge, was received in Mount Holyoke as Acting Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. It was at this meeting that Right Worshipful
 +
Brother Miles was presented an honorary membership in our Lodge. Regarding Right Worshipful "Roy" we can only say: "To know him, is to love him" and this is the sentiment of our Lodge to him.
 +
 
 +
Appropriate exercises were observed on April 27, 1940, at the celebration of the 25th anniversary of our Temple, with Right Worshipful Brothers [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin L. Davis] and [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLHHolley Henry O. Holley] as the speakers and Right Worshipful David Glassford as Historian.
 +
 
 +
The only Honorary Life Membership in Mount Holyoke is one that was presented to Right Worshipful David Glassford on November 6, 1941, after faithfully serving as Master, District Deputy Grand Master, Master of the 16th Lodge of Instruction and twenty-two years as Secretary of Mount Holyoke. The Joseph Warren Distinguished Service Medal was presented to him in 1938.
 +
 
 +
Regarding finances, during World War I and II we purchased War Bonds to the extent of $1200.00. On January 1, 1945, the Mount Holyoke Association Bonds mature and it is pleasing to know that the accumulated face value and interest now amount to only $1600.00. To our Building Association, we are truly grateful for this Masonic Home that they so graciously built for us Masons of today and the manner in which they have so ably financed this project.
 +
 
 +
For many years, we in Mount:Holyoke have been privileged in having as our tenants and our friends The George E. Fisher Chapter, No. 115, Order of the Eastern Star, who have aided the growth of our Lodge by their untiring efforts to assist at all times. To this splendid organization we are thankful.
 +
 
 +
This is the recording of seventy-five years of history in Mount Holyoke Lodge - a Lodge that is a vital part of our very lives. Yes, we are proud to be Masons - proud of our Lodge, Mount Holyoke, and we charge our members of the future to carry on this same tradition in Masonry.
 +
 
 +
And now to Mount Holyoke, we say: "May the Lord Bless you and keep you, may He cause His face to shine upon you, now and always."
 +
 
 +
==== CENTENARY HISTORY, APRIL 1969 ====
 +
 
 +
''From Proceedings, Page 1969-131:''
 +
 
 +
''By Brother Samuel J. Somerville.''
 +
 
 +
Before the year 1869, the members of the order of Free and Accepted Masons, resident at South Hadley Falls, were affiliated with the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge of Holyoke. Owing to the early hour at which the swing ferry suspended business, the zealous brethren were obliged to purchase and maintain a rowboat for crossing the river above the dam. This added a certain piquancy to the sense of duty done, especially on dark and stormy nights, when the roar of the falls was unpleasantly near.
 +
 
 +
''"A lodge is a certain number of Masons duly assembled, legally constituted, having the Holy Bible, Square, and Compasses, with a Charter or Warrant empowering them to work."''
 +
 
 +
In 1869, four years after the Civil War, a group of respected Masons and citizens of South Hadley evidently read and re-read this important paragraph of Masonic Law and decided at that time it would be well to petition the Grand Lodge for a dispensation for a lodge to be known as Mount Holyoke. Perhaps this group looked out over the Connecticut Valley at the Mount Holyoke Range and from this picture of strength and beauty decided to name this child of Masonry, Mount Holyoke Lodge, knowing that in its growth there should be strength to support and beauty to adorn all great and important undertakings.
 +
Early in I869, an application was made to the Grand Lodge for a dispensation which was granted on March 30, 1869 by Most Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMGardner William Sewall Gardner], Grand Master and Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLSThornton Solon Thornton], Recording Grand Secretary. In his report to the Grand Lodge in I869, Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLDCrafts D. W. Crafts], District Deputy Grand Master of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield10_1867-1882 10th Masonic District], in which the lodge was first assigned, truthfully said that Mount Holyoke Lodge was an offspring of Mount Tom Lodge.  The fifteen petitoners for dispensation were:
 +
* Rev. George E. Fisher
 +
* James O.Allen
 +
* William Harris
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard
 +
* E.Ogden Dwight
 +
* George F. Bassett
 +
* John A. Smith
 +
* Rev. Richard Knight
 +
* Martin V. B. Jenkins
 +
* Richard Green
 +
* Irving W. Brown
 +
* John Sinclair
 +
* Karl August Kappell
 +
* Emerson B. Judd
 +
* Frederick W. Moos
 +
 
 +
The officers under the Dispensation were: Rev. George E. Fisher, Wor. Master; Emerson B. Judd, Senior Warden; William Harris, Junior Warden; R. Ogden Dwight, Secretary; Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer
 +
The petitioners for a Charter, none of them superstitious, because there were thirteen, received this Charter, June 6, 1870, and this document was signed by William Sewall Gardner, Grand Master, Samuel C. Lawrence, Senior Grand Warden, Richard Briggs, Junior Grand Warden, Solon Thornton, Recording Grand Secretary.    A listing of the thirteen Charter members and the lodges in which they received their degrees are as follows:
 +
* Rev.George E. Fisher, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Hope Hope] Lodge
 +
* Martin V. B. Jenkins, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=CTFrederick14 Frederick] Lodge, Conn.
 +
* George F. Bassett, [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=EveningStar Evening Star] Lodge
 +
* Richard Green, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=CTApollo59 Apollo Lodge], Suffield, Conn.
 +
* John Sinclair, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountTom Mount Tom] Lodge
 +
* John A.Smith, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
* Frederick W. Moos, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
* Karl August Kappell, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
* Benjamin C. Brainard, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
* Irving W. Brown, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
* Rev. Richard Knight, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
* R. Ogden Dwight, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
* William Harris, Mount Tom Lodge
 +
 
 +
History would not be complete without a recording of the first officers
 +
who worked under the new Charter and these officers were installed July 25,
 +
1870:
 +
* Worshipful Master - Rev. George E. Fisher
 +
* Senior Warden - James O. Allen
 +
* Junior Warden - William Harris
 +
* Treasurer - Benjamin C. Brainard
 +
* Secretary  - John L. Matthews
 +
* Senior Deacon - George F. Bassett
 +
* Junior Deacon - John A. Smith
 +
* Chaplain - Rev. Richard Knight
 +
* Marshal - Martin V. B. Jenkins
 +
* Senior Steward - Richard Green
 +
* Junior Steward - Irving W. Brown
 +
* Tyler - John Sinclair
 +
   
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge was organized in the old school building on School Street and has occupied six locations during the past one hundred years. The first lodge room was in the Glasgow Company's building on School Street and remained there for a trifle over four years. The lodge then moved to the Graves and Walton Building at the corner of Main and Bridge Streets which was afterward known as Dudleys Hall. The entire third floor of this building was occupied by Mount Holyoke Lodge. On September 5, 1886 this building was destroyed by fire and all of the property of Mount Holyoke was destroyed with the exception of the present Jewels which were in a case on the wall of the Tyler's room similar to the one now used. The case fell face downward, and protected the Jewels which were found later in the day by Bro. Serbertrum E. Bliss.
 +
 
 +
The oldest recording in the secretary's book is dated October 2, 1884 and Bro. Thomas Van Riper, Secretary, closed his report as follows: "no further business appearing, the lodge closed in peace and harmony." During these past one hundred years peace and harmony truly has prevailed, else this lodge would not have gone forward as it has, in the Masonic way of life.
 +
 
 +
The first mention of Charity, outside of the lodge, is listed in the February 4, 1886 records — "on motion, the treasurer was ordered to forward $5.00 to the Grand Secretary for Texas Sufferers."
 +
 
 +
One of the most interesting excerpts from the records is dated August 26, 1886, and reads:
 +
<blockquote>
 +
"Lodge was opened on Master Mason Degree in Due Form. The Lodge was then formed in procession and marched to the Connecticut River Railroad Depot and took a special train to Northampton assisting in the ceremony of laying the corner stone of the new county court house at the above named place, after which all marched to Round Hill and partook of a clam-bake and then returned to the Connecticut River Railroad Depot and took a train to Holyoke and marched to the Lodge Room. The Lodge was closed in Due Form. Thomas Van Riper, Secretary."
 +
</blockquote>
 +
The invitation for this ceremony was extended to Mount Holyoke Lodge on August 5, 1886 by [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Jerusalem Jerusalem] Lodge of Northampton.
 +
 
 +
As previously stated, fire destroyed the Lodge on September 5, 1886 and the Grand Army Post immediately extended an invitation to use their rooms until permanent quarters were obtained. Two evenings after the fire a meeting was held in Grand Army Hall by a special telegram dispensation received from Most Wor. [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMHowland Abraham H. Howland, Jr.], Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. At the second meeting held in the Grand Army Hall, September 27, 1886, an invitation was read from Mount Tom Lodge extending the use of their rooms together with the paraphernalia until the Lodge obtained suitable rooms. Mount Tom at that time was located on High Street in Holyoke. We readily accepted this kind invitation and remained at Mount Tom Lodge until January 6, 1887 at which time it was voted to return to the original home on School Street at an annual rental of $100.00 per year. Our return to South Hadley Falls was on February 3, 1887 after holding six delightful meetings within the Mount Tom Lodge Rooms.
 +
 
 +
Through an invitation received from [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Hampden Hampden] Lodge in Springfield we find that Mount Holyoke Lodge again took part at a public ceremony on February 22, 1889 at which time we assisted in the exercises of laying the corner stone of the Post Office Building in Springfield.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge has been honored by having seven District Deputy Grand Masters and the first appointment was Rt. Wor. Horace W. Gaylord who made his official visit to the Lodge on October 24, 1889. Following him were: Rt. Wor. Charles H. Smith, Rt. Wor. David Glassford, Rt. Wor. [http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley], Rt. Wor. Ralph B. Wilson, Rt. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson, Rt. Wor. Huey H. McKay.
 +
 
 +
A number of years ago our own Grand Lodge strongly recommended that the Treasurers and Secretaries of all Lodges [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsEdicts1900-1949#Bonding_of_Officers should be bonded] in order to protect the individual Lodge and to make for a better business structure. On November 7, 1889: "Moved that the Treasurer give a bond of $1500.00. Carried." It is quite evident that our forefathers in Masonry had the same thoughts as we folks of today.
 +
 
 +
On March 3, 1892, it was moved that the Lodge accept the proposition of Mr. Carey for the whole of the top and part of the second floor of his block on Main Street (over Lane's Market), at a rental of $200.00 per year and amended that the Lodge take a lease for ten years. The committee who arranged this contract consisted of Brothers H. W. Gaylord, J. W. Bean, F. M. Smith, E. W. Thompson and H. E. Gaylord. It is of interest to note that on August 4, 1892, the Lodge "moved the furnishing committee use a good generous sum to furnish the new Lodge Room. Carried."
 +
 
 +
The first meeting in the new Masonic Hall (Carey Building) was held on November 3, 1892, and at that meeting Brother Fred M. Smith was elected Worshipful Master. On the 25th of November a public installation of officers was held and 325 were present. On the 25th of November a public installation of officers was held and 325 were present.
 +
 
 +
On January 4, 1894, an application from the Brethren of South Hadley was received asking permission to apply for a dispensation to form a Lodge at South Hadley. Permission was granted by Mount Holyoke Lodge, but fortunately for all, nothing further developed along this thought.
 +
 
 +
An invitation from the committee on the celebration of the 150th anniversary of South Hadley was read on July 2, 1903, and a committee appointed, with Worshipful Fred M. Smith as Chairman. A month later this terse statement is recorded: "Report of Committee on float that they had performed the duty assigned them."
 +
 
 +
Again, this time on November 1, 1906, modern conveniences were in the minds of our Brethren when it was moved that the Lodge install gas in the kitchen.
 +
 
 +
One of our most beloved District Deputies, Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCBrodeur Clarence A. Brodeur], on his visit to Mount Holyoke on April 18, 1907, presented remarks and suggestions from the Most Worshipful Grand Master in relation to a Masonic Home in Massachusetts. One month later the committee that was appointed reported favorable and it was then moved that Mount Holyoke contribute to the expense 5% of the gross receipts every year for five years. In the address of the District Deputy nine years later, he said: "that Mount Holyoke Lodge stood at the head of the honor list in regard to the Masonic Home Fund having paid $758.58."
 +
 
 +
On August 7, 1913, it was voted to vacate the present quarters in the Carey Building at the expiration of the present term, namely: September 1, 1913, and it was further voted that a committee be appointed to negotiate with the Directors of Iona Lodge of Odd Fellows at South Hadley Center for the temporary use of their hall. We immediately changed our location to the Odd Fellows Hall, holding the first meeting on September 4, 1913, and continuing until we entered the present building. During the time that we held our meetings at South Hadley Center, the members of Mount Holyoke formulated plans for a building of our own. The Mount Holyoke Masonic Association was organized and chartered, and immediately secured the land from the Carew heirs; also by an exchange of a small portion of this with the Congregational Church.
 +
 
 +
The corner stone of our new Masonic home was laid on September 26, 1914, with appropriate Masonic ceremonies. Rt. Wor. Eugene L. Sheldon, Acting Grand Master, opened the exercises while members of the Grand Lodge stood in a semi-circle before the stone and the invited guests were seated in the building. The address was delivered by Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCBrodeur Clarence A. Brodeur], Acting Deputy Grand Master and then Principal of the Westfield Normal School. Perhaps the most impressive part of this memorable occasion took place when three blasts of the bugle signified to those present that the stone had been laid according to the ritual of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge and that the stone had been laid Level, Square and Plumb. The official Grand Lodge Suite composed:
 +
* Rt. Wor. Eugene L. Sheldon of Easthampton, Acting Grand Master
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCBrodeur Clarence A. Brodeur] of Westfield, Acting Deputy Grand Master
 +
* Rt. Wor.  [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCPeck  Chauncey E. Peck] of Wilbraham, Senior Grand Warden
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin L. Davis] of Chicopee Falls, Acting Junior Grand Warden
 +
* Wor. Lewis M. Richards of Holyoke, Acting Grand Treasurer
 +
* Wor. J. E. Johnson of Holyoke Acting Grand Secretary
 +
* Rev. Bro. H. H. Merrill of Springfield, Acting Grand Chaplain
 +
* Rt. Wor.  [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLHBallard Harry P. Ballard] of Malden, Acting Grand Marshal
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLCSpellman Charles C. Spellman] of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEBlodgett Edwin A. Blodgett] of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
 +
* Rt. Wor. William E. Gibbs of Westfield, D.D.G.M., [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield18_1911-1926 18th District]
 +
* Rt. Wor. Arthur P. Delabarre of Conway D.D.G.M.  [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGreenfield14_1911-1926 14th District]
 +
 
 +
It was on March 4, 1915 that Mount Holyoke Lodge held its first meeting in this Temple with an out-turning of members such as had never before been seen in the history of the lodge. The following month of April 10, 19I5, the Temple was formally dedicated by the officers of Grand Lodge. Again Mount Holyoke Lodge had the opportunity of witnessing our Ancient Grand Lodge Ceremony with Most Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMMJohnson Melvin M. Johnson], Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts dedicating the building with Corn, Wine, and Oil. The dedicatory address at this ceremony was delivered by one of the outstanding Masons of our time, Most Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFHamilton Frederick W. Hamilton],, Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge who spoke on "Universal Benevolence."
 +
The Grand Lodge Officers present at this meeting:
 +
* Most Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMMJohnson Melvin M. Johnson], Grand Master
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEBlodgett Edwin A. Blodgett] as Deputy Grand Master
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLGThacher George C. Thacher], Senior Grand Warden
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLTBooth Thomas T. Booth], Junior Grand Warden
 +
* Rt. Wor. Charles H. Ramsay, Grand Treasurer
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFHamilton Frederick W. Hamilton], Grand Secretary
 +
* Rev. Bro. Francis L. Beal as Grand Chaplain
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLWFarrington William M. Farrington], Grand Marshal
 +
* Wor. Robert G. Wilson, Senior Grand Deacon
 +
* Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLFVogel Frank Vogel], Junior Grand Deacon
 +
* Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEMiller D. Edward Miller] as Senior Grand Steward
 +
* Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin L. Davis]  as Junior Grand Steward
 +
* Wor. George W. Chester, Grand Tyler
 +
Our own Rt. Wor. David Glassford was Worshipful Master of Mount Holyoke during this period of history.
 +
 
 +
From the records of November 7, I9I8, it was voted that the delegates to the Grand Lodge be instructed to vote to retain the old custom — one black ball to reject a candidate. Many times this same question has been brought before the Grand Lodge and it is interesting to note that our members of fifty years ago believed in the same method as practiced today.
 +
 
 +
We observed our 50th Anniversary on March 29, 19I9 with Wor. Ralph Batchelor presiding in the East. Mount Holyoke was again pleased to welcome our Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, Most Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMLAbbott Leon M. Abbott]. It was at this meeting that Most Wor. Abbott presented to one of our Past Masters, Wor. Henry E. Gaylord a Henry Price Medal for work well done.
 +
 
 +
On September 11, 1920, the brethren of Mount Holyoke had the pleasure of attending the laying of the corner stone of the Masonic Temple in Holyoke. The lodges in Holyoke and our lodge in South Hadley have always extended hands of friendship across the Connecticut River and it is only natural that we, too, were proud and happy on this occasion. Our own Brother William Taylor Ramsay of Mount Holyoke Lodge, both an Operative and Speculative Mason, placed the corner stone.
 +
 
 +
At the next regular meeting of Mount Holyoke it was voted to extend an invitation to the Holyoke Lodges to use our Temple during the completion of their new building.
 +
 
 +
The Henry E. Gaylord Fund was started on September 6, I923 with a donation of $100.00 to be used for Charitable purposes. Wor. Henry E. Gaylord was the sponsor and the fund continues to be active in our lodge. Along this same thought of Charity, we notice that we voted that $50.00 be taken from the Charity Fund to be applied to the Mississippi Flood Fund of the Grand Lodge. This is another instance where the brethren of Mount Holyoke extended their charity beyond the confines of our community.
 +
 
 +
Sadness comes to all lodges and we in Mount Holyoke suffered a great loss on January 7, I928 when our beloved Past Master Wor. Fred M. Smith passed along to that undiscovered country. We, in the lodge and in this community were deeply appreciative of the service he rendered to his town, to the State, and to the Nation, as a sincere, loyal and patriotic citizen. It was through his untiring efforts that we of today have this building which we call our Masonic Home.
 +
 
 +
Honorary Membership in Mount Holyoke Lodge is rather a rarity because our records show that only seven have received this honor. Rt. Wor. Archibald A. Brooks of Mount Tom Lodge received honorary membership on December 1, 1932 and once again these two lodges, Mount Tom and Mount Holyoke, were brought closer together in a Masonic Way. Two years later, October 4, 1934, Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDavis Edwin Lyman Davis] of [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=Belcher Belcher] Lodge, Past Deputy Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, was elected to honorary membership. For many years, Rt. Wor. Bro. Davis has been a vital part of our lodge and it is quite fitting that he should become an honorary member of Mount Holyoke.
 +
 
 +
The flood of March, 1936 caused very heavy damage to our community, particularly to the business district which was completely inundated by the waters of the Connecticut River. The C.C.C. boys stationed at Belchertown were called to our town to sandbag the bulkheads at the dam and during their stay in South Hadley Falls were housed in our Temple. Seventy army cots were placed in the banquet hall and also on the first floor of the building and we were pleased to be able to do our bit for the boys during those critical days. The four smaller rooms in the Temple were used by the following merchants and they remained with us until their places of business were reopened: W. C. Cowan Drug Company, Lane's Market, Miller Barber Shop, and Bradley Tailor Shop. The Worshipful Master also extended invitations for the use of the Masonic Apartments to St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, Knights of Columbus, and the Red Men.
 +
 
 +
On February 16, 1940, Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRMiles Roy Perry Miles], then Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge, was received in Mount Holyoke as Acting Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. It was at this meeting that Rt. Wor. Bro. Miles was presented an honorary membership in our lodge. Regarding Rt. Wor. Roy we can only say, "to know him, is to love him," and this is the sentiment of our lodge to him.
 +
 
 +
Appropriate exercises were observed on April 27, 1940 at the celebration of the 25th Anniversary of our Temple with Rt. Wor. Edwin L. Davis and Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLHHolley Henry O. Holley] as the speakers and Rt. Wor. David Glassford as Historian.
 +
 
 +
An honorary life membership in Mount Holyoke was presented to Rt. Wor. David Glassford on November 6, 1941 after faithfully serving as Master, District Deputy Grand Master, Master of the 16th Lodge of Instruction, and 22 years as Secretary of Mount Holyoke. The Joseph Warren Distinguished Service Medal was presented to him in 1938.
 +
 
 +
Regarding Finance during World War One and Two, we purchased War Bonds to the extent of $1,200.00. On January 1, 1945 the Mount Holyoke Association Bonds matured and it is pleasing to know that the accumulated face value and interest which now amounted to only $1,600.00 was cleared with no indebtedness on our Temple at the present time. To our building association we are truly grateful for this Masonic Home that they so graciously built for our Masons of today and the manner in which they have so ably financed this project.
 +
Interest in Masonry during and following the Second World War increased and Mount Holyoke being near Westover Air Force Base, increased its membership considerably. Communications were held on Mondays as well as our regular meeting night Thursdays. Rehearsals were held on Sundays and Wednesdays. During the years many Inter-Lodge Visits were planned which fostered a better brotherhood and made new and lasting friendships. The Varsity Club, composed of Past Masters, became active and participated in the Degree Work.
 +
 
 +
In March of 1947 it was suggested by Bro. Robert C. Adams the lodge should have an Organ and the new electronics were priced within reason. The seed had been planted and germinated to the extent two brothers offered to buy one. Their generosity and love of Masonry and Mount Holyoke was overwhelming but their offer  was  refused  for  it was  the general  consensus of opinion that each member should be allowed to share in the cost as well as the harmony emanating from same. On April 3rd the Organ Fund Committee was appointed: Brothers Robert C. Adams and [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley], Co-Chairmen, Ralph E. Burnette, Sec'y.-Treas., Edward J. Norris, Walter E. Peetz, Otto C. Kohler, Joseph G. Griffin, Herman C. Bock, William A. Green, and Harold Hanson. $100.00 was reported received already. Following a whirlwind drive $2,700.00 had been pledged and collected by May 1st. It was decided to include a set of chimes. The total cost was: Hammond Organ $2,295.00, Chimes $595.00 making a total of $2,890.00. Collected $3,174.94 leaving an excess of $284.00 which was banked and would maintain the yearly inspections and repair. Culmination of the Drive resulted in the Dedication of Our Organ January 30, 1948. "History of Our Organ" was given by Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, the Prayer of Dedication followed, and finally the test of a fine instrument by Wor. Frederick E. Aggerup, Organist. Wor. Master Edgar G. Thompson accepted the Organ on behalf of Mount Holyoke Lodge.
 +
 
 +
On April 3, 1947, Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLPLPerkins Paul Livingston Perkins] was elected an Honorary Member of Mount Holyoke Lodge and on the 26th "Paul Perkins Night" was held. Bro. Perkins was Junior Grand Warden at the time and was accompanied by Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMAJenkins Andrew Jenkins], Grand Pursuivant. Bro. Perkins thanked Rt. Wor. William H. Bray, District Deputy Grand Master of the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 Holyoke 17th Masonic District] for relinquishing his prerogative and consenting to be on his suite which was just in reverse to Masonic procedure. Musical selections were offered by the quartet. Rt. Wor. Archibald A. Brooks spoke on "Adopted" and Rt. Wor. Perkins' subject was ''A Pattern For Living''. His Honorary Membership was presented by Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke raised $160.00 for the Leonard Wood Memorial Fund.
 +
 
 +
The Congregational Church, next door, was gutted by fire. Use of our Temple was offered and were with us until their new church was completed.
 +
 
 +
Sunday, June 27, 1948 was District Saints John Sunday at Rt. Wor. William H. Bray's church in Southampton. Lodge opened at 10:00 a.m. and recessed so that all might travel to Southampton for the Divine Service. On returning to the Temple Dispensation from Most Worshipful Roger Keith, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts was read granting permission to assist in the laying of the corner stone for the Congregational Church. A recess was declared and the lodge reconvened at 1:30 p.m. A procession was formed and marched next door where the colorful and symbolic ceremony was exemplified in true Masonic tradition. The Cornerstone Ceremonies were broadcast over the facilities of Radio Station WHYN at 2:00 p.m. and a re-broadcast at 7:00 p.m. Transcriptions were made and Wor. Master Thompson reporting to the Grand Master dutifully, as ordered, sent along one together with newspaper clippings and an album of pictures taken by Bro. Lloyd Runnal's son. There reposes with the records in the archives a record of the transcription, picture album, trowel used, candles and candlesticks. The procession returned to the Temple where the lodge was closed in form at 3:20 p.m.
 +
 
 +
Wor. J. Holden Camp undertook the tremendous task of updating our By-Laws. October 7, 1948 the Revised Code of By-Laws were accepted by the Lodge and Wor. Camp was given a sincere vote of thanks for the marvelous job he accomplished, a tremendous task requiring time, patience and fortitude to follow it through to such perfection and completion. The By-Laws were approved by Grand Lodge March 14, 1951.
 +
 
 +
1949 was a memorable year for Mount Holyoke for these brethren held the following offices: Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, Senior Grand Warden, Wor. Edgar G. Thompson, Grand Pursuivant, and Rt. Wor. Ralph B. Wilson, District Deputy Grand Master for the Holyoke 17th Masonic District. On February 26th a Reception to officially receive our Senior Grand Warden Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was held. Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMKeith Roger Keith], Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts and distinguished suite were present and he called on many who lauded Rt. Wor. Astley's qualities, abilities of leadership, moral character and virtues, and his endless energy and devotion to the Craft. Most Worshipful Keith presented him a Henry Price Medal.
 +
 
 +
April 3rd was the Holyoke 17th Masonic District Church Sunday to attend Divine Worship which was held at the Congregation B'nai Israel Synagogue in Northampton. A sizeable procession was formed at Jerusalem Lodge and marched to the synagogue where a special Masonic Service, conforming to the regular Jewish Service as closely as possible was held and was most interesting. The sermon was a history of the Jewish people and their struggles for freedom and fellowship down through the ages and a thorough explanation of Judaism and their various holy days.
 +
 
 +
On Friday, August 5th Mount Holyoke Lodge received the Acting Grand Master, our own Bro. Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts. The meeting was musically adorned by the quartet. Rt. Wor. Astley gave a detailed account of his trips to the Grand Lodges of Vermont and Toronto, Canada as representative of the Grand Master, Most Worshipful Roger Keith.
 +
 
 +
In September it was decided to place the Organ Sound Chamber and Chimes in the front part of the attic with a sound grille in the wall of the Lodge Room. The Grille and Trim to be the same as the Window Casements. Steinerts recommended this when the Organ was installed. No charge to move the sound chamber. Cost of materials for the project $125.00 and was completed February 23, 1950.
 +
"Wor. Edgar G. Thompson Night" was held December 22, I949 and was largely attended. Many expressions of friendship and congratulations were tendered him together with a letter from Most Worshipful Grand Master Roger Keith. Musical selections by Bro. Major Jenkins of Westover Field on the Organ were enjoyed by all.
 +
 
 +
"Dave Glassford Night" was held on September 21, I95O. Reception and Testimonial to Bro. Dave who is leaving to live with his son in Texas. He was lauded as a Landmark in Masonry and known throughout the state. He was presented a Wrist Watch and Purse.
 +
 
 +
Our Table and Chair Drive on May 3, 1951, goal $1,500.00, and Chair-maned by Bro. William D. O'Connor was successful in raising $1,073.53 for the purchase of 200 chairs $629.40 and 15 tables $352.00, total $981.40, leaving a net balance of $118.20.
 +
 
 +
Corrections and changes in our By-Laws recommended by Grand Lodge noted. Lodge voted to accept as corrected and to become effective January 1, 1952.
 +
 
 +
Joint Meeting of the Greenfield 12th and Holyoke 16th Lodges of Instruction on Monday, October 22, 1951 at Mount Holyoke Lodge. Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMRoy Thomas S. Roy], Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts with Rt. Wor. [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMJaynes Herbert H. Jaynes], Grand Marshal visited the joint meeting. Grand Master Roy spoke of the 7 Landmarks in Masonry and explained each individually. Rt. Wor. Jaynes spoke on how to increase lodge attendance and distributed a booklet entitled ''Special Events in Lodges'' to each Master. Considering the fact that the only time a Grand Master visits a lodge is on anniversaries, it is quite significant that Mount Holyoke should have been chosen as host for this special visit; the purpose of which gives him an opportunity to observe how the various lodges of instruction are conducted and also to meet and become better acquainted with his brethren in Freemasonry. Following the closing the Most Wor. Grand Master received the brethren in the East.
 +
 
 +
Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was conducted to the East where Wor. Master Charles Lempke, Jr. greeted him and resigned the Gavel and Oriental Chair. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson conducted the officers to the East for the Ceremony of Dedication and Investiture of the new Jewels November 1, 1951.
 +
 
 +
The Kitchen Renovation was discussed at length. Modern dumbwaiter, new range, refrigerator, lowering the ceiling, bricking up windows, new kitchen cabinets, and exhaust fans. This project to be financed by the Association, Lodge and Eastern Star, was started June 5, 1952. On December 4th the windows had been bricked up and equipment was on hand. February 5, 1953 a new Automatic Gas Hot Water Heater and Range installed. Electricians ready to proceed.
 +
 
 +
It was noted on January 8, 1953 that new Shades were installed in the Temple. Pool Room renovation progressing satisfactorily . . . cement floor, plaster off, fitting strips in place ready for cedar paneling. Pool Table complete with accessories purchased at Auction $135.00. Paid receipted bill for paneling and lumber for $153.33 from the Street Lumber Co. through the courtesy of Wor. Bro. Robert A. Brainerd.
 +
 
 +
It was announced that Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley made a Director of Grand Lodge.
 +
 
 +
200th Anniversary of the Town of South Hadley was held on September 12, 1953. Mount Holyoke Lodge was invited to participate and obtained a Special Dispensation from Most Worshipful Thomas S. Roy, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. 137 Masons were in the line of march preceded by our float and followed by the Warren Indian Drum and Bugle Corps. The parade was scheduled for a 10:30 a.m. start but considering the 11  divisions in same we were lucky to start at 12:15 marching some 3 miles past the reviewing stand where we disbanded and wended our way back to the Temple.
 +
 
 +
The question of redecorating the Lodge Room, refinishing and upholstering the benches, and carpeting was discussed November 1, I956 and plans and committees were arranged and saw these projects through to a beautiful fulfillment February 7, 1957.
 +
 
 +
The ceiling in our attic was insulated to lower our heat loss and fuel bills January 3, 1957.
 +
 
 +
Our Card Room was repainted and refurbished by the Hano family — Bro. Herbert and Bro. Philip. A new letter G from Wor. Ernest E. Perron was installed in the East. These additions were reported at our September 5, 1957 meeting.
 +
 
 +
The leaded stained-glass windows in the Lodge Room were repaired and storm windows installed to protect them. 3 - 16" variable Speed Exhaust Fans were installed in the Lodge Room Ceiling vents and was reported at the October 3, 1957 meeting.
 +
 
 +
An Honorary Membership was presented Rt. Wor. Robert R. Askew February 21, 1963.
 +
 
 +
On April 27, 1963 a Masonic Wrist Watch was presented to Wor. Ernest C. Smith from the officers, Past Masters, and members of Mount Holyoke Lodge in appreciation for his faithfulness as Chaplain and Coach to the officers.
 +
 
 +
Following our June 6, I963 communication the brothers met with the ladies in the new sitting room beautifully decorated and furnished to compliment Brothers Herbert and Philip Hano and their wives who donated it to the Mount Holyoke Masonic Association. Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, President of the Association, thanked them for their thoughtfulness and generosity.
 +
 
 +
To augment the beautifully furnished Henry E. Gaylord Card Room, the landings, stairs, and Banquet Hall were sanded, sealed, and finished. The Banquet Hall was repainted and fluorescent lights installed together with an electric clock donated by Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley.
 +
 
 +
The George E. Fisher Chapter O.E.S. installed new drapes on the second floor on October 3, 1963.
 +
 
 +
The deplorable condition of the officers' aprons was noted and action was to be taken which resulted in their purchase on March 5th. At the April 18th meeting Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley called attention to the new aprons and said Mackey's definition of same was a badge of Masons outwardly and should be worn inwardly too. He hoped the officers would wear them with the same dignity and pride as the men who built this Temple.
 +
 
 +
On June 28 and August 9, 1964 Mount Holyoke lost two dependable Masons: Bro. John Livingston McKay, Organist for 34 years, and Bro. Robert Frank Beyer, Sr., Tyler for 18 years. It will be difficult to find men of their calibre and as devoted to their professions as they were.
 +
 
 +
Through Wor. Robert T. Hardy the Shriners' Hospital was visited and gifts and candy were distributed and "Bob," dressed as a clown, evoked fun and laughter. Wor. Norman H. Richards was our Genial Guide in this venture.    A Television Set with remote control will be presented as soon as it can be procured from the distributor. Also the cost of 10 lamps was donated by Mount Holyoke to the Masonic Home at Charlton.
 +
 
 +
Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley on the Board of Governors of the Shrine Burns Institute Hospital in Boston announced that 3 hospitals would be built; 1 in Boston, 1 in Cincinnati, Ohio, and 1 in Galveston, Texas. The average cost per child at a Shrine Hospital is $1,500.00 — at a Burns Institute $15,000.00.
 +
 
 +
On Past Masters' Night April 24, I965 Secretary Bro. Samuel J. Somerville was conducted to the East where he was presented a Masonic Wrist Watch from the brethren for 19 years service by Bro. Francis R. Dressell.
 +
 
 +
On April 10, I965 Wor. Joseph John Lacey, Past Master and well-known as the Chaplain on Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley's installing suite, passed on to the Celestial Lodge above.
 +
 
 +
The landscaping and planting around our Temple was done by Wor. Master Harrison B. Fecteau and was noted May 6, 1965.
 +
 
 +
On May 19, 1965 The Grim Reaper took his toll and left Mount Holyoke heavy-hearted. Masonic Memorial Services were held for Wor. Josiah Holden Camp, departed May 18, — Bro. Erry Marshall Burnett, departed May 17, — and Rt. Wor. David Glassford, departed May 18.
 +
 
 +
On May 22 the 50th Anniversary Celebration of the Dedication of our Temple was held. Historical History and Sketch of Mount Holyoke's progress through the years was given by Rt. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson.
 +
 
 +
It was noted the four vents under the radiators in the Lodge Room had been bricked up. Congratulations were given on the matching of the bricks and work done by Mr. Hogan, bricklayer, and Bro. "Bill" Mackie, assistant.
 +
 
 +
Wor. Harrison B. Fecteau announced the Basement Modernization Drive started before Lodge closed in June was received most enthusiastically. Brothers Edgar Thompson, William Mackie, Clarence Young, Frank Obremski and Robert R. Askew worked constantly to accomplish the transformation in the basement: tiled ceiling, Mahogany wood paneling, asphalt floor tiles, fluorescent lights, glass blocks, ventilating fan, new ladies powder room, and outside post lamp, yet to be installed, and should receive the thanks of the Lodge and be spread on the records and was so recorded.
 +
 
 +
Our Senior Past Master Wor. Bro. Ralph Newth Batchelor passed on to the Celestial Lodge above April 10, 1966.
 +
 
 +
Sunday, April 24, 1966 Gifts: Ball Point Pens to the older boys and girls, model cars and dolls for the younger boys and girls were presented at the Shriners' Hospital and a Locust tree was planted by Wor. Frank Obremski, Jr.
 +
A Flag Pole was donated to the Lodge by Wor. Harrison B. Fecteau and was erected on the north side lawn May 5, I966.
 +
 
 +
June 2, 1966 Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was appointed and accepted the General Chairmanship of the 100th Anniversary Committee to make plans for Mount Holyoke Lodge's Celebration in I969.
 +
 
 +
Saint John's Sunday was observed by the Lodge on June 19, I966. Following Breakfast in the Temple a procession was formed and escorted by the Knights Templar from St. Andrews Commandery. Bro. & Rev. Robert B. Dennett preached an appropriate service for the occasion. The Knights Templar presented an American Flag donated by Bro. Myron W. Ryder, Jr. to the Lodge in a brief ceremony which was raised on our new Flag Pole.
 +
 
 +
On October 6, 1966 Wor. Frank Obremski, Jr. reported attending the Public Installation of the Knights of Columbus, the first in 84 years. Bro. & Rev. Robert B. Dennett gave the Benediction and Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was the principal speaker and took as his theme the "Expanding Brotherhood." Wor. Joseph J. Lacey's Masonic Gavel was presented to Grand Knight, Thomas Fitzell, brother-in-law of Wor. Bro. Lacey.
 +
 
 +
On June 6, 1968 Bro. William Mackie resigned as Building Custodian and Rental Agent for the House Committee effective June 30th ending 30 years of service. "BROTHER BILL MACKIE NIGHT" was held October 10th. He was lauded by Rt. Wor. Huey H. McKay, District Deputy Grand Master for the Holyoke 17th Masonic District, who praised his long, devoted, and dedicated service. Always doing more than required, his seemingly tireless, well-organized efforts to attain such a high degree of satisfaction and perfection sets a standard nearly impossible for any successor to achieve. Mount Holyoke is deeply grateful and appreciative for men of Bill's calibre and wish for him a long, healthy, and happy retirement. He was presented a Scroll bearing these sentiments. Following the closing of the meeting we adjourned to the Banquet Hall where our wives and Eastern Star women were to partake of a smorgasbord. He received a Gift from the George E. Fisher Chapter O.E.S. by the Worthy Patron John M. Ford II and a Gift from the Past Masters, presented by Wor. Samuel A. Watson.
 +
 
 +
Rt. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson, Treasurer of the Basement Modernization Project, gave his final accounting and turned over to the Secretary $8.53 left after all expenses were paid. He announced Receipts of $5,495.89 less Expenditures of $5,480.39, balance $15.50, and paid one final bill of $6.97, leaving a balance of $8.53.
 +
 
 +
It is heartening in this day and age to cheer Bro. Charles Glackner, our guest at the Masonic Home in Charlton, who celebrated his 100th Birthday on Thursday, October 24, 1968.
 +
 
 +
The New Masonic Sign over our front door entrance was donated by a father - son team.
 +
 
 +
We in Mount Holyoke have been privileged to have as our tenants and friends for many years The George E. Fisher Chapter No. 115, O.E.S. who have aided the growth of our Lodge by their untiring efforts to assist at all times.  To this splendid organization we are indeed grateful.
 +
 
 +
This is the recording of One Hundred Years of history in Mount Holyoke Lodge. We are proud of our heritage and trust that we have fulfilled the hopes and dreams of our predecessors who started this Lodge and built this fine Temple.
 +
 
 +
==== 125TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, APRIL 1994 ====
 +
 
 +
''From Proceedings, Page 1994-73:''
 +
 
 +
''Please refer to page 131 of the 1969 Grand Lodge Proceedings for the history of the first 100 years of Mount Holyoke Lodge.''
 +
 
 +
'''The Last Twenty-Five Years'''
 +
 
 +
The task given to our late Brother William Mandell of compiling a recent history of Mount Holyoke Lodge was formidable. But none doubted that it would be accomplished by Bill. We were sure that he would approach this task in the same manner and with the same vigor and drive that he demonstrated to us many times over.
 +
 
 +
It is unfortunate that he is not with us today to share with us the fruits of his labors, for has has joined those who have gone before us to that house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.
 +
 
 +
To you Bill we say thanks.
 +
 
 +
In reading over Bill's history it was difficult to comprehend all the things that have gone on in Mount Holyoke Lodge since 1970. The following are some of the events or occasions that occured during each of the last twenty-five years.
 +
 
 +
===== 1970 =====
 +
 
 +
We celebrated the 102nd birthday of Brother Charles Glackner. Worshipful Francis Dressed, who was the Master of the Lodge in 1970, brought several brothers with him to the Masonic Home to visit Brother Glackner.
 +
 
 +
===== 1971 =====
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley] was presented to the East for the ceremony of dedication and investiture of the new lodge jewels, that had been donated by Brother Louis Bach. Acting as Marshal for the ceremony was Worshipful Alfred P. Charron.
 +
 
 +
===== 1972 =====
 +
 
 +
During a fraternal visit to Mount Holyoke Lodge, Right Worshipful Robert H. Edwards, District Deputy Grand Master for the Holyoke 17th Masonic District planned to speak that evening....His topic was lack of candidates and attendance. . . Unfortunately or fortunately that evening 48 Masons were in attendance and three applications were read and three candidates were balloted on...Right Worshipful Edwards changed his topic for the evening to Masonic History, he felt his previous topic was out of context at Mount Holyoke Lodge.
 +
 
 +
Robert Williams Tucker became an Entered Apprentice. Where have we heard that name before?
 +
 
 +
===== 1973 =====
 +
 
 +
Brother Kenneth Haskins was Junior Warden and Ken has still been helping the Lodge. He recently completed a year for us as Chaplain. Thanks Ken.
 +
 
 +
===== 1974 =====
 +
 
 +
The Children's Christmas Party saw a new Master Mason who was raised on 12/12/74 and volunteered to be Santa for the Annual Christmas Party . That new Master Mason was Real L. Cayer and as most of you know Real has served us as Junior and Senior Steward in the very recent past until he began having back problems.
 +
 
 +
===== 1975 =====
 +
 
 +
This year found Mount Holyoke Lodge competing in a Pitch Tournament against the Knights of Columbus, and Mount Holyoke Lodge claimed victory. Many people said if the game had been Bingo, there would have been a very different outcome.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge witnessed an evening where 50 Masons were in attendance for the play ''Rose Upon The Altar'' which was presented by the Past Master's Unit of the Melha Temple.
 +
 
 +
===== 1976 =====
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Kenneth C. Haskins presented an 6 gallon blood donor pin to Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRJackson Ronald E. Jackson].
 +
 
 +
Also that year Worshipful Jackson moved that all Past Masters wear their Past Master Jewels to all Regular and Special Communications or be fined 25 cents the motion carried.
 +
 
 +
===== 1977 =====
 +
 
 +
There was a surprise party for Brother Samuel J. Somerville. Brother Somerville had served as the Secretary of the Lodge for 30 faithful and dedicated years.
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson was again escorted to the East for the purpose of presenting him a 7 gallon blood donor pin. Worshipful Jackson, who had no blood left after he gave 7 gallons, was then carried back to his seat.
 +
 
 +
===== 1978 =====
 +
 
 +
Among our other activities for this memorable year was a get well card sent to our famous Brother John Wayne who was a patient at Massachusetts General Hospital recuperating from heart surger Well, Iwannatell yapilgrim that was some card.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful William T. Miles presented a Fifty-Year Veteran's Medal to Right Worshipful Ronald Astley.
 +
 
 +
===== 1979 =====
 +
 
 +
[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MountMoriahW Mount Moriah] Lodge of Westfield paid Mount Holyoke Lodge a Fraternal Visit and passed two of their candidates to the Fellowcraft Degree. The ritual and floor work was superb.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell, District Deputy Grand Master paid his Home Lodge a Fraternal Visit with his Marshal Worshipful Louis J. Laferriere.
 +
 
 +
Brother Willard Haskell was presented to the East where he presented Worshipful Roger Martin the newly bound By-Laws.
 +
 
 +
A reception for Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell was held at Conti's 202 Restaurant and among the distinguished guests that evening was Right Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMDarling Edgar W. Darling],  Junior Grand Warden of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.
 +
 
 +
Brother Ernest H. Hill, Sr. received a commendation from the Veterans' Administration for 500 hours of service to the VA Hospital in Leeds, Massachusetts.
 +
 
 +
===== 1980 =====
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Richard B. Scott received a 10 gallon blood donor pin from the Junior Warden Worshipful Wardman K. Brooksbank.
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson presented a Masonic road sign to the Lodge which would be placed on a South Hadley highway so visiting brethren could find the Lodge.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge planted 8 flowering crab apple trees on the VA Hospital grounds.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell, District Deputy Grand Master presented a Fifty-Year Veteran's Medal to Worshipful Ralph H. Burnett.
 +
 
 +
===== 1981 =====
 +
 
 +
Brother Ernest H. Hill, Sr. received a citation for 1000 hours of voluntary service at the VA Hospital in Leeds, surely Masonic Charity at work.
 +
 
 +
It was announced that Right Worshipful William T. Miles of Mount Tom Lodge was a candidate for Junior Grand Warden of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.
 +
 
 +
===== 1982 =====
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Wardman K. Brooksbank announced that Thomas Fitzell, Past Grand Knight of the South Hadley Knights of Columbus returned to Mount Holyoke Lodge the gavel of Worshipful Joseph T. Lacey, Master of Mount Holyoke Lodge in 1946. Worshipful Lacey had loaned his brother-in-law his gavel on the occasion of Tom's installation as Grand Knight.
 +
 
 +
The South Hadley Lions Club awarded Right Worshipful Ronald Astley the Citizen of the Year Award.
 +
 
 +
After the Worshipful Master denied the request of the Junior Warden to excuse the Stewards for the purpose of preparing the collation, the Junior Steward, Brother Harvey J. Robert, rose and announced that there was an alarm at the door of the refrigerator by some very cold frankfurters....rumor has it the alarm was answered.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge was sixth in the Commonwealth for attendance at the Lodge of Instruction, with a total of 113 officer present during the year.
 +
 
 +
===== 1983 =====
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson, District Deputy Grand Master for the [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 Holyoke 17th Masonic District] presented to Worshipful Phillip Hano, III a medal commemorating the 250th Anniversary of the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge participated in the Memorial Day Parade. This was the first time the Lodge had paraded in public since 1953. The comments from the spectators were favorable.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson had Worshipful Alfred P. Charron escorted to the East for the purpose of presenting him the Joseph Warren Medal for Meritorious Service to Masonry, his Church, his Community, and his Family.
 +
 
 +
===== 1984 =====
 +
 
 +
A cowan and eavesdropper was discovered in the Lodge Room. Brother Gary Robert dispatched the culprit which was a flying bat. For his reward, Brother Robert was escorted once around the Lodge. The ancestors of that bat live in that light above your head but this generation of bats has taken their degrees.
 +
 
 +
During the course of the meeting on 11/1/84 an alarm was sounded at the door. The visitor was the Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, the Most Worshipful [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=GMRichardson David B. Richardson]. He presented to Mount Holyoke Lodge the Grand Master's Award for the year 1982-1983.
 +
 
 +
Worshipful John M . Gauger, the Junior Warden, was presented a case of C-Rations and it was noted that they might be the best collation of the year.
 +
 
 +
===== 1985 =====
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Eugene G. Anderson announces to the Lodge that Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson of Mount Holyoke Lodge was appointed Deputy Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts.
 +
 
 +
The Mother's Degree was presented by the Elm Chapter of the Order of DeMolay and the presentation was well received.
 +
 
 +
===== 1986 =====
 +
 
 +
Brother Ronald E. Zissell who is a member of the staff of Mount Holyoke College gave an excellent presentation on Haley's Comet and it was well received.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson received the DeMolay's highest award that of the Legion of Honor.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge's first scholarship recipient, Lisa Ouimette, sent a thanks note to the Lodge.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressed received a Meritorious Service Certificate from the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.
 +
 
 +
===== 1987 =====
 +
 
 +
A funeral service was held for Right Worshipful Ronald Astley who had served as Master of Mount Holyoke Lodge in 1934, District Deputy Grand Master in 1939 and 1940 and Senior Grand Warden in 1949.
 +
 
 +
The Lodge called on sick brethren to sing Christmas Carols and to bring Christmas Spirit to those who could not get out.
 +
 
 +
===== 1988 =====
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Ralph H. Burnett, Senior Past Master, received a plaque to commemorate his 64th year as a Mason.
 +
 
 +
Worshipful John M. Gauger was escorted to the East for the purpose of presenting to the Lodge its Fourth Grand Master's Award.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge also receives an Outstanding Service Award from the VA Hospital in Leeds and this was presented to the Lodge by Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge found themselves marching in the Natick Parade along with 300 Masons from around the State.
 +
 
 +
===== 1989 =====
 +
 
 +
A new method of clearing the Ballot Box was instituted by Worshipful Master Raymond J. Leclaire and Mount Holyoke Lodge is striving to carry on this method.
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Eugene G. Anderson received a Meritorious Award which was presented to him by Worshipful Raymond J. Leclaire.
 +
 
 +
Brother Raymond Marier accepted the position of Inside Sentinel to replace Brother Albert Kinsey who has moved to North Carolina.
 +
 
 +
Brother Marier donated to the Lodge a walking stick which is know as The Staff of Wisdom. The Staff has a special place of honor in the Southeast Comer of the Lodge where it rests on a hand crafted stand of wood made and donated by Worshipful Frank Obremski.
 +
 
 +
===== 1990 =====
 +
 
 +
Brother Ernest H. Hill, Sr: received a special plaque from the Leeds, VA, Hospital in Northampton for his Ten Years of Faithful Service to the veterans at the hospital.
 +
 
 +
The Widows Valentine Brunch was held at the Windows on the Common. A fine day was had by all.
 +
 
 +
Junior Warden Henry A. Fusari put on an Italian Night that was a huge success. Some of the proceeds from this dinner were to go to sponsor widows who were attending the Widows' Brunch at the Common.
 +
 
 +
Brother Marier, a member of the Memorial Day Parade Committee, gave a favorable report on our participation in the Memorial Day Parade.
 +
Worshipful Henry A. Fusari rolled up his sleeves and got a food basket program started. This program is more successful each year.
 +
 
 +
===== 1991 =====
 +
 
 +
The officers and wives of Mount Holyoke Lodge visited the new Shriner's Hospital in Springfield. The visit included a complete tour and dinner.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell celebrated his 50th Wedding Anniversary and members of the Lodge wished him well from the East.
 +
A beautiful lectern was built and presented to the Lodge by Brother Real L. Cayer.
 +
 
 +
Brother Edmond C. Jackson was installed as organist.
 +
 
 +
Right Worshipful Clarence Douglas Miles congratulated Mount Holyoke Lodge on donating 496 pint of blood during 1991.
 +
 
 +
===== 1992 =====
 +
 
 +
Brother David Aaron Jackson was installed as Junior Steward and now Mount Holyoke Lodge had the Jackson Five to contend with.
 +
 
 +
Mount Holyoke Lodge again received the Grand Master's Award.
 +
 
 +
A very loud degree was performed at the Masonic Home in Charlton. All in attendance were able to hear the word.
 +
 
 +
The Lodge attended three parades in South Hadley for Memorial Day.
 +
 
 +
Worshipful Ralph H. Burnett received a This Is Your Life type of testimonial and roasting by members of the Lodge to commemorate his 92nd birthday. One of the younger members of the Lodge observed that one day he noticed Ralph's underwear tag sticking out of his pants and as he looked he noticed that the tag had Paul Revere written on it. According to the young Mason he wasn't sure if Ralph was wearing designer underwear or if he had borrowed them from the original owner.
 +
 
 +
=== OTHER ===
 +
 
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1886 1886]''' (Dispensation to meet in Holyoke due to fire, 1886-129)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1887 1887]''' (Granting of replacement charter due to fire, 1887-18)
 +
* '''[http://www.masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MassachusettsYear1903 1903]''' (Case of a rejected candidate, 1903-85)
 +
 
 +
<hr>
 +
 
 +
=== GRAND LODGE OFFICERS ===
 +
 
 +
* ''Edward L. Alford'', DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MADISTRICT27_2003andAfter District 27], 2007, 2008
 +
* [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRAstley Ronald Astley], DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1939, 1940; Senior Grand Warden 1949; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesAG#ASTLEY.2C_RONALD_1901-1986 N]'''
 +
* ''Paul A. Cataldo'', DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MADISTRICT27_2003andAfter District 27], 2009, 2010
 +
* Francis R. Dressell, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1979, 1980; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesAG#DRESSELL.2C_FRANCIS_ROBERT_1919-1994 N]'''
 +
* [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLEDunbar Edson S. Dunbar], DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASpringfield33_1927-2003 District 33 (Springfield)], 1940, 1941; Junior Grand Warden 1961; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesAG#DUNBAR.2C_EDSON_STANLEY_1899-1967 N]'''
 +
* ''John M. Gauger'', DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1993, 1994
 +
* Horace W. Gaylord, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAChicopee16_1883-1910 District 16 (Chicopee)], 1889, 1890, 1891; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASuppNecrologiesAG#GAYLORD.2C_HORACE_WRIGHT_1837-1904 SN]'''
 +
* David Glassford, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1935, 1936; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesAG#GLASSFORD.2C_DAVID_1880-1965 N]'''
 +
* [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLLHarmon Louis A. Harmon], Grand Marshal 1996-1998, Senior Grand Warden 1999
 +
* ''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLRJackson Ronald E. Jackson]'', DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1983, 1984; Deputy Grand Master 1985
 +
* Huey H. McKay, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1967, 1968; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASuppNecrologiesHM#McKAY.2C_HUEY_HARRY_1895-1977 SN]'''
 +
* Clarence D. Miles, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1991, 1992; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesHM#MILES.2C_CLARENCE_DOUGLAS_1926-2015 N]'''
 +
* ''Mark C. Mueller'', DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 2001, 2002
 +
* ''Tyler W. Seavey'', DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MADISTRICT27_2003andAfter District 27], 2017-2019
 +
* Charles H. Smith, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1911-1926 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1917, 1918; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MASuppNecrologiesSZ#SMITH.2C_CHARLES_HENRY_1871-1938 SN]'''
 +
* ''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAGLTStark Thomas A. Stark]'', Grand Marshal 2011-2013; Senior Grand Warden 2014
 +
* Edgar G. Thompson, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1955, 1956; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesSZ#THOMPSON.2C_EDGAR_GAYLORD_1899-1984 N]'''
 +
* Ralph B. Wilson, DDGM, [http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAHolyoke17_1927-2003 District 17 (Holyoke)], 1949, 1950; '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MANecrologiesSZ#WILSON.2C_RALPH_BRAINERD_1903-1984 N]'''
 +
 
 +
=== OTHER BROTHERS ===
 +
 
 +
* Thomas Van Riper, '''[http://masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=MAOtherBrothersV#VAN_RIPER.2C_THOMAS_1838-1910 Memorial]'''
  
 
<hr>
 
<hr>

Latest revision as of 12:16, 13 May 2019

MOUNT HOLYOKE LODGE

Location: South Hadley Falls

Chartered By: William Sewall Gardner

Charter Date: 06/08/1870 1870-124

Precedence Date: 03/30/1869

Current Status: Active


PAST MASTERS

  • George E. Fisher, 1870, 1871
  • Lewis B. Hooker, 1872, 1873, 1876, 1877
  • M. V. B. Jenkins, 1874
  • Charles Church, 1875
  • James O. Walker, 1878, 1879
  • William N. Price, 1880
  • Phillip Hyde, 1881-1883
  • Horace W. Gaylord, 1884; SN
  • Earl M. Scott, 1885-1887
  • Sebertrum E. Bliss, 1888
  • William H. Smith, 1889, 1890
  • Myron H. Judd, 1891, 1892
  • Fred M. Smith, 1893
  • Will W. Gaylord, 1894, 1895
  • Frederick B. Herrick, 1896
  • Albert D. Cook, 1897
  • Albert G. Hahn, 1898
  • Henry E. Gaylord, 1899
  • George M. Selfridge, 1900
  • Harrison E. Dunbar, 1901
  • Harry E. Brainerd, 1902, 1903
  • Charles W. Bartlett, 1904
  • Ray P. Scott, 1905
  • David E. Hattiman, 1906
  • Hugh Sinclair, 1907, 1908
  • Ernest T. Brown, 1909, 1910
  • Charles H. Smith, 1911; SN
  • Frederick H. Webster, 1912
  • Leon H. Dunklee, 1913
  • Albert Hagar, 1914
  • David Glassford, 1915; N
  • William H. Downs, 1916
  • Marine Cooper, 1917, 1918
  • Ralph N. Bachelor, 1919
  • Alexander B. Sinclair, 1920
  • Irving Royston, 1921
  • Robert Hall, 1922
  • George F. Canney, 1923
  • James C. Weir, Jr., 1924
  • Norman H. Richards, 1925
  • Dwight H. Eaton, 1926
  • James J. Ingham, 1927
  • William H. Brown, 1928
  • Albert Sorton, Jr., 1929
  • Carl A. Carlson, 1930
  • Ralph H. Burnett, 1931, 1932
  • Ralph B. Wilson, 1933; N
  • Ronald Astley, 1934; N
  • Robert A. Brainerd, 1935
  • Stanley A. Scott, 1936
  • Edwin A. Lewis, 1937
  • Samuel A. Watson, 1938
  • Harold Hansen, 1939
  • Clarence H. Smiledge, 1940
  • A. William Astley, 1941
  • Charles J. Buss, Jr., 1942
  • J. Holden Camp, 1943
  • Joseph G. Griffin, 1944
  • Ernest C. Smith, 1945
  • Joseph J. Lacey, 1946
  • Huey H. McKay, 1947; SN
  • Edger G. Thompson, 1948; N
  • Edward Norris, 1949
  • William A. Green, 1950
  • Charles Lempke, Jr., 1951
  • Carlton O. Stiles, 1952
  • Robert T. Hardy, 1953
  • Robert W. Wilson, 1954
  • Kenneth A. Snape, 1955
  • W. K. Brooksbank, Jr., 1956, 1982
  • Ernest E. Perron, 1957
  • Thomas S. Simpson, 1958
  • Clarence C. DeWolfe, 1959
  • Philip Hano, 1960
  • Alfred P. Charron, 1961
  • David W. Lewis, 1962, 1963
  • William H. Colgan, 1963
  • Allen W. Stewart, 1964
  • Harrison B. Fecteau, 1965
  • Frank Obremski, Jr., 1966
  • Joseph R. P. Champagne, 1967
  • Raymond I. Duff, 1968
  • Wilfred O. Hatch, Jr., 1969
  • Francis R. Dressell, 1970; N
  • Albert D. J. Asprey, 1971
  • Richard B. Scott, 1972
  • Walter E. Schmitter, 1973
  • Kenneth S. Wilson, 1974
  • Ronald E. Jackson, 1975
  • Kenneth C. Haskins, 1976
  • Leonard A. Neumann, Jr., 1977
  • Louis Laferriere, 1978
  • Roger Martin, 1979
  • Robert W. Tucker, 1980
  • James D. Hoisington, 1981
  • W. K. Brooksbank, Jr., 1982
  • Philip Hano, III, 1983
  • William I. Mandell, 1984
  • Eugene G. Anderson, 1985
  • Christopher D. Bascom, 1986
  • John M. Gauger, 1987; PDDGM
  • William P. Daly, 1988
  • Raymond J. LeClair, 1989
  • John E. Wehr, Jr., 1990, 1999
  • Henry A. Fusari, 1991, 1992
  • David Lewis, 1993
  • James A. Cassidy, 1994, 1998
  • Donald L. Grise, 1995
  • Donald T. Cherry, 1996
  • Mark C. Mueller, 1997; PDDGM
  • Clark Stevens Mandell, 2000
  • Mark A. Cohen, 2001
  • Michael Wehr, 2002
  • Donald Sargent, 2003
  • Brian T. Gibbons, 2004
  • Edward L. Alford, 2005, 2006; PDDGM
  • Paul A. Cataldo, 2007, 2008; DDGM
  • Robert D. St. George, 2009
  • Ralph Lamy, 2010
  • Karl Ferguson, 2011
  • Tyler W. Seavey, 2012, 2013

1869-71GeorgeFisher.jpg 1872-73LewisHooker.jpg 1874MVBJenkins.jpg
George E. Fisher, Lewis B. Hooker, M. V. B. Jenkins

1875CharlesChurch.jpg 1876-77LewisHooker.jpg 1878-79JamesWalker.jpg
Charles Church, Lewis B. Hooker, James O. Walker

1880WilliamPrice.jpg 1881-83PhilipHyde.jpg 1884HoraceGaylord.jpg
William Price, Philip Hyde, Horace Gaylord

1885-87EarlScott.jpg 1888SerbertrumBliss.jpg 1889-90WilliamSmith.jpg
Earl M. Scott, Sebertrum E. Bliss, William H. Smith

1891-92MyronJudd.jpg 1893FredSmith.jpg 1894-95WillGaylord.jpg
Myron H. Judd, Fred M. Smith, Will W. Gaylord

1896FredHerrick.jpg 1897AlbertCooke.jpg 1898AlbertHahn.jpg
Frederick B. Herrick, Albert D. Cook, Albert G. Hahn

0000NoPhotograph.jpg 1900GeorgeSelfridge.jpg 1901HarrisonDunbar.jpg
Henry E. Gaylord, George M. Selfridge, Harrison E. Dunbar

1902-03HarryBrainard.jpg 1904CharlesBartlett.jpg 1905RayScott.jpg
Harry E. Brainerd, Charles W. Bartlett, Ray P. Scott

0000NoPhotograph.jpg 1907-08HughSinclair.jpg 1909-10ErnestBrown.jpg
David E. Hattiman, Hugh Sinclair, Ernest T. Brown

1911CharlesSmith.jpg 1912FrederickWebster.jpg 1913LeonDunklee.jpg
Charles H. Smith, Frederick H. Webster, Leon H. Dunklee

1914AlbertHager.jpg 1915DavidGlassford.jpg 1916WilliamDowns.jpg
Albert Hagar, David Glassford, William H. Downs

1917-18MarineCooper.jpg 1919RalphBatchelor.jpg 1920AlexanderSinclair.jpg
Marine Cooper, Ralph N. Bachelor, Alexander B. Sinclair

1921IrvingRoyston.jpg 1922RobertHall.jpg 1923GeorgeCanney.jpg
Irving Royston, Robert Hall, George F. Canney

1924JamesWeirJr.jpg 1925NormanRichards.jpg 1926DwightEaton.jpg
James C. Weir, Jr., Norman H. Richards, Dwight H. Eaton

1927JamesIngham.jpg 1928WilliamBrown.jpg 1929AlbertSortonJr.jpg
James J. Ingham, William H. Brown, Albert Sorton, Jr.

1930CarlCarlson.jpg 1931-32RalphBurnett.jpg 1933RalphWilson.jpg
Carl A. Carlson, Ralph H. Burnett, Ralph B. Wilson

1934RonaldAstley.jpg 1935RobertBrainerd.jpg 1936StanleyScott.jpg
Ronald Astley, Robert A. Brainerd, Stanley A. Scott

1937EdwinLewis.jpg 1938SamuelWatson.jpg 1939HaroldHansen.jpg
Edwin A. Lewis, Samuel A. Watson, Harold A. Hansen

1940ClarenceSmiledge.jpg 1941AWilliamAstley.jpg 1942CharlesBuss.jpg
Clarence H. Smiledge, A. William Astley, Charles J. Buss, Jr.

1943JHoldenCamp.jpg 1944JosephGriffin.jpg 1945ErnestSmith.jpg
J. Holden Camp, Joseph G. Griffin, Ernest C. Smith

1946JosephLacey.jpg 1947HueyMcKay.jpg 1948EdgarThompson.jpg
Joseph J. Lacey, Huey H. McKay, Edgar G. Thompson

1949EdwardNorris.jpg 1950WilliamGreen.jpg 1951CharlesLempkeJr.jpg
Edward Norris, William Green, Charles Lempke, Jr.

1952CarltonStiles.jpg 1953ThomasHardy.jpg 1954RobertWilson.jpg
Carlton O. Stiles, Robert T. Hardy, Robert W. Wilson

1955KennethSnape.jpg 1956WKBrooksbankJr.jpg 1957ErnestPerron.jpg
Kenneth A. Snape, W. K. Brooksbank, Jr., Ernest E. Perron

1958ThomasSimpson.jpg 1959ClarenceDeWolfe.jpg 1960PhilipHano.jpg
Thomas S. Simpson, Clarence C. DeWolfe, Philip Hano

1961AlfredCharron.jpg 1962DavidLewis.jpg 1963WilliamColgan.jpg
Alfred P. Charron, David W. Lewis, William H. Colgan

1964AllanStewart.jpg 1965HarrisonFecteau.jpg 1966FrankObremskiJr.jpg
Allen W. Stewart, Harrison B. Fecteau, Frank Obremski, Jr.

1967JosephChampagne.jpg 1968RaymondDuff.jpg 1969WilfredHatchJr.jpg
Joseph R. P. Champagne, Raymond I. Duff, Wilfred O. Hatch, Jr.

1970FrancisDressell.jpg 1971AlbertAsprey.jpg 1972RichardScott.jpg
Francis R. Dressell, Albert D. J. Asprey, Richard B. Scott

1973WalterSchmitter.jpg 1974KennethWilson.jpg 1975RonaldJackson.jpg
Walter E. Schmitter, Kenneth S. Wilson, Ronald E. Jackson

1976KennethHaskins.jpg 1977LeonardNeumannJr.jpg 1978LouisLaferriere.jpg
Kenneth C. Haskins, Leonard A. Neumann, Jr., Louis Laferriere

1979RogerMartin.jpg 1980RobertTucker.jpg 1981JamesHoisington.jpg
Roger Martin, Robert Tucker, James Hoisington

1982WKBrooksbankJr.jpg 1983PhilipHanoIII.jpg 1984WilliamMandell.jpg
W. K. Brooksbank, Jr., Philip Hano, III, William Mandell

1985EugeneAnderson.jpg 1986ChristopherBascom.jpg 1987JohnGauger.jpg
Eugene G. Anderson, Christopher D. Bascom, John M. Gauger

1988WilliamDaly.jpg 1989RaymondLeClair.jpg 1990JohnWehrJr.jpeg
William P. Daly, Raymond J. LeClair, John E. Wehr, Jr.

1991-92HenryFusari.jpg 1993DavidLewis.jpg 1994+98JamesCassidy.jpg
Henry A. Fusari, David Lewis, James A. Cassidy

0000NoPhotograph.jpg 1996DonaldCherry.jpg 1997MarkMueller.jpg
Donald L. Grise, Donald T. Cherry, Mark C. Mueller

1994+98JamesCassidy.jpg 1990JohnWehrJr.jpeg 0000NoPhotograph.jpg
James A. Cassidy, John E. Wehr, Jr., Clark Stevens Mandell

0000NoPhotograph.jpg 0000NoPhotograph.jpg 2003DonaldSargent.jpg
Mark A. Cohen, Michael Wehr, Donald Sargent

0000NoPhotograph.jpg 2005-06EdwardAlford.jpg 2007-08PaulCataldo.jpg
Brian T. Gibbons, Edward L. Alford, Paul A. Cataldo

2009RobertStGeorge.jpg 2010RalphLamy.jpg 2012-13TylerSeavey.jpg
Robert D. St. George, Ralph Lamy, Karl Ferguson, Tyler W. Seavey


REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS

  • Petition for Dispensation: 1869
  • Petition for Charter: 1870

ANNIVERSARIES

  • 1919 (50th Anniversary)
  • 1944 (75th Anniversary)
  • 1969 (Centenary)
  • 1994 (125th Anniversary)

VISITS BY GRAND MASTER

BY-LAW CHANGES

1873 1876 1888 1901 1912 1921 1922 1923 1924 1927 1936 1947 1951 1961 1974 1976 1980 1982 1983 1988 1989 1993 1995 2001 2008 2012

HISTORY

  • 1919 (50th Anniversary History; not in Proceedings; see below)
  • 1944 (75th Anniversary History, 1944-55; see below)
  • 1969 (Centenary History, 1969-131; see below)
  • 1994 (125th Anniversary History, 1994-73; see below)

50TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, MARCH 1919

South Hadley Falls, Fiftieth Anniversary, March 29, 1919.
By Fred M. Smith.

The last four years for the world - the last two years, especially, for this country, has been a history making epoch, such as the world has never witnessed before. The overthrow of dynasties, of kings and queens, the crushing of long matured and carefully laid plans for world dominion, the rise of democracy, the deeds of valor, the long sufferings and great sacrifices, the immense works accomplished, have all been such that they will remain indelibly recorded en the memories of this generation and generations yet to come, and last until time shall be no more.

But history of the more common place varieties, especially in a time like this, is dry and uninteresting reading at the best, while the history of a Lodge cannot be other than of the most prosaic sort. No one realizes this more than your present historian, yet custom seems to have decreed that a history is one of the essential features on the occasion of anniversaries,and were it not for this custom your historian would have hesitated to write a history of Mt. Holyoke Lodge in the closing period of this history making epoch and to read it at this late hour after the working of the third degree.

At the outset I want to say that your historian has been handicapped in clearing up certain disputed points and inconsistencies in the early history of the Lodge and in certain omissions, owing to the fact that the first book of records was burned,when our Lodge room was destroyed by fire in 1886 and also to the fact that all the Charter members of the Lodge have passed on, so that he could not look to any of these for a confirmation of facts.

R. W. David W. Crafts, District Deputy of the 10th Masonic District, to which the Lodge was first assigned, truthfully said in his report to the Grand Lodge in 1869 that Mt. Holyoke Lodge was an offspring of Mt. Tom Lodge of Holyoke. He then enumerated the first list of members under the dispensation, stating that,with one exception,all had been dimltted from Mt. Tom Lodge.

There were fifteen petitioners for a Dispensation,which was granted by the Most Worshipful William Sewall Gardner, Grand Master and Right Worshipful Solon Thornton, Recording Grand Secretary, on March 30, 1869. The petitioners were:

  • Rev. George E. Fisher
  • James O.Allen
  • William Harris
  • Benjamin C. Brainard
  • R. Ogden Dwight
  • George F. Bassett
  • John A. Smith
  • Rev. Richard Knight
  • Martin V. B. Jenkins
  • Richard Green
  • Irving W. Brown
  • John Sinclair
  • Karl August Kappell
  • Emerson B. Judd

  • Frederick W. Moos

The first officers under the dispensation were;

  • George E. Fisher, Master
  • Emerson B.Judd, Senior Warden
  • William Harris, Junior Warden
  • R. Ogden Dwight, Secretary
  • Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer

Right here is where the first variation or inconsistency in the records appears.

A printed list of officers, in a pamphlet .published by the Lodge in 1888, containing its By-Laws, gives James O. Allen as the first Senior Warden, whereas the Grand Lodge records give Emerson B. Judd as the first Senior Warden. It is hard to see, at this distance, how Brother Allen could have been the Senior Warden under the dispensation,as the records show that he joined the Lodge by affiliation the following year. On the other hand Bro. Judd, who had been dimitted from Mt. Tom Lodge, became affiliated with Ionic Lodge at Easthampton the following year. It is a curious fact that neither of these brothers appear among the petitioners for a Charter in 1870. The list, otherwise, is identical with the list who petitioned for a dispensation, but for some reason did not sign the petition for a Charter. Evidently the petitioners for a Charter were not of the superstitious sort,for there were thirteen of them and the Charter was granted to them on June 6, 1870, and was signed by William Sewall Gardner, Grand Master; Samuel C. Lawrence, Senior Grand Warden; Richard Briggs, Junior Grand Warden; Solon Thornton, Recording Grand Secretary.

Following is a list of the Charter members,and the lodge in which each received his degrees;-

  • Rev.George E. Fisher, Hope Lodge
  • George F. Bassett, Evening Star Lodge
  • Martin V. B. Jenkins, Frederick Lodge, Conn.
  • Richard Green, Apollo Lodge, Suffield, Conn.
  • John Sinclair; John A.Smith; Frederick W. Moos; Karl August Kappell; Benjamin C. Brainard; Irving W. Brown; Rev. Richard Knight; R.Ogden Dwight; William Harris, all in Mt. Tom Lodge.

The first complete list of officers of the lodge,is that for the first year under the Charter, and is as follows:-

  • George E. Fisher, Master
  • James O. Allen, Senior Warden
  • William Harris, Junior Warden
  • Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer
  • John L. Mathews, Secretary
  • Richard Knight, Chaplain
  • Martin V. B. Jenkins, Marshal
  • George F. Bassett, Senior Deacon
  • John A. Smith, Junior Deacon
  • Richard Green, Senior Steward
  • Irving W. Brown, Junior Steward
  • John Sinclair, Tyler

The lodge was organized in the old school building on School Street and has occupied six different lodge rooms during its existence of fifty years. The first lodge room was in the old Glasgow Co.'s building situated just west of the vacant lot on the north side of School Street, the fourth building west of the school-house. This was occupied some four or five years until the Lodge moved in the Graves and Walton building at the corner of Bridge and Main Streets, and which was afterwards known as Dudley's Hall, and the Lodge occupied the third floor of this building, until the building was burned on Sept. 5, 1886. It was in this fire that the first book of the Records of the Lodge was burned, together with all the property of the Lodge,including its furniture and Charter. The present Charter of the Lodge is simply a copy of the original one. The things that were saved were the present Jewels of the Lodge; these were kept in a case on the wall, similar to the one now used. This fell face downwards and protected the Jewels, which were found later in the day by our late brother. Past Master Serbertrum E.Bliss. Two evenings after the fire, the Lodge met in the old Grand Army Hall on Main St. It was voted at that time to accept the invitation of Charles C. Smith Grand Army Post to occupy their rooms until permanent quarters were obtained. In September, however, the Lodge voted to accept the invitation of Mt. Tom Lodge to use their rooms which at that time were located over the present Public Market on High St., Holyoke. The Grand Master authorized the Lodge to occupy these quarters until suitable apartments within the jurisdiction of Mt. Holyoke Lodge could be secured. The Lodge remained there until February 3, 1887, when it returned to their old original quarters in the Glasgow Co.'s building on School St. On April 7 of that year, it was voted to accept an offer of Smith & Hennick for the lease of a lodge room in the building which they proposed to erect on the site of the old Dudley Hall building. Owing to a change In the plans for this building, a hall was not included,and the lodge remained in its School St. quarters until its annual meeting, November 3, 1892, when they met in their new Lodge room in the Carey building on Main St.,the building now occupied by Bro. A .P. Lane for his market.

On November 25 of that year a public installation of Officers was held with a very large attendance of members, visiting Masons, and friends of the Lodge. On that occasion Mt. Tom Lodge presented a clock to the Lodge, and the same is still in use in the Lodge room.

A lease of this Lodge room was taken for ten years. The lease was arranged by a committee who showed considerable foresight; for when the ten years had elapsed, the new landlord insisted on a large increase in rent before granting a new lease. But when a clause in the original lease was pointed out to him which provided that the Lodge should have the privilege of renewing the lease at the same rental he swallowed his disappointment and bided his tine until the second lease expired. For a year after the second lease expired the Lodge simply rented the rooms from month to month. In the meantime our patron saint, St.Patrick. came on the scene. He was a new landlord. He figured that the Lodge had no other place to go and would be obliged to remain there and consequently boosted the rent one hundred percent. The landlord was partly right in his surmise, for it was true the Lodge had no other place to go; but the members did not agree with him that they were obliged to stay there. When the landlord found the Lodge had decided to vacate he offered to allow them to remain at the former rent; but under the circumstances and judging from the temper of the members, it is doubtful if they would have remained if the rent had been made free. The Lodge vacated these quarters September 1,1913. after having occupied them twenty-one years. lona Lodge of Odd Fellows, at South Hadley Center, came to our rescue and offered the use of their Lodge rooms, reciprocating a favor that Mt.Holyoke Lodge had shown that Lodge when it was instituted a few years ago, when it offered them the use of our Lodge rooms while the Odd Fellows building was being erected.

The first meeting in Odd Fellows Hall was held September 4, 1913 and the Lodge continued to hold its meetings there until the regular monthly meeting in March 1915. Although the members had to travel by trolley four miles, the attendance at the meetings while occupying Odd Fellows Hall was good and fully up to the average, and there was plenty of work during that period. During our sojourn at South Hadley Center the members of the Lodge were not asleep, but immediately took steps toward securing a building of their own. At the outset it was found that the Lodge, as a Lodge, could not hold real estate; consequently a Masonic Association was organized and chartered whose purpose was to provide quarters for Mt. Holyoke Lodge. There was a nest egg, in the shape of a fund raised by the Mt. Moriah degree team, which served as a start for the new building. This, with the proceeds of a fair,and a generous subscription for bonds by the members, made the building of a Temple possible. The land was secured of the Carew heirs, and also by an exchange of a small portion of this with the Congregational Church; so that during the summer of 1914 the building was underway.

The Corner-Stone was laid with appropriate Masonic ceremonies on September 10, 1914, before a large gathering of Masons and their friends, by R. W. Eugene L. Sheldon of Easthampton, District Deputy of the 17th Masonic District, Acting Grand Master, assisted by R. W. Clarence A. Brodeur of Westfield, Acting Deputy Grand Master; R. W. Chauncey E. Peck of Wilbraham, Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Mass., Wor. Bro. Edwin L. Davis, Acting Junior Grand Warden; R. W. Charles C. Spellman of Springfield, Past Grand Warden; R. W. Edwin A. Blodgett of Springfield, Past Grand Warden; Wor. Louis L. Campbell of Northampton, Acting Grand Secretary; Wor. Lewis M. Richards of Holyoke, Acting Grand Treasurer; Rev. Bro. Henry H. Morrill of Springfield, Acting Grand Chaplain; R. W. Harry P. Ballard of Malden, Acting Grand Marshal; R. W. William E. Gibbs of Westfield, D. D. G. M. of the 18th District; and R. W. Arthur P. Delabarre of Conway, D. D. G. M. 14th District.

The following is a list of the contents of the box, collected by Past Master, Serbertrum E. Bliss, and deposited in the Corner-Stone of the Temple:-

  • History of Mt.Holyoke Lodge;
  • Acts and Resolves of the Mass. General Court, 1914;
  • Manual of the General Court, 1914;
  • Program of the Sesquicentennial Celebration of South Hadley, 1903;
  • Proceedings of the 38th Annual Session of the Grand Chapter, O.E.S., 1914;
  • List of Lodges, A.F. & A.M., 1914;
  • Assessors' List of South Hadley,1914;
  • By-Laws of Mt.Holyoke Lodge, Holyoke Council, Mt. Holyoke Royal Arch Chapter, George E. Fisher Chapter, O.E.S., No. 115; Springfield Commandery;
  • List of Officers and Members of Springfield Commandery; Melha Temple, A.A.O.N.M.S.; Bela Grotto; Grand Lodge of Mass., A.F.&.A.M.,1914;
  • Voters' List, South Hadley, 1914;
  • Old Maps and Papers, Town of South Hadley, 1796 and 1797;
  • Mt. Moriah Announcements,1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1914;
  • Social Programs of Mt. Holyoke Lodge, 1896 and 1897;
  • Souvenir of the Springfield Masonic Dedication, Oct. 24, 1893;
  • Mansir Guide and Vally Guide, Sept. 1914;
  • Constitutions of Grand Lodge;
  • Fire District Reports, No. 1 & No. 2;
  • Exemplification Notices;
  • Official Visitations of R. W. Horace W. Gaylord, 1890, and R. W. Eugene L. Sheldon, 1914;
  • Church notice of the laying of the Corner-Stone, September 26, 1914;
  • Notice of Past Masters' Night, April 16,1914, with list of Officers and Past Masters;
  • Duplicate of Charter of Mt. Holyoke Lodge;
  • Petition for membership;
  • List of members of Mt. Holyoke Lodge, Charter and elected;
  • List of Charter and elective members of George E. Fisher Chapter, O.E.S., No. 115;
  • Notification of Past Masters' Associations of the 17th and 18th Districts;
  • Mt. Holyoke Lodge seals;
  • Photographs:
    • 1st Home of Masonry in Western Mass., built in Orange, 1750;
    • Masonic Home, Charlton,Mass.;
    • Masonic Home, School St.;
    • Masonic Home, Main St.;
    • Masonic Home, Main & Bridge Sts.
    • Masonic Temple in course of construction;
    • Odd Fellows Hall, South Hadley Center, the present meeting place of Mt. Holyoke Lodge;
    • 16 views of South Hadley Falls, including the three churches;
    • The old Brick Chapel, North Main St.
  • Relics of the Masonic fire, September 5, 1886:
    • Coins of 1914;
    • Postage stamps of different denominations;
    • Photograph of the new Town Hall;
    • List of Town Officers;
    • Mt.Holyoke Masonic Association;
    • Blue Prints of the building plans of the Masonic Temple;
    • List of members of different town organizations;
    • District Deputy Notification;
    • Copy of Corner-Stone Laying Exercises;
    • Charter and By-Laws of the Masonic Building Association;
    • List of Official Suite at the laying of the Corner-Stone.
  • The following newspapers:
    • Springfield Union;
    • Springfield Republican;
    • Holyoke Transcript;
    • Holyoke Telegram;
    • Hampshire Gazette;
    • Easthampton News;
    • Holyoke Democrat;
    • New England Rundschau;
    • La Justice;
    • Springfield Vorwärts;
    • Free Press;
    • Conn. Staats Zeitung;
    • Die Bene;
    • Teutonia.
  • Parcel Post or 4th Class Mail Rates etc.;
  • Masonic Leather Apron;
  • Corn, Wine and Oil, in vials, and Chalk, Charcoal and Clay.

It was on March 4, 1915 that the Lodge held its first meeting in the new Temple, with an out turning of members such as had probably never before been seen in the history of the Lodge.

On April 10,1915,the Temple was dedicated by the Officers of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts,as follows:-

The Officers were entertained at luncheon at the Holyoke Club. The Grand Lodge was opened in Ample Form in one of the apartments of the Temple,at 2.30 P.M., and under escort of a Committee entered the Lodge room in procession, where the members of the Lodge and visiting Brethren were assembled in goodly numbers. The Grand Officers then performed the ceremonies of dedication, in accordance with the established ritual,and the Grand Marshal proclaimed that the Temple had been duly dedicated.

During the ceremonies solos were rendered by Br. Norman Dash of Mt.Tom Lodge. After the formal ceremonies of dedication,an historical paper by Bro. Sydney Ingham was read by Wor. David Glassford. The dedicatory address was given by R. W. Frederick W. Hamilton, Recording Grand Secretary, who had been delegated by the Moat Worshipful Grand Master to perform that service. After a prayer by the Acting Grand Chaplain, the Grand Lodge was closed in Ample Form. At six o'clock the Grand Officers and members of the Lodge sat down to a banquet in the banquet room of the Temple. After dinner remarks were made by the Most Worshipful Grand Master, the Recording Grand Secretary and the Grand Marshal.

Thus was our Temple built and dedicated, and it has proved to be a real Masonic home, such as the Lodge has never enjoyed. It has proved ideal for the uses of the Lodge, as well as for social purposes. It was reared as the result of hard work and many sacrifices, and should be appreciated, not only by those who have had a hand in its building, but by those who have come into the Lodge since its completion - of which there are a goodly number, numbering in fact about a third of our present membership. To the ladies of the Eastern Star Chapter much credit is due, for their constant and efficient help, which has proved an important factor in making the Temple a possibility.

There have been thirty four Masters who have sat in the East, who, with their terms of office, are as follows -

  • Rev. George E. Fisher, 1869, 1870, 1871
  • Lewis B. Hooker, 1872, 1873, 1876, 1877
  • M. V. B. Jenkins, 1874
  • Charles Church, 1875
  • James O. Walker, 1878, 1879
  • William N. Price, 1880
  • Phillip Hyde, 1881-1883
  • Horace W. Gaylord, 1884
  • Earl M. Scott, 1885-1887
  • Sebertrum E. Bliss, 1888
  • William H. Smith, 1889, 1890
  • Myron H. Judd, 1891, 1892
  • Fred M. Smith, 1893
  • Will W. Gaylord, 1894, 1895
  • Frederick B. Herrick, 1896
  • Albert D. Cook, 1897
  • Albert G. Hahn, 1898
  • Henry E. Gaylord, 1899
  • George M. Selfridge, 1900
  • Harrison E. Dunbar, 1901
  • Harry E. Brainerd, 1902, 1903
  • Charles W. Bartlett, 1904
  • Ray P. Scott, 1905
  • David E. Hattiman, 1906
  • Hugh Sinclair, 1907, 1908
  • Ernest T. Brown, 1909, 1910
  • Charles H. Smith, 1911
  • Frederick H. Webster, 1912
  • Leon H. Dunklee, 1913
  • Albert Hagar, 1914
  • David Glassford, 1915
  • William H. Downs, 1916
  • Marine Cooper, 1917, 1918
  • Ralph N. Bachelor, 1919

Thus it will be seen that Wor. Bro. Hooker was the only Master who served four years, but this service was in two terms of two years each. Wor. Bros. Fisher, Hyde, Earl K. Scott each served three years. Wor. Bros. Walker, W. H. Smith, Judd, Will W. Gaylord, Brainerd, Sinclair, Brown and Cooper each served two years, while the reminder were consistent believers in a one term policy.

Twelve Past Masters have died and passed on to that undiscovered country from whose bourne no traveler returns. The first was Wor. Bro. Martln V. B. Jenkins, who died November 2, 1880 and the last being Wor. Bro. Albert G. Hohn who died April 27, 1917.

The oldest Past Master,in point of service, is Wor. Bro. Earl M. Scott, now residing in Dalton, Mass., and the next is Wor. Bro. William H.Smith. Five Past Masters are now living out of town, although three of these are still affiliated with Mt. Holyoke Lodge.

Mt. Holyoke Lodge has had an enviable record is the recent World War. It has reason to be proud of its members who were in the service,and the records that they made. While so many homes, organizations and communities have been saddened by the loss of those who have been called to make the supreme sacrifice, we rejoice that of all those who have gone from our midst into the army and navy none of them have been included in the Nation's long list of casualties. Various other members have contributed their bit in various war activities,serving either in the State Guard.,the war committees of the town,Liberty L an and other war work campaigns,helping as best they could at home,while the younger men served in the field of action or on the sea.

The Roll of Honor of the Lodge is as follows:-
ARMY

  • Captain Herbert Robert Audet
  • Lieut. Frederick Downs
  • Lieut. Andrew Charles Smith
  • Sgt. Albert William Astley
  • Sgt. Sydney Ingham
  • Sgt. Frank Marsh Johnson
  • Sgt. Norman Frederick Lamb
  • Sgt. Norman Henry Richards
  • Corp. Joseph Henry Pierce
  • Corp. John Peter Mitchell
  • Grover Cleveland Carter
  • Stanley Pettison Downs
  • Alexander Simpson Ford
  • Alexander George Ford
  • Arthur Thomas Hessom
  • Joseph Clark Webster
  • Hobert Hudson Wingate
  • Harry Lloyd Hunt

NAVY

  • Edwin Harold Moffatt
  • Sumner P. Winslow

The total is twenty.

Nine of these have seen overseas service, and five are still with the American Expeditionary Forces. In addition Hobert Burnett, Jr. who was elected to receive the degrees was called to the service before he was initiated. There have been twelve sons of members of the Lodge who have served in forces of the United States, as follows:-

  • Lieut. Winthrop H. Smith
  • Lieut. Arthur Easterbrook Whittemore
  • Corp. George Henry Glackner
  • Corp. Lincoln Bardwell Smith
  • Walter Charles Cordes
  • Frank William Glackner
  • Hobert Harvey Hall
  • Hobert Harrison McElwain
  • Corp. Charles Calvin Rae
  • Frederick Merwin Smith, Jr.
  • Edson Stanley Dunbar

Seven of these saw service in France.

As to service in the Civil War, of course the Lodge was not instituted until nearly four years after that conflict came to a close, but in the early days of the Lodge, twenty-three veterans of that war,who served in the Union Forces, were enrolled in the membership of the Lodge, as follows:

  • Richard Green
  • Charles Church
  • John L. Mathews
  • Edwin C. Hanks
  • Lewis B. Hooker
  • Martin T. B. Jenkins
  • Reuben Hyde
  • Dr. Gardner Cox
  • John W. Hersey
  • Seth Lathrop
  • Joseph E. Lloyd
  • William Smith
  • John Kirkpatrick
  • Edmund H. Pearson
  • Frank M. Pettigrew
  • Nathan W. Loveland
  • Philip Hyde
  • Burritt Judd
  • James S. Moffatt
  • Thomas VanRiper
  • Charles H. Davenport
  • Joel S. Walkley
  • Thomas White (who died after having been passed to the degree of F. C.)

In the Spanish War, Frank A. Pierce and Lester Jackson served in the Army of the United States, both in Co.B, 2nd. Mass. Infantry.

Mt. Holyoke Lodge was originally in the 10th Masonic District. Later, and for the greater part of its existence, it was in the 16th Masonic District, while a few years ago, in the new arrangements,it was assigned to the 17th District.

For a long time the Lodge had jurisdiction over the north part of Chicopee, which joins this town ,and which in most respects is a part of the village of South Hadley Falls. A ruling of the Grand Lodge some few years ago took away that privilege, a denial which prevents eligibles from the degrees in Masonry for the reason that they object to going through this town and Holyoke in order to reach Chicopee or Chicopee Falls to take their degrees, which they feel in all justice they should be allowed to take nearer to their places of residence. Our friends down the river seem to prefer to take a chance of getting as occasional member rather than release jurisdiction for those who while actually living within the limits of Chicopee desire to join Mt. Holyoke Lodge.

Two Past Masters of the Lodge have served as District Deputies. R. W. Horace Gaylord served in the old 16th District during the years 1889-90-91, while R. W. Charles H. Smith served in the 17th District during the years 1917-18. Past Master Henry E. Gaylord has also served as the District Deputy of the 5th Capitular District.

Rev. George E. Fisher, the first Master of the Lodge, after his removal from town, affiliated with Pacific Lodge of Amherst and afterwards became Master of that Lodge. He died April 4, 1905,and a delegation from Mt. Holyoke Lodge attended his funeral in Amherst. The local Chapter of the Eastern Star was named in his memory, and a more fitting name could not have been chosen by the order affiliated with the Masonic Fraternity of this town.

The first of the Charter Members of the Lodge who died was Martin V. B. Jenkins,who died November 2, 1880. The last of the original Charter Members was Karl August Kappell, who passed away July 24,1918.

The oldest living member,in point of membership,is Wor. Bro. Henry E. Gaylord, who received his Master Mason Degree February 17, 1870. The next members are a pair, P. August Moss and John Kirkpatrick, who received their first two degrees together, while the former was raised September 7, 1871 and the latter September 14, 1871.

Those who have served the longest in any office have been Thomas Van Riper who was Secretary for 27 years, and who died October 1,1910, and John Kirkpatrick, the present Tyler. Charles Benway, Inside Sentinel, and John Sinclair, Chaplain.

During the fifty years of the Lodge, there have been 469 applications, 430 for the degrees and 39 for affiliation. 316 have received their degrees in full while three took only part of their degrees (two having died before taking all their degrees and one never appeared after taking his Entered Apprentice Degree.) Three are now on the way, while three applications for the degrees and for affiliation are pending. The present membership of the Lodge is 192,with two candidates having taken their first degree and one waiting for his first. Three hundred and sixty-six, all told, have been on our membership list.

The Anti-Masonic feeling, so prevalent in this country years ago, and of which few of us Masons of today have little personal knowledge, was reflected in the report which R. W. Samuel B. Spooner of Springfield, District Depaty of the 10th Masonic District, made to the Grand Lodge in 1870 and in which he paid a beautiful tribute to Wor. Bro. Fisher as follows:- "The newly constituted Lodge, Mt. Holyoke Lodge of South Hadley Falls, is fortunate in securing for its Master a brother so skilled in the Craft and so imbued with the spirit of the Order. Within the last three months, the enemy has twice appeared in the village, and in the name of religion bitterly attacked religion's most powerful ally - our beneficent institution. Yet so judicious has been the conduct of the members of the Lodge,and so profound the respect for its presiding officer, that the local sympathy is decidedly with the Order."

It is no exaggeration to say that Mt. Holyoke Lodge has always been a strong organization. It was strong in the personnel of its Charter Members, and strong in its quality of membership during its fifty years. Its members have always been largely identified with the affairs of the town,the churches,and with all those things that tend to the uplift of a community. It goes without saying that it has been the strong organization of the town, though not making as much noise perhaps as some others at times.

I would call it a harmonious Lodge. Not that the dove of peace has always hovered around the portals of its sanctum. It would be a remarkable Lodge, if at times there were not differences of opinion among its members that sometimes clashed. But such differences have always been short lived, and have been swallowed up in the existing good fellowship of its members, and the true Masonic spirit has prevailed which is so essential for the continued success of a Masonic body.

In closing this history which, I warned you at the outset, must necessarily be dry and which is far from being complete, Ican only express the hope that Mt. Holyoke Lodge will show in the nest fifty years as much real growth as much real strength in the character of its membership as much true Masonic spirit among its members and continue to be as much of a power for good in the community,as it has during the fifty years Just closed.

The above History of Mount Holyoke Lodge was written and delivered by Brother Fred M. Smith at the Fiftieth Anniversary, March 29, 1919.

75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, MARCH 1944

History of Mount Holyoke Lodge, by Historical Committee

  • R.W. Ronald Astley, Chairman
  • R.W. David Glassford
  • Wor. Harry E. Brainerd

Twenty-five years ago, March 29, 1919, one of our most esteemed members, Worshipful Fred M. Smith, presented a history of Mount Holyoke Lodge on the fiftieth anniversary celebration. The first portion of that history is worthwhile repeating tonight because it would remind us that history truly repeats itself. He wrote:

The last four years for the world. . . . the last two years especially for this country, has been a history making epoch, such as the world has never witnessed before. The overthrow of dynasties, of Kings and Queens, and crushing of long matured and carefully laid plans for world dominion, the rise of democracy, the deeds of valor, the long sufferings and great sacrifices) the great works accomplished, the saddened homes and communities, the ultimate triumph of right, have all been such that they will remain indelibly recorded on the memories of this generation and generations yet to come, and last till time shall be no more.

A lodge is a certain number of Masons duly assembled, legally constituted, having the Holy Bible, Square and Compasses, with a Charter or Warrant empowering them to work.

Seventy-five years ago, four years after the Civil War, a group of respected Masons and citizens of South Hadley evidently read and re-read this important paragraph of Masonic law and decided at that time that it would be well to petition the Grand Lodge for a dispensation for a Lodge, to be known as Mount Holyoke. Perhaps this group looked out over the Connecticut Valley at the Mount Holyoke range and from this picture of strength and beauty decided to name this child of Masonry Mount Holyoke Lodge, knowing that in its growth there should be strength to support and beauty to adorn all great and important undertakings.

Early in 1869, an application was made to the Grand Lodge for a Dispensation which was granted on March 30, 1869, by Most Worshipful William Sewall Gardner, Grand Master, and Right Worshipful Solon Thornton, Recording Grand Secretary. In his report to the Grand Lodge in 1869, Right Worshipful D. W. Crafts, District Deputy Grand Master of the 10th Masonic District, in which the Lodge was first assigned, truthfully said that Mount Holyoke Lodge was an offspring of Mount Tom Lodge. He then enumerated the signers under the dispensation, stating that with one exception, all had been dimitted from Mount Tom Lodge. The fifteen petitioners for a dispensation were:

  • Rev. George E. Fisher
  • James O. Allen
  • William Harris
  • Benjamin C. Brainard
  • R. Ogden Dwight
  • George F. Bassett
  • John A. Smith
  • Martin V. B. Jenkins
  • Richard Green
  • Irving W. Brown
  • John Sinclair
  • Karl August Kappell
  • Emerson B. Judd
  • Frederick W. Moos
  • Rev. Richard Knight

The officers under the Dispensation were:

  • Rev. George E. Fisher, Worshipful Master
  • Emerson B. Judd, Senior Warden
  • William Harris, Junior Warden
  • R. Ogden Dwight, Secretary
  • Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer

The petitioners for a Charter, none of them superstitious because there were thirteen, received this Charter June 6, 1870, and this document was signed by William Sewall Gardner, Grand Master; Samuel C. Lawrence, Senior Grand Warden; Richard Briggs, Junior Grand Warden; Solon Thornton, Recording Grand Secretary. A listing of the thirteen Charter members and the Lodges in which they received their.degrees are as follows:

The history would not be complete without a recording of the first officers who worked under the new Charter, and these officers were installed July 25, 1870.

  • Worshipful Master: Rev. George E. Fisher
  • Senior Warden: James O. Allen
  • Junior Warden: William Harris
  • Treasurer: Benjamin C. Brainard
  • Secretary: John L. Mathews
  • Senior Deacon: George F. Bassett
  • Junior Deacon: John A. Smith
  • Chaplain: Rev. Richard Knight
  • Marshal: Martin V. B. Jenkins
  • Senior Steward: Richard Green
  • Junior Steward: Irving W. Brown
  • Tyler: John Sinclair

Mount Holyoke Lodge was organized in the old school building on School Street and has occupied six locations during lhe past seventy-five years. The first lodge-room was in the Glasgow Company's building on School Street and remained there a trifle over four years. The Lodge then moved to the Graves and Walton Building at the corner of Main and Bridge Streets, which was afterwards known as Dudley's Hall. The entire third floor of this building was occupied by Mount Holyoke Lodge. On September 5, 1885, this building was destroyed by fire and all of the property of Mount Holyoke was destroyed with the exception of the present jewels, which were in a case on the wall of the Tyler's room, similar to the one now used. This case fell face downward, and protected the jewels, which were found later in the day by Brother Serbertrum E. Bliss.

The oldest recording in the Secretary's book is dated October 2, 1884, and Brother Thomas Van Riper, Secretary, closed his report as follows: "No further business appearing the lodge closed in peace and harmony." During these past seventy-five years peace and harmony truly has prevailed, else this Lodge would not have gone forward as it has, in the Masonic way of life.

Our oldest living Past Master, Worshipful William H. Smith, received his first appointment, that of Junior Deacon, by the late Worshipful Earl M. Scott on November 13, 1884. His presence here tonight thrills the Brethren of Mount Holyoke because he "knocked at the door of Freemasonry" on November 23, 1882, and has continued his interest in our institution up to the present time, a period of sixty-two years.

The first mention of charity outside of the Lodge is listed in the February 4, 1886, records: "On motion the treasurer was ordered to forward $5.00 to Grand Secretary for Texas Sufferers."

One of the most interesting excerpts from the records is dated August 26, 1886, and reads: "Lodge was opened on M.M. degree in due form. The Lodge was then formed in procession.and marched to the Connecticut River R.R. Depot and took a special train to Northampton assisting in the ceremony of laying the corner stone of the new county court house at the above named place, after which all marched to Round Hill and partook of a clam-bake and then returned.to the Connecticut River R.R. Depot and took a train to Holyoke and marched to the lodge room. The lodge was closed in due form. Thomas Van Riper, Secretary." The invitation for this ceremony was extended to Mount Holyoke on August 5, 1886, by Jerusalem Lodge of Northampton.

As previously stated, fire destroyed the Lodge on September 5, 1886, and the Grand Army Post immediately extended an invitation to use their rooms until permanent quarters were obtained. Two evenings after the fire, a meeting was held in Grand Army Hall by a special telegram dispensation received from Most Worshipful Abraham H. Howland, Jr., Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. At the second meeting held in the Grand Army Hall, September 27, 1886, an invitation was read from Mount Tom Lodge extending the use of their rooms together with the paraphernalia until the Lodge obtained suitable rooms. Mount Tom Lodge at that time was located on High Street in Holyoke. We readily accepted this kind invitation and remained at Mount Tom until January 6, 1887, at which time it was voted to return to the original home on School Street, at an annual rental of $100.00 Per year. Our return to South Hadley Falls was on February 3, 1887, after holding six delightful meetings within the Mount Tom Lodge rooms.

Through an invitation received from Hampden Lodge in Springfield, we find that Mount Holyoke Lodge again took part at a public ceremony on February 22, 1889, at which time we assisted in the exercises of laying the corner stone of the Post Office Building in Springfield.

You and I think little of the many conveniences that we have at the present time, but in going through the records, we find that on March 7, 1889, an interesting motion was made: "Moved that a committee of three be appointed to confer with the Electric Light Co., in regard to electric lights - Bros. F. M. Smith, S. W. Johnson and S. E. Bliss were appointed."

In 1889 the Johnstown Flood caused nation-wide interest and sympathy. Mount Holyoke Lodge, in a small way, voted to assist the sufferers by sending $25.00 to the Grand Secretary of Pennsylvania.

Mount Holyoke has been honored by having four District Deputy Grand Masters and the first appointment was Right Worshipful Horace W. Gaylord, who made his official visit to the Lodge on October 24, 1889.

A very few years ago our own Grand Lodge strongly recommended that the Treasurers and Secretaries of all Lodges should be bonded in order to protect the individual Lodge and to make for a better business structure. On November 7, 1889: "Moved that the Treasurer give a bond of $1500.00. Carried." It is quite evident that our fore-fathers in Masonry had the same thoughts as we folks of fifty-five years later.

During the past year, perhaps because of the war, Lodges have had heavy schedules, such as two degrees in one evening or a business meeting and a degree which has sometimes caused the work to continue until a rather late hour. Here is a meeting in Mount Holyoke recorded on November 15, 1889:

  • Open Lodge in due form.
  • Installation of Officers by Rt. Wor. Horace W. Gaylord.
  • Lodge of M.M. closed and a Lodge of F..A. opened.
  • Bro. S. E. Bliss was again initiated E.A. for practice.
  • Lodge of E.A. was closed and a Lodge of F.C. opened.
  • Bro. S. E. Bliss was again passed to the degree of F.C. for practice.
  • Lodge of F.C. closed and a Lodge of M.M. opened.
  • Lodge closed in peace and harmony.

On March 3, 1892, it was moved that the Lodge accept the proposition of Mr. Carey for the whole of the top and part of the second floor of his block on Main Street (over Lane's Market), at a rental of $200.00 per year and amended that the Lodge take a lease for ten years. The committee who arranged this contract consisted of Brothers H. W. Gaylord, J. W. Bean, F. M. Smith, E. W. Thompson and H. E. Gaylord. It is of interest to note that on August 4, 1892, the Lodge "moved the furnishing committee use a good generous sum to furnish the new Lodge Room. Carried."

The first meeting in the new Masonic Hall (Carey Building) was held on November 3, 1892, and at that meeting Brother Fred M. Smith was elected Worshipful Master. On the 25th of November a public installation of officers was held and 325 were present. The members now living who were present at that meeting are Worshipful Brothers Wm. H. Smith and A. D. Cooke and Brother Charles P. Hennick.

On January 4, 1894, an application from the Brethren of South Hadley was received asking permission to apply for a dispensation to form a Lodge at South Hadley. Permission was granted by Mount Holyoke Lodge, but fortunately for all, nothing further developed along this thought.

An invitation from the committee on the celebration of the 150th anniversary of South Hadley was read on July 2, 1903, and a committee appointed, with Worshipful Fred M. Smith as Chairman. A month later this terse statement is recorded: "Report of Committee on float that they had performed the duty assigned them."

Again, this time on November 1, 1906, modern conveniences were in the minds of our Brethren when it was moved that the Lodge install gas in the kitchen.

One of our most beloved District Deputies, Right Worshipful Clarence A. Brodeur, on his visit to Mount Holyoke on April 18, 1907, presented remarks and suggestions from the Most Worshipful Grand Master in relation to a Masonic Home in Massachusetts. One month later the committee that was appointed reported favorable and it was then moved that Mount Holyoke contribute to the expense five per cent of the gross receipts every year for five years. In the address of the District Deputy nine years later, he said: "that Mount Holyoke Lodge stood at the head of the honor list in regard to the Masonic Home Fund having paid $758.58."

On August 7, 1913, it was voted to vacate the present quarters in the Carey Building at the expiration of the present term, namely: September 1, 1913, and it was further voted that a committee be appointed to negotiate with the Directors of Iona Lodge of Odd Fellows at South Hadley Center for the temporary use of their hall. We immediately changed our location to the Odd Fellows Hall, holding the first meeting on September 4, 1913, and continuing until we entered the present building. During the time that we held our meetings at South Hadley Center, the members of Mount Holyoke formulated plans for a building of our own. The Mount Holyoke Masonic Association was organized and chartered, and immediately secured the land from the Carew heirs; also by an exchange of a small portion of this with the Congregational Church.

The corner stone of our new Masonic home was laid on September 26, 1914, with appropriate Masonic ceremonies. Right Worshipful Eugene L. Sheldon, Acting Grand Master, opened the exercises while members of the Grand Lodge Suite had places on an improvised platform. The officers of Mount Holyoke Lodge stood in a semi-circle before the stone and the invited guests were seated in the building. The address was delivered by Right Worshipful Clarence A. Brodeur, Acting Deputy Grand Master, and then principal of the Westfield Normal School. Perhaps the most impressive pan of this memorable occasion took place when three blasts of the bugle signified to those present that the stone had been laid according to the ritual of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge and that the stone had been laid level, square and plumb.

The official Grand Lodge Suite composed:

  • R. W. Eugene L. Sheldon of Easthampton as Grand Master
  • R. W. Clarence A. Brodeur of Westfield as Deputy Grand Master
  • R. W. Chauncey E. Peck of Wilbraham Senior Grand Warden
  • R. W. Edwin L. Davis of Chicopee Falls as Junior Grand Warden
  • Wor. Lewis N. Richards of Holyoke as Grand Treasurer
  • Wor. J. E. Johnson of Holyoke as Grand Secretary
  • Bro. Rev. H. H. Morrill of Springfield as Grand Chaplain
  • R. W. Harry P. Ballard of Maiden as Grand Marshal
  • R. W. Charles C. Spellman of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
  • R. W. Edwin A. Blodgett of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
  • R. W. William E. Gibbs of Westfield, D. D. G. M. 18th Dist.
  • R. W. Arthur P. Delabarre of Conway, D. D. G. M. 14th Dist.

It was on March 4, 1915, that Mount Holyoke Lodge held its first meeting in this temple, with an out-turning of members such as had never before been seen in the history of the Lodge. The following month, April 10, 1915, the temple was formally dedicated by the officers of Grand Lodge. Again Mount Holyoke Lodge had the opportunity of witnessing our Ancient Grand Lodge Ceremony, with Most Worshipful Melvin M. Johnson, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, dedicating the building with Corn, Wine and Oil. The dedicatory address at this ceremony was delivered by one of the outstanding Masons of our time, Right Worshipful Frederick W. Hamilton, Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge, who spoke on "Universal Benevolence."

The Grand Lodge officers present at this meeting were:

Our own Right Worshipful David Glassford was Worshipful Master of Mount Holyoke during this period of our history.

It was on January 4, 1917, that the Worshipful Master announced that Mount Holyoke had again been greatly honored by having one of our members appointed Distict Deputy Grand Master of the 17th Masonic District - the late Right Worshipful Charles H. Smith, who served Masonry, and particularly this District, well during his two years as Deputy.

From the records of November 7, 1918, it was voted that the delegates to the Grand Lodge be instructed to vote to retain the old custom - one black ball to reject a candidate. Many times this question has been brought before Grand Lodge and it is interesting to note that our members of twenty-five years ago believed in the same method as practiced today.

We observed our fiftieth anniversary on March 29, 1919, with Worshipful Ralph Batchelor presiding in the East. Mount Holyoke was again pleased to welcome our Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, Most Worshipful Leon M. Abbott. It was at this meeting that Most Worshipful Leon M. Abbott presented to one of our Past Masters, Worshipful Henry E. Gaylord, a Henry Price Medal for work well done.

On September 11, 1920, the Brethren of Mount Holyoke had the pleasure of attending the laying of the corner stone of the Masonic Temple in Holyoke. The Lodges in Holyoke and our Lodge in South Hadley have always extended hands of friendship across the Connecticut River, and it is only natural that we, too, were proud and happy. on this occasion. Our own Brother William Taylor Ramsay of Mount Holyoke Lodge, both an operative and speculative Mason, placed the corner stone. At the next regular meeting of Mount Holyoke, it was voted to extend an invitation to the Holyoke Lodges to use our Temple during the completion of their new building.

The Henry E. Gaylord Fund was started on September 6,1923, with a donation of $100.00 to be used for charitable purposes. Worshipful Henry E. Gaylord was the sponsor and the fund continues to be active in our Lodge. Along this same thought of charity, we notice that we voted that $50.00 be taken from the Charity Fund to be applied to the Mississippi Flood Fund of the Grand Lodge. This is another instance where the Brethren of Mount Holyoke extended their charity beyond the confines of our community.

Sadness comes to all Lodges and we in Mount Holyoke suffered a great loss on January 7, 1928, when our beloved Past Master, Worshipful Fred M. Smith, passed along to that undiscovered country. We in the Lodge and in this community were deeply appreciative of the service he rendered to his town, to the state and to the nation, as a sincere, loyal and patriotic citizen. It was through his untiring efforts that we of today have this building which we call our Masonic Home.

Honorary Membership in Mount Holyoke Lodge is rather a rarity because our records show that only three have received this honor. Right Worshipful Archibald A. Brooks of Mount Tom Lodge received honorary membership on December 1, 1932, and once again these two Lodges, Mount Tom and Mount Holyoke, were brought closer together in a Masonic way. Two years later, October 4, 1934, Right Worshipful Edwin Lyman Davis of Belcher Lodge, Past Deputy Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, was elected to honorary membership. For many years, Right Worshipful Brother Davis has been a vital part of our Lodge and it was quite fitting that he should become an honorary member of Mount Holyoke.

By appointment of Most Worshipful Claude L. Allen, Right Worshipful David Glassford of Mount Holyoke served our 17th District as District Deputy Grand Master during 1935-1936. This honor was deeply appreciated by our Lodge and our District truly benefited through the splendid leadership of Right Worshipful Brother Glassford.

The flood of March 1936 caused very heavy damage to our community, particularly to the business district, which was completely inundated by the waters of the Connecticut River. The C.C.C. boys stationed at Belchertown were called to our town to sand-bag the bulkheads at the dam and during their stay in South Hadley Falls, were housed in our Temple. Seventy army cots were placed in the banquet hall and also on the first floor of the building and we were pleased to be able to do our "bit" for those boys during those critical days. The four smaller rooms in the Temple were used.by the following merchants and they remained with us until their places of business were reopened:

  • W. C. Cowan Drug Company
  • Lane's Market
  • Miller Barber Shop
  • Bradley Tailor Shop

The Worshipful Master also extended invitations for the use of the Masonic Apartments to St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, Knights of Columbus and the Red Men.

Most Worshipful Joseph Earl Perry appointed the fourth District Deputy Grand Master from our Lodge in 1939 and 1940, with Right Worshipful Ronald Astley serving the Lodges of the 17th District during that time.

On February 15, 1940, Right Worshipful Roy Perry Miles, then Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge, was received in Mount Holyoke as Acting Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. It was at this meeting that Right Worshipful Brother Miles was presented an honorary membership in our Lodge. Regarding Right Worshipful "Roy" we can only say: "To know him, is to love him" and this is the sentiment of our Lodge to him.

Appropriate exercises were observed on April 27, 1940, at the celebration of the 25th anniversary of our Temple, with Right Worshipful Brothers Edwin L. Davis and Henry O. Holley as the speakers and Right Worshipful David Glassford as Historian.

The only Honorary Life Membership in Mount Holyoke is one that was presented to Right Worshipful David Glassford on November 6, 1941, after faithfully serving as Master, District Deputy Grand Master, Master of the 16th Lodge of Instruction and twenty-two years as Secretary of Mount Holyoke. The Joseph Warren Distinguished Service Medal was presented to him in 1938.

Regarding finances, during World War I and II we purchased War Bonds to the extent of $1200.00. On January 1, 1945, the Mount Holyoke Association Bonds mature and it is pleasing to know that the accumulated face value and interest now amount to only $1600.00. To our Building Association, we are truly grateful for this Masonic Home that they so graciously built for us Masons of today and the manner in which they have so ably financed this project.

For many years, we in Mount:Holyoke have been privileged in having as our tenants and our friends The George E. Fisher Chapter, No. 115, Order of the Eastern Star, who have aided the growth of our Lodge by their untiring efforts to assist at all times. To this splendid organization we are thankful.

This is the recording of seventy-five years of history in Mount Holyoke Lodge - a Lodge that is a vital part of our very lives. Yes, we are proud to be Masons - proud of our Lodge, Mount Holyoke, and we charge our members of the future to carry on this same tradition in Masonry.

And now to Mount Holyoke, we say: "May the Lord Bless you and keep you, may He cause His face to shine upon you, now and always."

CENTENARY HISTORY, APRIL 1969

From Proceedings, Page 1969-131:

By Brother Samuel J. Somerville.

Before the year 1869, the members of the order of Free and Accepted Masons, resident at South Hadley Falls, were affiliated with the Mount Tom Lodge of Holyoke. Owing to the early hour at which the swing ferry suspended business, the zealous brethren were obliged to purchase and maintain a rowboat for crossing the river above the dam. This added a certain piquancy to the sense of duty done, especially on dark and stormy nights, when the roar of the falls was unpleasantly near.

"A lodge is a certain number of Masons duly assembled, legally constituted, having the Holy Bible, Square, and Compasses, with a Charter or Warrant empowering them to work."

In 1869, four years after the Civil War, a group of respected Masons and citizens of South Hadley evidently read and re-read this important paragraph of Masonic Law and decided at that time it would be well to petition the Grand Lodge for a dispensation for a lodge to be known as Mount Holyoke. Perhaps this group looked out over the Connecticut Valley at the Mount Holyoke Range and from this picture of strength and beauty decided to name this child of Masonry, Mount Holyoke Lodge, knowing that in its growth there should be strength to support and beauty to adorn all great and important undertakings. Early in I869, an application was made to the Grand Lodge for a dispensation which was granted on March 30, 1869 by Most Wor. William Sewall Gardner, Grand Master and Rt. Wor. Solon Thornton, Recording Grand Secretary. In his report to the Grand Lodge in I869, Rt. Wor. D. W. Crafts, District Deputy Grand Master of the 10th Masonic District, in which the lodge was first assigned, truthfully said that Mount Holyoke Lodge was an offspring of Mount Tom Lodge. The fifteen petitoners for dispensation were:

  • Rev. George E. Fisher
  • James O.Allen
  • William Harris
  • Benjamin C. Brainard
  • E.Ogden Dwight
  • George F. Bassett
  • John A. Smith
  • Rev. Richard Knight
  • Martin V. B. Jenkins
  • Richard Green
  • Irving W. Brown
  • John Sinclair
  • Karl August Kappell
  • Emerson B. Judd
  • Frederick W. Moos

The officers under the Dispensation were: Rev. George E. Fisher, Wor. Master; Emerson B. Judd, Senior Warden; William Harris, Junior Warden; R. Ogden Dwight, Secretary; Benjamin C. Brainard, Treasurer The petitioners for a Charter, none of them superstitious, because there were thirteen, received this Charter, June 6, 1870, and this document was signed by William Sewall Gardner, Grand Master, Samuel C. Lawrence, Senior Grand Warden, Richard Briggs, Junior Grand Warden, Solon Thornton, Recording Grand Secretary. A listing of the thirteen Charter members and the lodges in which they received their degrees are as follows:

  • Rev.George E. Fisher, Hope Lodge
  • Martin V. B. Jenkins, Frederick Lodge, Conn.
  • George F. Bassett, Evening Star Lodge
  • Richard Green, Apollo Lodge, Suffield, Conn.
  • John Sinclair, Mount Tom Lodge
  • John A.Smith, Mount Tom Lodge
  • Frederick W. Moos, Mount Tom Lodge
  • Karl August Kappell, Mount Tom Lodge
  • Benjamin C. Brainard, Mount Tom Lodge
  • Irving W. Brown, Mount Tom Lodge
  • Rev. Richard Knight, Mount Tom Lodge
  • R. Ogden Dwight, Mount Tom Lodge
  • William Harris, Mount Tom Lodge

History would not be complete without a recording of the first officers who worked under the new Charter and these officers were installed July 25, 1870:

  • Worshipful Master - Rev. George E. Fisher
  • Senior Warden - James O. Allen
  • Junior Warden - William Harris
  • Treasurer - Benjamin C. Brainard
  • Secretary - John L. Matthews
  • Senior Deacon - George F. Bassett
  • Junior Deacon - John A. Smith
  • Chaplain - Rev. Richard Knight
  • Marshal - Martin V. B. Jenkins
  • Senior Steward - Richard Green
  • Junior Steward - Irving W. Brown
  • Tyler - John Sinclair

Mount Holyoke Lodge was organized in the old school building on School Street and has occupied six locations during the past one hundred years. The first lodge room was in the Glasgow Company's building on School Street and remained there for a trifle over four years. The lodge then moved to the Graves and Walton Building at the corner of Main and Bridge Streets which was afterward known as Dudleys Hall. The entire third floor of this building was occupied by Mount Holyoke Lodge. On September 5, 1886 this building was destroyed by fire and all of the property of Mount Holyoke was destroyed with the exception of the present Jewels which were in a case on the wall of the Tyler's room similar to the one now used. The case fell face downward, and protected the Jewels which were found later in the day by Bro. Serbertrum E. Bliss.

The oldest recording in the secretary's book is dated October 2, 1884 and Bro. Thomas Van Riper, Secretary, closed his report as follows: "no further business appearing, the lodge closed in peace and harmony." During these past one hundred years peace and harmony truly has prevailed, else this lodge would not have gone forward as it has, in the Masonic way of life.

The first mention of Charity, outside of the lodge, is listed in the February 4, 1886 records — "on motion, the treasurer was ordered to forward $5.00 to the Grand Secretary for Texas Sufferers."

One of the most interesting excerpts from the records is dated August 26, 1886, and reads:

"Lodge was opened on Master Mason Degree in Due Form. The Lodge was then formed in procession and marched to the Connecticut River Railroad Depot and took a special train to Northampton assisting in the ceremony of laying the corner stone of the new county court house at the above named place, after which all marched to Round Hill and partook of a clam-bake and then returned to the Connecticut River Railroad Depot and took a train to Holyoke and marched to the Lodge Room. The Lodge was closed in Due Form. Thomas Van Riper, Secretary."

The invitation for this ceremony was extended to Mount Holyoke Lodge on August 5, 1886 by Jerusalem Lodge of Northampton.

As previously stated, fire destroyed the Lodge on September 5, 1886 and the Grand Army Post immediately extended an invitation to use their rooms until permanent quarters were obtained. Two evenings after the fire a meeting was held in Grand Army Hall by a special telegram dispensation received from Most Wor. Abraham H. Howland, Jr., Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. At the second meeting held in the Grand Army Hall, September 27, 1886, an invitation was read from Mount Tom Lodge extending the use of their rooms together with the paraphernalia until the Lodge obtained suitable rooms. Mount Tom at that time was located on High Street in Holyoke. We readily accepted this kind invitation and remained at Mount Tom Lodge until January 6, 1887 at which time it was voted to return to the original home on School Street at an annual rental of $100.00 per year. Our return to South Hadley Falls was on February 3, 1887 after holding six delightful meetings within the Mount Tom Lodge Rooms.

Through an invitation received from Hampden Lodge in Springfield we find that Mount Holyoke Lodge again took part at a public ceremony on February 22, 1889 at which time we assisted in the exercises of laying the corner stone of the Post Office Building in Springfield.

Mount Holyoke Lodge has been honored by having seven District Deputy Grand Masters and the first appointment was Rt. Wor. Horace W. Gaylord who made his official visit to the Lodge on October 24, 1889. Following him were: Rt. Wor. Charles H. Smith, Rt. Wor. David Glassford, Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, Rt. Wor. Ralph B. Wilson, Rt. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson, Rt. Wor. Huey H. McKay.

A number of years ago our own Grand Lodge strongly recommended that the Treasurers and Secretaries of all Lodges should be bonded in order to protect the individual Lodge and to make for a better business structure. On November 7, 1889: "Moved that the Treasurer give a bond of $1500.00. Carried." It is quite evident that our forefathers in Masonry had the same thoughts as we folks of today.

On March 3, 1892, it was moved that the Lodge accept the proposition of Mr. Carey for the whole of the top and part of the second floor of his block on Main Street (over Lane's Market), at a rental of $200.00 per year and amended that the Lodge take a lease for ten years. The committee who arranged this contract consisted of Brothers H. W. Gaylord, J. W. Bean, F. M. Smith, E. W. Thompson and H. E. Gaylord. It is of interest to note that on August 4, 1892, the Lodge "moved the furnishing committee use a good generous sum to furnish the new Lodge Room. Carried."

The first meeting in the new Masonic Hall (Carey Building) was held on November 3, 1892, and at that meeting Brother Fred M. Smith was elected Worshipful Master. On the 25th of November a public installation of officers was held and 325 were present. On the 25th of November a public installation of officers was held and 325 were present.

On January 4, 1894, an application from the Brethren of South Hadley was received asking permission to apply for a dispensation to form a Lodge at South Hadley. Permission was granted by Mount Holyoke Lodge, but fortunately for all, nothing further developed along this thought.

An invitation from the committee on the celebration of the 150th anniversary of South Hadley was read on July 2, 1903, and a committee appointed, with Worshipful Fred M. Smith as Chairman. A month later this terse statement is recorded: "Report of Committee on float that they had performed the duty assigned them."

Again, this time on November 1, 1906, modern conveniences were in the minds of our Brethren when it was moved that the Lodge install gas in the kitchen.

One of our most beloved District Deputies, Right Worshipful Clarence A. Brodeur, on his visit to Mount Holyoke on April 18, 1907, presented remarks and suggestions from the Most Worshipful Grand Master in relation to a Masonic Home in Massachusetts. One month later the committee that was appointed reported favorable and it was then moved that Mount Holyoke contribute to the expense 5% of the gross receipts every year for five years. In the address of the District Deputy nine years later, he said: "that Mount Holyoke Lodge stood at the head of the honor list in regard to the Masonic Home Fund having paid $758.58."

On August 7, 1913, it was voted to vacate the present quarters in the Carey Building at the expiration of the present term, namely: September 1, 1913, and it was further voted that a committee be appointed to negotiate with the Directors of Iona Lodge of Odd Fellows at South Hadley Center for the temporary use of their hall. We immediately changed our location to the Odd Fellows Hall, holding the first meeting on September 4, 1913, and continuing until we entered the present building. During the time that we held our meetings at South Hadley Center, the members of Mount Holyoke formulated plans for a building of our own. The Mount Holyoke Masonic Association was organized and chartered, and immediately secured the land from the Carew heirs; also by an exchange of a small portion of this with the Congregational Church.

The corner stone of our new Masonic home was laid on September 26, 1914, with appropriate Masonic ceremonies. Rt. Wor. Eugene L. Sheldon, Acting Grand Master, opened the exercises while members of the Grand Lodge stood in a semi-circle before the stone and the invited guests were seated in the building. The address was delivered by Rt. Wor. Clarence A. Brodeur, Acting Deputy Grand Master and then Principal of the Westfield Normal School. Perhaps the most impressive part of this memorable occasion took place when three blasts of the bugle signified to those present that the stone had been laid according to the ritual of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge and that the stone had been laid Level, Square and Plumb. The official Grand Lodge Suite composed:

  • Rt. Wor. Eugene L. Sheldon of Easthampton, Acting Grand Master
  • Rt. Wor. Clarence A. Brodeur of Westfield, Acting Deputy Grand Master
  • Rt. Wor. Chauncey E. Peck of Wilbraham, Senior Grand Warden
  • Rt. Wor. Edwin L. Davis of Chicopee Falls, Acting Junior Grand Warden
  • Wor. Lewis M. Richards of Holyoke, Acting Grand Treasurer
  • Wor. J. E. Johnson of Holyoke Acting Grand Secretary
  • Rev. Bro. H. H. Merrill of Springfield, Acting Grand Chaplain
  • Rt. Wor. Harry P. Ballard of Malden, Acting Grand Marshal
  • Rt. Wor. Charles C. Spellman of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
  • Rt. Wor. Edwin A. Blodgett of Springfield, Past Grand Warden
  • Rt. Wor. William E. Gibbs of Westfield, D.D.G.M., 18th District
  • Rt. Wor. Arthur P. Delabarre of Conway D.D.G.M. 14th District

It was on March 4, 1915 that Mount Holyoke Lodge held its first meeting in this Temple with an out-turning of members such as had never before been seen in the history of the lodge. The following month of April 10, 19I5, the Temple was formally dedicated by the officers of Grand Lodge. Again Mount Holyoke Lodge had the opportunity of witnessing our Ancient Grand Lodge Ceremony with Most Wor. Melvin M. Johnson, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts dedicating the building with Corn, Wine, and Oil. The dedicatory address at this ceremony was delivered by one of the outstanding Masons of our time, Most Wor. Frederick W. Hamilton,, Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge who spoke on "Universal Benevolence." The Grand Lodge Officers present at this meeting:

Our own Rt. Wor. David Glassford was Worshipful Master of Mount Holyoke during this period of history.

From the records of November 7, I9I8, it was voted that the delegates to the Grand Lodge be instructed to vote to retain the old custom — one black ball to reject a candidate. Many times this same question has been brought before the Grand Lodge and it is interesting to note that our members of fifty years ago believed in the same method as practiced today.

We observed our 50th Anniversary on March 29, 19I9 with Wor. Ralph Batchelor presiding in the East. Mount Holyoke was again pleased to welcome our Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, Most Wor. Leon M. Abbott. It was at this meeting that Most Wor. Abbott presented to one of our Past Masters, Wor. Henry E. Gaylord a Henry Price Medal for work well done.

On September 11, 1920, the brethren of Mount Holyoke had the pleasure of attending the laying of the corner stone of the Masonic Temple in Holyoke. The lodges in Holyoke and our lodge in South Hadley have always extended hands of friendship across the Connecticut River and it is only natural that we, too, were proud and happy on this occasion. Our own Brother William Taylor Ramsay of Mount Holyoke Lodge, both an Operative and Speculative Mason, placed the corner stone.

At the next regular meeting of Mount Holyoke it was voted to extend an invitation to the Holyoke Lodges to use our Temple during the completion of their new building.

The Henry E. Gaylord Fund was started on September 6, I923 with a donation of $100.00 to be used for Charitable purposes. Wor. Henry E. Gaylord was the sponsor and the fund continues to be active in our lodge. Along this same thought of Charity, we notice that we voted that $50.00 be taken from the Charity Fund to be applied to the Mississippi Flood Fund of the Grand Lodge. This is another instance where the brethren of Mount Holyoke extended their charity beyond the confines of our community.

Sadness comes to all lodges and we in Mount Holyoke suffered a great loss on January 7, I928 when our beloved Past Master Wor. Fred M. Smith passed along to that undiscovered country. We, in the lodge and in this community were deeply appreciative of the service he rendered to his town, to the State, and to the Nation, as a sincere, loyal and patriotic citizen. It was through his untiring efforts that we of today have this building which we call our Masonic Home.

Honorary Membership in Mount Holyoke Lodge is rather a rarity because our records show that only seven have received this honor. Rt. Wor. Archibald A. Brooks of Mount Tom Lodge received honorary membership on December 1, 1932 and once again these two lodges, Mount Tom and Mount Holyoke, were brought closer together in a Masonic Way. Two years later, October 4, 1934, Rt. Wor. Edwin Lyman Davis of Belcher Lodge, Past Deputy Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, was elected to honorary membership. For many years, Rt. Wor. Bro. Davis has been a vital part of our lodge and it is quite fitting that he should become an honorary member of Mount Holyoke.

The flood of March, 1936 caused very heavy damage to our community, particularly to the business district which was completely inundated by the waters of the Connecticut River. The C.C.C. boys stationed at Belchertown were called to our town to sandbag the bulkheads at the dam and during their stay in South Hadley Falls were housed in our Temple. Seventy army cots were placed in the banquet hall and also on the first floor of the building and we were pleased to be able to do our bit for the boys during those critical days. The four smaller rooms in the Temple were used by the following merchants and they remained with us until their places of business were reopened: W. C. Cowan Drug Company, Lane's Market, Miller Barber Shop, and Bradley Tailor Shop. The Worshipful Master also extended invitations for the use of the Masonic Apartments to St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, Knights of Columbus, and the Red Men.

On February 16, 1940, Rt. Wor. Roy Perry Miles, then Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge, was received in Mount Holyoke as Acting Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. It was at this meeting that Rt. Wor. Bro. Miles was presented an honorary membership in our lodge. Regarding Rt. Wor. Roy we can only say, "to know him, is to love him," and this is the sentiment of our lodge to him.

Appropriate exercises were observed on April 27, 1940 at the celebration of the 25th Anniversary of our Temple with Rt. Wor. Edwin L. Davis and Rt. Wor. Henry O. Holley as the speakers and Rt. Wor. David Glassford as Historian.

An honorary life membership in Mount Holyoke was presented to Rt. Wor. David Glassford on November 6, 1941 after faithfully serving as Master, District Deputy Grand Master, Master of the 16th Lodge of Instruction, and 22 years as Secretary of Mount Holyoke. The Joseph Warren Distinguished Service Medal was presented to him in 1938.

Regarding Finance during World War One and Two, we purchased War Bonds to the extent of $1,200.00. On January 1, 1945 the Mount Holyoke Association Bonds matured and it is pleasing to know that the accumulated face value and interest which now amounted to only $1,600.00 was cleared with no indebtedness on our Temple at the present time. To our building association we are truly grateful for this Masonic Home that they so graciously built for our Masons of today and the manner in which they have so ably financed this project. Interest in Masonry during and following the Second World War increased and Mount Holyoke being near Westover Air Force Base, increased its membership considerably. Communications were held on Mondays as well as our regular meeting night Thursdays. Rehearsals were held on Sundays and Wednesdays. During the years many Inter-Lodge Visits were planned which fostered a better brotherhood and made new and lasting friendships. The Varsity Club, composed of Past Masters, became active and participated in the Degree Work.

In March of 1947 it was suggested by Bro. Robert C. Adams the lodge should have an Organ and the new electronics were priced within reason. The seed had been planted and germinated to the extent two brothers offered to buy one. Their generosity and love of Masonry and Mount Holyoke was overwhelming but their offer was refused for it was the general consensus of opinion that each member should be allowed to share in the cost as well as the harmony emanating from same. On April 3rd the Organ Fund Committee was appointed: Brothers Robert C. Adams and Ronald Astley, Co-Chairmen, Ralph E. Burnette, Sec'y.-Treas., Edward J. Norris, Walter E. Peetz, Otto C. Kohler, Joseph G. Griffin, Herman C. Bock, William A. Green, and Harold Hanson. $100.00 was reported received already. Following a whirlwind drive $2,700.00 had been pledged and collected by May 1st. It was decided to include a set of chimes. The total cost was: Hammond Organ $2,295.00, Chimes $595.00 making a total of $2,890.00. Collected $3,174.94 leaving an excess of $284.00 which was banked and would maintain the yearly inspections and repair. Culmination of the Drive resulted in the Dedication of Our Organ January 30, 1948. "History of Our Organ" was given by Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, the Prayer of Dedication followed, and finally the test of a fine instrument by Wor. Frederick E. Aggerup, Organist. Wor. Master Edgar G. Thompson accepted the Organ on behalf of Mount Holyoke Lodge.

On April 3, 1947, Rt. Wor. Paul Livingston Perkins was elected an Honorary Member of Mount Holyoke Lodge and on the 26th "Paul Perkins Night" was held. Bro. Perkins was Junior Grand Warden at the time and was accompanied by Wor. Andrew Jenkins, Grand Pursuivant. Bro. Perkins thanked Rt. Wor. William H. Bray, District Deputy Grand Master of the Holyoke 17th Masonic District for relinquishing his prerogative and consenting to be on his suite which was just in reverse to Masonic procedure. Musical selections were offered by the quartet. Rt. Wor. Archibald A. Brooks spoke on "Adopted" and Rt. Wor. Perkins' subject was A Pattern For Living. His Honorary Membership was presented by Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley.

Mount Holyoke raised $160.00 for the Leonard Wood Memorial Fund.

The Congregational Church, next door, was gutted by fire. Use of our Temple was offered and were with us until their new church was completed.

Sunday, June 27, 1948 was District Saints John Sunday at Rt. Wor. William H. Bray's church in Southampton. Lodge opened at 10:00 a.m. and recessed so that all might travel to Southampton for the Divine Service. On returning to the Temple Dispensation from Most Worshipful Roger Keith, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts was read granting permission to assist in the laying of the corner stone for the Congregational Church. A recess was declared and the lodge reconvened at 1:30 p.m. A procession was formed and marched next door where the colorful and symbolic ceremony was exemplified in true Masonic tradition. The Cornerstone Ceremonies were broadcast over the facilities of Radio Station WHYN at 2:00 p.m. and a re-broadcast at 7:00 p.m. Transcriptions were made and Wor. Master Thompson reporting to the Grand Master dutifully, as ordered, sent along one together with newspaper clippings and an album of pictures taken by Bro. Lloyd Runnal's son. There reposes with the records in the archives a record of the transcription, picture album, trowel used, candles and candlesticks. The procession returned to the Temple where the lodge was closed in form at 3:20 p.m.

Wor. J. Holden Camp undertook the tremendous task of updating our By-Laws. October 7, 1948 the Revised Code of By-Laws were accepted by the Lodge and Wor. Camp was given a sincere vote of thanks for the marvelous job he accomplished, a tremendous task requiring time, patience and fortitude to follow it through to such perfection and completion. The By-Laws were approved by Grand Lodge March 14, 1951.

1949 was a memorable year for Mount Holyoke for these brethren held the following offices: Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, Senior Grand Warden, Wor. Edgar G. Thompson, Grand Pursuivant, and Rt. Wor. Ralph B. Wilson, District Deputy Grand Master for the Holyoke 17th Masonic District. On February 26th a Reception to officially receive our Senior Grand Warden Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was held. Most Worshipful Roger Keith, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts and distinguished suite were present and he called on many who lauded Rt. Wor. Astley's qualities, abilities of leadership, moral character and virtues, and his endless energy and devotion to the Craft. Most Worshipful Keith presented him a Henry Price Medal.

April 3rd was the Holyoke 17th Masonic District Church Sunday to attend Divine Worship which was held at the Congregation B'nai Israel Synagogue in Northampton. A sizeable procession was formed at Jerusalem Lodge and marched to the synagogue where a special Masonic Service, conforming to the regular Jewish Service as closely as possible was held and was most interesting. The sermon was a history of the Jewish people and their struggles for freedom and fellowship down through the ages and a thorough explanation of Judaism and their various holy days.

On Friday, August 5th Mount Holyoke Lodge received the Acting Grand Master, our own Bro. Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts. The meeting was musically adorned by the quartet. Rt. Wor. Astley gave a detailed account of his trips to the Grand Lodges of Vermont and Toronto, Canada as representative of the Grand Master, Most Worshipful Roger Keith.

In September it was decided to place the Organ Sound Chamber and Chimes in the front part of the attic with a sound grille in the wall of the Lodge Room. The Grille and Trim to be the same as the Window Casements. Steinerts recommended this when the Organ was installed. No charge to move the sound chamber. Cost of materials for the project $125.00 and was completed February 23, 1950. "Wor. Edgar G. Thompson Night" was held December 22, I949 and was largely attended. Many expressions of friendship and congratulations were tendered him together with a letter from Most Worshipful Grand Master Roger Keith. Musical selections by Bro. Major Jenkins of Westover Field on the Organ were enjoyed by all.

"Dave Glassford Night" was held on September 21, I95O. Reception and Testimonial to Bro. Dave who is leaving to live with his son in Texas. He was lauded as a Landmark in Masonry and known throughout the state. He was presented a Wrist Watch and Purse.

Our Table and Chair Drive on May 3, 1951, goal $1,500.00, and Chair-maned by Bro. William D. O'Connor was successful in raising $1,073.53 for the purchase of 200 chairs $629.40 and 15 tables $352.00, total $981.40, leaving a net balance of $118.20.

Corrections and changes in our By-Laws recommended by Grand Lodge noted. Lodge voted to accept as corrected and to become effective January 1, 1952.

Joint Meeting of the Greenfield 12th and Holyoke 16th Lodges of Instruction on Monday, October 22, 1951 at Mount Holyoke Lodge. Most Worshipful Thomas S. Roy, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts with Rt. Wor. Herbert H. Jaynes, Grand Marshal visited the joint meeting. Grand Master Roy spoke of the 7 Landmarks in Masonry and explained each individually. Rt. Wor. Jaynes spoke on how to increase lodge attendance and distributed a booklet entitled Special Events in Lodges to each Master. Considering the fact that the only time a Grand Master visits a lodge is on anniversaries, it is quite significant that Mount Holyoke should have been chosen as host for this special visit; the purpose of which gives him an opportunity to observe how the various lodges of instruction are conducted and also to meet and become better acquainted with his brethren in Freemasonry. Following the closing the Most Wor. Grand Master received the brethren in the East.

Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was conducted to the East where Wor. Master Charles Lempke, Jr. greeted him and resigned the Gavel and Oriental Chair. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson conducted the officers to the East for the Ceremony of Dedication and Investiture of the new Jewels November 1, 1951.

The Kitchen Renovation was discussed at length. Modern dumbwaiter, new range, refrigerator, lowering the ceiling, bricking up windows, new kitchen cabinets, and exhaust fans. This project to be financed by the Association, Lodge and Eastern Star, was started June 5, 1952. On December 4th the windows had been bricked up and equipment was on hand. February 5, 1953 a new Automatic Gas Hot Water Heater and Range installed. Electricians ready to proceed.

It was noted on January 8, 1953 that new Shades were installed in the Temple. Pool Room renovation progressing satisfactorily . . . cement floor, plaster off, fitting strips in place ready for cedar paneling. Pool Table complete with accessories purchased at Auction $135.00. Paid receipted bill for paneling and lumber for $153.33 from the Street Lumber Co. through the courtesy of Wor. Bro. Robert A. Brainerd.

It was announced that Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley made a Director of Grand Lodge.

200th Anniversary of the Town of South Hadley was held on September 12, 1953. Mount Holyoke Lodge was invited to participate and obtained a Special Dispensation from Most Worshipful Thomas S. Roy, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. 137 Masons were in the line of march preceded by our float and followed by the Warren Indian Drum and Bugle Corps. The parade was scheduled for a 10:30 a.m. start but considering the 11 divisions in same we were lucky to start at 12:15 marching some 3 miles past the reviewing stand where we disbanded and wended our way back to the Temple.

The question of redecorating the Lodge Room, refinishing and upholstering the benches, and carpeting was discussed November 1, I956 and plans and committees were arranged and saw these projects through to a beautiful fulfillment February 7, 1957.

The ceiling in our attic was insulated to lower our heat loss and fuel bills January 3, 1957.

Our Card Room was repainted and refurbished by the Hano family — Bro. Herbert and Bro. Philip. A new letter G from Wor. Ernest E. Perron was installed in the East. These additions were reported at our September 5, 1957 meeting.

The leaded stained-glass windows in the Lodge Room were repaired and storm windows installed to protect them. 3 - 16" variable Speed Exhaust Fans were installed in the Lodge Room Ceiling vents and was reported at the October 3, 1957 meeting.

An Honorary Membership was presented Rt. Wor. Robert R. Askew February 21, 1963.

On April 27, 1963 a Masonic Wrist Watch was presented to Wor. Ernest C. Smith from the officers, Past Masters, and members of Mount Holyoke Lodge in appreciation for his faithfulness as Chaplain and Coach to the officers.

Following our June 6, I963 communication the brothers met with the ladies in the new sitting room beautifully decorated and furnished to compliment Brothers Herbert and Philip Hano and their wives who donated it to the Mount Holyoke Masonic Association. Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley, President of the Association, thanked them for their thoughtfulness and generosity.

To augment the beautifully furnished Henry E. Gaylord Card Room, the landings, stairs, and Banquet Hall were sanded, sealed, and finished. The Banquet Hall was repainted and fluorescent lights installed together with an electric clock donated by Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley.

The George E. Fisher Chapter O.E.S. installed new drapes on the second floor on October 3, 1963.

The deplorable condition of the officers' aprons was noted and action was to be taken which resulted in their purchase on March 5th. At the April 18th meeting Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley called attention to the new aprons and said Mackey's definition of same was a badge of Masons outwardly and should be worn inwardly too. He hoped the officers would wear them with the same dignity and pride as the men who built this Temple.

On June 28 and August 9, 1964 Mount Holyoke lost two dependable Masons: Bro. John Livingston McKay, Organist for 34 years, and Bro. Robert Frank Beyer, Sr., Tyler for 18 years. It will be difficult to find men of their calibre and as devoted to their professions as they were.

Through Wor. Robert T. Hardy the Shriners' Hospital was visited and gifts and candy were distributed and "Bob," dressed as a clown, evoked fun and laughter. Wor. Norman H. Richards was our Genial Guide in this venture. A Television Set with remote control will be presented as soon as it can be procured from the distributor. Also the cost of 10 lamps was donated by Mount Holyoke to the Masonic Home at Charlton.

Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley on the Board of Governors of the Shrine Burns Institute Hospital in Boston announced that 3 hospitals would be built; 1 in Boston, 1 in Cincinnati, Ohio, and 1 in Galveston, Texas. The average cost per child at a Shrine Hospital is $1,500.00 — at a Burns Institute $15,000.00.

On Past Masters' Night April 24, I965 Secretary Bro. Samuel J. Somerville was conducted to the East where he was presented a Masonic Wrist Watch from the brethren for 19 years service by Bro. Francis R. Dressell.

On April 10, I965 Wor. Joseph John Lacey, Past Master and well-known as the Chaplain on Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley's installing suite, passed on to the Celestial Lodge above.

The landscaping and planting around our Temple was done by Wor. Master Harrison B. Fecteau and was noted May 6, 1965.

On May 19, 1965 The Grim Reaper took his toll and left Mount Holyoke heavy-hearted. Masonic Memorial Services were held for Wor. Josiah Holden Camp, departed May 18, — Bro. Erry Marshall Burnett, departed May 17, — and Rt. Wor. David Glassford, departed May 18.

On May 22 the 50th Anniversary Celebration of the Dedication of our Temple was held. Historical History and Sketch of Mount Holyoke's progress through the years was given by Rt. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson.

It was noted the four vents under the radiators in the Lodge Room had been bricked up. Congratulations were given on the matching of the bricks and work done by Mr. Hogan, bricklayer, and Bro. "Bill" Mackie, assistant.

Wor. Harrison B. Fecteau announced the Basement Modernization Drive started before Lodge closed in June was received most enthusiastically. Brothers Edgar Thompson, William Mackie, Clarence Young, Frank Obremski and Robert R. Askew worked constantly to accomplish the transformation in the basement: tiled ceiling, Mahogany wood paneling, asphalt floor tiles, fluorescent lights, glass blocks, ventilating fan, new ladies powder room, and outside post lamp, yet to be installed, and should receive the thanks of the Lodge and be spread on the records and was so recorded.

Our Senior Past Master Wor. Bro. Ralph Newth Batchelor passed on to the Celestial Lodge above April 10, 1966.

Sunday, April 24, 1966 Gifts: Ball Point Pens to the older boys and girls, model cars and dolls for the younger boys and girls were presented at the Shriners' Hospital and a Locust tree was planted by Wor. Frank Obremski, Jr. A Flag Pole was donated to the Lodge by Wor. Harrison B. Fecteau and was erected on the north side lawn May 5, I966.

June 2, 1966 Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was appointed and accepted the General Chairmanship of the 100th Anniversary Committee to make plans for Mount Holyoke Lodge's Celebration in I969.

Saint John's Sunday was observed by the Lodge on June 19, I966. Following Breakfast in the Temple a procession was formed and escorted by the Knights Templar from St. Andrews Commandery. Bro. & Rev. Robert B. Dennett preached an appropriate service for the occasion. The Knights Templar presented an American Flag donated by Bro. Myron W. Ryder, Jr. to the Lodge in a brief ceremony which was raised on our new Flag Pole.

On October 6, 1966 Wor. Frank Obremski, Jr. reported attending the Public Installation of the Knights of Columbus, the first in 84 years. Bro. & Rev. Robert B. Dennett gave the Benediction and Rt. Wor. Ronald Astley was the principal speaker and took as his theme the "Expanding Brotherhood." Wor. Joseph J. Lacey's Masonic Gavel was presented to Grand Knight, Thomas Fitzell, brother-in-law of Wor. Bro. Lacey.

On June 6, 1968 Bro. William Mackie resigned as Building Custodian and Rental Agent for the House Committee effective June 30th ending 30 years of service. "BROTHER BILL MACKIE NIGHT" was held October 10th. He was lauded by Rt. Wor. Huey H. McKay, District Deputy Grand Master for the Holyoke 17th Masonic District, who praised his long, devoted, and dedicated service. Always doing more than required, his seemingly tireless, well-organized efforts to attain such a high degree of satisfaction and perfection sets a standard nearly impossible for any successor to achieve. Mount Holyoke is deeply grateful and appreciative for men of Bill's calibre and wish for him a long, healthy, and happy retirement. He was presented a Scroll bearing these sentiments. Following the closing of the meeting we adjourned to the Banquet Hall where our wives and Eastern Star women were to partake of a smorgasbord. He received a Gift from the George E. Fisher Chapter O.E.S. by the Worthy Patron John M. Ford II and a Gift from the Past Masters, presented by Wor. Samuel A. Watson.

Rt. Wor. Edgar G. Thompson, Treasurer of the Basement Modernization Project, gave his final accounting and turned over to the Secretary $8.53 left after all expenses were paid. He announced Receipts of $5,495.89 less Expenditures of $5,480.39, balance $15.50, and paid one final bill of $6.97, leaving a balance of $8.53.

It is heartening in this day and age to cheer Bro. Charles Glackner, our guest at the Masonic Home in Charlton, who celebrated his 100th Birthday on Thursday, October 24, 1968.

The New Masonic Sign over our front door entrance was donated by a father - son team.

We in Mount Holyoke have been privileged to have as our tenants and friends for many years The George E. Fisher Chapter No. 115, O.E.S. who have aided the growth of our Lodge by their untiring efforts to assist at all times. To this splendid organization we are indeed grateful.

This is the recording of One Hundred Years of history in Mount Holyoke Lodge. We are proud of our heritage and trust that we have fulfilled the hopes and dreams of our predecessors who started this Lodge and built this fine Temple.

125TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, APRIL 1994

From Proceedings, Page 1994-73:

Please refer to page 131 of the 1969 Grand Lodge Proceedings for the history of the first 100 years of Mount Holyoke Lodge.

The Last Twenty-Five Years

The task given to our late Brother William Mandell of compiling a recent history of Mount Holyoke Lodge was formidable. But none doubted that it would be accomplished by Bill. We were sure that he would approach this task in the same manner and with the same vigor and drive that he demonstrated to us many times over.

It is unfortunate that he is not with us today to share with us the fruits of his labors, for has has joined those who have gone before us to that house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.

To you Bill we say thanks.

In reading over Bill's history it was difficult to comprehend all the things that have gone on in Mount Holyoke Lodge since 1970. The following are some of the events or occasions that occured during each of the last twenty-five years.

1970

We celebrated the 102nd birthday of Brother Charles Glackner. Worshipful Francis Dressed, who was the Master of the Lodge in 1970, brought several brothers with him to the Masonic Home to visit Brother Glackner.

1971

Right Worshipful Ronald Astley was presented to the East for the ceremony of dedication and investiture of the new lodge jewels, that had been donated by Brother Louis Bach. Acting as Marshal for the ceremony was Worshipful Alfred P. Charron.

1972

During a fraternal visit to Mount Holyoke Lodge, Right Worshipful Robert H. Edwards, District Deputy Grand Master for the Holyoke 17th Masonic District planned to speak that evening....His topic was lack of candidates and attendance. . . Unfortunately or fortunately that evening 48 Masons were in attendance and three applications were read and three candidates were balloted on...Right Worshipful Edwards changed his topic for the evening to Masonic History, he felt his previous topic was out of context at Mount Holyoke Lodge.

Robert Williams Tucker became an Entered Apprentice. Where have we heard that name before?

1973

Brother Kenneth Haskins was Junior Warden and Ken has still been helping the Lodge. He recently completed a year for us as Chaplain. Thanks Ken.

1974

The Children's Christmas Party saw a new Master Mason who was raised on 12/12/74 and volunteered to be Santa for the Annual Christmas Party . That new Master Mason was Real L. Cayer and as most of you know Real has served us as Junior and Senior Steward in the very recent past until he began having back problems.

1975

This year found Mount Holyoke Lodge competing in a Pitch Tournament against the Knights of Columbus, and Mount Holyoke Lodge claimed victory. Many people said if the game had been Bingo, there would have been a very different outcome.

Mount Holyoke Lodge witnessed an evening where 50 Masons were in attendance for the play Rose Upon The Altar which was presented by the Past Master's Unit of the Melha Temple.

1976

Worshipful Kenneth C. Haskins presented an 6 gallon blood donor pin to Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson.

Also that year Worshipful Jackson moved that all Past Masters wear their Past Master Jewels to all Regular and Special Communications or be fined 25 cents the motion carried.

1977

There was a surprise party for Brother Samuel J. Somerville. Brother Somerville had served as the Secretary of the Lodge for 30 faithful and dedicated years.

Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson was again escorted to the East for the purpose of presenting him a 7 gallon blood donor pin. Worshipful Jackson, who had no blood left after he gave 7 gallons, was then carried back to his seat.

1978

Among our other activities for this memorable year was a get well card sent to our famous Brother John Wayne who was a patient at Massachusetts General Hospital recuperating from heart surger Well, Iwannatell yapilgrim that was some card.

Right Worshipful William T. Miles presented a Fifty-Year Veteran's Medal to Right Worshipful Ronald Astley.

1979

Mount Moriah Lodge of Westfield paid Mount Holyoke Lodge a Fraternal Visit and passed two of their candidates to the Fellowcraft Degree. The ritual and floor work was superb.

Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell, District Deputy Grand Master paid his Home Lodge a Fraternal Visit with his Marshal Worshipful Louis J. Laferriere.

Brother Willard Haskell was presented to the East where he presented Worshipful Roger Martin the newly bound By-Laws.

A reception for Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell was held at Conti's 202 Restaurant and among the distinguished guests that evening was Right Worshipful Edgar W. Darling, Junior Grand Warden of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.

Brother Ernest H. Hill, Sr. received a commendation from the Veterans' Administration for 500 hours of service to the VA Hospital in Leeds, Massachusetts.

1980

Worshipful Richard B. Scott received a 10 gallon blood donor pin from the Junior Warden Worshipful Wardman K. Brooksbank.

Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson presented a Masonic road sign to the Lodge which would be placed on a South Hadley highway so visiting brethren could find the Lodge.

Mount Holyoke Lodge planted 8 flowering crab apple trees on the VA Hospital grounds.

Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell, District Deputy Grand Master presented a Fifty-Year Veteran's Medal to Worshipful Ralph H. Burnett.

1981

Brother Ernest H. Hill, Sr. received a citation for 1000 hours of voluntary service at the VA Hospital in Leeds, surely Masonic Charity at work.

It was announced that Right Worshipful William T. Miles of Mount Tom Lodge was a candidate for Junior Grand Warden of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.

1982

Worshipful Wardman K. Brooksbank announced that Thomas Fitzell, Past Grand Knight of the South Hadley Knights of Columbus returned to Mount Holyoke Lodge the gavel of Worshipful Joseph T. Lacey, Master of Mount Holyoke Lodge in 1946. Worshipful Lacey had loaned his brother-in-law his gavel on the occasion of Tom's installation as Grand Knight.

The South Hadley Lions Club awarded Right Worshipful Ronald Astley the Citizen of the Year Award.

After the Worshipful Master denied the request of the Junior Warden to excuse the Stewards for the purpose of preparing the collation, the Junior Steward, Brother Harvey J. Robert, rose and announced that there was an alarm at the door of the refrigerator by some very cold frankfurters....rumor has it the alarm was answered.

Mount Holyoke Lodge was sixth in the Commonwealth for attendance at the Lodge of Instruction, with a total of 113 officer present during the year.

1983

Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson, District Deputy Grand Master for the Holyoke 17th Masonic District presented to Worshipful Phillip Hano, III a medal commemorating the 250th Anniversary of the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.

Mount Holyoke Lodge participated in the Memorial Day Parade. This was the first time the Lodge had paraded in public since 1953. The comments from the spectators were favorable.

Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson had Worshipful Alfred P. Charron escorted to the East for the purpose of presenting him the Joseph Warren Medal for Meritorious Service to Masonry, his Church, his Community, and his Family.

1984

A cowan and eavesdropper was discovered in the Lodge Room. Brother Gary Robert dispatched the culprit which was a flying bat. For his reward, Brother Robert was escorted once around the Lodge. The ancestors of that bat live in that light above your head but this generation of bats has taken their degrees.

During the course of the meeting on 11/1/84 an alarm was sounded at the door. The visitor was the Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, the Most Worshipful David B. Richardson. He presented to Mount Holyoke Lodge the Grand Master's Award for the year 1982-1983.

Worshipful John M . Gauger, the Junior Warden, was presented a case of C-Rations and it was noted that they might be the best collation of the year.

1985

Worshipful Eugene G. Anderson announces to the Lodge that Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson of Mount Holyoke Lodge was appointed Deputy Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts.

The Mother's Degree was presented by the Elm Chapter of the Order of DeMolay and the presentation was well received.

1986

Brother Ronald E. Zissell who is a member of the staff of Mount Holyoke College gave an excellent presentation on Haley's Comet and it was well received.

Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson received the DeMolay's highest award that of the Legion of Honor.

Mount Holyoke Lodge's first scholarship recipient, Lisa Ouimette, sent a thanks note to the Lodge.

Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressed received a Meritorious Service Certificate from the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.

1987

A funeral service was held for Right Worshipful Ronald Astley who had served as Master of Mount Holyoke Lodge in 1934, District Deputy Grand Master in 1939 and 1940 and Senior Grand Warden in 1949.

The Lodge called on sick brethren to sing Christmas Carols and to bring Christmas Spirit to those who could not get out.

1988

Worshipful Ralph H. Burnett, Senior Past Master, received a plaque to commemorate his 64th year as a Mason.

Worshipful John M. Gauger was escorted to the East for the purpose of presenting to the Lodge its Fourth Grand Master's Award.

Mount Holyoke Lodge also receives an Outstanding Service Award from the VA Hospital in Leeds and this was presented to the Lodge by Right Worshipful Ronald E. Jackson.

Mount Holyoke Lodge found themselves marching in the Natick Parade along with 300 Masons from around the State.

1989

A new method of clearing the Ballot Box was instituted by Worshipful Master Raymond J. Leclaire and Mount Holyoke Lodge is striving to carry on this method.

Worshipful Eugene G. Anderson received a Meritorious Award which was presented to him by Worshipful Raymond J. Leclaire.

Brother Raymond Marier accepted the position of Inside Sentinel to replace Brother Albert Kinsey who has moved to North Carolina.

Brother Marier donated to the Lodge a walking stick which is know as The Staff of Wisdom. The Staff has a special place of honor in the Southeast Comer of the Lodge where it rests on a hand crafted stand of wood made and donated by Worshipful Frank Obremski.

1990

Brother Ernest H. Hill, Sr: received a special plaque from the Leeds, VA, Hospital in Northampton for his Ten Years of Faithful Service to the veterans at the hospital.

The Widows Valentine Brunch was held at the Windows on the Common. A fine day was had by all.

Junior Warden Henry A. Fusari put on an Italian Night that was a huge success. Some of the proceeds from this dinner were to go to sponsor widows who were attending the Widows' Brunch at the Common.

Brother Marier, a member of the Memorial Day Parade Committee, gave a favorable report on our participation in the Memorial Day Parade. Worshipful Henry A. Fusari rolled up his sleeves and got a food basket program started. This program is more successful each year.

1991

The officers and wives of Mount Holyoke Lodge visited the new Shriner's Hospital in Springfield. The visit included a complete tour and dinner.

Right Worshipful Francis R. Dressell celebrated his 50th Wedding Anniversary and members of the Lodge wished him well from the East. A beautiful lectern was built and presented to the Lodge by Brother Real L. Cayer.

Brother Edmond C. Jackson was installed as organist.

Right Worshipful Clarence Douglas Miles congratulated Mount Holyoke Lodge on donating 496 pint of blood during 1991.

1992

Brother David Aaron Jackson was installed as Junior Steward and now Mount Holyoke Lodge had the Jackson Five to contend with.

Mount Holyoke Lodge again received the Grand Master's Award.

A very loud degree was performed at the Masonic Home in Charlton. All in attendance were able to hear the word.

The Lodge attended three parades in South Hadley for Memorial Day.

Worshipful Ralph H. Burnett received a This Is Your Life type of testimonial and roasting by members of the Lodge to commemorate his 92nd birthday. One of the younger members of the Lodge observed that one day he noticed Ralph's underwear tag sticking out of his pants and as he looked he noticed that the tag had Paul Revere written on it. According to the young Mason he wasn't sure if Ralph was wearing designer underwear or if he had borrowed them from the original owner.

OTHER

  • 1886 (Dispensation to meet in Holyoke due to fire, 1886-129)
  • 1887 (Granting of replacement charter due to fire, 1887-18)
  • 1903 (Case of a rejected candidate, 1903-85)

GRAND LODGE OFFICERS

OTHER BROTHERS


DISTRICTS

1869: District 10 (Springfield)

1883: District 16 (Chicopee)

1911: District 17 (Holyoke)

1927: District 17 (Holyoke)

2003: District 27


LINKS

Lodge web site

Massachusetts Lodges